Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mildenhall Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Suffolk > Mildenhall > Mildenhall Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

CLOSED: Mildenhall Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Brandon Road
Mildenhall
Suffolk   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 19 Reviews
                9/10 from 19 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  19 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed, and no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

 This is a members only CC site set out amongst trees on the edge of Mildenhall with great access to walks direct from the site.

For the CC this is quite a basic site with no facilities except for Electric hook up and water points. The staff are all volunteers and very friendly and helpful, The only downside is that some pitches seemed to be quite cramped and close together on the other hand others were well spaced apart, no regimented rows on this site.

Oh! and if you have a dog we couldn't find any dog friendly pubs, though all that we walked to had lovely gardens with good food and beer.

There is a corner shop about 10 minutes walk away selling the usual corner shop basics and Mildenhall is only a short drive away with usual shops, takeaways etc.

With Lakenheath and Mildenhall air bases close by there is plenty of plane spotting for those who enjoy that sort of thing and while planes flew close to / over the site I never felt that it was intrusive, in fact it added to the enjoyment of the site. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Aawallet 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site over the bank holiday weekend, 3 nights.

It is a wonderful site quite unlike most Caravan Club sites. Very relaxed, and and pitches not in a uniform olayout. Very pretty set amongst tall pine tress, so you need to choose your pitch with care if you want a good TV reception.

No washing or toilet facilities is bit of a pain but most modern units have good on board facilities. Aircraft do fly over several times a day from Lakenheath. It is ideally situated just off the A11. The wardens were friendly enough without being intrusive, but could not offer any advice on which pitches were suitable for satellite reception. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Tracy Betham 4 reviews from this member

 I wasn't expecting much of this site with there being no facilities or anything but I absolutely loved it.

The wardens were very friendly, loved seeing the planes from the army base going overhead.

Lovely village and friendly people.

Loved taking the dogs for a walk it was a real adventure for the dogs also.

It really felt like we where in another world so relaxing.

Lots of wildlife to see. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cage 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night chill out break at Round Plantation, Mildenhall. Lovely and quite, even though it was the Jubilee weekend. No shower or toilet facilities, but now we've granduated to a caravan, we've got our own facilities on board (not that it stopped us from using no facility sites in our tent).

11 per night for 2 adults, 2 children with hookup. A few aircraft, not intrusive. Did find our pitch rather gritty, so pack a brush and dustpan. Some pitches are on old concrete bases or gravel, so you probably wouldn't drag so much forest into your caravan.

Sainsburys and Co op in Mildenhall. Had a lovely walk and bird watch at Lakenheath Fen. All in all, would stay again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wilfotrev 1 review from this member

 Our second visit to this lovely C C ( Members only ) site which we 'discovered' a year ago. A 'super CL ' at 11 / night ( no showers or toilets) but 240v. On most of the 70 pitches, and lovely volunteer Wardens.

A great location for oldies like us, who want to use NT, EH, RSPB etc. Membership : one is spoilt for choice. And a one-day trip to Cambridge ( 25 mins to Park and Ride, 10 mins. To the centre, then 1. 5 hours open-top bus tour, then 45 mins. Punt ride ) is not enough!

TV reception varies from pitch to pitch ; we got 93 channels on pitch 48. Wardens only had 5 ! Our Vodaphone dongle for mobile broadband let us send and receive emails, but attachments took forever to download. 02 and Orange moblies worked fine. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joanne1 21 reviews from this member

 Another nice stay at this site, still great value at just 11 per van per night. The site has no toilet/shower block, but that's reflected in the price.

Children again enjoyed playing in the woods and den building and visiting the excellent play area and bmx track which are about 10 minutes bike ride away in Mildenhall Woods.

We had a day-out doing the 3 churches walk (6. 5m long details on AA walking website) starting in Gazeley, 10/15 minutes from site and combined this with looking for the geocaches on route, took in a nice pint 3/4 way round in Affleck Arms @ Dalham. The route takes you through some stunning countryside and past some nice house & stables.

Visited the local Dome Leisure Centre a few minutes away and we all played badminton (1hr) & then squash (40mins) for a grand total of 8 for the 4 of us, including the hire of the equipment! Special sessions of 1 per person charged throughout the Easter Hols. Showers are available here too.

Likewise you could also swim for 1 per person certain times at the pool next to Sainsbury further into the town.

Wardens very friendly, site was very quiet the weekend before Easter with only 20 vans, but apparently was full for the Easter Bank Hols.

Great site and may return, excellent value, plenty to do in the area for a short break and lots of places to visit within short distances including Ely, Cambridge, Bury St Edmunds & Newmarket.

A little more aircraft noise than last year, but you soon get used to it. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tighchris 4 reviews from this member

 A great site with a peaceful atmosphere. Wardens very friendly and helpful and the calm on a bank holiday was outstanding. The Mildenhall Woods were a nice area to walk and cycle.

Minimal facilities but beautiful glades in the woods each with a small group of pitches. The woods make a great natural play area for children who can build dens and cycle. Can't recommend highly enough.

The Half Moon pub is about 10 mins walk away and is an excellent family location. Don't go to the Tea Room in Mildenhall if you have children - they are adult only.

Good cycle routes in the area. The local Museum is small but interesting. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joanne1 21 reviews from this member

 Had a great Easter break at this lovely site, the weather was superb which obviously helped but would have no hesitation in recommending this site as a good short stay destination for families.

Fantastic value at just 10 per night inc of electric hook-up 2 adults / 2 children.

There are no toilet / shower facilities on site, hence the price, toilets / showers / play area / tv points etc would be nice, but then it would not be 10 per night.!

The wardens were very helpful, they are apparently 'part-time volunteers' but there was always somebody about and everybody was very nice.

Although there is no play area, there is plenty of spaces for children to go off & play / explore, including the woods on and around the site. Often natural surroundings are better for keeping children amused than a single play area.

The pitches which are in various clearings vary in size, but most are generous and back onto woods and site felt spacious.

TV reception via aerial was good, but would imagine this could vary from pitch to pitch due to the trees.

On the first two days there was a lot of aircraft noise and if you live near an airport then this probably not what you would want on holiday, but we don't and a plane flying over every 10/15 minutes was interesting especially as they are all military planes taking off from the local USAF base. When we stayed they did not fly at night and Good Friday onwards we hardly saw a plane so guess the base had a Easter break too!

Plenty of places to visit locally. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Expression470 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for just one night. It is a very pretty site with separated cul de sacs in the woods, so it doesn't feel like a large site. I loved watching the squirrels scurrying about in the trees. The voluntary wardens were very helpful as we were beginners at caravanning. It was very clean and although there are no toilets or showers, I would recommend the site.

There were good walks nearby and we enjoyed a pleasant afternoons strolling through the woods. We experienced no aircraft noise at all. 


Previous     19 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3674 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement