Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Inverewe Gardens Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Achnasheen > Inverewe Gardens Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Inverewe Gardens Camping And Caravanning Club Site
Poolewe
Achnasheen
Highlands   (Browse area)
IV22 2LF
Tel: 01445 781249
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 01/04 to 28/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 51 Reviews
                9/10 from 51 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  51 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Basil S 17 reviews from this member

Excellent site with stunning views over Loch Ewe the starting point for the Russian convoys in WW2. The facilities are always spotless as this was the third time we have been to this site. Nearby is Inverewe Gardens which is well worth a visit and the Russian Convoy memorial near the mouth of Loch Ewe, we had to go there as my Uncle survived 2 of these convoys.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Coolgreina 11 reviews from this member

Beautiful location looking out on Loch Ewe which was used by the Russian Arctic Convoys as a home base.

Numerous walks from location.

Staff, David, Dianne, Brian and Rhona were friendly and very knowledge about the local area.

This is a small site, plenty of hard standing, however grass was sodden and there was evidence, and we saw it happening of people driving across the grass and churning it up. Not the sites fault, just idiots in van.

The facilities were spotless, with the site team constantly checking them. However they were dated and a re-vamp would be nice.

Didnít use the laundry or dishwashing facilities but they appeared well laid out.

There is a camper van point but it is so tight it is virtually unusable.

We spent a lovely time at the site and would definitely like to return

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 41 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site having booked for 4 nights. The assistant warden were probably the friendliest and most helpful we have ever met. We were walked round the site shown around the facilities and allowed to choose our pitch. The pitches were all very level hardstanding most with views of the loch. The toilet block was always kept very clean and the wardens were constantly checking them to make sure they were tidy. The dishwashing area was inside and had 4 sinks with lots of work top space, one of the best we have seen. The site was well laid out with lovely trees and shrubs. Nearby there is the Inverewe gardens. In the village there is a small shop and post office. A nice cafe and the Poolewe Hotel with a club site 10% discount for meals. The wardens work storage shed and assistant wardens pitch is oddly situated right at the front of the site obstructing that great view. Lots of great dog walks in the area. Would certainly return to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kmacdon 2 reviews from this member

We have just spent 5 nights at this site and as normal everything was spotless. The staff were so friendly and very helpful. One member of staff and his wife, who I cannot name but letís say the yorkie people, were exceptionally helpful with customer service to match. We will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 180 reviews from this member

If you haven't booked, you'll need to arrive early afternoon. Due to passing traffic on 'the 500' (North Coast 500), the Managers were turning people away by 5pm. There are sites at Laide & Gairloch, sure, but you don't want another 30 min drive at 8:00pm.

We were shown to our pitch & all the facilities were patiently explained. Toilet block was cleaned at the usual Club time (10:30 to 12:00, disabled people's loo available then 'in emergency') but oh! they do need to be upgraded. No private sink cubicles; the toilet cubicles are so narrow that you wouldn't be able to take a young child in with you & the sinks are so low that it felt like I was back at primary school. Showers, however, were fine: electric and not push button. There was a queue for the one laundry machine.

The sea shore is just over the road, the highlight of our whole trip north was seeing 2 otters swimming close by in the beautiful sunset reflections at 11:00 pm. And don't miss the beautiful Inverewe Gardens, a short walk away - we spent most of a day there, it's a tropical wonder. There are other walks inland that we'd have done if the weather hadn't changed.

Our dog needs off-lead exercise, she got this safely in an enclosed field by the bridge at the village. A

Fish & chip van visits on Fridays. Can't say if it's good or not as we were put off by the smell of the cooking oil. It's a Not Spot for Vodafone & the Manager suggested we went to the pub for free Wifi.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Danny4 9 reviews from this member

We came to this site from the road which approaches it from the south, and earlier this is a single road with passing places. If you have a large motorhome this may be a problem for you, so it would be easier if you come from the route coming from the north.

The site facilities are good and are cleaned often. The showers were excellent, and you simply turned them on and turned them off when you had finished.

The site is perfect. You look out from your place there and you can see the loch just across the road. You can go across to the edge of the loch and see the sunset, observe the heron feeding, and on occasion see the otter. We were here for 5 nights and loved it.

Local shop and post office were good. Choice of a cafe with good food, and a pub. That is the place to go! They have a Free Wifi access, and it works! even you have your own dongle, it won't work in this area. The site wifi is not able to cover the whole of the site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Explore with Dora 16 reviews from this member

This is a superb site in a superb location. The staff are really friendly and the check in was quick. Many of the pitches have good views down Loch Ewe. The grounds are really well maintained with some really attractive flower beds. Inverewe Gardens are an easy stroll down the road as is the local shop and pub.

Some reviews comment on the high price BUT this is for non members of the camping and caravanning club and as this is a club site it represents very good value for members. The toilet block is well maintained and clean and adequate. Showers are split between the main block and a couple more adjoining the laundry room. The EHU's are well maintained and are well located close to pitches. I would certainly use this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Marham2 8 reviews from this member

This site is magnificently situated at the head of Loch Ewe and only the road separates it from the shore. It is beautifully decorated with great planting (managed by Polewe Gardens so no surprise there)The result is I have never stayed on a better looking site. The pitches are both grass and hard standing and relatively flat. I note previous reviewers complained about the sanitary facilities but I had no problem. The showers are Miro and perhaps they did not know how they functioned as the was no shortage of hot water and a good flow. The village with a very good general store is about 400m away and you can get a reasonable meal in the hotel. There are some areas for dog walking nearby. The reception was most welcoming.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tedthebudgie 35 reviews from this member

The site is pleasantly situated but you do overlook a road to the loch beyond. On the night that we were there, a school bus was parked on the main road all night which effectively blocked the view for a number of vans. It is quite a snug site; don't expect a pitch in the dunes without another van in view as you can have at some sites on the west coast! As with most C&CC sites, the wc/showers etc are clean but dated; not a patch on CC sites and a lot of other sites.

Staff helpful and friendly. However, I did pity the Austrian guy in front of me at the reception who was getting short shrift because, although his English was really good, he couldn't quite get the difference between a credit card and a debit card and simply wanted to pay with plastic. This seemed to be creating a lot more hassle than necessary and I wouldn't have been happy if I'd been on the receiving end of something similar in the Alps!

We are no longer members of the C&CC having ditched them a few years back because, unlike the CC (C&MC now!) they do not allow one night bookings and on some sites demand that you book for five nights at peak times. Absolutely useless for touring. So, I knew that there might be a premium on price but £29. 50 for a small pitch on grass. Eye watering! By far the most expensive site by about 20% on a two week tour of the west coast. There are better sites a few miles down the road at Gairloch.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wheresmebus 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for three nights, using the site to visit the Gardens, Aultbea, and for a day off site with the van to Ullapool. This was actually our first stay at a C&CC site, they like to be known as 'the friendly club' - we certainly can't argue about that, we had a lovely welcome and were shown to a selection of pitches for us to choose from. We had a fantastic view down the Loch, and there are obviously spectacular sunsets to be experienced in the right conditions. The village is Poolewe, a short walk away, with pub, a shop that stocks everything and anything, and a nice little cafe. The magnificent gardens at Inverewe are just short walk up the road. However, the site showers/loos are very dated and particularly the showers in the gents are either scalding or tepid and this seemed to have been a problem for some time. There are two additional showers in the laundry room, but one of these was out of order during our visit. The site fees per night were quite expensive (at least for non-members), almost twice what we had paid at our previous stop. It's a nice place, but has made us rush to join the club - probably not.

Previous     51 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3160 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019