Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Carnfunnock Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne > Carnfunnock Country Park > Reviews

Carnfunnock Country Park
Coast Road
Larne
County Antrim   (Browse area)
BT40 2QG
Tel: 028 2826 2471  or  028 2826 2495
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 31
Open: 14/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 32 Reviews
                8/10 from 32 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  32 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alan Grahame 1 review from this member

 It is a good site

Clean & tidy

Staff very friendly

Just a little, the toilets & showers weren't open but we managed ok

Just enjoyed getting away

It's a in a good location if you run out of anything shops aren't too far

So we came home rebooked it for 5 nights first week in August 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Billandirene 2 reviews from this member

 Only stayed one night, unfortunately felt as though we were in the middle of a permanent playground. Despite signs saying no ball games many units being regularly hit or children climbing underneath to retrieve balls.

Children cycling in between pitches and racing around the site, which given the vast open spaces throughout the country park beggars belief. Worst experience in thirty years of caravanning never to be repeated. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 639 reviews from this member

 Just a minute or two off the main coast road, the campsite is part of the council run country park. Although you are above the coast road there are no sea views at all due to trees.

Pitches are concreted hardstanding, each has an electric point, water tap and grey waste. There is a small grass area between each pitch and a further hardstanding area than that you are parked on.

Key barrier for the camping area so its secure as you can only enter with the fob. Toilets and showers are fairly old, but clean enough.

Loads of walks in the park, a visitor centre, a small shop and a cafe. We were checked in quickly but maybe because only staying one night not given any information the park itself or told what there was to see or so.

For us it was just a convenient stopover heading down the coast, for those wanting a park on the doorstep its probably worth a few nights at least. We paid £22 for 2 adults incl electric, wifi and showers. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karl51 27 reviews from this member

 We stayed in the caravan park for a week and found it very good although pitches are close together. All pitches are on hard standing with their own electric, freshwater and waste.

The country park has plenty of walking trails with some being off limits to dogs.

We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Basil S 24 reviews from this member

 Mid and East Antrim council have got this completly right, excellent caravan site with very good hardstandings all with electic and water, very good toilet block all clean and tidy, wifi is good to all over the site.

All this in beautiful parkland with a view to the sea. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Team-G 5 reviews from this member

 5* Country park but 3 maybe 4* Campsite.

Majority of the pitches have a slight tilt to them although each pitch is nicely maintained with own power and water on each pitch.

Dogs permitted on lead and a very nice long woodland walk right outside campsite.

Security is good with tag system to gain entry.

The amenities block was not the greatest with the choice between power and heat in the showers a difficult one to make.

The country park, attached is fantastic. Loads to do and see.

I will return but just to the Country park and not to setup camp. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barryohara 1 review from this member

 Very good site and very clean and tidy. We went with 2 children (5yr and 2yr old) great play park located close to caravan park and lots of additional children facilities all payable locally (miniature train, mini golf, bouncy castle) weather permitting. There is also a cafe on the park, we didn't eat there but did have a coffee and bun ;)

As for the pitch. Each pitch has electric, water as well as waste water which was super for our 1st trip out. Easy booking and entry and exit made it a great park. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: McCs 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit in as many weeks.

Nice quiet site with about a dozen tents and a full complement of caravans etc.

Found all the staff very helpful on the phone when booking and on arrival.

The shower block was clean and everything was working.

The park it's self was fantastic especially for our 3 year old. Lots of free things to do. The other privately owned activities were reasonably priced.

Just a great site close to one if the most beautiful parts of the world.

10/10. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TheFultons 10 reviews from this member

 Just return from a weekend stay, the site has about 30 pitches and during the couple of nights we stayed it was fully booked. The pitches are good. However very tightly crammed in. Every time our neighbours were coming out of there awning it felt like they were getting into our car, that how close you are.

The facilities is in the toilet block were good but very dirty, on every occasion I used them, so I am not sure what the cleaning cycle is. This was very disappointing as everything else was good. Noise on the site at night was quite loud most nights but didn't stop me sleeping but may be a hindrance to others.

Most pitches are off the level so you will need to bring levelling ramps, I noticed a few which seemed ok but our slopped very badly from right to left looking out of the pitch.

I was also very disappointed we with staff at check in, I was given no details about the site or any direction/instruction after I explained I had never stayed there before. However I guess this is what you get when it is not a privately run site but a council one, where is it just a job at the end of the day.

All in all a good site with a couple of disappointments but it didn't ruin the holiday. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LouisaS 9 reviews from this member

 Excellent stopover point for the Larne ferry, good location with lovely views over the Antrim coast. Site accessible with key fob (£10 deposit) to open gates. All pitches have hook up and water. Good amenity block accessed with a key fob. Set in a country park with a visitor centre and café, trails and a play park. Plenty of information in amenity block on local restaurants, bars, supermarkets, etc. 


Previous     32 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Carnfunnock Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Carnfunnock Country Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Carnfunnock Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Larne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in County Antrim

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4016 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement