Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Thirsk Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Thirsk > Thirsk Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Thirsk Racecourse Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Station Road
Thirsk
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO7 1QL
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 63
Open: 16/03 To 29/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 27 Reviews
                7/10 from 27 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  27 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

We booked for a Saturday night as wanted to pop into Thirsk and have a look around.

Quicky, easy and friendly check in. All pitches are on grass, we thought the grass long and needed cutting - a good couple of inches long on the side we pitched.

Facilities are old, very old I would guess - but that said they were very clean. The site price surely reflects this as £16. 20 for a night with ehu against £25 at the nearest C&MC site for same night.

Thirsk is a market town, large square with shops around the edge, plenty t see for an hour or two, we walked along the river to the park and back around past the town church. Just by there is the James Herriot museum, housed in his old practice - sadly dogs not allowed in so we didn't get to visit.

As previous reviews there is a Lidl and a Tesco practically outside the gates, although close to the road we didn't notice road noise aftr early evening.
via mobile

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Campermanmike 1 review from this member

This was our first visit to this site. We will most certainly return. The location is great, so close to the town centre and Tesco and Lidl. Very impressed at the wardens, they were outstanding.

The only negatives. The toilet block urgently needs upgrading. It was very basic.

There was traffic noise, especially on the side lane. In Thirsk we struggled to find any pubs that sold food who allowed dogs.

Really enjoyed the Frankland Arms and the British Legion, but they do not serve food
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: S64miller 40 reviews from this member

As we arrived the day before the races we were directed to the rally field which we knew would happen, nice and quiet up there with water and waste, no problem. After race day we were moved onto the main site at 7pm with all the facilities.

Well run site with very friendly and helpful wardens, thought the facilities were good, close to two supermarkets and 5/10 minute walk into Thirsk.

Enjoyed Monday afternoon in town on market day and spent a while in the beer garden at a pub called tree 3.

Thoroughly enjoyed my two days in Thirsk and will be back.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Elfreda 1 review from this member

We have just spent a week at this site. First time we have been and we definitely will be back.

Everything was kept very clean and we cannot speak too highly of the 2 wardens who were very courteous & pleasant to talk to.

Thank you very much. All the best to the 2 wardens and staff

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GCMS2012 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 4 day long weekend at Thirsk Racecourse CC site.

The site is level, except for the odd 'dip' here and there, but a single chock will sort that when levelling your outfit though. Fairly sheltered too from the winds too I think, as we had easterly and northerly wind over our weekend, but you hardly felt them.

Facilities are dated as said before, but they were always clean. Controllable electric showers in each cubicle, instead of the push button type which made a difference I think as it made the shower temp more controllable.

There's no play park on the site, but a 10 minute walk through the town and you're on the riverside where there is a good play park with swings - climbing frame etc.

One end of the site backs onto to the rear of Lidl, and they have night time deliveries.

With the truck mounted fridge engines going and the clashing of trolley cages when they come through the night, some might find this annoying, but I didn't. The wardens may mention this, but as they say, shops need their deliveries.

Thirsk is your typical country market town. Markets are held on Saturdays and Mondays (including B/H Mondays).

Thirsk train station is about a mile up the road, at the other end of the race course basically. We drove to it, as O/H can't walk very far.

£3. 70 to park there all day it was about £17 for a family of 2 adults and 2 kids into York when we went, and is then only about 20 minutes on the train to York.

Can't think of anything else to add, except we will return.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angencraig 8 reviews from this member

First time here will not be last amazing site warden very friendly,

Facilities excellent really clean,

So close to town centre, shops two supermarkets tesco/lidl right next to campsite,

Lots lovely little pubs for food and drink very very friendly just 5mins walk, landlady in black bull makes you so welcome,

Hope to come back soon,

Only issue is the people who bring there pets need to be aware that not everyone wants to hear there dogs yapping on all day, would be so peaceful without the noise

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 510 reviews from this member

This site gets a few negative comments about location and facilities but I really could not fault it. Large, well kept field with clean facilities.

Very handy for Thirsk which is a lovely town. Supermarket next door to the site.

Nice relaxed atmosphere and probably the cheapest CC site you'll find!

Great site.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Paulmold 49 reviews from this member

A typical racecourse site, they won't spend any money on it but the Caravan Club manage it for them.

Previous negative comments are very unfair as the site managers and the club can't do anything about the dated facilities but come on, painted plywood toilet cubicles instead of plastic coated wallboards is no reason to down-mark this site.

The grass is kept beautifully short and one of the flattest fields I've stayed on. Although old the toilets are spotless,

Site managers (wardens) very friendly and the site is right next to a Tesco and a Lidl and a very short walk into town although there is not much to the town really.

For £14 per night and so convenient for a stopover travelling north to south or vice versa this is a cracking site.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lbarkas 78 reviews from this member

This was our first ever stay at a racecourse site and was booked since it was near to the venue for a wedding we were attending.

Having read the reviews, we were not expecting the regular Caravan Club facilities, but for what we required, we couldn't fault it and at £14 a night, it was good value. Location was ideal, handy for supermarkets (Lidl and Tesco), or Thirsk itself for both high street names and independent shops. Since it is part of the racecourse complex, the pitches are laid out in rows rather than the imaginative landscaping of Club sites, but we did not feel cramped despite one of the nights being full. The pitch we chose was closely mown and flat - hardly any levelling required and my OH is particular about that.

Likewise, the facilities block was not what we have become used to, but quite functional and spotlessly clean. Showers are the electric type. The husband and wife warden team were very friendly and helpful. Special thanks to the warden who juggled bookings in order for us to extend our booking to include the Saturday.

No wifi, unfortunately, which we like to find out about places to visit or eat.

The wedding was held at Crab Manor, Asenby, with the reception at The Crab and Lobster pub which is alongside and part of the same complex. The decor is made up of an eclectic mix of ephemera which adorns wall space and the ceiling, and is very quirky.

Can't comment on the regular menu but the wedding was enjoyable.

Nearby, at Topcliffe, is The Angel where we ate the night before and our party enjoyed their 'pub' meals. Kilburn, home of the late woodcarver famous for incorporating a mouse into his work, made an interesting and pleasant excursion.

There is a showroom, gift shop, museum (charged admission), cafe and garden. Nice light lunch but resisted buying a 'mouseman' cheeseboard at more than £80!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Magieann 7 reviews from this member

We visited this site a couple of times in 2014. We love Thirsk, its a typical Yorkshire Market Town. The site is situated at the entrance to the town and just a short walk into the centre.

There is a Tesco and Lidl supermarket next to the site which is very handy as we have a motorhome. The down side to the site is it is very dated and not any way near the Club standard.

It is only on 10 amps electric and the facilities are clean but really dated, however, I must say its not the fault of the club as they don't own it but I really think the racecourse could do better as they must make a good return from the revenue from caravans and motorhomes.

Previous     27 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


943 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019