Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Low Fell Gate Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Grange Over Sands > Low Fell Gate Caravan Park Reviews

Low Fell Gate Caravan Park
Cartmel Road
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA11 7EG
Tel: 015395 36300
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: Lodges Only Now
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 43 Reviews
                6/10 from 43 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 1 mile   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Philip Whitaker 6 reviews from this member

The price of 17 charged on this site for a single night for one person, one tent and a bike is quite outrageous: a full 50% more expensive than any other site I stayed on during a 10 day Lake District tour. There are virtually no level pitches and toilet facilities are mediocre: 2 sinks to wash up at outside, 1 shower and a few toilets. All the walls in the cubicles needed a good clean and re-painting.

A real disappointment--and a huge contrast with the generally very good sites that I found elsewhere. This site appears to be stuck in the 50s (with the exception of their pricing policy)

Management response: Update for 2018: Please note we are no longer offering camping or touring at Low Fell Gate due to our new lodge development

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Srymer 4 reviews from this member

Steep sloping site with beautiful views across Morecombe Bay.

Booked and paid over the phone, but office unmanned when we arrived and had to phone for pitching instructions. Needed new gas cylinder next morning but office again closed so spent fruitless hour in town looking for gas. It would be helpful if there was a notice of office opening hours on the door.

Toilets and showers basic, but always clean and cared for.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mcguirem 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here Friday to Sunday as we where visiting the Cumbria Steam Gathering this was a brilliant location for the steam fair and we had brilliant day, this is a lovely site the site is sloped but that helps to see the beautiful scenery of the bay and surrounding area, we read the previous reviews so we where aware to bring extra blocks, TV reception was good, phones worked well too. Carol was so helpful she escorted us to our pitch no problem. Elsan, water and the bins were all in the same area so don. T have to wonder around everywhere as in some previous sites we have visited. Toilet block was sufficient for our needs as we showered in our caravan cannot comment on the showers the people with tents where so friendly all greeted you with a good morning all seemed to be enjoying the relaxation of the site as we where.

Traffic on the M6 north on Friday was a nightmare so a friendly greeting was welcoming we had our tea in the Pheasant Allithwaite would highly recommend the food is good, and the staff where pleasant and we didn't. T have to wait for food It was a well organised place.

Would definelty return to Low Fell Gate as I would love to spend more time in Grange over Sands it's a lovely place.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Max-ie 1 review from this member

Stayed over two nights at this site. The camping, touring field is a large sloped area which can lead to levelling difficulties of your van/ motor home on some pitches. It was well mown with a track up the middle. My caravan had one wheel completely off the ground and still not completely level.

The toilet, wash facilities were some distance from our pitch but were well stocked and fairly clean.

The views over the bay are a major attraction for this site. It's within walking distance from the town. We chose to drive to a car park near the doctors surgery ( 1. 20 per day) and walk down the prom to the railway station, through the duck ponds and up to the shops on the high street. A very enjoyable walk and the different types of flowers on the prom walk were lovely.

There are lots of places to eat but we continue to go to The Pheasant at Allinthwaite. It's a great place to dine.

We stayed on a Cartmell race weekend. The site was busy. My only gripe is that There's not much room between pitches and we were so close to our neighbours that it was uncomfortable to sit out.

All in all a good site in a nice area. 17 per night for caravan. Just don't forget your levelling blocks and watch for busy dates. 4g signal is abundant in area.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bill Reeves 4 reviews from this member

DO NOT take a campervan or motorhome here. The pitch that we were given was like a parking place at the end of someones seasonal pitch. My wife and I spent 45 minutes trying to level our campervan in several different directions, but in the end we had to give up and park on a triangular piece of grass which was still uneven.

The pitch is just one long sloping field. The toilets were not particularly clean either.

If we had managed to level our van on our given pitch the owner of the seasonal pitch would not have been able to get near there area and they did arrive that night.

We booked in for 2 nights, but left after one.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bartonjan 1 review from this member

Fabulous campsite

First time definitely not the last the facilities very good

Lovely warm welcome from Carol and family

Sad to go home

See you next year

Would highly recommend this caravan site the views are amazing

The town not too far away excellent places to eat

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trotty51 2 reviews from this member

We had booked a hardstanding pitch with view. When we arrived we were shown to what appeared to be a parking space, with the electric hook coming from the back of the toilet block. The view was minimal, with house roofs ahead of us. There were no other hardstanding options available, the others were already taken with caravans that appeared to be permanently in place. We ended up on the grass in a secluded area, on quite a steep slope. It took us a while to get into the right position, but in the end it was OK, with views of the bay. We were lucky that we didn't have much rain during the week, as on the day we left, when it had rained most of the night, there was a very large puddle due to the slope we were on. It was very private and we didn't have any neighbours, which was nice. The TV signal was good.

The showers/toilets were close by, but could do with some refurbishment. They weren't particularly clean and during the week we couldn't actually tell that they had been serviced, other than fresh toilet roll. They certainly weren't of the standard of other sites we have visited, and we would say they were poor. There was plenty of hot water though.

The location of the site was good, a 20 minute walk down to the promenade which took you into Grange, a steep walk back. There is a good butchers in Grange that sold local fresh produce. The ladies in the Tourist Information office were very helpful with lots of ideas of things to do.

The site is on the Walney to Wear Sustrans no 70 cycle route and we took advantage of this on a couple of days.

We can't comment on what time reception was open because we never saw it open during the week.

There are a number of good pubs in Cartmel - max 10 mins by car. The prices are all much the same and the choices are similar in all. The Sticky Toffee Pudding Shop is in Cartmel - visited by Penelope Keith - a very nice shop for lots of unusual produce, plus the puddings.

We probably would find somewhere else to stay if we were to return.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kath48 1 review from this member

We went here for our wedding anniversary ad hoc in March. The weather was amazing that week, we loved it there especially the view. We tried to park on the grass but got stuck, the site owner said to pick anywhere where we wanted to go. We had lots of choice as it wasn't busy. We parked up opposite the bungalow, on a hard standing we had a lovely view of the bay from there. The shower block was very clean, I did use the shower, considering it was March and cold outside it was quite warm with 2 heaters which were hot and lots of hot water. Not many sites leave extra toilet rolls, and decent ones too. Not the usual cheap rubbish most sites use. There was soap and paper towels too.

We didn't get to the pub, but we did go to a great place opposite the ornamental gardens for lunch, attached to a bakery serving extremely yummy cakes and pastries, expensive but really lovely. Food was fresh and very tasty.

Great little shops if you want something exclusive. We like to shop in individual shops for personal service and it's good for their economy.

This was our first time here but it won't be the last.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weefieryscot 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for three nights and loved it. We struggled to get our caravan level on the hill so Carol-so lovely and helpful-put us round the corner on a lovely secluded part of the site with the most amazing views over the bay. Gents toilet was basic but absolutely fine. Ladies toilet and shower was more than adequate. Spacious wet room showers. Freezer for blocks and ironing board available as well. It is hilly but nothing unmanageable and only 10 minutes walk down to Grange with lovely shops and eating places. Recommend the fish and chip restaurant! Loved it.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Glockenspiel 1 review from this member

Very quiet site (we were the only ones there) with spectacular views. The facilities were adequate but basic. Washing up area consists of 2 sinks at the side of the toilet block and next to the bins. The toilet block was very basic and could do with a good clean, but the showers (2)were hot eventually, they are pump action so it took a while to get hot water. There is a small freezer for your ice blocks and a socket for your hair dryer I presume. The gents toilet had 1 shower and 3 toilets in use (2 were locked?) this too could have done with a good clean. The pitches were mostly on a slope so be aware of where you pitch and you are in farmland so you can expect plenty of noise from nature!Wi-Fi is available at the extortionate price of 10 for 2 nights and it was very poor at times. Will not be returning.

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3835 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019