Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Back Of Beyond Adults Only

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Ringwood > Back Of Beyond Adults Only Reviews

Back Of Beyond Adults Only
234a Ringwood Road
East Moors Lane
St Leonards
Ringwood
Dorset   (Browse area)
BH24 2SB
Tel: 01202 876968
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 96
Open: 01/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 147 Reviews
                8/10 from 147 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf On Site   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  147 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Piper144 3 reviews from this member

Absolutely fantastic, will return soon an ideal base to explore the local area and peace and quiet on your return.

Dog Friendly our spaniel loved it.

Owners very nice people, highly recommend this site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shazzy1 1 review from this member

I am an absolute newbie to the camping scene & my husband used to go camping many years (& lbs) ago! We bought a used 4 berth air tent &, with limited time, did a quick perusal of campsite reviews. We opted for Back Of Beyond, which is adult only. Check in is at 12pm, but we arrived early (11. 45). Luckily, not a problem at all & we were permitted through the key card barrier.

The reception staff were very friendly & helpful. Our host suggested a particular pitch to look at but said if not suitable, there were others. We were happy with his recommendation, which was a plot, with electric hook up, on which there were about 18 pitches. The plot was a mixture of tents, trailers & decked glamping modules - motorhomes seemed to be confined to the main arena.

The ground was decent, the plot ring fenced by trees & shrubbery. The whole site is very clean, the toilet & shower facilities are modern & well kept. There is a washing-up station behind the shower blocks which we always found very tidy without other users detritus left behind.

The reception/shop was well stocked with essentials - though we only found frozen local meat products - not fresh. There was also a nice array of seating with parasols by a Koi pond outside. When setting up, we found our regulator would not fit onto our Calor gas 4. 5kg bottle. This was because the bottle was faulty & the space between the valve & the top of the bottle could not accommodate any fixing. The guys at Back Of Beyond very kindly swapped ours for one of theirs with no problems at all.

A young couple, who had hired a glamping pod next to our pitch, wandered in & created Cain about their bed being a small double (4ft) & not a king-sized bed as they had envisioned. The Back of Beyond guys said it was what they had paid for but, if another became available they could change. Roll on 6 hours & said young couple were happily ensconced in a lavish, decked pod with fire pit - and a king-size bed, naturally.

This is very much a place where customer service & satisfaction is King. This site is a little more expensive than others but I guess you will always pay a premium for it being adult only, pet friendly, tolerant of how much space & type of set-up you require. If I had any suggestions - I would have liked to have seen a rubbish bin near the washing up station.

There is a food waste bin though, so credits for that. There are a couple of small ponds to fish, a pitch & putt area, nice walks. All very low key, but wonderfully peaceful & relaxing. The one - and only - negative for us was the lovely dog owners opposite stopping for a chat, but allowing their dog to piddle up our tent right by our designated cooking area!

Of course pet owners are advised, via leaflet, that their animals must be on a lead, not go onto other pitches etc. But, if dog owners choose to ignore the rules, there doesn't seem to be anything in place to police it either. This was the only drawback for us & we will now have to camp where pets aren't allowed & maybe children are. ……. Or do they piddle up the tents too??

We enjoyed our stay & would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Poppy 117 4 reviews from this member

We took our VW Camper, awning and dog to this site for a three night four day stay on a pitch with electric hook up. We still cannot believe how quiet and peaceful it was. The staff friendly and engaging showed us a selection of pitches and walked us around the site, to ensure we were familiar with the immaculate facilities whilst we chose; in view of the exceptional hot weather a pitch which was shaded most of the day.

Pitches were spacious. Sensibly in view of the fire risk fire pits were not permitted during our stay, but we used most of the remaining facilities, the clean washing up area and shower blocks had a plentiful supply of hot water at all times.

Water points situated around the site, and rubbish areas with recycling points were accessible but situated away from the pitches.

We had a great time and will return, especially as we were given a discount voucher for our next stay when checking out. Recommended if you like the quiet life.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ct955 42 reviews from this member

Just returned from 4 night stay at this adult only site. A friendly reception and walking tour of site. We were given a choice of pitches. The facilities are clean and recently refurbished.

The dog walking area was excellent, the pitch and putt was rough and ready and very dry due to weather conditions! Reception offered a selection of basics, ice cream and bread delivered daily. Hot and cold drinks available and a nice seating area.

The fish and chip van was excellent. Lots to do in surrounding area. We would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pat Lavin 1 review from this member

We have been caravaning in and around the New Forest for over 40years and I can honestly say this is the best site we have come across. The owners are so welcoming and friendly including their lovely dog. The site is very well maintained with the emphasis on conservation.

The woods and lakes are a dream and my crowning joy was seeing an otter in the lake(something I haven't seen in the wild since the late fifty`s)so you can imagine my joy, I was on a high all of my stay.

I cannot wait to return next year in the summer it is sooooooo peaceful. Thank`s once again to the owners and staff it was brilliant.

Pat Lavin

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chezzle 3 reviews from this member

This site is not really in the back of beyond, it's very close to the busy A31. It does have a narrow dusty track with a few pot holes, which serves another campsite, some houses and some sort of stone quarry, so take care when approaching. We had a very warm welcome and we were showed around the site and allowed to pick our pitch, which was a very good size, we had beautiful weather so we were grateful for the shade from the trees.

The site is supposed to be tranquil but the road noise can be awful, some nights sounded like a motorbike track, if you want to go to a beach or shop etc, it can be very busy and spoils the outing a bit, but it is in a lovely area, the actual site has a lovely woodland area where you can let your dogs run and a pitch and putt which we didn't use, there were picnic tables there but most of them were in disrepair.

The shop on site had essentials although quite pricey, you could sit outside with a coffee, but no parasols made it unbearable in the heat. There is a little shed with books, dvds and info on things to do and places to eat and they have catering vans visiting the site, which is convenient.

The shower block for me is a sore point, as I broke my foot coming out of one on the first night due to the steps looking like a ramp and not being able to see due to inadequate lighting, which I was told was on 24 hours a day, but I'm certain it wasn't on and other campers that I'd spoken to had seen the light off. It was pitch black. All the other toilets/showers/etc had ramp entrances. Just be careful in that one! Otherwise the showers etc were adequate, maybe a bit tired in places, (like lose trim, windows that won't close, attention to detail is needed) I was able to use the disabled bathroom after my accident, which was very nice. The owners didn't seem too bothered, very dismissive of it, I just hope they look at making it safer.

We had the 10 amp electric hook up and had no problems with it, although it was so hot we didn't have to use much.

Management response: Thank you for the review, however we would like to address some of the comments made:

The road to the park is not owned or managed by us but it is constantly worked on fixing the pot holes etc and we hope that there will be a large section tarmaked soon. You would have noticed that we have tarmaked a 1/4 mile stretch already up to our gate.

The reviewer states that we did not seem to care that she broke her foot. This was totally untrue, we sat with them, made them coffee, wrote up a full accident report. We went to see her a few days a later to see how she was. I really don't know what more we could have done.

She comments that the shower block was pitch black which it certainly wasn't and we have photos to prove it. The lighting is on 24 hours a day and she states that she doesn't believe it was on and others seemed to think it was off too. The light is on permanently and could only go off if the bulb went which it didn't.

We did go down the following two nights to check on the lighting as we take any accident very seriously but we did feel that the lighting was very bright and was lighting the stairs sufficiently. The internal blocks also are very light and we also have ample solar lighting around the entire shower block area. We have not had any feedback from previous guests that the lighting is inadequate but we will obviously re look very carefully at this and take all necessary works if required to rectify any issues found.

The shower blocks are constantly being updated and improved and I believe that shows in our top scoring reviews for them. We are always looking to improve and enhance our showering facilities further, they are kept very clean and always have plenty of hot water.

We get picnic benches from our local pub and we repair them to re service them. We currently have 8 all in use and 4 under repair. These will be the tables you refer too.

We do stock essentials in the shop and as much local produce as we can. We do keep our prices as keen as we can but it is difficult for us to compete with local convenience stores. As you say there are lots of large supermarkets within a few minutes for a larger shopping spree and we are here for the forgotten items and some goodies.

We were really sorry that she had an accident and told her so on many an occasion, it's not nice that anyone has an accident on the park however we behaved in an appropriate and caring manner.

I am sure if you were not incapacitated from your break, you would have enjoyed your stay with us a lot more, and hopefully given us a more favourable review. We hope you will come back and visit us sometime in the future and best wishes from all of us here for a speedy recovery to your foot. Many thanks again

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jeff261159 9 reviews from this member

Firstly, I have to say that as far as caravan parks go, here is nothing wrong with this one, but it is not as good as 'they say they are'. The pitches are roomy but are laid out in such a way that they give you no flexibility. Its jockey wheel on the 'landing strip' or its no pitching! With a large, full awning, it leaves you no room to sit out.

Electricity is 10amp and has to be reset by the warden, so take care when using your appliances. The dog walking area is great, open heath and wooded areas where dogs be off the lead, but its the only area! There are other areas but there are notices informing you they are SSSI's and no dogs allowed! The Sputh Downs National Park is SSSI and dogs are allowed! There is a rule that on the campsite ALL dogs must be on a lead, a rule that was largely ignored by a large number of owners, and seeminly not enforced by the site owners.

The amenities are ample, just, with barely enough toilets and showers for the number of pitches! And ladies, be warned, the dishwashing area is in your toilet block, with men (sometimes!) doing the washing up while youreusing the toilet!

Like I said, as a site, it is what it is, but at £32 a night, in my opinion, it is overpriced, by about £8 a night!

Management response: This review suggests the ladies toilets are in the washing up area: There are 2 wash up areas one outside and one inside. The inside washup is in the same building as the smaller ladies shower block however they are completely separate and you have to walk through a door to enter the ladies showering area.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul and Susan 6 reviews from this member

This is one of the best touring sites we have stayed on, location, facilities and staff are all excellent.

Pitches are all very large, are all grass and nicely landscaped. The dog walking area is 18 acres of woodland and grassland, a few yards from your pitch!

No children are allowed on site, dogs are welcomed and the warden, Mike, is most helpful. The site owners keep bees and their honey is sold in the well-stocked site shop. Showers and toilets are well kept and very clean.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: M3gg3rs 11 reviews from this member

What an absolute gem of a site. We only have high praise for the wardens, manager and owners of this site who made us feel welcome. The facilities were second to none and cleaned to an excellent standard. Plenty of hot water at all times for washing up and showers.

The fish and chips from the van were very good as were the pizzas.

The woodland walk for our two dogs was brilliant.

Plenty of places to visit roundabout and a Lidl and Sainsburys nearby for shopping, although the shop had most things if you ran out of anything.

We will be returning.

And the adult only part of it was brilliant. The site was peaceful and very quiet.

Thanks once again for a lovely holiday.

Anne, Michael, Matthew and Jack and Daisy (the dogs)

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Josie+steve+bazil 27 reviews from this member

A lovely site, well laid out with huge pitches which are now marked out with shingle strips. The 10 amp electric hookups weren't a problem. We have a domestic kettle but it didn't trip out. Mind you, we had a lovely sunny week so didn't need the heating on. We did, however, suffer greatly from midges while sitting outside in the evenings.

We are used to midges at home because of the Scots pine trees near our home and when they come down in the evenings, we just have to go indoors, and the same thing happened on the site. It's was a combination of the lovely weather and the time of year ( it's their breeding season). We tried insect repellent and citronella candles but they weren't very efficient.

There has been some Eucalyptus trees planted around the site. Whether they were planted deliberately to ward off midges or not, we don't know but, as a last resort, Steve picked a few small pieces of tree and placed them on our Cadac with water, to create a cloud of steam which seemed to work!

They did spoil our evenings somewhat. There is background traffic noise all the time because the A31 is a very busy road. There is a small shop with local produce for sale and a summerhouse with lots of local info and DVDs to borrow. The shower blocks were warm and well thought out. The dog walks were also good. As we arrived on a Saturday, we decided to try the fish and chips from the van that visits and they were very good.

All in all a lovely, lovely site but just be prepared for the midges at this time of year, and the background traffic noise (even at night), if that is an issue for you.

Previous     147 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4379 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019