Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Conder Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Conder Farm Campsite
Deepdale Road Dent
(lake District)
Sedbergh
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA10 5QT
Tel: 015396 25277
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 31 Reviews
                8/10 from 31 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  31 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sunrize 1 review from this member

Iv have camped at Conder for over 5 years, the price has never changed it's always been 5 per adult, great views, lots of walks, shop close by, 2 pubs, The Sun inn love it, staff awesome, random live music,

The George & Dragon, good has a tv for the sport.

Campsite basic what you see is what you get, toilets basic, but always moped and cleaned daily and always lots of loo roll

What do you expect for only 5 I will always go here

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spam and Beans 2 reviews from this member

After walking the Dales Way many moons ago with my dad and staying at Conder Farm( About 15years ago), and stuck for somewhere to take my two boys on our yearly camping trip, I decided on a return visit.

So why Conder Farm?

Well I don't like crowds, cannot do with the usual hustle and bustle of the usual camp sites in Wharfedale and Horton, they cost a fortune, cramped and there are always issues with drunk people making noise either coming home from the pub or drinking on the site. I had a fair idea that Conder Farm would be quite, Dent is a great base to explore the Dales and the Howgills that many pass over without a second look.

So the plan, 3 days of walks with my 12 year old and 17 year old. Pen-y-Ghent on day 1, Howgills on day 2 via Cautley Spout and another trip up the Howgills from Sedbergh. Oh did I mention the dog, Ada, 9 month olds first camping trip.

Location: The field is sloping but there are plenty of flat spots. The grass is cut to around 3 inch, really green its very comfy. A country lane runs along side buts it very quite. You have fields to three sides and the village of Dent to one side. Great views of the surrounding hills.

Toilets/showers: So the toilets and showers. Do not use this site if you are used to a 5 star shower and toilet block, it is very basic. The toilets are in need of modernisation. But if you don't mind roughing it, it does it job. There's clean running water, a shower, toilets with loo roll and a sink all you need really.

Surrounding area: Dent - Lovely village, plenty of pubs, very old and interesting to explore. Sedbergh is just up the road -fantastic town with lots of facilities. Howgills, if you haven't been up the Howgills you aint lived. The Yorkshire Dales, perfect base to explore the surrounding Dales. Also Dent is on the Dalesway, there are lots of walks from Dent.

We had a great three days, two nights, cheap as chips, only charges for people so we have two tents up. Cost was 24 for two nights.

Good Points.

Secluded spot.

Private.

Excellent location.

Great value for money.

Secure field for kids and dog.

Bad Points.

For us there are no bad points but I can see that some people would have issues with the toilet/shower and no electric hook ups.

If you do want a quite spot to explore, that's close to wild camping that this is the site for you.

Oh there are caravans on the site, I didn't ask if they are rented out but it may be worth a check.

Thanks for reading

Darren

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lozhedgehog 4 reviews from this member

We had one night on this site at the start of September this year.

There was plenty of space for our VW campervan on the level lower reaches of the field.

I wouldn't however want to be away from the bottom row of pitches as it's on quite a slope.

When we went up to the house we were very happy with the price which we expected to be 20 for the night (5 per person) but the kids (13-11) were 2 each so 14 was very good. The dog was free.

We pitched a small tent for the kids as we had been told they only go by people, not what's on the pitch.

The ground is easy to peg down to, which is a blessing sometimes.

Lovely views and a couple of mins walk and you're into the lovely Dent with dog and kid friendly pubs.

The site was quiet in the evening and overnight, even the D of E / Scout group that were there were silent.

The downside:- The Toilets and Showers

The loos here are NOT like last year's reviews which called them old, tired but clean.

They were in fact awful (and we have been to plenty of music festivals!)

Old shed type loos are fine, so is the possibility of a few bugs, that's just camping, but human dirt and grime is not OK.

I couldn't guess as to the last time these had been cleaned, a long time for sure!

To be fair I think we'd have all preferred going behind a hedge for the loo. Let alone brushing teeth / washing.

The toilet's condition far from ruined out night away, waking up and having breakfast with those views is amazing. Just a shame that somewhere along the line the mop and bleach have been misplaced!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Flamingteacher 11 reviews from this member

Pains me to give this site a fantastic review; next thing it'll be in The Daily Telegraph's top ten campsites in Uk and then we'll struggle to find a spot and there'll be ' outfits' and tons of Dominic's, Persephones running around in Crocs!

That being said, this is a delightful site. Everything that the most recent review (2013) is accurate. Still only 5 per person per night. Owner serves in the Sun Inn on a weekend, and most of campers drink there too. Fabulous, friendly place. It's a hidden sanctuary for anyone who likes their pleasures simple, rustic, but genuine

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anna-Louise 1 review from this member

We stayed here Sat - Mon.

The Owners were friendly and very helpful, we asked to stay two nights and were told to pitch up and pay 'later on' and breakfasts were served from 8. 30am at the farm house.

The field set out for camping has around 10 tourers pitched permanently at the top of the hill close to the farm house, then it slopes very steeply down to a more flatter area at the bottom. I would say it could cope with maybe 15 tents at a push as not much flat ground. Several camper-vans were also pitched up closer to the entrance to the field for EHU.

We found a spot to pitch easily, as we were the only tent on the field, we were trying out our new 4m Bell Tent for the first time and wanted somewhere quite and laid back about size and spacings of tents unlike the larger regimented campsites we try to avoid!

It was 5 pppn and no charge for the Dog!

The washrooms are very basic, one shower for women and one for men (we assume). They are in an outside loo kind of arrangement on the side of the house. The ladies shower tray and shower were very clean as were the sink and toilet. Not everyones cup of tea, as there can be creepy crawlies about, but then most campsite toilet blocks have them! It never bothers me when I'm camping!

There is a shop in the village which was open 8. 30 until 5. It sold everything you may need from a small village shop, including local fresh bread which was lovely!

The Sun Inn is the pub furthest from the campsite 5min max walking. Serving good beers and Pub food (we didn't sample it but it looked good!)

The George & Dragon is the other pub, this is the tap house for Dent Brewery and have 6 or so real ales on and a few perrys & ciders. There is more of a restaurant down stairs in the back room for eating or eat in the bar. We ate here and the food was good, especially the chips with steak pie!

Overall a lovely village and campsite, it was out first visit and we will definitely be returning a lot more as its not often you find a gem like this!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Littlelegs74 1 review from this member

We absolutely love this site, we're touring bikers and are always made to feel really welcome. Really close to the village pub too.

Amenities are simple but we don't mind that. Being bikers we're used to that. Really peaceful and beautiful.

At 5 per person per night to camp how could you go wrong. Always feel really relaxed when I leave and usually don't want to leave here.

Keep bringing my friends to try it and they love it too. I would highly recommend this site to anyone who likes camping and beer.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skimandave 3 reviews from this member

Dent was a great little village, only takes a few minutes to walk from one side to the other. Lovely old Church and quaint cobbled streets. Would recommend visiting the George and Dragon Pub, which has a good selection of Dent Brewery ales.

There is a great cafe a couple of minutes walk away, called Meadowside, where the food is really good, lots of vegetarian choice too. It's reasonably priced and well worth a visit if you fancy a break from your campingaz stove!

The campsite is small, and slopes, with limited level pitches at the bottom near the wall next to the road, although the road does not see heavy traffic. We pitched a quarter of the way up, near to the tree-lined boundary wall, which gave us some protection from the elements. Although it was heavily raining for the weekend we were there, the ground drained well, with no flooding issues for us.

This campsite is extremely convenient for the village of Dent, and extremely cheap at 4pppn. The downside of the site, apart from the slope, are the toilet facilities, which are minimal and look as though they have not seen a bottle of bleach or a had a good clean in years. This is a real pity, as the owners could smarten the toilets up with just a bit of effort and not a lot of cash. Also, the dishwash facility is just a sink and drainer on the wall outside of the ladies toilet, and is not under cover, but open to the elements.

I had visited this campsite some weeks ago for the Beer Festival. I noticed then that a tube of toothpaste was left on the dishwash sink, and it was still there when I went back for this visit weeks later. My point here is that this shows the lack of attention that the owners give to the facilities.

The very big plus for this campsite though is that once you step through the conveniently sited small gap in the bottom wall onto the road, you are pretty much in the the village of Dent.

So, if you aren't too fussy about the toilet and shower facilities, and don't mind the risk of having to pitch on a slope, then this is a great little campsite, which is cheaply priced, and absolutely fine for a short stay.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bcnr 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic value for money - only 4 per person per night - and no charge for cars or dogs!

Owners very friendly and make brilliant bacon butties every morning! However - get there early - the pitch consists of a sloping field with few flat areas - mainly at the bottom against the wall.

The wash area/loos/showers are quite basic - but what do you expect for 4? If you want a bit of peace avoid Fri/Sat as this site is popular with bikers.

The village of Dent is great - 2 pubs, a church, museum and a shop - all worth a visit. If you want a break in the Yorkshire Dales go for it - but be warned - don't attempt to take a caravan - the road either way into Dent is single track. And the train station is 4 miles away - with a bus once a week on a Saturday!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mattelli 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from a Thurs-Saturday break at this site. It was too hot to do any serious walking but we are more 'amblers' than ramblers, so a few walks along the river to cool off were enough.

If you come of the M6 and through Sedburgh the site is on the other side of Dent. We had to drive through the lovely cobbled streets(which seemed so wrong in a car). The site is about 2 mins walk to the village so its ideal on that score.

Its not a large site and when we arrived there was no one around, so we pitched along the side wall, on a slight slope as the best flat areas were already taken. In fact the whole site is on a hill, some parts quite steep with only 1 flat pitch on the top with EHU and the very bottom of the field, which would probably take around 7 large tents in a row, otherwise its a case of finding the flattest area.

The toilets were very basic and a bit grubby. It didn't help that the shower was in with the toilet and that meant the floor was permanently wet. Perhaps they should provide a mop and bucket so that those campers taking showers can dry the floor afterwards. I'm more than happy to do that if it makes going to the loo a bit more pleasant.

We saw the owners a couple of times and he seemed pleasant, he never chased for the payment, in fact we paid just before we packed up to leave (I didn't want him thinking we were going to do a runner!)They do breakfasts but we didn't try them as we had our own supplies.

The village had a great little shop that sold anything you might have forgotten. There were 2 pubs in Dent, both dog friendly, they both serve food, but again we didn't sample it.

Its a lovely area with several nice walks and I'd like to go back again.

Would I go back to this site.It was only 4pppn so its cheap but basic and I have been to sites only 1 dearer per person with much cleaner facilities and not sloping, so unfortunately I'd have to say no.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

There was a bit of confusion when we arrived at the site. The owner told us we couldn't come in. I said that we had booked but he said they didn't take bookings. I did think it was funny at the time as they never took my name or contact number. Anyway he talked to his wife and she did admit to talking to me. So he let us stay and then was really friendly.

The site is just a field and is quite sloping. Even with levelling blocks we couldn't get the van level. We didn't use the shower as we had read previous reviews and we have a shower in our van so it wasn't a problem, The view from the site is breathtaking.

It is very close to the village of Dent just a few minutes walk. There are 2 really nice pubs. We ate in both and they were both good. The ales at The George and Dragon are brewed there and are really good. There is also a small well stocked shop in the village.

The downside is the access to the site. For this reason I would NOT recommend it for a caravan. It is great for tents or small vans but dangerous for a large caravan.

We have a twin-axle van and you have to drive along a 5 miles narrow road to get to Dent. Then the only way to the site is through the very narrow cobbled streets with zig zag roads. Once on the site we were worried how we were going to get back out again! We left at 5. 30 am to try and avoid any traffic that may be coming the other way. Luckily we got out OK.

In fairness we loved the site and we loved Dent but would not return to this site.

Previous     31 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3269 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!