Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Chapel House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Keswick > Chapel House Farm Campsite Reviews

Chapel House Farm Campsite
Borrowdale
(lake District)
Keswick
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA12 5XG
Tel: 01768 777256
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 38 Reviews
                8/10 from 38 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: CharlotteBrass 1 review from this member

 Camping in a roof tent connected to a bmw 5 series (e39). Excellent camp site, really friendly owners,

Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Lovely warm atmosphere and they mean it about HOT showers! There's a bus stop just outside which goes to all local amenities.

The price for this site is unbeatable and worth every penny. The views of the surrounding mountains and hills is superb.

You will enjoy staying here!

We will definitely be returning. Thank you! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Koby1 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely basic site in a stunning valley. A warm welcome and good advice for activities in area. No hot water for washing up, which was okay. My only issue with the facilities was the shower charge; 50p for the shower was expensive and provided inadequate time as it only lasted 4min; I am a quick showerer but I had to really rush and literally finished as time expired.

I found people were asking family and friends to wait outside cubicle in case time finished before women had rinsed-off, so they could put in another 50p (you could only add one 50p at a time and would need to come right out of the cubicle into a public area, closing cubicle door to add another 50p yourself).

We have been camping all our lives and 50p for 4 mins is the most expensive charge we have come across.

Having said that, the site was so stunning I would stay again (and again)

Lots of great walks direct from site and two pubs within walking distance. Be aware there was no phone signal at all in the area 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tubby2 34 reviews from this member

 Stayed here one night as backpacking the Cumbria Way. Richard the owner very friendly and helpful. Due to covid evening meals at local pubs could be hit and miss.

The site is well kept level soft grass. Washrooms and toilets with 50p for showers Richard had the coins. He also brought out some plastic chairs for us.

There is a wet barn area we did not use as weather was lovely. Site strict about anti social behaviour we saw none at all maybe there has history but been stamped out.

Access is via main road or via church. Dishwasher sinks no hot water.

Site is typically Cumbria, basic, in beautiful setting. However you can see flower pots with blooms around site showing cared for. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 595 reviews from this member

 Excellent site in the heart of Borrowdale.

Basic but adequate facilities.

Friendly owner who likes to have some craic with campers.

Fire pits allowed.

Great pub a short walk away.

Amazing scenery and walking!

6pp - excellent value 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Jill00 1 review from this member

 Beautiful Location, quiet site, very clean plentiful facilities, uncrowded, Covid safe, family and dog friendly, good value.

Highly recommend. Book ahead. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Filled 1 review from this member

 Very good email communication on booking. Friendly farmer on hand to show us our pitch. Very quiet location with stunning natural surroundings and great walks.

Went on a brilliant walk from there to Dock Tarn and Watendlath Tarn and then had a lovely dinner at the Riverside Bar.

Facilities were good and cleaned very regularly though the four minute shower was not always as hot as desired. Really lovely campsite.

No litter no noise and very family and dog friendly. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Louissa 24 reviews from this member

 Cheap and cheerful site.

The rural location is great, and feels pleasantly wild. There was very little traffic during the evening/night.

There is a very relaxed approach to pitches - very much "just go wherever". It was fine when we were there (before the summer holidays) but I could imagine it feeling quite cramped if it was full. (And it regularly does fill up - we tried to reserve a spot for the Saturday night but were told that we would have to be there by mid-afternoon or they would give away our place. )

The facilities are very basic and limited - no hot water in either the toilets or the pot wash sinks. We didn't use the showers (which cost extra and there are only two in total) but there seemed to be a constant queue for them in the evening and morning. There were also queues for the toilets in the morning.

It felt like old fashioned camping - not a bad thing in itself, but not something everyone wants so be warned. 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 595 reviews from this member

 Great site, in between Rosthwaite and Stonethwaite.

Excellent pub in Rosthwaite.

Great walks directly from the site.

Facilities were very basic, but did the job. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Strawy 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely place to stay, I had 3 nights & hit a sunny spell.

Superb location & very well run, owner really cares about his site.

He was anticipating an upcoming busy bank holiday weekend & was opening up more fields.

Rules & regs are clearly stated on the notice board next to the toilet area.

There is a barn with seats for rainy weather, thankfully I didn't have to hide in there.

Everyone I spoke to loved this site.

6 ppn, well worth it, will be back soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LMP1 2 reviews from this member

 Love this site. Basic, but clean, friendly owners, beautiful setting, and importantly quiet - even at the busiest times.

I have stayed here several times (small tent) and always enjoyed time spent there. 


Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Chapel House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Is Chapel House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Keswick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3099 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement