Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Tanpits Cider Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Taunton > Tanpits Cider Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Tanpits Cider Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Dyers Lane
Bathpool
Taunton
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA2 8BZ
Tel: 01823 974845
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 26 Reviews
                8/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: UXO8 23 reviews from this member

What a shame. Could be a wonderful site if there was some money spent on it. Very scruffy site. Terrible toilets and showers (not updated) Ivy plants growing through window and ceiling. Toilet block in orchard field needs pulling down (VILE). More than 10 Peacocks roaming around site and they start early 5. 05am they screamed liked mad ! Lots of workers living on site and leave early for work, traffic noise too. Owner not very friendly or talkative

Only good point. Cycle path to canal just down the road, cycled into Taunton. Lovely large new Aldi store a 5 mins walk away

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: P Fairbank 1 review from this member

Stayed for 2 nights - nice pitch - quiet setting - clean WC / showers. Great value. Peacocks, geese and rabbits wandering round the site - my dog was champing at the bit! A lovely canal walk into Taunton is within 200m.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: NicciMac 46 reviews from this member

We only had one night here, we arrived after dark and had to be off by 10. 30am so I don't have an awful lot to say!

Pros:

You can camp right underneath the apple trees, which at this time of year was really lovely. The smell of rotting apples underfoot is actually really nice!

There are geese, peacocks and guinea fowl pottering about which is lovely.

Toilet and shower block was nice and clean, and there is a good size washing up room with hot water, draining board etc.

Handy location close to M5.

Cons:

12. 50 for 2 adults, dog, EHU. And showers are an extra 30p each! I know it's not a lot but what are we paying for if showers aren't free?? Plus, you need a shower token from the main house, so if you arrive late like we did you are out of luck. I cannot abide it when places charge extra for a dog, it makes literally no sense. They wouldn't charge us extra if it was a kid we had instead of a dog!

Customer service showed room for improvement, we both felt like we were being an imposition when we went to the house, firstly to pay for the pitch and then to get shower tokens in the morning. I'm sure for 12. 50 you could give us a smile!

Check-out time way too early. It was a real struggle getting breakfast cooked, both showered, washing up done in time, and it was totally unnecessary.

A nice spot but too pricey for what it is.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joeycrez 1 review from this member

We have just spent 5 nights here and it is beautiful. It's a working farm and run by the owners daughter and husband who are working very hard to improve the site. The orchard is lovely and peaceful. There are peacocks, guinefoul and geese where a joy to watch in the mornings though sometime a bit noisy. There is a small play area which is more designed for younger children. The shower / toilet block is small but clean and works and is due to be redone this winter. It is close to local supermarket, bowling alley and cinema. All in all a lovely park, where the owners have lots of plans for the future. Well worth a visit we will be returning next year.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jimbo23 3 reviews from this member

I felt that I had to write a review of this site after reading some of the previous reviews. We stayed here for one night as a stop over on our way to Cornwall in June this year. The site is in a pleasant setting on a working farm. The facilities are more than adequate and the prices very reasonable. I cannot understand the negative views for this site, some people cannot be pleased. The web site for Tanpits clearly states that there are many farm birds roaming around so why use this as a negative. Don't be put off by the negative reviews, this is a site that I would definitely use again.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Roxyox 3 reviews from this member

This site is like so many we visit in that the location and site itself are wonderful, but the facilities mean you would not visit again.

Camping in the orchard with the chickens, geese and partridges wandering about is an experience in itself.

The location is superb, adjacent to the M5 yet far enough away not to be disturbed by the motorway noise, and close enough to walk in to Taunton along the canal, it would be hard to better.

The only thing that lets this site down are the appalling facilities, which though working, are dated, damaged and dirty.

The state of these do not make up for the cheap prices, and this site can only really be used as a stopover, or by self sufficient units.

Will not be visiting again.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Buster22 2 reviews from this member

Stayed for a night as a 'stop over' to break up our journey. Was a beautiful location with a very 'laid back' atmosphere. Chickens, geese, and peacocks roaming around which can make for a noisy morning but it was all part of the holiday experience.

The owners were very friendly while at the same time leaving you to get on with things as you wish.

The rates were very reasonable which is probably explained by the toilet facilities. While they were reasonably clean they were still not really 'up to standard'.

I would strongly recommend this site as a 'stop over' but not sure that I could cope with the Toilet block for much longer than that.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lindy Lou 52 2 reviews from this member

Found this site using UK campsites and reviews. If you are going to Cornwall, Devon etc and have a long haul, this is perfect site to stay over. We were travelling to Cornwall and decided to leave the afternoon before our booking and stay here to break the journey. There are two areas to pitch; the first has electric hook ups and toilet/shower block, the second is in the orchard and is more free and easy. Either is perfect and it only cost us 5 ! (Without electric). As mentioned, there are chickens, geese and the peacock wandering around. A chicken hopped into our caravan, had a look round and hopped out again! The large cock is called Rambo and they all have names. It does appear a lot of the pitches have permanent residents who do go off early. So with them leaving and the Cockerel cockereling it is a good idea to pack ear plugs!

If you are just passing through this is a perfect site. You can drive into Taunton, have a wander along the river and find a nice place to eat. Have a good nights sleep and be refreshed for the rest of your journey.

Down side = although the shower block looks fairly new, the showers are not very inviting. You need to get a token from the owner to use them.

From what we saw of the owner, he is very helpful and let you get on with your stay. If he isn't around when you arrive, you can settle up in the morning. Simples.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rustyncrusty 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here on our way to Cornwall as it is in a great spot just off the M/way. We paid 12 for two nights which we thought was very cheap. The 'orchard' we thought rather gloomy and a long walk to water etc. So we stayed in the main field. The owner doesn't seem bothered where you find a pitch as long as you are not too near the next unit. There was a considerable amount of dog poo around that we ended up cleaning away before we could could set up. The residents seemed friendly, the 'Merry Monk' pub was reasonably priced and good food. The only negative was the chemical disposal was just an ordinary toilet outside the toilet block and while you stood there the smell from the large overflowing wheelie bins was quite unpleasant. I don't think they had been emptied for some time.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: SwindonGal 4 reviews from this member

We were met by the Owner who escorted us to our pitch. He was very helpful and pleasant and it was lovely not to be confronted with do's and don'ts. He wasn't bothered about being paid and told us to settle up when we were sorted out.

There are some permanent caravans there and we found the residents very friendly and chatty. Most seemed to be up and off early in the morning - to work presumably. The geese /peacocks/ horses are entertaining too and the kids loved it.

The site is old orchards and there are no clear pitch areas. It is a very relaxed site and would recommend it to the more laid back amongst you.

The ladies toilet/shower block was fine but hubby said the gents could have been cleaner. Plenty of hot water for the shower - 20p bargain!

Good washing up area too.

Also great value site - anywhere for around 8 a night should be kept a big secret.

This is also an excellent stopping off site for Devon/Cornwall too being just off the M5.

Don't tell anyone about it or we will never get in!

We also found a lovely pub called The Merry Monk in the Monkton Heathfield area about 15 minutes walk away. Lovely food and dogs allowed in too. The landlord and landlady are dog owners and lovers and are very welcoming.

The Bathpool Inn (closest pub) was very dull and not dog friendly at all - more of a restaurant really.

Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2509 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019