Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Tollgate Farm Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Perranporth > Tollgate Farm Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Tollgate Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Budnick Hill
Perranporth
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR6 0AD
Tel: 01872 572130
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 106
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 119 Reviews
                9/10 from 119 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  119 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking later in the season or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kim_mills 18 reviews from this member

 This was our first stay at this lovely site. My Husband & I (and our three Pugs) had a lovely pitch, with far reaching views of the sand dunes and sea.

Immaculately maintained site, with lovely regularly mowed lawns and pitches.

Although we ourselves used our own on board facilities, the shower/ toilet block looked scrupulously clean and tidy. The ground was fantastic and drained really well.

Pegs for awnings/ tents were easily installed and removed, easily the best ground that we have ever experienced in 11 years of caravanning.

We have 50 litre capacity ‘waterhog’ containers, which normally take ‘forever’ to fill. Not so here! The water tap close to our pitch was incredibly fast and filled our containers in no time at all!

This site is very dog friendly, which was perfect for our needs. Not once did we find any dog mess left anywhere, such a refreshing change!

Wonderful location, very close to the lovely Perranporth beach (which is dog friendly all year round). Little touches, such as the outside dog/surfer cold shower are brilliant.

This site is very well run, with wardens on site if required (who were very welcoming, polite and helpful). We stayed on ‘Willow’ section, but explored all other areas which catered for all needs and were equally as lovely as ‘Willow’.

All pitches are incredibly spacious. We cannot praise this site enough and are already looking to rebook for next year!

Well done ‘Tollgate Farm’ caravanning ‘as it should be’ - 10/10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jochen 4 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our 5th annual visit and like most regulars we booked our pitch for next year. (There are no price increases for next year)Its the most laid back site we have camped on, that's why we all keep going back.

The site is quiet it's for families and couples so no noisy groups. The toilets and showers are spotless all day, the owners and wardens are very friendly and helpful. The site and the area is a dogie paradise, the site site does not charge for dogs so a lot of people have dogs but are well behaved.

There is a dog wash on site, and next door there is 600 acres of moorland for the dogs to exercise on. Perranporth has a 3 mile sandy beach which is dog friendly all year.

It is also a good base to explore Cornwsall. Buses to Truro, Newquay, and St Ives stop outside. A 20 minute drive will take you to the opposite coast, Helegan and the Eden Project are within reach 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tony gsd 2 reviews from this member

 Very clean loos and showers, helpful wardens and owners, short walk to the sand dunes for doggies

Close to Perranporth town, beach and golf course

Will be going again as soon as we can 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Chris O 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with my (grown-up) daughter right at the start of the season, so there weren't many of us on site. Staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities spotlessly clean and working well. A nice, level grass pitch (with EHU available) and trees to offer some shelter from the wind.

The campsite gives you an excellent leaflet about pedestrian routes into Perranporth, to the beach and in the surroundings. Location offers great walks (with or without your dog) on its doorstep and the walk to Perran beach (via a Haven monster holiday park) takes about 20 mins.

Don't be put off by slow response to the phone; all the information is clear on site and, as I said, the staff very helpful. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jannerjon 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a weekend, only our second trip in The motorhome.

Very easy to find, good roads all the down to site, the access though is a bit different, very tight to get into, had to turn in on the opposite side of the road turn around and cross the road, probably didn’t help as our unit is just under 8 metres.

Once on site nice and easy fairly flat pitches but would recommend using ramps.

Facilities on site pretty good and always clean when used.

Perranporth can be walked to either across the sand dunes or following a path that runs next to the main toad. The beach is fabulous, got everything, pools, surf, beautiful clean water.

Overall worth the pitch fee of £26 per night, and we stayed a bit later than kick off time of 10:30, just asked and told just make a donation in one of the charity boxes, stayed to about 15:00. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: JamesPL 9 reviews from this member

 Really lovely & tidy site with friendly staff to greet you. From memory it was £23 a night for two adults & two dogs.

Decent size pitches and clean toilet and shower facilities.

I guess my only gripe is that to say the beach is nearby is a little generous, its a 30 minutes walk up down a steep hill on a public footpath, no problem for us but its a long way for young kiddies. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Korthal 2 reviews from this member

 This is a very well run campsite. Reception welcoming and efficient in both booking and receiving you on your arrival.

Pitches well marked out with ample space for tent (an outsell Montana lake with front porch 8m x 4m. Toilet block always clean and tidy.

Showers ok pressure an issue at times of high demand but easy to overcome by adjusting when to shower

Warden was helpful and often on rounds. We would come here again as a enjoyable walk leads to the beach. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thegrinch 16 reviews from this member

 Stayed here loads. Perfect for Perranporth Beach (good place for sand loving families and top surfing) and the Watering Hole pub.

Run by some great lads, good office/shop with local ales, spotless clean showers, quiet, lovely views and overall pure heaven for Cornwall fans.

It is getting a bit pricey in peak season for my liking but we can afford the hit so will keep going back for now as it is that good but if it keeps going up we might have to look elsewhere.

Nearly forgot there is a kids animal farm and good play area too. Give it a go, you won't regret it. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CarpenterClan 15 reviews from this member

 Just enjoyed two weeks at this site, our first visit, the site is split either side of a lane, we were in Perran field which we picked as we don't have young children and this side has no play park and less suited to young children.

Access was a little tricky with a caravan, you have to go into a car park area in the opposite field and turn round so that you can then go straight across the lane into Perran and the same coming out. I can imagine this putting some folk off returning as you need to do a bit of manoeuvring and if there are cars parked in this area this is made more difficult.

This wouldn't put us off returning though as we are used to manoeuvring our caravan in tricky situations.

We were there outside of the school holidays so it wasn't too busy, I can imagine the facilities might struggle when the place is full. Our shower/toilet block had two good size showers and several tight toilet cubicles and three sinks. There was also a pay to use hairdryer and straightening irons which I didn't use.

The block was always clean and stocked with soap and toilet roll. The showers are free and spacious but they are the push on and off style and the one shower was better than the other for length of time it stayed on, the worst only staying on for 8-10 seconds which I found irritating, also all the showers are a set heat, you cannot alter them, and it tends to be on the hot side, after a day sunbathing on the beach they were a bit uncomfortable being so hot, I would not like to have a young child in there with me, too hot for them.

The flow did alter somewhat if someone was using a tap elsewhere but I liked the fact that you can take the shower head off the unit. There was a spray bottle of something in the showers too, wasn't sure what I was supposed to do with that, and a rubber mop thing to dry the floor up which was useful. Also a baby changing table in the one.

There is a washing up room with two sinks. The site is only slightly sloping and the pitches are generous and you can park your unit anyway you like which is nice.

The position of the site was a good point for us, right next to acres and acres of sand dunes with paths leading all over, bit of a dog walking attraction, bit too much dog poo left mind you.

You can walk into Perran Sands Holiday site and use their bar, shops and cafes which was very useful, walk all around the static caravans, even walk down to the beach, though that is a long way down a steep path which is pushchair friendly but not for the infirm.

You can walk into Perranporth, a mile away down a path near to the road, though it is a good hill again. The addition of the animals to the site is a nice touch for kiddies, there are goats, chickens, rabbits and birds.

There is a small shop on site and an information point, a coffee machine and vending machine, useful for campers and a bus stop right outside on the main road. There is WiFi available at a cost. Virtually no reception on our mobile phones.

The warden and other staff are all very friendly and welcoming and I would return and I recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Saracen20 1 review from this member

 Once again we had a great break at Tollgate Farm. We're repeat customers and fussy ones at that, so it must be good!

It's a quiet site, no big groups or late parties which is great for us. The pitches are large and well maintained. I've been to campsites where tents are butted up against each other - awful! If I wanted a town, I wouldn't leave London! Here, you get a feeling of space to breathe which I love.

This year we used their pods - everything you could possibly need is provided even down to a brolly (which unfortunately came in handy!). There are just five of them tucked into a field of their own. Cute and very comfortable.

The toilet blocks are immaculate. We've been here too many times to count and I've never seen them without loo roll or dirty. There's laundry facilities and two separate family showers which are large and well equipped. The wetsuit and dog wash also come in handy for desalting your beach stuff and pooches.

As for the location, well you're in walking distance of the glorious Perranporth beach via the road or the more scenic route over Perran Sands, maps available at reception. Crantock is just a short drive or Newquay itself is easily accessible.

All in all, fabulous! My only complaint is our breaks there are never long enough! 


Previous     119 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Tollgate Farm Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Tollgate Farm Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Tollgate Farm Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Perranporth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1906 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020