Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Chirk > Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Lady Margarets Park
Chirk
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL14 5AA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 103
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 88 Reviews
                9/10 from 88 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  88 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 95 reviews from this member

 We just had 3 nights on site, once the Welsh Government restrictions were lifted and the "facilities" blocks were open.

The monitoring system to allow only 3 people in the toilet block was the daftest we'd ever seen, despite the warden saying it was the best option. At times, people were queuing up believing the block was full, whereas it was empty and one one occasion as I left, there were at least six people inside.

The shower block was separate and was like Stalag 13. Doors and windows open, no heating - most uncomfortable. It was all a bit dated too -time some money was spent on the site.

Location wise, the site is great, with several walking options and the local "Wylfa" cafe is great. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 37 reviews from this member

 The site was pretty busy, but quiet and peaceful. Covid restrictions meant that the shower and toilet blocks were closed until the morning we left.

The wardens were very friendly and sanitised the water and waste disposal points frequently.

The pitches are large and pretty flat, mainly hardstanding but some grass. There is a good dog walk.

The CMC WiFi is pretty good. 4g phone signal was good on Virgin.

The CMC book says TV reception is poor, but we had no problem getting plenty of channels on free view.

There are lots of places to walk including the castle grounds by the site entrance or down to the nearby canal towpaths.

The site is ideally situated for visiting the beautiful Welsh countryside or neighbouring Shropshire.

We have been several times before and will come again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: March 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 80 reviews from this member

 More of an update really to review left last September.

Covid restrictions in Wales meant that toilet blocks are closed, not that we would have used them, preferring to use our own at the moment.

Site still has drains blocked off and chemical emptying points closed so everything has to go to respective points at toilet block.

Shops in village open except cafes (Welsh restrictions at moment) but takeaways available at the cafe along the road to the village by the canal. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Pattic 1 review from this member

 Beautiful tranquil site. Very well maintained, clean and tidy. All facilities excellent.

Managers were particularly helpful friendly and kind. This was my first trip ever!

They were both suppa helpful.

Many thanks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: CJMu 3 reviews from this member

 Charming tranquil site in a splendid location.

Close to castle, canal, town and gorgeous walks along Ceiriog valley. Spotless facilities.

Range of pitches in shady glades or more open.

Will definitely return. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 80 reviews from this member

 Not as big as many club sites so it feels more relaxed. All pitches surround central facilities block. Adjacent to Chirk castle grounds although it's 1. 4 miles from the castle itself.

Short walk to Chirk centre with its small but varied choice of shops, cafes, takeaways etc. Nice walk to aquaduct /viaduct canal/railway and station (trains to Wrexham or Shrewsbury).

Unfortunately site is suffering from major drainage problem so all service points for waste water and chemical disposal are closed and all such waste has to be emptied at the facilities block which could be a bit if a trek from some pitches.

Also as still in Covid precautions, there can be a queue for toilets and showers, so use of own facilities is encouraged. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hezchez 1 review from this member

 Lovely site adjacent to Chirk castle & parkland. Ideal for dog walkers.

Friendly & helpful wardens. Amenities block rather dated but always spotlessly clean & water hot.

Short walk into small town of Chirk. Aquaduct, canal & viaduct close by. Lots to do in area.

No hesitation in recommending. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Macarw 21 reviews from this member

 This site is strict about check in times, but if you are travelling from the south there is a good stop less than half an hour away on the M5 called the Montford Bridge picnic area - easy to park, a cafe serving really nice food, a dog walk and toilets (portaloos unfortunately). We travelled early to avoid traffic and stopped there for a late breakfast.

The site itself is well signposted and is in a lovely area very close to the canal and to Chirk castle. (National Trust).

We were allowed to choose our pitch and then were given a key fob for the barrier. The pitches are mostly flat and spacious and a reasonably far apart in a lovely woodland setting. Take care when walking on the grass thought - there are lots of rabbit holes!

The toilet facilities although clean, warm and had everything needed, showers, toilets, sinks with privacy cubicles and a plug socket for using hairdryers, straighteners etc they are in need of modernisation and it's definitely what lets the site down. On the first day I used the shower that was adapted for disabled use as all the others were in use and the pressure was really poor.

The other showers were adjustable and are not the push button sort so stay on for the duration of your shower, but they have shower curtains, and the floor gets very wet so there is nowhere dry to get dressed. There are plenty of hooks for clothing and a plastic stool in the cubicle. They were clean but didn't smell very fresh. I think they are just old and well used. There were 2 blocks in the same area, and when one block was being cleaned the other remained open which was handy.

There is a little shop at reception, but rather than essentials it mostly sells things like ice creams (We wanted some bread to make a sandwich when we first arrived and had to drive out to the nearby Co-op). It's about a 20 min walk into Chirk to the nearest shop if you don't want to drive.

Dogs are welcome and it's doggie heaven with rabbits and squirrels all around and a lovely walk down to the canal. There is also a dog walking field.

If you have younger children there is no play area for them, there used to be a small trim trail type play area but it seems to have fallen apart.

It is a lovely well kept site and we will definitely return (this is our third visit) it's just let down a little by the old toilet block. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chromedome73 1 review from this member

 We arrived on Friday 5th July & immediately got the feel that it was an Adult Only site, although its not.

There is no children's play area.

We took our dog with us (its only his 3rd time away in the caravan) and we also met up with some friends also on site, they have two dogs, who ours has never met.

About 7:30pm our dog was barking & we were trying to calm him down, when all of a sudden a man appeared & said " Is that doing your head in? 'cause its doing my head in!"

We all looked at each other when he casually let us know he was the Warden. !?

What this 'warden' needs is training in customer relations, what an absolute ignoramus.

There are ways & means to engage conversation with paying customers.

This left a unmistakable bad taste to the start of my birthday w/end (7th)

On a slightly more positive note, Chirk castle is wonderful & the walks along the canal are very scenic, although this has nothing to do with the site.

We are first time caravan owners & this has really made me think twice about rejoining the Caravan & Motorhome Club.

I hope this gets picked up on & mentioned to the relevant people 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: NMack 15 reviews from this member

 We used the site as a base to see some of North Wales. A lovely quiet site set within easy walking distance of Chirk.

Easy to walk to the aquaduct as well. Site is slightly older, but well laid out and the toilet block although tired, is spotless.

Mix of open and under trees, so you have a choice if the sites not too full. 


Previous     88 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chirk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wrexham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2870 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement