Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Site Reviews

Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Lady Margarets Park
Chirk
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL14 5AA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 103
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 76 Reviews
                9/10 from 76 Reviews

Photos (6) and Video

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  76 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 35 reviews from this member

We stopped off here on the way back down from Scotland and decided to have two nights.

The site is quite spread out with one amenities block in the centre with various water and waste areas around the site.

The motorhome service point is easily missed and would require a trip around the site and back through the entrance barrier.

The amenities block is far from modern but was very clean.

The shower water pressure could be better.

If you are after a good TV signal the pitches nearing the exit barrier are apparently the best (we were in one and had good reception). Mobile phone reception was also good.

The town of Chirk is a half mile walk into the town.

Even for January I have never seen so many rabbits in one area there seemed to be hundreds.

The staff were very pleasant and all was explained on arrival.

Would we return, probably yes.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Macarw 15 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights en route to West Wales, and returned for 3 nights on our route home. About £31 a night for 2 adults, 2 children and a dog for an electric hook up. (Caravan club member price)

Booking in time was 12pm, and as we left our home early to avoid traffic we knew we were going to arrive very early. I had rung the site to see if they could suggest anywhere nearby to stop, but they couldn't help, and didn't offer an early check in or anywhere to await the 12pm check in time. However we stopped at Montford Bridge picnic area on the A5 - about 30 mins away - a cafe, toilets, a walk by the river (ideal for the dog) and more importantly plenty of room to park easily with the caravan in tow.

Access to the site was easy, the site is secure with barriers to get in and out (a fob is provided which unlocks the barrier when you come onto the site after your initial booking in).

We arrived soon after 12pm and were told to choose our pitch then let the office know which pitch we were on. Our pitch was large gravel pitch with room for the car, van and awning, with a grassy area between us and our neighbours. We chose pitch 41 which was on the right of the site backing on to trees as you stand with your back to reception. However later that evening we wished we'd chosen a pitch on the other side of the road as the campers there were basking on their camp chairs in evening sunshine whilst our pitch was completely shaded by the trees behind! (On our return we chose a pitch opposite!. The pitches didn't feel crammed in and the site was clean and tidy. There was a little shop in reception selling a few essentials and ice creams. There was a small trim trail type children's play area, but most of the children were riding round on bikes or scooters.

There was a laundry room, and the toilet block had two sections, a main block and an annex. This was useful as there were always facilities available when the blocks were being cleaned. The blocks were dated, but very clean and warm and had everything necessary, including hair dryers and a plug socket in the ladies (someone was using hair straighteners). There were basins in cubicles with a curtain - very well lit with a light above the mirror. The showers had a stool, plenty of hooks for clothes, and a shelf for shampoo etc. They also have a curtain (I hate shower curtains but the cubicle was large enough to avoid the wet sticky curtain)and the showers were proper showers with adjustable temperature and the stayed on for the duration of your shower. The floor of the changing area did get a little wet unfortunately. One of the toilets had a notice on that said that it was for general use but was adapted for disabled use also. I thought that was a good idea - as disabled toilets often sit unused or people feel guilty using them.

The grass around the site was a bit uneven and with a lot of rabbit holes - I'd advise a torch for crossing the grassy areas at night!

A lovely site for dogs, there were plenty of dog walking opportunities on and around the site and a dog bin just by the entrance. And there were lots of guests with dogs on site.

We walked down to the canal, over the aqueduct and through the tunnel, and walked into Chirk and had lunch at the Wylfa cafe. We visited the castle on site (National Trust). We also had a day in Llangollen, and had a boat trip over the Pontcysyllte aqueduct a short drive away (the highest aqueduct in the UK). Wrexham is a short drive away with plenty of shopping opportunities, swimming pools, bowling and cinema, and Erddig, another National Trust property.

I gave 8/10 for the facilities, simply because they were quite dated, and 8/10 for child friendliness simply because although the site was child friendly there were no facilities for them other than the small play area. 10/10 for value for money, as we thought the price was reasonable. We found the staff to be pleasant and friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 211 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- From south on A5 and take B5070 into Chirk. At the War Memoriam in Chirk turn left and continue towards Chirk Station. At mini roundabout continue straight on over Railway Bridge and uphill towards the ornamental gates and turn left into lane that takes you to site entrance.

This campsite is a memberís only site and is open all year. The site is quite park like in aspect with many mature trees. Pitches are set out around roads which are slightly terraced in arrangement, there are also a couple of wooded glades with more pitches. In total there are 103 pitches 73 of which are on hardstandings and the rest grass. Electric points are convenient to all pitches but on some you will need a full 25 metre cable. The connections are rated at 16 amps and use blue CEE17 connectors of the twist and lock variety. Despite TV reception being rated as poor there is no signal booster system. Also reception using a satellite can be difficult because of the tree cover. There is one toilet block which is kept clean but in parts is showing its age. Water and waste service points are dotted around the site. Unfortunately the motorhome service point still requires drain covers to be lifted. It is also not very conveniently situated as because of the site layout it requires two circuits of the site if you are also leaving! There seems no dedicated play area for children but there is an open area near the toilet block which could be used for ball games. There is site wide WiFi which despite only being classed a bronze standard by the Club I found it worked reasonably well. I also found the G4 signal to be acceptable. Reception sells a few essentials and there is a small information shed. This site has a storage facility.

This site is within easy walking distance, via a path alongside the site at the entrance, of the Llangollen Canal and the Chirk Aqueduct. From here you can walk back to the site through the tunnel to explore the canal in the opposite direction or alternatively walk from the site down to Chirk Station and join the canal there. The village of Chirk has a few shops and some pubs/restaurants which are within reasonable walking distance of the site. There are bus services in Chirk and there is a limited train service from the station.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mark1200 2 reviews from this member

Nice site, friendly helpful staff. Canít understand what some complaints were about, if people want a 4* hotel then book one this is a campsite. Plenty to do for all ages in local area, stayed 2 nights, would be happy with a week. A personal note that may cause some to tut, but a clear out of rabbits that overwhelm the place and squirrels that eat thousands of songbirds would do wonders for the other wildlife. Perhaps an introduction of the glorious Pine Martin would slim down the squirrel population?

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geoleen 35 reviews from this member

We visited here for 4 nights. It is easy to find and in a lovely wooded area, it is a Caravan & Motorhome club site and although some of the wardens were friendly and helpful, one male warden needs to go on a customer service course, he wasn't rude or anything but a take it or leave it attitude when asking about the wifi wasn't exactly helpful. Aside from that it is a lovely site with lots of trees. The facilities were immaculately clean and although a it's a fixed head shower it wasn't a problem for shorty me! Other people have complained about the water pressure but we had no problem maybe it was the time of day, as each time I was the only one in. Within walking distance you have Chirk which has a Spar, a couple of takeaways, butcher, baker and a couple of pubs. We had lunch in the Castle bistro one day which was very nice and very good​ value, other than that we only used the Spar so can't comment. Also in walking distance is the Chirk aqueduct which isn't​ as spectacular as the Pontcysyllte one but worth a look then there is the Chirk tunnel (and yes it is dark so take a torch) to walk through. It is a lovely walk along the canal from Chirk just watching the boats passing by. We also walked up to Chirk castle which is easily accessible from the site. It looks quite imposing, but we didn't go in due to the (in our opinion) expensive entrance fee so we just looked round the gardens​ which were beautiful. The only thing we didn't like was the first come first served pitch choice, we found a good pitch straight away but saw some having to go round the one way system a couple of times, but it wouldn't put us off visiting again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brownsfriend 4 reviews from this member

Reasonable Caravan Club site lots of trees. Not much for kids to do and only used to visit Castle. Nice walk along castle estate road for athe visit to good NT run castle - very enjoyable visit. Basic site OK for a night or two but no more. Nothing else really walkable from the site except perhaps small village of Chirk which is OK.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mondeocort 33 reviews from this member

2nd visit to this site but this was our 1st trip out in our 'new to us' motorhome. On arrival after checking in we went to the motorhome point to find a fellow caravanner started filling his aquaroll up some 5 metres away from the standard filling taps and he didn't seem at all bothered to make us wait. Having waited for him to finish and for hubby to fill our tank, we were finally then able to find our pitch. No one was behind us as we drove around after glancing a vacant pitch near the exit barrier which I fancied as it was more level and brighter than others, only to find on arrival, a woman stood in the middle of the pitch whilst her husband paid at reception. I was a little miffed as 1, a caravanner had held us up at the motorhome point and 2, thought pitch choice on Caravan and Motorhome Club sites was 1st come, 1st served NOT I will bag this pitch before I have even paid! It isn't the behaviour I have ever encountered before on a club site and I thought it was entirely rude. We chose another pitch but it was quite heavily sloped and as 'newbie' motorhomers, struggled to level and therefore spent the 1st night on a slope. We moved the next day to a better for us pitch. The facilities have not improved since our last visit and the water pressure is very poor in the showers although I found them clean. Children on bikes at dusk without lights riding the wrong way around the one way was also a broken rule that I never saw wardens tackle but wondered if they were the children of the 2 already described rude caravanners. Storm Doris hit and we battened down the hatches but did see a few people tow away and thought them brave or stupid. The wardens are always great on this site and happy to chat or advise. Nothing available in the shop which was not how I remembered but perhaps it's the time of year. We will visit the area again but perhaps try a different site.

Date of Visit: November 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mogadon69 15 reviews from this member

A lovely site with four pitching areas, the open area is on two levels and two areas within the trees. Most pitches are a generous size with ample room for van, awning and car, although some are wider than others. One of the pitching areas is for units without awnings, so will be smaller pitches. Most pitches are slightly sloping, so blocks and chocks are required. The site is tidy and well kept by the friendly wardens. There is a well stocked information room too.

The site was very quiet when we visited being the end of November, so we never had to queue for any of the facilities. There is one central toilet block, with toilets, showers and privacy wash cubicles (these have a curtain rather than a door), the block is warm and clean, as is the norm for Caravan Club sites, however, as stated by others, this could do with being updated. The block also houses the laundry and dishwashing area. Water is hot and plentiful, the showers are not over powerful, but adequate. Not sure how the facilities would cope during busier times, although there is an annex block, but this was locked during our visit.

The site is close to Chirk railway station and there is a bus stop about 3/4 mile away, Chirk itself is a pleasant village/small town with all the basics including a generous size Spar. The nearest larger supermarket, Morrisons, is in Oswestry about 5 miles away.

The surrounding area is lovely, with plenty of places to visit. The site is on the doorstep of Chirk Castle, with ample grounds to explore. You can walk from the site to Chirk aqueduct, (one end of which is in Wales and the other in England) and the 420 metre long (and very dark) tunnel. Llangollen is close by and a lovely little town to visit, with the heritage railway and out of the ordinary shops. Not far from Llangollen is the Pontcysyllte aqueduct (there is a plaque in the visitor centre to tell you how to pronounce it) and Horseshoe Falls. Chester is only about 20 miles away and a lovely day out, we used the park and ride, £2 each including parking.

The Poachers Inn, about 2 miles away, has friendly staff and is excellent for food, with a varied menu, including a rotisserie, and not too costly, it can be reached via the aqueduct, but we didn't fancy it in the dark.

All in all, a lovely site, well worth visiting and thoroughly recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

We've stayed at this site a few times before and recently stayed as part of a trip to Snowdonia.

We arrived bang on 12noon, along with many others, to find I'd booked a pitch without awning instead of the usual! My fault entirely but sadly the site was full so we were unable to change it. We were still given the choice of about 5 pitches, all hardstanding in one of the Dells. Unfortunately this meant that our satellite dome had no signal at all, through the trees, which meant no TV for 2 whole days! LOL

The central facilities are the usual CC set up, very clean but probably need updating now. We remember the showers being very 'dribbly' with no power from our last visit and that sadly hadn't changed! Still you can't have it all.

The site is about a 15 minute stroll into Chirk town which has a butchers, mini market (Spar), fruit shop and various eateries, the best (by far) being the Castle Bistro where we ate twice in one day! Avoid the Hand Hotel, it's filthy. There's a pub along the canal past the viaduct/aquaduct (Bridge Inn) and that was chaotic as it was opening night! Hopefully it will improve!

There's lots to see and do within the area without moving the motorhome! We walked in and around Chirk and back to the site via the Chirk Tunnel (God it's dark and we didn't have torches. Fortunately some other walkers let us follow their light - LOL!). Chirk Castle and grounds (National Trust) is well worth a visit. We'd been before so didn't go this time. We biked along the canal to Llangollen and further along to Horseshoe Falls which was stunning. Well worth the 22 mile round trip we did (avoiding walking across THAT very high aqueduct that I can neither pronounce or spell!).

We do love this site but feel we've probably overdone the area. We will return but it may not be for some time, but would recommend this site.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fidibury 38 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site. It's a lovely site especially at this time of year with all the bluebells in flower.

Pitches are very spacious with a mixture of both grass and hard standing. Facilities are central and even though are probably a little dated were clean and water was hot. Water pressure in the showers wasn't brilliant but was adequate.

There is a lovely little dog walk on site and actually plenty of dog bins dotted around the whole site.

From the site you can walk up to Chirk Castle - we actually walked up when it was closed as we knew we couldn't go inside with the dogs. There are also lovely walks along the canal and over the viaduct but there is also a dark 400 m tunnel to walk through. A torch is ideal. Dogs could get a bit spooked. We ended up having to carry one of ours.

Chirk itself is a lovely little village with a couple of eating areas, puds and shops. Further afield is Llangollen. Their is a bus stop and railway station very close to the site.

The site is very close to a factory and there was some noise throughout the day and night but it didn't bother us. There was also a very faint smell of cocoa beans - again not an issue.

The only downside was that we were travelling with friends who had got delayed and we asked if we could pay for their pitch so that we could get 2 together. Unfortunately company policy doesn't allow that but it certainly didn't spoil our enjoyment of staying on the site. We were lucky and still managed to get quite close.

This is a very dog friendly site (we had 7 TIbetan Terriers between us) and will definitely be returning

Previous     76 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Wrexham   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3140 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019