Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Chirk > Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Lady Margarets Park
Chirk
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL14 5AA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 103
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hezchez 1 review from this member

 Lovely site adjacent to Chirk castle & parkland. Ideal for dog walkers.

Friendly & helpful wardens. Amenities block rather dated but always spotlessly clean & water hot.

Short walk into small town of Chirk. Aquaduct, canal & viaduct close by. Lots to do in area.

No hesitation in recommending. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Macarw 19 reviews from this member

 This site is strict about check in times, but if you are travelling from the south there is a good stop less than half an hour away on the M5 called the Montford Bridge picnic area - easy to park, a cafe serving really nice food, a dog walk and toilets (portaloos unfortunately). We travelled early to avoid traffic and stopped there for a late breakfast.

The site itself is well signposted and is in a lovely area very close to the canal and to Chirk castle. (National Trust).

We were allowed to choose our pitch and then were given a key fob for the barrier. The pitches are mostly flat and spacious and a reasonably far apart in a lovely woodland setting. Take care when walking on the grass thought - there are lots of rabbit holes!

The toilet facilities although clean, warm and had everything needed, showers, toilets, sinks with privacy cubicles and a plug socket for using hairdryers, straighteners etc they are in need of modernisation and it's definitely what lets the site down. On the first day I used the shower that was adapted for disabled use as all the others were in use and the pressure was really poor.

The other showers were adjustable and are not the push button sort so stay on for the duration of your shower, but they have shower curtains, and the floor gets very wet so there is nowhere dry to get dressed. There are plenty of hooks for clothing and a plastic stool in the cubicle. They were clean but didn't smell very fresh. I think they are just old and well used. There were 2 blocks in the same area, and when one block was being cleaned the other remained open which was handy.

There is a little shop at reception, but rather than essentials it mostly sells things like ice creams (We wanted some bread to make a sandwich when we first arrived and had to drive out to the nearby Co-op). It's about a 20 min walk into Chirk to the nearest shop if you don't want to drive.

Dogs are welcome and it's doggie heaven with rabbits and squirrels all around and a lovely walk down to the canal. There is also a dog walking field.

If you have younger children there is no play area for them, there used to be a small trim trail type play area but it seems to have fallen apart.

It is a lovely well kept site and we will definitely return (this is our third visit) it's just let down a little by the old toilet block. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Chromedome73 1 review from this member

 We arrived on Friday 5th July & immediately got the feel that it was an Adult Only site, although its not.

There is no children's play area.

We took our dog with us (its only his 3rd time away in the caravan) and we also met up with some friends also on site, they have two dogs, who ours has never met.

About 7:30pm our dog was barking & we were trying to calm him down, when all of a sudden a man appeared & said " Is that doing your head in? 'cause its doing my head in!"

We all looked at each other when he casually let us know he was the Warden. !?

What this 'warden' needs is training in customer relations, what an absolute ignoramus.

There are ways & means to engage conversation with paying customers.

This left a unmistakable bad taste to the start of my birthday w/end (7th)

On a slightly more positive note, Chirk castle is wonderful & the walks along the canal are very scenic, although this has nothing to do with the site.

We are first time caravan owners & this has really made me think twice about rejoining the Caravan & Motorhome Club.

I hope this gets picked up on & mentioned to the relevant people 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: NMack 15 reviews from this member

 We used the site as a base to see some of North Wales. A lovely quiet site set within easy walking distance of Chirk.

Easy to walk to the aquaduct as well. Site is slightly older, but well laid out and the toilet block although tired, is spotless.

Mix of open and under trees, so you have a choice if the sites not too full. 


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Lovely spacious site with large pitches located 1 mile from Chirk at edge of grounds to Chirk castle (1 Ĺ miles from site). Staff very friendly and helpful, but amenities block in drastic need of improvement and modernisation. Not at all up to the usual high C&MC standard, some of the toilets are loose and the cistern hanging off the wall. Shower mixer thermostats corroded and erratic temperatures, three sinks for washing up in open area. Club really need to sort out the facilities especially considering the charges (£ 27. 50/night) and the popularity of this site!

Plus side is the location. Cyclable canal towpath just outside will take you on an easy and enjoyable 8 Ĺ mile ride to Llangollen. The canal goes over the Pontcysyllte Aqueduct (not of those with a fear of heights!). Walking the canal in the opposite direction going over the Chirk Aqueduct will take you into England. Chirk castle (NT) and gardens and a must visit if staying on the site.

Really nice peaceful location with lots to do and visit in the area, but come on C&MC sort out the sites amenity block. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Valvelifter 10 reviews from this member

 A real gem of a site, very well maintained with clean toilets and showers. Very quiet and well situated with lots of superb walks close by and many more a short car ride away. We could occasionally smell the large chocolate factory about half a mile away if the wind was in the right direction but not an unpleasant smell unless you hate chocolate.

We had very quiet, undisturbed nights sleep.

The castle Bistro is about 20 minutes walk away and serves very good food with a wide menu. The Hand hotel, a few doors away, also has a good menu but we did not try it. 


Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Greg M 38 reviews from this member

 We stopped off here on the way back down from Scotland and decided to have two nights.

The site is quite spread out with one amenities block in the centre with various water and waste areas around the site.

The motorhome service point is easily missed and would require a trip around the site and back through the entrance barrier.

The amenities block is far from modern but was very clean.

The shower water pressure could be better.

If you are after a good TV signal the pitches nearing the exit barrier are apparently the best (we were in one and had good reception). Mobile phone reception was also good.

The town of Chirk is a half mile walk into the town.

Even for January I have never seen so many rabbits in one area there seemed to be hundreds.

The staff were very pleasant and all was explained on arrival.

Would we return, probably yes. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Macarw 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights en route to West Wales, and returned for 3 nights on our route home. About £31 a night for 2 adults, 2 children and a dog for an electric hook up. (Caravan club member price)

Booking in time was 12pm, and as we left our home early to avoid traffic we knew we were going to arrive very early. I had rung the site to see if they could suggest anywhere nearby to stop, but they couldn't help, and didn't offer an early check in or anywhere to await the 12pm check in time. However we stopped at Montford Bridge picnic area on the A5 - about 30 mins away - a cafe, toilets, a walk by the river (ideal for the dog) and more importantly plenty of room to park easily with the caravan in tow.

Access to the site was easy, the site is secure with barriers to get in and out (a fob is provided which unlocks the barrier when you come onto the site after your initial booking in).

We arrived soon after 12pm and were told to choose our pitch then let the office know which pitch we were on. Our pitch was large gravel pitch with room for the car, van and awning, with a grassy area between us and our neighbours. We chose pitch 41 which was on the right of the site backing on to trees as you stand with your back to reception. However later that evening we wished we'd chosen a pitch on the other side of the road as the campers there were basking on their camp chairs in evening sunshine whilst our pitch was completely shaded by the trees behind! (On our return we chose a pitch opposite!. The pitches didn't feel crammed in and the site was clean and tidy. There was a little shop in reception selling a few essentials and ice creams. There was a small trim trail type children's play area, but most of the children were riding round on bikes or scooters.

There was a laundry room, and the toilet block had two sections, a main block and an annex. This was useful as there were always facilities available when the blocks were being cleaned. The blocks were dated, but very clean and warm and had everything necessary, including hair dryers and a plug socket in the ladies (someone was using hair straighteners). There were basins in cubicles with a curtain - very well lit with a light above the mirror. The showers had a stool, plenty of hooks for clothes, and a shelf for shampoo etc. They also have a curtain (I hate shower curtains but the cubicle was large enough to avoid the wet sticky curtain)and the showers were proper showers with adjustable temperature and the stayed on for the duration of your shower. The floor of the changing area did get a little wet unfortunately. One of the toilets had a notice on that said that it was for general use but was adapted for disabled use also. I thought that was a good idea - as disabled toilets often sit unused or people feel guilty using them.

The grass around the site was a bit uneven and with a lot of rabbit holes - I'd advise a torch for crossing the grassy areas at night!

A lovely site for dogs, there were plenty of dog walking opportunities on and around the site and a dog bin just by the entrance. And there were lots of guests with dogs on site.

We walked down to the canal, over the aqueduct and through the tunnel, and walked into Chirk and had lunch at the Wylfa cafe. We visited the castle on site (National Trust). We also had a day in Llangollen, and had a boat trip over the Pontcysyllte aqueduct a short drive away (the highest aqueduct in the UK). Wrexham is a short drive away with plenty of shopping opportunities, swimming pools, bowling and cinema, and Erddig, another National Trust property.

I gave 8/10 for the facilities, simply because they were quite dated, and 8/10 for child friendliness simply because although the site was child friendly there were no facilities for them other than the small play area. 10/10 for value for money, as we thought the price was reasonable. We found the staff to be pleasant and friendly. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 228 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From south on A5 and take B5070 into Chirk. At the War Memoriam in Chirk turn left and continue towards Chirk Station. At mini roundabout continue straight on over Railway Bridge and uphill towards the ornamental gates and turn left into lane that takes you to site entrance.

This campsite is a memberís only site and is open all year. The site is quite park like in aspect with many mature trees. Pitches are set out around roads which are slightly terraced in arrangement, there are also a couple of wooded glades with more pitches. In total there are 103 pitches 73 of which are on hardstandings and the rest grass. Electric points are convenient to all pitches but on some you will need a full 25 metre cable. The connections are rated at 16 amps and use blue CEE17 connectors of the twist and lock variety. Despite TV reception being rated as poor there is no signal booster system. Also reception using a satellite can be difficult because of the tree cover. There is one toilet block which is kept clean but in parts is showing its age. Water and waste service points are dotted around the site. Unfortunately the motorhome service point still requires drain covers to be lifted. It is also not very conveniently situated as because of the site layout it requires two circuits of the site if you are also leaving! There seems no dedicated play area for children but there is an open area near the toilet block which could be used for ball games. There is site wide WiFi which despite only being classed a bronze standard by the Club I found it worked reasonably well. I also found the G4 signal to be acceptable. Reception sells a few essentials and there is a small information shed. This site has a storage facility.

This site is within easy walking distance, via a path alongside the site at the entrance, of the Llangollen Canal and the Chirk Aqueduct. From here you can walk back to the site through the tunnel to explore the canal in the opposite direction or alternatively walk from the site down to Chirk Station and join the canal there. The village of Chirk has a few shops and some pubs/restaurants which are within reasonable walking distance of the site. There are bus services in Chirk and there is a limited train service from the station. 


Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mark1200 6 reviews from this member

 Nice site, friendly helpful staff. Canít understand what some complaints were about, if people want a 4* hotel then book one this is a campsite. Plenty to do for all ages in local area, stayed 2 nights, would be happy with a week. A personal note that may cause some to tut, but a clear out of rabbits that overwhelm the place and squirrels that eat thousands of songbirds would do wonders for the other wildlife. Perhaps an introduction of the glorious Pine Martin would slim down the squirrel population? 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chirk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wrexham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6249 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement