Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Wrexham > Chirk > Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Lady Margarets Park
Chirk
Wrexham   (Browse area)
LL14 5AA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 103
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 96 Reviews
                9/10 from 96 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Paulmold 98 reviews from this member

 Have visited this site many times but this is first since refurbishment. Biggest change is the toilet block, 2 entrances with a dividing door half way so cleaning one end at a time means it never closes now.

New addition of dog/bike shower and cycle repair stand with tools and EV charging points. Number plate recognition entry for those that have paid in full before arriving and then you text your pitch number. If you pay balance on arrival then check in is as it used to be.

Circular walk to village and back is around 2 miles, with village having butchers, bakers, greengrocers, small supermarket along with cafes, takeaways and restaurants. Walk along canal to pubs and further along to garden centre, or walk/cycle to Llangollen.

TV reception only just OK, with few main channels only. Phone signal good (o2) so used own phones for WiFi. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: November 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crazy Maisie 32 reviews from this member

 With a choice of woodland or open locations on this newly refurbished site it provides an ideal getaway to suit a range of preferences.

That may be less so in the busy seasons but this Autumn we had that luxury as it was less than half full.

Facilities are modern and extremely well maintained with no need for closure during cleaning.

The wardens here were friendly and helpful and there are a variety of lovely walks from this site.

It's not cheap but it's definitely a 'return to' site.

It operates a digital check-in system, which we're not keen on (prefer face to face interaction always) but you don't have to use it. 


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jayarbee 37 reviews from this member

 This is our second visit after a break of several years with a main difference of a new lavatory/shower block.

On arrival we were greeted by a lovely lady warden who solved a minor problem for us with the help of an equally helpful male warden who found us a suitable pitch. Good start to the stay. Top marks to warden staff.

This is a lovely site with masses of full grown trees. We pitched in Primrose Dell which was particularly lovely and peaceful - until the end of our stay when a couple with two dachshunds pitched opposite. She was unbelievably loud as were the dogs. Fortunately we were leaving so only two days. Not, of course, the fault of CAMC.

The shower block is brand new and excellent. It is capable of being closed in one half leaving the other half open during cleaning so ideal for caravanners who get up half way through the day then moan because the showerblock is closed. 😊 I usually moan because the shower cubicles are Hobbit sized but these new ones seem much bigger and easier to use.

I believe all pitches have EHU and a Springer Spaniel told me the dog walk is good.

There is a small playground for kids.

The wardens do a really good job of keeping the site clean and tidy and the shower block was always immaculate with more than enough lavatory and show cubicles available.

Roundabout you can walk along the canal from the campsite to Trevor going over the Pont-Cysyllte aqua duct. Well worth doing but the cafes we remember have disappeared. Only the chapel tea shop now remains and you may need to book.

Also park at Trevor and walk to Llangollen a reasonable town with quite a few shops and eating places.

Oswestry was nice for a day out with a nice museum. Shrewsbury was good but Wrecsam not so much.

A visit to Plas Newydd is very worthwhile. A nice house with a great story.

Otherwise the on site information shed has lots of ideas.

In Chirk itself there is everything you might reasonably need including a Spar and Co-op.

A good butcher/delicatessen that sells pies and such and a good greengrocer.

There are several eating places which we didnít try but one we did was the Star chippie. This was excellent, good fish, nice burgers and shed loads of nicely cooked chips. Drive to the war memorial and turn left. The Star is a few minutes up the road opposite the Co-op.

All in all a good site. The only down side I would comment on is they designed and built an excellent shower/lavatory block but didnít include a drying room for wet walking clothes at the same time. Bad omission.

We will go back. You can even hear the sea lions at night. 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 Easy and friendly check-in by the wardens.

Telling the warden our pitch number is simple now, done by text. Barriers are ANPR controlled. There is a motorhome point but decided to go straight to our pitch and fill up with a Fiamma 23l wheeled container.

We ended up in a a small clearing as there were very few non-awning pitches available. So we were in dapple shade for most of the day.

The toilet block was immaculate. I can only really comment on the disabled facilities as that was what I used.

Be careful of the rinse hose in the Chemical Disposal point in the facilities block as if the hose is pinched it sprays water everywhere.

We took the motorhome to Chirk castle for a day. The parking in the National Trust car park is ample.

If you need to stock up Stanís superstore is at St. Martins and sells absolutely everything.

We really like the site and its location and will return. 


Date of Visit: March 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Murphyis171 1 review from this member

 We stayed for 4 nights Mon to Friday this week.

On arrival we were greeted by the wardens who were warm and welcoming. They made you feel at ease. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they took time out to chat and ask if everything was ok. This is a social site for us.

The updated site facilities are warm and comfortable and well thought out. Landscaping is still trying to grow back after the alterations.

Will be coming back again as the site is peaceful and close to shops and pubs and restaurants.

Well done to the Wardens at lady Margarets. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Junens 2 reviews from this member

 Fab refurbishment of amenity block. fabulous nice reception

A nice stay

Only downside for me was the pitch went on pitch 54 a serviced pitch much smaller than the rest and so unlevel, front end up in the airand waste water needed to travel uphill to the grid.

Sure its not beyond the capability of the club to provid level pitches, yep we all carry blocks and wedges but I was at my limit to get some where near level.

Waited for site to reopen as I have been many times before and enjoyed my stay, only live forty minutes away so its very convenient

Don't let this put you off just stay clear of pitch 54. 


Date of Visit: February 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 74 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the first time for 3 nights in Feb, and was very glad we did. Site wardens were welcomimg, helpful and patient with regards to our requests for info.

The site was busy but not noisy (recognising it was mid Feb), and the pitches were well maintained and mostly flat.

The grass around the toilet block was still settling down when we were there after the works last year so was not something to be critical about.

The new modern toilet block was what we would expect from a CAMC site, and it was nice that it is designed with the option to only shut half of it down for cleaning at a time, thus avoiding the pre 10am rush! We brought our bikes with us and did the lovely if somewhat bumpy 20m return ride to Llangollen via Trevor Marina and the Pontcysyllte Aquaduct (which was unfortunately shut for maintenance). The walk to and around Chirk castle grounds was fabulous, especially with the Snowdrops in bloom, and we also had a walk into Chirk.

We tried the Hands Hotel for a drink and some food for dinner, both were very good, as was the Caffi Wylfa too To be fair we had some nice dry weather for Feb which always make a break feel better, but we were both well impressed with Lady Margarets and hope that this is the new vision of the CAMC 


Date of Visit: December 2022 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We`re delighted to advise this site is reopening for December 2022 onwards after being closed for refurbishment since Dec 21.  


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 124 reviews from this member

 We just had 3 nights on site, once the Welsh Government restrictions were lifted and the "facilities" blocks were open.

The monitoring system to allow only 3 people in the toilet block was the daftest we'd ever seen, despite the warden saying it was the best option. At times, people were queuing up believing the block was full, whereas it was empty and one one occasion as I left, there were at least six people inside.

The shower block was separate and was like Stalag 13. Doors and windows open, no heating - most uncomfortable. It was all a bit dated too -time some money was spent on the site.

Location wise, the site is great, with several walking options and the local "Wylfa" cafe is great. 


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 54 reviews from this member

 The site was pretty busy, but quiet and peaceful. Covid restrictions meant that the shower and toilet blocks were closed until the morning we left.

The wardens were very friendly and sanitised the water and waste disposal points frequently.

The pitches are large and pretty flat, mainly hardstanding but some grass. There is a good dog walk.

The CMC WiFi is pretty good. 4g phone signal was good on Virgin.

The CMC book says TV reception is poor, but we had no problem getting plenty of channels on free view.

There are lots of places to walk including the castle grounds by the site entrance or down to the nearby canal towpaths.

The site is ideally situated for visiting the beautiful Welsh countryside or neighbouring Shropshire.

We have been several times before and will come again. 
via mobile


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Lady Margarets Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chirk      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Wrexham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43794 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement