Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mill House Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Chelmsford > Mill House Caravan Park Reviews

Mill House Caravan Park
Church Road
Little Baddow
Chelmsford
Essex   (Browse area)
CM3 4BG
Tel: 01245 464060
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Johnscrivy 8 reviews from this member

 A nice site next to the River Chelmer close to Paper mill lock. A great site for people to enjoy the river side. Fishing, canoeing, cycling, or just as lazy walk and picnic.

No frills it has EHU Water and toilet empty. That said that is pretty much any other site offers.

Plenty of Pubs a short drive away. And Tim the owner is a very friendly fella.

Will I be back " OH YES "

10 out of 10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Vwdubman 26 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, Great Value for money at £13 a night, just a couple of miles off the A12 at junction 18.

All the EHUs are around the central area so if you want a secluded spot be prepared to bring a long lead.

Only disappointment with this site was the lack of recycling facilities and felt guilty throwing all the rubbish in one bin. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freckles63 66 reviews from this member

 Superb long weekend spent here again, weather great so walking, running and rowing.

Sunday dinner at The Queens Head Boreham was good, just a half hour stroll across the fields opposite site.

£12 with ehu, no toilets or showers.

We think that the middle section always seems to be busier and have more children on it but to be honest we prefer the outer edges away from the roads anyway. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Terriemick 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Well kept and very welcoming. Perfect get away from in all. We will definitely be going back.

We are only sad that we found this site so close to the end of the season.

We have family nearby and the owner was very relaxed about them visiting. The grandchildren loved the site. There is plenty of room for them to run about without disturbing others.

There is a path to walk to Papermill lock where there is a cafe. 15 min walk. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freckles63 66 reviews from this member

 See below for previous reviews;

This is our local weekend get-away from it site!

Took the inflatable kayak this time, traveled both directions, had a pleasant time. Fairly easy to get in and out of water.

Lovely site, not too busy at weekends although all EHU points taken, could do with more EHU points for the middle section of site.

Plenty of walks along river bank and again we had a good meal in The Queens Head in Boreham, just a half hour stroll across the fields opposite the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Batding 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a three night stay at this site. The last time we were there was about two years ago and it's changed quite a bit. For the better I have to say.

The owners have cut down a lot of diseased trees and planted samplings which has opened up the site a lot. The area has mainly flat grass, well trimmed with some hard standings and electric hook-up. There are no toilets or showers but the grey water is put to good use by emptying it on the hedgerows, There is also an Elsan point.

The one downside to this site is the through traffic that runs along one side of it. Most times people drive as they should but of course there are the 'Stirling Moss's' out there.

Just across the road there is a walk that takes you along the River Chelmer to Paperlock Mill where you can stop and take in the scenery and have a meal if so desired.

All in all it's well worth the £12 per night stay, (includes the awning). 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freckles63 66 reviews from this member

 Stayed for the last weekend in September before they shut for the winter, this was to try our new to us van out and give it a wash and clean inside and out(we weren't the only one washing the outside of the van).

Chip shop and pub in Boreham supplied us with our 2 nights meals, near enough for family to visit.

We're so pleased we have this site half hour from where we store our caravan, it's superb for weekends away. Can't wait to visit again next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bubz 1 review from this member

 Not sure It's a good idea to leave a review as people might read it, decide to go and leave no room for us!

This was our first trip in our caravan so we were elated at how level the ground was. It made setting up so much easier. The site was clean and peaceful. The owners called on Saturday morning to collect money and were very friendly and welcoming. We were given information about the local area also. We were given loads of help by a regular visitor as we made a few mistakes, so a friendly clientèle also.

Will definitely be back, as have decided it's our 'chill out' place 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Blunders 2 reviews from this member

 We have just come home from spending 3 nights at this site. Beautiful location and well laid out. Very pleasant and chatty owners. Convenient for Chelmsford where we were attending a family christening. Also nipped into London by train for a night at the theatre. Would recommend as long as you have your own toilet facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freckles63 66 reviews from this member

 Spent late May bank holiday, long weekend Frid - Tues here, only 20 miles(half hour) from home. Would visit again without hesitation. Even though it was half term (school worker) it wasn't running alive with children, probably as nothing really on this site for them other than a football goal. Very well kept, clean and tidy site, very friendly owners who collect the fees from you towards the end of your stay.

You have pitches on a first come first serve basis, if you have an extension lead you can put yourself well out of the way. The middle section grassed area seemed to be very popular.

We had a walk across the fields to Boreham (access the field by crossing the road and wooden bridge over river) just keep heading towards the church and the friendly pub with good food, 'The Queens Head' is tucked just behind the church. This is also where the nearest store is a Co-Op the next turning up from the church, also a Chinese/fish take-away.

We cycled the river tow-path towards Heybridge passing through the 'Papermill lock' enjoyable but be prepared for a not so smooth ride.

On another morning we ran in the opposite direction towards Chelmsford passing under the A12, passing through 'Blackwater' lock where they do boat trips, a good run and less busy with people to get in the way :)

We really enjoyed our stay and the weather wasn't too bad, at £12 a night it's one we may re-visit. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mill House Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mill House Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Mill House Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chelmsford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camp & Glamp Show, Hertfordshire 08/10 to 16/10
Join the Camp 'n' Glamp 2022 Tent Preview ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2790 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement