Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Mill House Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Chelmsford > Mill House Caravan Park Reviews

Mill House Caravan Park
Church Road
Little Baddow
Chelmsford
Essex   (Browse area)
CM3 4BG
Tel: 01245 464060
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freckles63 53 reviews from this member

Superb long weekend spent here again, weather great so walking, running and rowing.

Sunday dinner at The Queens Head Boreham was good, just a half hour stroll across the fields opposite site.

£12 with ehu, no toilets or showers.

We think that the middle section always seems to be busier and have more children on it but to be honest we prefer the outer edges away from the roads anyway.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Terriemick 1 review from this member

Excellent site. Well kept and very welcoming. Perfect get away from in all. We will definitely be going back.

We are only sad that we found this site so close to the end of the season.

We have family nearby and the owner was very relaxed about them visiting. The grandchildren loved the site. There is plenty of room for them to run about without disturbing others.

There is a path to walk to Papermill lock where there is a cafe. 15 min walk.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freckles63 53 reviews from this member

See below for previous reviews;

This is our local weekend get-away from it site!

Took the inflatable kayak this time, traveled both directions, had a pleasant time. Fairly easy to get in and out of water.

Lovely site, not too busy at weekends although all EHU points taken, could do with more EHU points for the middle section of site.

Plenty of walks along river bank and again we had a good meal in The Queens Head in Boreham, just a half hour stroll across the fields opposite the site.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Batding 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from a three night stay at this site. The last time we were there was about two years ago and it's changed quite a bit. For the better I have to say.

The owners have cut down a lot of diseased trees and planted samplings which has opened up the site a lot. The area has mainly flat grass, well trimmed with some hard standings and electric hook-up. There are no toilets or showers but the grey water is put to good use by emptying it on the hedgerows, There is also an Elsan point.

The one downside to this site is the through traffic that runs along one side of it. Most times people drive as they should but of course there are the 'Stirling Moss's' out there.

Just across the road there is a walk that takes you along the River Chelmer to Paperlock Mill where you can stop and take in the scenery and have a meal if so desired.

All in all it's well worth the £12 per night stay, (includes the awning).

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freckles63 53 reviews from this member

Stayed for the last weekend in September before they shut for the winter, this was to try our new to us van out and give it a wash and clean inside and out(we weren't the only one washing the outside of the van).

Chip shop and pub in Boreham supplied us with our 2 nights meals, near enough for family to visit.

We're so pleased we have this site half hour from where we store our caravan, it's superb for weekends away. Can't wait to visit again next year.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bubz 1 review from this member

Not sure It's a good idea to leave a review as people might read it, decide to go and leave no room for us!

This was our first trip in our caravan so we were elated at how level the ground was. It made setting up so much easier. The site was clean and peaceful. The owners called on Saturday morning to collect money and were very friendly and welcoming. We were given information about the local area also. We were given loads of help by a regular visitor as we made a few mistakes, so a friendly clientèle also.

Will definitely be back, as have decided it's our 'chill out' place

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Blunders 2 reviews from this member

We have just come home from spending 3 nights at this site. Beautiful location and well laid out. Very pleasant and chatty owners. Convenient for Chelmsford where we were attending a family christening. Also nipped into London by train for a night at the theatre. Would recommend as long as you have your own toilet facilities.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Freckles63 53 reviews from this member

Spent late May bank holiday, long weekend Frid - Tues here, only 20 miles(half hour) from home. Would visit again without hesitation. Even though it was half term (school worker) it wasn't running alive with children, probably as nothing really on this site for them other than a football goal. Very well kept, clean and tidy site, very friendly owners who collect the fees from you towards the end of your stay.

You have pitches on a first come first serve basis, if you have an extension lead you can put yourself well out of the way. The middle section grassed area seemed to be very popular.

We had a walk across the fields to Boreham (access the field by crossing the road and wooden bridge over river) just keep heading towards the church and the friendly pub with good food, 'The Queens Head' is tucked just behind the church. This is also where the nearest store is a Co-Op the next turning up from the church, also a Chinese/fish take-away.

We cycled the river tow-path towards Heybridge passing through the 'Papermill lock' enjoyable but be prepared for a not so smooth ride.

On another morning we ran in the opposite direction towards Chelmsford passing under the A12, passing through 'Blackwater' lock where they do boat trips, a good run and less busy with people to get in the way :)

We really enjoyed our stay and the weather wasn't too bad, at £12 a night it's one we may re-visit.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Citroen03 5 reviews from this member

Spent a lovely easter weekend at this site, it was very clean and tidy in a very nice setting, if you don't get on one of the hard standing pitches and park on the grass it is fairly flat with plenty of room, if you have a long power cable you can tuck yourself away with some great views, there are loads of public footpaths to choose from so you can get right into the countryside, we only live eight miles away and often walk along the canal with our dogs so thought we new the area well but walking the paths instead of just driving the roads everywhere looks so different, we will be back to this very relaxing site to enjoy all that this area has to offer.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Boris bearcat 4 reviews from this member

We came upon this site by chance, very basic, fine for us as we have all we need in the Motorhome, location was good to the river and not far from London it seems a long way from the smoke, however on our second visit we noticed it to be a little clicky, and also found there seems to be a lot of the same Caravans with a full set up dogs howling etc, and after a little investigation seem to be full of permanent folk!, same nice spot but to many travellers

Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Chelmsford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2033 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019