Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Le Chant D Oiseau

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Site Reviews

Le Chant D Oiseau
Le Chant D Oiseau
Mouliherne
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49390
Tel: 0033 241 67 09 76
    Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 EHU
Open: 1 March - 1 November

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 92 Reviews
                10/10 from 92 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 10 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: DaveDawson 1 review from this member

We first came to le Chant some 5 years ago based on an honest reply from Stu to a rant from an apparently disgruntled camper. Best decision we ever made. We've been here twice a year every year since.

It's a small, no frills, very friendly site with all the amenities needed for a brilliant holiday. You get greeted on arrival with a welcome and a drink, tea, coffee, etc. (Kwak for me!).

The pitches (all 10) are large, all have ehu and all within 2 minutes walk of the clean and tidy facilities.

If you have forgotten anything there is a fully equipped campers kitchen, with cooker, fridges, washing up, etc. For everyones use.

And then on top of all that Syb cooks full meals twice a week and Stu cooks pizzas and fouee once a week. Everybody eats together which is brilliant for getting to know fellow campers. And of course there's a little bar for beer and wine.

New for this year is a proper, enclosable, swimming pool. It's another 5 weeks before I get to see it though.

All I can say is that if you want peace and quiet in great surroundings with total friendliness then this place is a must. If you're there in June or September I look forward to meeting you.

Please note my score for child friendliness is based on other peoples comments.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 97 reviews from this member

Look at our previous reviews of this lovely site, one of our favourites in France. We love coming here for the welcome from Stu and Syb (with the cup of tea!) to the goodbyes. The meal and fouee and pizza evenings are as good as ever and it was great to meet the other campers and exchange stories. The pool was very welcome in the heat!

It is always lovely to visit the little towns and villages in the area.

We will be back next year!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bolandpm 3 reviews from this member

We arrived on this little gem of a site in horrendous weather, back end of the hurricane!and following major car issue in Caen. We were tired and upset we had had to change our plans. Then we met Syb and Stu who greeted us with would you like a cup of tea. They couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The site is small, ten vans but just what we wanted. Especially quiet while we were there. Facilities are very good with lots of hot water in the showers and sinks. We participated in the pizza night twice which was brilliant. The bar was open every night if you wanted to go. There was never any pressure to join the meal nights but so glad we did. There was plenty of wild life to see, deer, buzzards and lots of birds oh and elusive moles!There is lots to see in the surrounding are too. Syb and Stu have lots of information to suit all needs for an excellent stay. We hope to return in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pj9337 2 reviews from this member

Only 2 weeks of relaxation, sun, swimming, pizza, fouee, beer. Can I stay longer please?

Small campsite with electric hook-up, large pitches, hens, pool table, table tennis, running water, clean showers, clean loos, Kampers Kitchen (kettle, washing-up, running water (again :)), microwave. Hob, Tourist Info point

We needed 2 weeks of wind-down and that's what Stu & Syb provided, many thanks

Our tent is 3 m x 8m, and pitch can fit car on as well

Well done Stu & Syb great campsite and we'll look to come again

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ValleySpokesman 1 review from this member

We stopped at the Le Chant D'Oiseau for the night on our way back to Caen from the southwest of France. This was our second time at the Chant D'Oiseau and it was was just as we remembered it and with the same warm welcome from Stu and Sib. I love to cycle and the site is a great base for seeing the area on two wheels and well as on four. The site is on a quiet lane so is very peaceful and secluded.

A lovely place to stay, I only we wish we could have stayed longer and had the time to ride out further to revisit the area again, perhaps next time!

Martin

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LadyH185 4 reviews from this member

We had stayed at Le Chant D Oiseau a couple of years ago and had a great time. On our way back to Caen from the South West of France we decided to pay Stu and Syb a visit - although very brief and at short notice. We had a great welcome and the cup of tea after a long day travelling was absolute nectar! We enjoyed our brief stay at Le Chant D Oiseau. The site is small and located on a very quiet lane just a short drive to Saumur. It is a great base for seeing the area with wonderful cycling.

Thank you Stu and Syb.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 97 reviews from this member

Another fantastic stay at Le Chant D' Oiseau. STu and Syb as welcoming and friendly as ever. Even lent me a hot water bottle on a very cold night ! The meals on. Friday are really good, the pizzas on Wednesdays are great and a good way to meet everyone else on site. There are some new chickens this year!

The pool was very welcome on the hot days.

Market days in Bouergueil and Saumur are always worth a visit.

The gite our friend stayed in was lovely with everything she needed.

Wee. Will be back again next year!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DJW49 1 review from this member

Just back after 25 idyllic days at this peaceful and tranquil site. We had wonderful weather for all but 2 days of our stay. The pool was very welcome when the temps. Peaked at 40 degrees ! Cannot say enough good things about the owners Syb & Stu { aka Ian or Fred :)}They were so friendly and helpful and you simply could not wish to meet more genuine and down to earth people.

Superb home cooked food, delicious fresh pizzas and lovely evenings under the stars around the fire pit and communal BBQ.

Tours is a lovely city (went there by train ) Saumur is not to be missed with its lovely markets and chateau and walks along the Loire river. Fabulous walks and easy cycling all around this site. Highly recommended, we are already planning our return next year, next time with our children and grandchildren.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Bridie 97 reviews from this member

This was probably our 6th visit to Le ChantD'Oiseau and we love it! Stu and Syb are wonderful hosts and the pizza nights, meal nights and now barbecue evenings are great. In spite of the wet weather we were made welcome and were pitched up by the barn on our first visit this year as the ground was so wet. ( this was the same throughout our time in France this year!) on our return the land drains were working very effectively and the camping ground was being used. The cups of tea on arrival are very welcome. Our friend stayed in the little gite and loved her stay there. We went out to the market at Bourgeuil which we love and visited the Church at Candes St Martin and the Panorama from above the church, well worth the walk. It was interesting to see the heavily flooded Loire. We will be back next year.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kempsons 13 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 10 nights from end of July to early August. I booked this site after many hours of research online looking for the perfect site. All reviews were great and when I booked in January I got the last pitch so we had high expectations. We had a nightmare journey and really hoped the site wasn't too good to be true. When we eventually arrived we were greeted by Stu & Syb who are the loveliest couple. They are always smiling, helpful and make you feel very welcome.

The site is very spacious and you don't feel the pitches are on top of each other. There is a small pool which our daughter used a few times, a table tennis table, pool table, bikes which you are welcome to borrow, play area for younger kids and for ours there was was the all important wifi! The kampers kitchen was great with sinks for washing up, kettle, microwave, fridges and cooker. There were also books to borrow and lots of leaflets for places to visit. The covered barn had the table tennis which was great on a rainy day (yes we did have one of those) and also had tables with benches for eating and even playing Lego on. There were 2 toilets and 2 great showers which given that the site was always full we never queued. The building was a bit rustic in keeping with in character of the converted barn they were in, but we're always clean with a basket of toiletries to use if you had run out or forgotten something. I am a bit fussy about toilet blocks and these were just fine.

Stu & Syb cook 4 nights out of 7 which is just fantastic meaning I had a break. This is eaten in the covered barn and means you get to know some of the other campers. You can buy wine by the carafe to enjoy with your meal. Syb was there every morning with our bread order and was even kind enough to realise when we had forgotten and ordered us some anyway. There isn't a shop on site but you can buy milk. Also there is a very good supermarket in Vernoil about 10 minute drive.

Days out.

We went to Chateau l'Islette, near Azay le Rideau, which is family owned and has very pretty gardens.

In Saumur we did a wine cellar tour at Bouvet Ladubay which has some lovely sculpture in the stone walls. They even do a cycle tour which we couldn't do as you have to be over 14 years old. We enjoyed some crepes in the square which had pretty umbrellas hanging across the road.

We also went to Chateau Villandry but only to walk through the stunning gardens. They are definitely worth a visit if you like gardening.

The kids borrowed bikes a couple of times and we walked around the quiet roads meeting a couple of friendly locals.

We had planned to go out more but our kids aged 16 and nearly 12 were very happy just to relax on the site as were we. They have already said they want to back there next year. I just hope by giving this site a well deserved great review that I can book again myself. Thanks Stu & Syb for a wonderful time.

Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2058 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019