Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hafod Dywyll Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Dolgellau > Hafod Dywyll Campsite Reviews

Hafod Dywyll Campsite
Islawrdref
Dolgellau
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL40 1TR
Tel: 01341 423444
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 20 Reviews
                8/10 from 20 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  20 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Julzf4 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location. Very secluded and quiet, save the noise of the river.

However, I would say not suitable for caravans as a) the access road is *very* narrow and twisty and b) the site is very small.

When we arrived (Sun PM) there was no one around. The bottom "meadow" (a clearing right beside the river) was a fair distance from the only toilets and showers which are located at the top of a steep hill.

There were people camped in the field nearer the facilities, so we joined them. Apparently this was incorrect as the top field is a party/private booking field only.

Despite this and having put up a large tent, the owners allowed us to stay.

Overall a good site in sore need of more toilets (in the meadow, perhaps) and more showers. All the ones provided did the job but are *very* basic.

There is also only one water point (also at the top of the hill) and only cold water for washing up.

Be aware that there are no facilities such as shops or pubs within 5 miles, no mobile signal whatsoever and no public phone on site.

If you come prepared, don't mind basic, are prepared to drive for supplies, then the owners are lovely, the site is quiet and recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Xbob 1 review from this member

 I cannot help but compare Hafod Dywyll with Turner Hall in the Lakes.

They cost about the same.

It's a shame HD don't try that bit harder with the toilets and wash up.

I suppose it works for some of us because the softies are deterred from coming!

Still a rattling good site in a most beautiful area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nickwhiteley 14 reviews from this member

 This is a basic site. It's tucked in a valley with a fast flowing stream and woods all around. The washing facilities are portacabins and quite a distance from the main camping area.

The stream is quite noisy so you may find it relaxing or deafening at night. It wasn't bad inside our van. The road in is very narrow and short on passing places so caravans could struggle. We stayed on the first weekend of the school holidays and only shared the field with two tents.

It's very cheap (12. 50 for 2 adults and 1 child with our baby free). Midges were annoying, not Scottish annoying but too much to sit outside on a still evening after rain. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ketunga 1 review from this member

 One of the best site I've been to. Will definitely be going back in the near future. It's very cheap 5 per adult & 2. 50 child per night + 1 for the dog, that's very cheap compared to some other places I've been to in wales. Toilets & showers are very basic but the shower is free & always running with hot water. There's no washing up facilities & it's a bit of a trek up a very steep hill to get water, ideally use the river water for washing pots if camping in the lower field. There's plenty of shops in dolgellua which is only a few mins drive away. Fairbourne is quite local, it has a very nice beach miniature railway & small amusements for the kids. If your there make sure you check out the blue water lake quarry it has some amazing view across the bay & it makes a cheap good day out for the kids 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: GoalPostHead 2 reviews from this member

 Just came back from a great weekend at this camp site. Its a back to basics site with a toilet and shower block.

5 a night and bags of wood are 2. 50; they also sell charcoal 3. 50 a bag.

The site is at the bottom of a very steep hill and the farm is at the top along with the showers and toilet block.

The site is next to a fast flowing and noisy stream with plenty of pitches, we went at the end of September after the heavy rain so the site was quite boggy in places so be careful! Although I would image it would be quite idyllic in the summer when the ground is firmer.

There isn't a shop near despite some other review mentioning this - you have to go into the town.

There's a youth hostel just across from the site and the location is popular with walkers, hill climbers, etc.

I found the farmer and his wife to be very pleasant and their dogs were fine with me and my friends.

Overall a real gem of the site that I would recommend for those who prefer their camping to be a little on the wild side. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coastwalker 46 reviews from this member

 Don't come here if you want luxury, but do come if you want a bit of basic camping with some atmosphere (containing midges in the season).

The site is up a narrow winding lane off the main road, next to the Kings youth hostel. Going by others' reviews I went for the top field. The bottom field is pretty flat and by the river and trees. The top one is mostly sloping but is more open to any breeze and has a stunning view of Cader Idris (a mountain).

The top field is next to the working farm which is typical of hill farms (stuff lying about, discarded tractors etc) and is where the toilets/showers are. These are scruffy and worn but not horribly dirty and at least they work. Not sure about what look like teethmarks on the toilet seat though! Cold water only in the sinks. The showers even have a seat and duckboards which are damned useful. Make sure you look at the signs on the taps- not all the water is for drinking.

I'm not sure that allowing open fires is a good idea. A group of young kids had one near my tent and started messing about. I had two words with them. - Fires and tents don't mix.

The other downside is the farm dogs, or one of them. They all have a bark and a growl when you go to the house to pay etc, but they back off easily enough. The problem is that one is a food thief. I saw him scratching around when I arrived. The following day a woman in another tent had the closed 'porch' ransacked. There was stuff ruined and strewn about.

Anyway. It's cheap. The area around has great scenery. I enjoyed it (but not the midges). 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheDerms 1 review from this member

 We have camped at this site many times over the past 2yrs and love coming back to it. The location is perfect, there are 3 different fields to camp in. The top field has fantastic view, the bottom one is in a beautiful spot next to a lovely river by an ancient oak woodland. We have not camped in the other field so we cant comment on that one. The owners are lovely people, always very friendly along with there dogs.

The facilities are basic but always clean, although it is a difficult incline up a steep hill to get to them if you camp in the bottom field. They allow camp fires and there has been is a pile of dead fallen or chopped down trees (which has been done professionally and not by the people who camp as one review suggests!) just through the gate into the wood which they allow you to use for fire wood if you want to cut your own. The closest pub is a good 2 1/2 mile walk along a dangerous road so if you do decide to make the trip either go by car or take a good light and reflective gear with you.

It is a short drive from Barmouth which is a lovely village, especially in the summer. It has a beautiful clean beach well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DawnEve 1 review from this member

 The Good Bits:

Fabulous location right on the river and right next door to the Youth Hostel.

This is wild camping

Camp fires allowed and some great walking along the river and up into the hills and mountains

Not far from the coast so easy access to the beaches

Great for kids to just potter about in a wide open space, play and enjoy the fresh air

I can imagine in the Summer it would be glorious

The Bad Bits:

The owners said we could take a dog as long has he stayed on the lead. For a labrador next to a river this was torture, yet 500m outside of the site we could let him off. We also saw other dogs running free so this rule seemed unfair. The farmer said it was because of the sheep and it was lambing season which is fair enough - it is Wales and there are a lot of sheep - but not all dog owners are idiots and the sheep for us was less of an issue than keeping the dog chained up on the site. This also created problems for our son who wanted to play with the dog and couldn't. If you're a dog owner we wouldn't say taking your dog here is a good idea.

Also, the owners say there are showers but this is in fact a portacabin with one shower that isn't plumbed in and you had to get to climb over a pile of rubble to get to the toilets so we showered at the Youth Hostel - they were super friendly and only charged 1. 00 more per person per night to camp but with the advantage of being able to use the showers/ toilets/ kitchen and lounge and were happier about our dog than the farm. Next time we will stay at the Hostel. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redeyetent 1 review from this member

 We pitched in the top field at Hafod Dywyll which enjoys stunning views of Cadair Idris and the surrounding hills as well as getting the sun into the evening. The weather was pretty much sunny for us the whole time.

Toilets and showers were portable cabin style and adequate, though in busy times with it being mainly tents, there is the potential for some waiting as there are only a couple of loos for each sex. Also, they weren't the cleanest I've used but they were adequate. It's one of those times you'll want to take your own loo roll to the loo as due to the lack of holders, inevitably someone will knock the roll onto the wet floor rendering it unusable.

There were no washing up facilities. The camp owner recommended we wash dishes in the river but we ended up boiling water and washing up at our tent feeling better about pouring the dirty water away because of the use of eco-friendly washing up liquid.

Bonfires are allowed and the owner sells firewood and kindling. As one other reviewer said, it was a bit odd when you see other campers dragging large branches around like lumberjacks instead of paying for wood.

We stayed during the week leading up to the Royal wedding. On arrival on the Monday there were perhaps two other tents in the top field and it was idyllic. By Thursday evening on returning from our walk up Cadair, the field was full of new arrivals with one person placing their tent's guy-lines right between ours. The trouble with the overflow field is that as it is quite sloping, everyone huddles round the flatter edges rather than spacing out. This spoiled the ambience for us a little as we like a certain amount of space around the tent.

The best thing about Hafod Dywyll is the view. Being able to open your tent in the morning and enjoy the view of Cadair Idris while cooking breakfast is amazing. The location is excellent and being able to look back to the campsite throughout the mountain ascent and descent is a novelty. The downside of the location is that the approach road to the site is very narrow. Luckily we didn't meet any traffic coming the other way.

We would definitely return, though maybe during a quieter week. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katiec1012 2 reviews from this member

 We came here a cheap alternative to our usual campsite in the same area and were quite impressed. It is only a small site but there was only one more tent when we arrived and a couple more over the weekend but there was still plenty of room between everyone. The owner was friendly and didn't interfere, the only small problem was the toilets, although not far away, were up quite a steepish hill, which got a bit annoying. The toilets in themselves where clean (2 mens and 2 ladies) and the showers were quite decent and clean too (1 mens 1 ladies). There were no washing up facilities either so make sure you take ur fairy liquid! haha. Cost us 4 pppn and would definitely return. 


Previous     20 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hafod Dywyll Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hafod Dywyll Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Hafod Dywyll Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dolgellau      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3172 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement