Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of New England Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Stranraer > New England Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

New England Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Port Logan
Stranraer
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG9 9NX
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 155
Open: 16/03/2024 to 05/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 66 Reviews
                9/10 from 66 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 684 reviews from this member

 Fabulous site, right on the beach so you can paddle, canoe, launch etc right off the pitches. It's a very large site but doesn't feel so as areas are broken up between gorse and wild plants.

Nearly all pitches have electric. Worth noting there are 5 or 6 hardstanding but grass pitches are rock hard and better than the gravel pitches.

Only one facility block open. Immaculate and best shower on our trip by a country mile.

When we stayed site almost empty, probably no more than 25 occupied pitches out of over 120. Priced at £22. 50 a night it's so worth a visit.

No shop near by and reception doesn't stock anything - not even sweets or ice-cream which is a shame.

The parking area outside the site mentioned on previous reviews is a daytime picnic area only and has council sign posting to confirm.

We were passing through but plan to come back next year for a longer stay. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Brianr 1 review from this member

 This camp site is worth a visit

We have been coming here for 15 years we love it

Beach is fantastic

Site is spotless, toilet block clean

Lots to do around the area 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Weekir 1 review from this member

 The facilities were very clean. The site was well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful

The play park area was small but very tidy and well maintained

The site was a little bit higher than average price wise and the picnic area just before entering the site is used as a free stop off area for motor homes, campers and caravans which although not the fault of the site is frustrating given we paid £102 for a two night stay 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Fiona W 218 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our few days here, came to binge on rhododendrons at Logan Botanics (assistance dogs only), Logan House next door (dog on lead) and castle Kennedy (dog on lead). Portpatrick is worth exploring too, we walked part of the Southern Upland Way & played 9 holes of golf (dog on lead).

The CAMC Warden’s welcome was warm; pick your own pitch, leave something to reserve it, go back to Reception for the numbered security barrier fob. It’s a huge site but seems smaller: it’s divided by trees & gorse into separate enclaves; pitches are widely spaced. It was very quiet & relaxing, the only sound was bird song;

There were swallows around the second toilet block & MH service area; dog saw no rabbits; mainly stony beach except at low tide; gannets diving offshore. Quite breezy every day.

Mull of Galloway Trail along the edge was great for dog walking - head north to the next bay (Portacree) to keep away from the road. Bring what food & drink you need if you’re in a Motorhome -

It’s a bit of a trek back up to Stranraer, local shops at Drummore & Portpatrick. No pub in easy walking distance but “The Clash” caravan site / pub at Drummore has a good reputation.

One thing I didn’t approve of was the widespread use of weed killer, causing bare earth & dead grass around every post & stone and at some of the pitches too: ugly, not eco-friendly, a very dated approach.

A final point. It did seem odd to access the CAMC site through a 2-tier picnic area beside the beach where there’s free overnight parking for Motorhomes (several dozen at the weekend), caravans & tents, when we paid c. £30 pn to stay next door.

But maybe we’re the mugs, as there’s a toilet block & waste disposal there, and we saw evidence that some free campers were using the excellent CAMC showers, which was a bit cheeky.

Would we come back again? - very probably. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 45 reviews from this member

 A lovely spacious site with lots of separate areas either down on the waterfront or further back sheltered my bushes.

There are two toilet blocks and are of the usual high CAMC standard.

We found it quite windy so if the forecast is for wind, perhaps try and get a sheltered spot.

There are no shops or bars nearby do make sure you bring supplies.

Having said that, Stranraer isn’t too far away.

Must visits are the Mull of Galloway, Logan gardens and Portpatrick. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 84 reviews from this member

 This was our 4th visit to this very scenic site right beside the beach. The site has many different areas, so there is a lot of choice regarding your outlook/ orientation etc. Some of the pitches are in a row, but some are in little nooks by themselves.

The ground is mainly level, but very undulating and very hard and stony. The pitches were very spacious, many people had awnings and windbreaks and boats on their pitch.

The staff were friendly and welcoming. Being as close to the sea obviously makes it quite exposed and breezy, although you can select a more sheltered pitch if you want.

There are 2 toilet blocks, both clean and warm. They have different cleaning times so there is always one open.

We cycled down to the lighthouse. The café at Gallie Craig is in a stunning location and we had bacon rolls sitting outside in the September sun. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: LBBK 56 reviews from this member

 Yes, a tent review for a Caravan & Motorhome Club site. They have five non electric pitches available. We paid £20 per night for the Spring Bank Holiday week, so a little pricey but facilities excellent and this site is about location, location, location as it is sited amongst the dunes on a large pebble/sandy beach.

Covid situation: the caravanners were mainly using their own facilities so no real issues for us regarding the toilets/showers but you may wish to consider your own loo tent if you are unwilling to queue at the peak times.

The tent pitches are in a little section by themselves. No sea view but nicely sheltered from the wind by a large bank and shrubs. You can park your car by your tent. The ground is grass but also very stony. If possible take rock pegs and a large mallet! No phone signal at the tents but a perfect 4G EE signal if you walk the couple of hundred yards to the beach.

The site was a wildlife paradise: we were woken by singing Yellow Hammers at 4am. Also many wildflowers. And numerous sea birds in the bay.

Overall very good but needs dry weather to take full advantage of the location. 


Date of Visit: October 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mischka 84 reviews from this member

 This was our 3rd visit to this very scenic site right beside the beach. The site has many different areas, so there is a lot of choice regarding your outlook/orientation etc.

The ground is mainly level, but very undulating and very hard and stony. The pitches were very spacious, many people had awnings and windbreaks and boats on their pitch.

The staff were friendly and welcoming. Being as close to the sea obviously makes it quite exposed and breezy, although you can select a more sheltered pitch if you want.

There are 2 toilet blocks, both clean and warm. They have different cleaning times so there is always one open.

We drove to Drummore and then walked the coastal path down to the lighthouse. This was fabulously scenic but quite tricky in places. The most exposed part of the route was a narrow path with a steep drop down to the sea on one side.

On the other side was a field with a fence which looked nice and reassuring if you wanted to hold on at any point. Unfortunately it was an electric fence, so beware.

The café at Gallie Craig is in a stunning location and we had bacon rolls sitting outside in the October sun. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Smart Family 90 reviews from this member

 First time at this site. Very warm friendly welcome, despite face coverings and perspex screen. We were fortunate to get a hardstanding awning pitch as there are very few. Awning put up, time to take the dog out.

The tide was out so there is a huge expanse of beautiful beach right In front of the site and coastal paths for miles in each direction.

Toilet blocks were usual C&MC high standard at the moment only 2 persons In at 1 time controlled with wrist bands, but seemed to work okay, but many people were forgetting their bands.

If you come here you need to be stocked up with everything you need, it's in the middle of nowhere, but beautiful scenery all round. We walked across to Port Logan, down to Drummore and up to Sandend.

So much to see. There is a small shop at nearby Ardwell for essential and fishing kit. This is a big site but doesn't seem like it as it's all divided into smaller sections.

We will be back. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 11 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MrsRys 11 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from two weeks at this fantastic site! We loved every minute - even when it was wet and windy. We were very lucky with great weather the first week. The beach is just right for that early morning / early evening walk with the dog. Loads of wildlife right on the door - from seals to oyster catchers. The facilities were spotless and the staff really friendly.

As others have said you can choose your pitch - right on the sea front, or away from it all. Yes the site is a good 20 minute car journey from fuel and supplies - but that's why we went there, for the remoteness and tranquillity of it all. If you are seeking basics - meat, bread and fresh veg and don't want to travel then Drummore Stores are a good bet (10 minutes away). They had everything!

So many places to visit nearby - our favourite was Ardwell Bay (on the opposite side of the peninsula) - be warned, its a single track bumpy lane to get to it - but honestly it's worth it. All in all a fantastic site and area. 


Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is New England Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to New England Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is New England Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stranraer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46158 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement