Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Du Port De Plaisance

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Peronne > Camping Du Port De Plaisance Reviews

Camping Du Port De Plaisance
Route De Paris
Peronne
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
80200
Tel: (33) 03 22 84 19 31
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 90
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 26 Reviews
                7/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Magsie 51 reviews from this member

 A spacious easily accessible site, 1 km south of the town centre by the canal. For shopping, Lidl is a short walk away. The castle in Peronne houses a splendid World War One museum.

Camp Reception has limited opening hours late in the season but bread can be ordered for morning and the cafe/bar is open from 5. 30-8. 30 pm. The outdoor pool and snack bar are now closed.

Free WiFi works on a couple of pitches near Reception, and in the bar.

Facilities are old but clean and heated, with indoor wash-up sinks, token-operated washing and drying machines and very hot water.

We were pleased to find the site open until the end of October, at a reasonable price with ACSI card. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LittleSole 5 reviews from this member

 I was surprised to read the initial sentence in the previous review by ‘BigArt’, “… the facilities are kept very clean”.

At first I wondered if he’d stayed on a different campsite, but his mention of noise from loading barges in the adjacent dock indicated he was at Camping Du Port De Plaisance in Peronne!

I would hate anyone reading BigArt’s review to expect ‘very clean’ facilities.

We stayed four nights on Camping Du Port De Plaisance in late July 2018 and were quite disappointed with the state of the sanitation block. The block is old, fair enough, but some input into renewing/revitalising would help. However, the sinks and showers are dreadfully stained and marked; somewhat clean … but not appealing to use. In fact the washing-up sinks had very little use; we saw most people washing up on their pitches; as did we.

Yes, the toilet bowls and seats were kept clean and so too the inside of the wash-hand basins, but the surroundings needed attention. The floors were run over with a mop once a day but the tiles have quite a raised pattern (non-slip) so the grime remained between the raised bits. The floors and walls and doors needed a good scrub; there was a lot of grime (including mould) in the areas where the plaster or wood had crumbled. I did brave a shower (after I’d washed the floor).

Also the floors tended to flood, even up to about 5mm in some areas; and only washing with a mop once a day was insufficient to remove the muddy (due to the soil on the site) footprints smeared on the wet floors. All-in-all the toilets and wash-hand basins were usable but not inviting.

I took some photos but unfortunately they cannot be included in these reviews.

It’s a shame because the site is OK and in a good position to visit the nearby sites in the Somme valley. It got busy in the evenings and mornings when the tourers arrived for overnight stops, but it was peaceful by day and we had a lovely pitch with shade and a view of trees. The pool gets very busy and very noisy (including some bad language) and there is noise from the adjacent dock.

I agree with BigArt that on many pitches you need a VERY long electric hook-up lead to reach the supply poles. Plus the water taps are few and far between and very slow!

The staff were helpful and friendly.

The snack van was permanent when we were there and did a roaring trade every evening (a bit pricy though = 5€ for a bag of chips).

If you can cope with the shabby sanitation block it’s a useful site. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bigart 19 reviews from this member

 Very nice and clean site, the facilities are kept very clean, when we were there the children's play area was having a face lift, and the pool was being filled. There is a bar which does some basic snack type meals, also a frittier Van was open a few days a week when we were there, and opens more in season, the down side is there is some noise from the loading and movement of barges into the late evening. On some pitches you will need a long lead as power poles are spread around, at the reception English is spoken and the couple who run the site are very obliging. If we ever visit the area again we would not hesitate to call again. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 229 reviews from this member

 To find site:- Leave A1 motorway at junction 13 and follow D1029 to Villiers Carbonnel. At roundabout turn left onto D1017 signed for Peronne. The campsite is on the left just before the bridge crossing the Canal du Nord and is well signed.

A nicely landscaped campsite on the edge of the town of Peronne. It is bordered on one side by the Canal du Nord which still has some barge traffic to add to the interest. There are just over ninety grass pitches of varying size, some are small and suitable for perhaps tents whilst others are large enough to cope with the largest outfits. Like a lot of French sites the grass is often worn away because of the long term use of ground sheets. There are a few permanent caravans on site. The position of electric points relative to pitches is a bit mixed. Some pitches will require a long lead to reach. There are a mix of connections with either two pin continental and CEE 17 blue connectors. Ampage is rated at 6amp and 10amp but the lady on reception was a bit vague as to how to tell the difference. Water taps are dotted around the site. There is one central toilet block which whilst kept perfectly clean is not the most modern but it does have seated toilets and paper provided. It’s possible that if the site were full the facilities could struggle. Also contained within the same block is a laundry and dish wash area. The motorhome service point is next to the toilet block. For children there is a play area and during the main season a small swimming pool. Reception incorporates a small shop and bread can be ordered the day before. Next-door is a bar which overlooks the swimming pool, which was not open during our stay and yet to be cleaned. The site does have site wide WiFi available which was free during our stay (early May) but chargeable if you buy access online. It was pretty slow depending on time of day. Being in a semi urban environment there will be some road noise but this will lessen the further into the site you go. During the low season this campsite accepts the ACSI discount card.

The site is within walking distance of Peronne which is about a mile and a half to the centre. It has all the facilities you would expect from a town of that size. The area for miles around Peronne was the centre of the Battle of the Somme and in the town in the Castle is a museum devoted to the First World War. The site is also a handy base for touring the various battle areas. For shopping there is a Lidl on the approach to the town and not far from the centre at the other end of town is a Carrefour Connect small supermarket. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dawath1948 21 reviews from this member

 I stayed here whilst touring the battlefields. It's a good spot, just outside the town itself (probably about a 20-30 minute walk), and a great location for starting a battlefield tour, although possibly on the 'wrong' side of Albert.

Nice site, friendly staff, good facilities. There's a small shop on site, a little bar (with WiFi) and a small pool (closed when we were there) with play area.

The pitches are well marked out, and a good size, with a security guard doing the rounds at night.

We stayed for four nights with ACSI card 68 euros. Due to the inclement weather the ground was very wet, and there may have been flooding on some pitches.

The site is not manned during the afternoon, it is common practice to find a pitch and sort out after 16:30.

Cant fault the toilets etc. , and would return if we decide to tour this area again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Elizahigham 21 reviews from this member

 We stayed for two nights on this site. All a bit haphazard! No-one on reception during the day, so it's a question of finding your own pitch, which isn't a bad thing but when the electricity went off on several pitches, including ours, there was no-one to get it re-connected. Electric hook-up points some distance away from the pitches. We were pleased we had an extension lead! Others were struggling. Not impressed with the facilities we found them rather dirty so we didn't use them. All pitches are grass, so would probably not use this site during wet periods. It was fine while were there. We had a meal from the on-site mobile 'cafe', unfortunately it was inedible, what a waste of €20! We walked into the town, which was pleasant. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Redman 5 reviews from this member

 Last stayed here in 2012 but stayed several times before. The site is easy to access from the motorway and an ideal overnight stop but well worth staying a few days as so much to see in Peronne and in the surounding area particularly if you are interested in history of first world war. There is a smallish swimming pool and a bar and a hut/van that serves food at night. There are a few reasonable restaurants in the town. Staff on site speak English and very helpful. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BelgianExile 1 review from this member

 I stayed here for a couple of nights while touring the battlefields. It's a good spot, just outside the town itself (probably about a 20-30 minute walk), and a great location for starting a battlefield tour. Nice site, friendly staff, good facilities. There's a small shop on site, a little bar (with WiFi) and a small pool (closed when I was there) with play area. The pitches are well marked out, and a good size, with a security guard doing the rounds at night.

I stayed the last night in May and first night in June - the price was supposed to jump from 14 euros to 20 euros for a single (solo) pitch which is probably a bit pricey for a tiny tent with one person in it! 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grayster 1 review from this member

 A quiet site on the edge of town. Clean showers and toilets. Indoor washing up sinks and a washing machine and tumbler. They have an outdoor swimming pool (obviously this was closed in march!) and a kids play area. Electricity and a motorhome disposal point. Good site. Great base to explore the Somme and good stop off point for heading to Paris/Disney/ te south. Restaurant a few meters from entrance - we didn't try it but a German couple I saw in reception were racing about it there is a bar next to reception, small but serves beer so hey! 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bryn hafod 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed overnight to visit war museum. Easy to find via directions outside town. No problems finding a pitch by the canal. Facilities were spotlessly clean. Warden very helpful and friendly, allowing us to arrive before noon to enable our visit. English spoken. Bread available, order the night before.

Within walking distance of the town. Supermarket and fuel a short drive.

Recommended.

ACSI site 16 euro. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Du Port De Plaisance child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Du Port De Plaisance have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Du Port De Plaisance?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Du Port De Plaisance dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Peronne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome & Campervan Show, Peterborough 11/06 to 13/06
Browse new and used motorhomes for sale from a huge range of local and national dealers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3715 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement