Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Forestside Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter > Forestside Farm Reviews

Forestside Farm
Marchington Cliff
Uttoxeter
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST14 8NA
Tel: 01283 820353
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 caravans/10 tents/2Camping Pods
Open: March To End Of Oct

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 70 Reviews
                9/10 from 70 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is opening in line with government guidance and we are taking bookings for arrivals from 04/07/2020 onwards , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas and this may include toilet and shower facilities. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daveandmel1611 1 review from this member

 My wife and I had a couple of nights here last weekend, the site was fairly easy to find, we checked in with the farmer's wife in the courtyard at the end of the track, then turned round and went down to the site.

There is a row of 5 hard standing pitches at the top, a couple of camping pods, then in the field in front are the camping pitches, all of which are fairly large and those against the middle fence have EHU.

We set up and then ventured back out for food at the Dog and Partridge in Marchington, where the food was excellent and the portions were large! Unfortunately this was where the bad aspect of the weekend began - the rain.

It rained consistently from Friday evening until the Sunday morning, which kind of ruined the experience as we couldn't sit outside the tent and enjoy the views and the country air.

We did manage to take a trip out to Sudbury Hall on the Saturday but again we couldn't really explore the grounds due to the weather. All in all, 4/5 for the campsite, 0/5 for the weather.

We hope to go back in the next couple of months and try out one of the camping pods 


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Wilkins 23 reviews from this member

 We visited Forestside Farm campsite during June for six nights.

The site lived up to all the reviews placed on website of UK Campsite. A big thank you to everyone who reviews the sites they have visited, this really assists other campers selecting some of the best sites available across the UK.

When we arrived at Forestside Farm, we reported to reception as requested on arrival but unfortunately no one was in, but there were clear instructions of where to pitch, a plan of the site & details of the facilities block.

In fact we didnít see anyone from the site during our stay; thankfully no problems arose during our stay.

Yes the facilities were as good as the website advertised & details from previous reviews, washing up area could have done with another draining board, but there was plenty of very hot water, made washing up quick & easy.

The site is by the farm, down a long lane well off the road, so no traffic noise, such a delight.

The views from the site were delightful as described, from the front of our tent we looked over Dove Valley & behind us was the forest; the weather was fairly good with just one day of rain.

We were fortunate enough to be at Forestside Farm during the annual festival held in Marchington, the local village. We went to the country music & BBQ evening on the Saturday; we had a wonderful evening the sun shone the whole day & evening.

The only downside was the amount of flies, our tent was totally invested. I know it is a working dairy farm, so there will always be some flies, but we have never encountered this amount of flies before & we have stayed on many farms.

But having said that, I would recommend Forestside Farm Campsite for a peaceful break.

Brian & Martina Wilkins.

Tonbridge. Kent 


Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rob5425 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of the month, Chris the owner was very friendly and helpful, the views over the countryside are outstanding, we had the place to ourselves for the first 2 nights, it is a haven for peace and quiet, if that's what you are looking for, the quiet was only broken by the birdsong and the odd cow moo, just what the doctor ordered

I had intended to go fishing but, on arrival, found the pond to be quite a distance from the site, you would need to load up your gear in the car, drive off the site and down the lane to a gate in the field and then schlepp your gear uphill 2-3 hundred metres over the field, you can`t park your car there, so would need someone to take it back to site and pick you up again. I had no boots with me either and the field was soaking, so I didn`t fish in the end.

The facilities were good, clean and tidy if a bit spartan, one or 2 more hooks near the shower wouldn`t go amiss, this is however a very small niggle, washing up facilities are indoors which is a bonus.

In the facilities block there are lots of tourist brochures a microwave, kettle, toaster, fridge and freezer all available to be used

Be careful when arriving, there is a small sign at ground level at the entrance to the site at the end of the lane, it tells you to carry on to the farmhouse to check in, turn on to the pitches first or you`ll find yourself in the farmyard with little room to turn around.

All in all a very nice, well kept, quiet site, we will definitely use it again. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GMC1958 41 reviews from this member

 We have been caravanning for 11 years BUT this was the most chilled out trip to date. The site is beautiful with great views from the pitches. The site was clean, well kept and for a CL site, the facilities were really good.

The peacefulness was only broken by bird song and the odd Moo. The site is a credit to the owners. We were so impressed that we will be booking for a week next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dselvage 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet camp site, probably the quietest we have ever stayed on. The views were wonderful. We were pretty much allowed to pitch anywhere on the site. There were two female shower rooms and two male. They were nice and roomy, they had a shower, basin and toilet.

The only problem with this was that if you just wanted to go to the loo you may have to wait for someone to have a shower before you could go. Could do with a couple of just loos. The dishwashing facilities were inside, which was good if the weather was bad. Overall it was a lovely site.

One night there was a group who had hired two bell tents for the night. They were talking loud and playing loud music till 1. 00 in the morning. We book quiet campsites for a reason and it is disappointing when you go to a campsite, expecting it to be quiet and people are not considerate of others.

If you want to stay up late and talk loud and play music, fine, then go to a campsite that allows it. Because the campsite owners house is far enough away to not hear what is happening on the campsite, they weren't there to ask them to quiet down. This was the only downside of the weekend however. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slowroad 51 reviews from this member

 Lovely small site with friendly owners. I just did an overnight on a cycle tour but I'd like to think I'd get back there for a few days sometime.

There's two paddocks for camping, one with a couple of caravans and a camping pod, and one with just a camping pod, the rest of the space is for tourers.

The facilities are excellent, two bathrooms for men, two for women, with a loo, washbasin and shower. All very spacious and clean. There's also a kitchen room with kettle and microwave - appreciated this, saves on the camping gaz!

There are lots of footpaths for walks in the woods, but I can't report much on the local area as I didn't stay long enough. I hope to get back and explore sometime! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Biketourer 1 review from this member

 What can I say, this place is stunning! I've been touring for a few weeks now and every evening has been a bit of a lottery, this was my last stop before home and by far and away the best spot I've stayed at!

Gorgeous view, impeccably kept camping area, facilities are no more than you need and the owners were hugely hospitable,

I will be coming back here for years to come! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jillfares 9 reviews from this member

 Great facilities large pitches, water on each Motorhome pitch

Came here with my grandson and dog we watched the cows being milked each morning and at teatime also saw calves in the sheds. Made very welcome then you are left to enjoy your stay

Can't recommend highly enough 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Shazza39 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely couple of nights staying in one of the 2 camping pods at Forestside. We have been before 3 years ago and pitched our tent, but after a full day at Alton Towers, we just wanted the easy option. And it was well worth it!

The pod was very comfortable, with heating, lighting & electrical sockets (none of which we usually have). Very spacious and certainly protected us from the storm that came overnight. Jan was extremely helpful on our arrival, but we were left to it, which is always nice. The pitch included picnic table & fire pit with free wood that was extremely welcome.

The toilet/shower block is minimal but loads of hot water. Great facilities in the kitchen area. The farm itself is in a beautiful area and the views are amazing. My only small suggestion is somewhere to put your things when you shower. The floor became a little dirty & the small stool couldn't cope with all my toiletries & clothes!

Highly recommended & I'm sure we'll be back again! 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamie965 1 review from this member

 We've just spent the weekend here & can't recommend this site enough! It's a lovely site, very clean, well maintained, in a quiet location and excellent value for money!

Our six year old son was more impressed with the fact it was part of a working farm! The views from the camping field are also lovely. We will definitely stay here again in the future. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Forestside Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Forestside Farm?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Forestside Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Uttoxeter      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3617 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020