Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - High Rigg Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Pickering > High Rigg Farm Reviews

High Rigg Farm
Dalby
Pickering
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 7LP
Tel: 01751 460269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 6 Caravans + 10 Tents
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Monkeypops 6 reviews from this member

Stayed at high rigg farm for 4 nights. Superbly placed in the dalby forest. Nice clean site nice hot showers friendly owners. I will return. Take care when you go through the barriers as the road gets narrow in places. Approx a 3rd of a mile past the go ape centre. Look for the sign for high rigg farm on the right. Lovely walks through the forest. A mountain bikers heaven. Very quiet and very relaxing.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NigeO 1 review from this member

We returned to High Rigg, about seven years since our last stay, still with many happy memories of it as a great place to stay. However, as we drove, I was starting to wonder if maybe we'd just been lucky and caught them on a quiet week last time.

I needn't have worried! Despite having to go a day late as the site was full, there was plenty of space when we arrived, a warm welcome showing us a couple of suggested sites and pointing out pro's and con's of each. We were told we would be the last tent in, which was encouraging as the large central field is always kept clear for playing in, so it feels really open with good spaces between the pitches.

We've stayed at lots of sites in the intervening years, but this is still in my top three, and likely would be the best overall if I had to commit.

It is well looked after, rules are clear, not restrictive, and enforced, so there are no nasty surprises. The toilet block and showers are clean and airy, and the washing up area is a good size, we often got to chat with someone at the other sink but never had to queue.

Last time, our children weren't confident on bikes so we didn't bring them, this time the youngest was 8 so we made full use of the green and blue mountain bike trails (and some reds for me any our 14-yr-old!) which pass within a couple of hundred metres of the campsite gate in each direction. There are a huge range to choose from, some we did more than once as they were so enjoyable, and the nearby skills park really helped to build up confidence for tricky features.

When we stayed previously we did lots of day trips as there is so much to do nearby, but this time we only left the forest twice in the week, for shopping and a trip to York.

And finally, the farm produce is fantastic, make use of it at every opportunity!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bonnyrigg 33 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site in idyllic surroundings. Its a true family site as sites used to be. Safe for children to play on the field, except for the odd idiotic tenant who drives through the site too quick. The site is approached through the forest along the Forest Road, up a sharply inclining narrow lane. You drive through the farm yard and then into the field. The owners are friendly and helpful. The facilities are as follows:Ladies two loos and two sinks with hairdryer. Gents:two toilets and one sink. Three showers, pot washing and a very handy drying room. Plenty of hot water at all times. The building is in the corner of the field easy accessible, there is also a chemical disposal area and electric and water points around the field. The field can get a little boggy when it rains but quickly dries out. The only down side is the facilities are not cleaned every day and it shows, The gents loo would benefit from another sink, toilet users can't wash their hands if someone is cleaning their teeth or wet shaving. Overall a great little site and well worth a visit. Point on the site directions: it says bear right after Malton towards Thornton le Dale. Its a right turn so can be misleading. I AM GIVING THIS SITE A 7 / 10 PURELY DUE TO THE TOILETS NOT BEING CLEANED. SORRY

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EmmaGreveson 1 review from this member

We spontaneously decided to camp for a night last Friday just to get away from every day life for a night. I booked this campsite as it looked particularly pleasant compared to other campsites. I'm so pleased I found this site, it is tidy, has clean facilities and I absolutely love fhe cows and sheep that we can see from the campsite. I loved hearing the cows 'mooing' for their breakfast!

The morning sun shines on the campsite which is lovely. I felt safe and I felt comfortable here which is important to us. I also like that it is a nice and quiet campsite with strict rules on noise past 10pm. There's nothing worse when camping and someone in the next tent keeps you awake!

Thank you to Helen who was welcoming and we will be back aoon and would love to try your scones and breakfast sandwiches!

Thank you.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Bobman 7 reviews from this member

We hired a pod for one night to attend one of the concerts in the forest which we felt was a lot easier than setting up a tent for just overnight.

The pod itself was as described- snug, comfy and just roomy enough for 2. High quality, spotlessly clean and oh so convenient. We just took the minimum of kit so it may have been a bit of a squeeze with a full set up, but I'm sure it would have been manageable.

The pods are in the bottom corner of the field with a small parking area opposite. There was a stand for a bbq which we used a bench for each pod and a small porch to sit out on.

There is plenty of shelter and the camping field is a great suntrap, our pod faced the afternoon sun and I was able to face my chair to receive the morning sun and as we had ordered breakfast this was a very pleasant experience!

The facilities were basic but very acceptable in a block that had pretty hanging baskets and a sign that made it easy to remember which toilets were which - you will have to visit the site to get the joke. We had plenty of hot water when needed.

For a working farm there wasn't too much animal noise, we had expected to be woken by the cows but slept right through till the alarm. There are plenty of animals to keep little ones entertained.

The breakfast we ordered was great, perfect for us not taking much kit. On arrival one gent was getting a large order of sausages so I will take that as a good omen.

If you are going to the site for the concerts then have a reccie of the route back. It is easy enough but the chances are you will take a shortcut down and up a sharp dip on the way there which you will skirt around on the way back and it seems to take ages to get to the same point. A good torch is recommended. We had mobile phones which were OK but ended up walking back with a group with a very effective bike headlight. The return walk took about half an hour which was a lot quicker than trying to get out by car.

There is loads to do in the forest if you are the active type and this campsite is ideally located to take advantage of them. Scarborough Whitby York and the moors are also easily accessible and very worth a visit.

This is a great site for 'quiet' families, active groups or solo campers. Make your own entertainment because there is no clubhouse or other such vulgarity!

We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the site.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jondy376 56 reviews from this member

Were on the last night of a 2 night stay, we love the site and can’t fault it. Helen is extremely hard working giving everyone a lovely friendly welcome. We highly recommend Helens Home Baking, We had cheese scones this afternoon and Rhubard crumble muffins after tea. Both were extremely Light and tasty. Helen even baked them for mid afternoon so we could have fresh scones and a cuppa tea after a days walking.

The Site is on a working farm, Its been nice to see all the animals. The caravan pitches are well spaced out and the grass and hedges all well kept. The facilities are well kept and the showers are free and plenty of hot water. We’d like to say a big thank you to Helen and we will see you in July

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LeedsJohn 2 reviews from this member

This is a superb small, quiet, simple site which suited us perfectly. It's family friendly with plenty of field to play on, farm animals all around for the children to explore, and in the middle of Dalby Forest with loads of activities to enjoy. Including an excellent playground. There are also, of course, forest trails for mountain biking at all levels of experience.

A trip to the East coast beaches or to York is easy to fit in to a holiday.

The welcome is warm and friendly with plenty of advice regarding the local area. The farm also sells its own burgers. Sausages and pork chops which are just so, so tasty!

The shower block is fine with plenty of hot water and always kept clean. There is also an excellent washing up room.

The site is a little off the beaten track but shops of all sorts are only a few miles away so there is no real problem.

Yes, this is a quiet site with no late night noise allowed but that is exactly what we want. We have just returned from our 2nd visit and will be back there next year!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GeekyGirl1 2 reviews from this member

We stayed for a week (2 adults, 6 year old and 2 year old and 2 dogs). This is an amazing campsite! Really nice and quiet and nicely off the roads but still 10 minutes away from Thornton-le dale for shops.

There is a toilet block with washing up room; 2 standard showers and a larger shower room; male and female toilets with 2 in each. Showers could do with being slightly stronger or not as widely spread out (I have really thick hair that takes a bit to get shampoo out)

It is a basic toilet block but always nice and clean and warm.

There is a freezer available in the owners house for freezer blocks.

The site is a triangle shape going away from the toilet blocks with tents going down each side and pods towards the end point. The best feature of this site is the space in the middle for kids to play. The site rule of 5mph for cars is strictly controlled and it meant I was happy with my kids playing out. The hedges on each side kept them contained so the only exit was up the field towards the entrance.

The ground is nice and flat with only the slightest incline.

Others have commented on the 10pm noise rule - we never saw/heard the owner to enforce this but we were always in bed by 10pm and it was nice and quiet.

Fabulous site - already wanting to come back!

Locally there are lots of walks, two local playgrounds. The site cost includes the fee for entrance to the forest drive.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sandersadrn 1 review from this member

We stayed for two nights during the very cold spell at the end of April. On the second night we were given a quilt to use and also offered one of there camping pods if we wanted, nothing was too much trouble.

The campsite itself is in a stunning location in Dalby Forest, beautifully maintained. The breakfast rolls are really good, home baked bread, their own sausages and eggs.

This site represents what proper camping is all about and should be applauded for it.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Piebald pickles 9 reviews from this member

What a gem of a place. Super flat field, well kept and great services.

Toilet and shower block were super, showers always lovely and warm, and no issue with them being push button, plus had a place for shampoo etc, and plenty of hooks for clothes!

Biking was superb from the site, and was great to have a bike wash off when we got back, a little muddy!

Great site rules, just loved the peace and quiet.

Being on the farm was fab, to see the pigs etc just super.

Great owners, super place, would love to go back.

Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5128 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019