Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Stoneclose Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Dalby > Stoneclose Campsite > Reviews

Stoneclose Campsite
High Rigg Farm
Dalby
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO18 7LP
Tel: 01751 460269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 6 Caravans + 10 Tents
Open: 29/03/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2024 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 42 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite on a working farm in the heart of Dalby Forest. We had a few plans for being in Dalby (Saturday morning 5km Parkrun and an evening stargazing session, both of which started at the visitor centre nearby) and High Rigg Farm Campsite (also known as Stoneclose Campsite) was ideally placed.

It's up a track about 1. 5 miles away from the visitor centre and Go Ape activity centre. We cycled down to the centre to start the Parkrun though it's a bit of a hill on the way back!

The facilities are fairly basic but kept nice and clean. The showers were hot with the typical push-button activation that lasts about 30 seconds at a time. All perfectly adequate but the fixed shower head can be a bit restrictive at times.

The site itself is a bit of a triangle shape. There are hook-ups along the top edge but after several weeks of heavy rain we were advised not to drive on some of the grass areas.

We parked on a hardstanding area and Helen, the site owner, kindly let us use a longer power lead to reach the hookups.

It's nice and peaceful here and perfectly placed to explore Dalby Forest. It's our first time in the area but we'll definitely be back. Dalby has some great cycle routes and forest walks.

The visitor centre was really busy on a weekend but there are other car parks along the toll road through the forest where you can escape the crowds. 


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sgb116 1 review from this member

 Well sheltered site in the middle of dalby forest.

Excellent location for all the forest activities from walking to cycling, only downside was access road as it was a single lane with one passing point fortunately I meet a forestry vehicle in that exact place otherwise it would of been a bit hairy apart from that top marks (on the scores 9/10 location was simply due to access road) donít let that put you off 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Eparkin 1 review from this member

 Clean facilities, plenty of space at our pitch and a great location.

Really friendly owners who are happy to help should you need it.

Will definitely visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Foster 1 review from this member

 Such an amazing location.

Close to everything we wanted while still being peacefully tucked away.

Facilities were clean and it wasnít over crowded in any way.

Helen was fantastic and helped us out when we were in a pickle with our tent.

We will be back Iím sure. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kevinc 1 review from this member

 The site was in Dalby Forest within walking distance to go-ape and the cafe.

The site was part of the farm which had lovely grass pitches with electrical hookup if needed.

It was nice to wake to the lambs playing in the next field. The farm was kept very tidy and nice to see.

As I had molly my pet dog we decided to go the other direction into the forestry which we could have nice walks and molly could be of the lead.

Helen and her husband were extremely helpful making sure everything was okay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Angeli 1 review from this member

 Stayed in a camping pod. A lovely treat to have a warm dry sleeping area, and access to electricity - but with all the other perks of camping. Very reasonably priced too.

First visit here 10 years ago and loved it then. Revisited this time and enjoyed it even more. Really cosy, amazing star gazing and right in the middle of a beautiful forest.

Canít wait to visit againÖ definitely wonít be leaving it 10 years this time! :-) just make sure you bring everything you need, it is a long way to the nearest shop 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Lisac6 1 review from this member

 Beautiful location set in the heart of dalby forest

Clean facilities and pot wash facilities

Friendly owners very efficient

Working farm with farm animals

Child friendly facilities

Good walks and biking area 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mandsh 1 review from this member

 So glad we found this site in beautiful Dalby Forest. We were met by the owner and shown to our pitch.

We had asked for a quiet pitch and were very pleased with the one we were given.

All facilities were pointed out in a clear and friendly way. All facilities were clean and well thought out.

The showers were lovely and hot. There were washing up facilities which we did not need as we were in a motorhome but essential for the tents.

Ball games are allowed on site but they were mainly down the end near the pods.

There is a 9 pm curfew for BBQs etc and 10 pm for noise which we thought was a good idea.

There are some beautiful tracks for biking and walking straight off the site.

We biked into Thornton le Dale to stock up on essentials which was about 20 min.

We would certainly recommend this friendly site and we will definitely be returning. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Bazac 9256 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely place in the heart of the Dalby Forest

Can't wait to go back.

Helen and Richard were such lovely people and Helen allowed me to fulfill something that's long been on my bucket list, feeding a baby lamb. 


Date of Visit: April 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Jackjr 2 reviews from this member

 We come back here as a family, a couple, and as a bloke and his pals, simply because it is one of the best sites we stay on. For location, for the friendly nature of the hostess Helen, and for the value for money.

Showers are hot and big enough. Toilets clean and amply sized. Drying room and bike wash facilities are a boon.

The site is laid out to accommodate not that many pitches, meaning reasonable peace. In fact it's my kids who make the noise, and disturb the neighbours.

If there was anything to raise issue with, and this is really nitpicking, it is that the hedgerow is hawthorn, and so the clippings when left down, can create havoc with airbeds, young children's bare feet, and bike tires. Be aware and its not an issue, be ignorant and it's at best a changed innertube, at worst a trip to A and E for a tetanus.

Having said that, it's a beautiful hedge and provides fab habitat for the birds and a reasonable windbreak from the prevailing.

We love it, the glamping pods are roomy and easy to use, but we will still do our non electric hook up tent as it's such a joy to get away from civilisation here. 
via mobile


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Stoneclose Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Stoneclose Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Stoneclose Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dalby      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3961 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement