Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Low Way Farm Holwick

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Co Durham > Barnard Castle > Low Way Farm Holwick Reviews

Low Way Farm Holwick
Middleton In Teesdale
Barnard Castle
Co Durham   (Browse area)
DL12 0NJ
Tel: 01833 640506
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 15 Reviews
                8/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Strawy 6 reviews from this member

 Second visit here, only 1 nighters but enjoyed both times.

As previous reviewers have stated, basic facilities but well worth the £5 I paid.

Large field so lots of room, minimal bits of sheep poo but not really a problem (it is a farm after all) and the location is great.

Access track easily negotiated if taken slowly.

Used as a cheap base for the great walks around here & i, ll be returning again later in the year. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leon perry 4 reviews from this member

 1st of all, its £5per head not £4 as it says on website and I was told over phone £4! for a basic site its still worth £5 per head.

(someone will come to you for payment). Good job I had some extra change in the car to give to farmer. I told him to change the site info.

This site is basic. You get what you pay for. At least you have toilets and a couple of sinks which is more than what I normally have when camping.

Theres no hot water so take a kettle!

If you need to wash/shower, boil some water and take a flannel and soap. There's sinks in toilets. Sitting on the toilet is a bit cramped. Could of being turned 45į so you head is not resting on the wall. Lol

Always bring toilet paper regardless as even on 5* sites loos run out.

There is still the sheep poo so take a trowel to clear your spot.

Grass is not on the short side, so can be wet on a morning. Wellies. You would think with all the sheep poo the grass would be short.

The lane to the site is a bit on the rough side, so take it easy in a fully loaded car!

Down to the river and turn right and you can have a long walk to high force. Stay on this side of the river (pennine way) and you make it right to the top of it. Loads of little stops to stop and fish with the kids.

The pub is in walking distance. Leave the site the way you came in and tour right. Closes @9pm and closed on tuesdays. Coming back from high force you will see a sign post point to the pub. Well followed this and had a nice drink before we went back to site. We needed it (hot sunny day).

The town is not to far. Co-op with free cash point. Toilets. A hardware shop which looks small until you walk in and get lost. It has I would say, every thing, even camping kettles if you need hot water ;-) a butches with cooked pies. Great if you are going on a walk.

Summary, all you get is a field. A cold water tap in the middle of the site. 3 toilets with no lights or hot water. 2 sinks to wash pots, no hot water. Good views. Good walks. Good location. Nice pub.

I will come here more often as a base at £5. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ukulelestan 1 review from this member

 The site is located down a steep gravel path and through a gate into a wonderful scenic field which has a couple of dozen sheep in it. If youre scared of sheep or them nosing your tent and making noises in the middle if the night then this site isnt for you. The scenery is breath taking and the site has great walks to Low and High Force with and Middleton in Teesdale. Each easy for the non serious rambler like us.

The site is basic with only cold water, no showers, no loo paper but a couple of toilets on site and a tap for drinking water. Great if you don't mind getting back to nature and leaving the luxuries behind for a few days. The owners are lovely and friendly. We had the field to ourselves one day and only a couple of others on another day. The field is flat for pitching your tent but mind the copious amounts of sheep droppings. :)

All in all an adventurous time with lots to tell and fond memories. Worth a visit if you don't mind roughing it. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robnchar 7 reviews from this member

 Hmmm after reading the last review I didn't recognise the site we stayed on at Easter and early September. This site is basic but not as basic as some as there are good sized toilets and a wash basin cold water and clean, the only real issue being no lights in toilets. These basic facilities not being clean can be down to weather and lazy idiots.

There are good walks from site the walk to high force is really nice and regards the walk to the pub I have heart failure and at Easter had just ( 4 weeks) had a hernia op and found it no problem and its well worth the walk as its a proper pub with good food and a very warm welcome.

Access to the camping field is down a long gravel track. We have a landrover but others on site were in cars and my parents met up with us in September and had no problems in there small romahome camper ( Big campers/motorhomes wouldn't be allowed as they do struggle). The sheep running round is only an issue if you see it as such if it is then don't stay here simple. This is very much a campsite for outdoorsy types and active familys. There's a bunk house/barn on site which is ideal for groups 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Edwash 9 reviews from this member

 I always like to start positive so thatís got to be there is lots of space and nice views, however sadly that where the positive stops.

First and foremost the site advertises at four pounds per night per pitch, however when we got there its four pounds per person per night.

Next is a big no no, campers are sharing the field with sheep! As a person who has run rallies for many years I know that DEFRA and Natural England state for reasons of hygiene and the chance of food poisoning, no farm animals should share the same field as campers, and especially sheep as they can be dangerous for pregnant ladies at certain times, in fact they should not have been in the field for a number of weeks before its used for camping.

The site has toilet facilities but they were so dirty and unkempt my wife refused to use them, and the washbasins were no better. I understand that you can catch campsites at a bad time but this was bad.

I must now mention the on site track to the camping area, it must be a half a mile or more from the main road restaurant etc, for this distance you are travelling up and down some very steep inclines, the track has been very roughly covered by some broken rock similar to what is used for railway ballast, fine for tractors and large four wheel drives, not so good for cars with little road clearance, my car bottomed on the rock and the rock hit of the exhaust many times up and down the track.

As for the Pub being across the road! It is from the entrance to the site but itís over half a mile of strenuous walking, OK for those who are used to walking the Pennine Way, however most people may find it strenuous and impossible for the infirm and the majority of elderly people. I must be honest we did not even pitch out tent we left and stayed at another nearby site.

Let me assure all readers I am not a glamour camper, we have stayed for 4 long week vacations many times on sites that have nothing more than a tap and a place to empty your chemical toilet. As I have said I have run rallies all over England on many farms, so as I said I am not a person that is looking for luxury on every site I visit. However I do expect a basic standard of hygiene, not to be living amongst livestock, and a decent approach to the camping field suitable for all vehicles. As you can guess I canít recommend this site and we would never stay there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr Hass 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed here at this lovely, but very simple site. There are toilets but no hot water, but there's loads of room and the views, the peace and the situation are great. If you like your camping simple this is the site for you!

There's a country kitchen at the farmhouse, which I didn't try - but looked really nice, there's a lovely pub just up the road, although I understand there are new landlords on the way.

Pennine way runs very close by and there is great walking on your doorstep - its 3 miles into the nearest shop, but as long as you plan ahead this shouln't be a problem. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndrewK1 4 reviews from this member

 Highs

1.Stayed at Low Way Farm Holwick,near Middleton In Teesdale. Very basic ie 3 toilets and cold running water but at £4 a night who can complain.Gorgeous views right on the Pennine Way next to the Tees.On site there is The Farmers Kitchen open 12-5 each day for good local cooking by the farmers wife.When entering the site I saw a Redstart with a mouthful of insects,before beginning to unpack I saw her feed 4 youngsters,great start.

2.Walked 30 miles Sunday, Holwick,past the Scarrs back to Grassholme over the top to Hannahs Meadow and back down the valley past Hury Reservoir to Cotherstone,Egglestone,Middleton in Teesdale and home.

3.Walked 20 miles today,Holwick,Low Force,High Force and towards Cauldron Sout back across the drovers path on the Moor to Holwick.

4. Saw in the end 65 species of bird,none special but good to see loads of Redstart particularly in Balderdale and along the Tees.Also great numbers of Wheatear,Curlew,Oystercatchers,Red Grouse,Snipe and Golden Plover.A few Spotted Flycatchers along the Tees but best was some Black Grouse at a site half way between High Force and Couldron Snout,most unexpected Lek.

Lows

1. Has to be a birding one,I covered 50 miles (same as Sunderland to Craster or Appleby !) but I saw NO RAPTORS ? I hope its a coincidence but at least half the route was across 'managed uplands' ? Surprised I saw nothing in the lower land too,maybe just bad luck ?

2. Got back after my walk on Sunday and eagerly went to The Stathmore Arms to find it shuts at 7 on a Sunday,Doh, normal hours 12-9 weekdays and 12-7 Sunday.Had a pint here mid afternoon today and super real ale from Jarrow Brewery,they survive on passing trade ( they are at a car dead end),from walkers and cyclist so food not on either just refreshments of a liquid kind.

3.Visit to Hannahs Meadow was 2/3 weeks early, best late June early July.

4.Called into Bollihope Quarries on the way home and dipped on the Ring Ouzels,likewise at Tunstall Reservoir woods for Pied Flycatcher. Any good sites for either birds would be good to receive on a PM.Still not seen either.

All in all a superb couple of days away and I would again highly recommend recommend Low Way Farm Holwick for use as a camping base.

Hope the account of the last couple of days helps.

Cheers. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Riddlers duffy 10 reviews from this member

 Not the first time I have camped here and not the last, beautiful setting on the river tees.The facilities are basic, toilets and cold water but for short stays that is fine.The field is large and well away from any roads or traffic so quite a safe environment.

One drawback is the steep bank into and from the field which can be slippy when wet but this is a minor irritation to be fair.

The town of Middleton in Teesdale is about 3 miles down the road and there are shops that can provide all your provisions as well as numerous pubs, cafes etc.

The Teesdale way runs down the bottom end of the site so there are miles of riverside walks if you are feeling up to the exercise. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dazza123 1 review from this member

 Just spent 3 days on this site and it is ideal for the kids. It is about a mile from the road so children are pretty safe from traffic.
It is 3 miles from middleton in teesdale. There is a nice walk to low and high force at the bottom of the site but there are loads of stiles to get over so not ideal for older people.

I will be going back shortly as the kids loved it but will only stop the 2 nights as you run out of things to do.

Prices are £3 per head including children. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ajs_1970 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this particular site under recommendation from my sister and nephews who have stayed here a few times in the past. Went with my two nephews and a friend a while back and really enjoyed it so decided to get a group of seven together to go in June 2009.

All I can say is if you want no frills camping then this is the place for you. Lovely scenery and lovely walks to be had. There is a river runs along the bottom of the campsite and its so so quiet.

Some people have said on here that you share the field with sheep but as of yet the field has been sheep free. Cold water from a field tap and toilets next to the camping barn is all that is there but like I say no frills.

I would suggest taking toilet rolls as the toilets have none and also take rope to make a swing for the kids from the tree unless the one we made is still there.

We going again June 2011 but so far only the four of us but still loads of fun to be had. The site owner is very friendly and welcoming. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Low Way Farm Holwick child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Low Way Farm Holwick?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Low Way Farm Holwick dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Barnard Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Co Durham

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2924 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement