Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cockingford Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (South) > Newton Abbot > Cockingford Farm Campsite > Reviews

Cockingford Farm Campsite
Widecombe In The Moor
Newton Abbot
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
TQ13 7TG
Tel: 01364 621258
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 15/03/2024 to 15/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 21 Reviews
                9/10 from 21 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  21 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 13 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Bob Atter 1 review from this member

 This was my first stay at this site, I have a vintage tractor that I have been showing for the past 8 weeks in Devon and Cornwall and needed a stopover site for my van and trailer that the tractor was on before showing it at Widecombe Fair

What a find this campsite was, they were so obliging, no problem with the size I needed and I didn't need any wheel levellers as I was parked by the river. I also had the use of an electric hitch up, as it had been installed this year

Reading through some of the posts other people have left, I have to agree with them however donít go by some of the older posts as the facilities have been updated, especially no charges on the showers that were very powerful and hot water was available all day and night

I met a host of other campers especially the ones who came for Widecombe Fair and all were so complementary of the site

Would I come back, most certainly next year 


Date of Visit: May 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kateandjames 66 reviews from this member

 This is one of those special campsites that really takes you back to nature. Levelish pitches alongside a dartmoor stream, basic but very clean toilets, showers and wash up facilities.

No electric, phone signal or Wi-Fi! Heaven, a breath of fresh air and freedom from a hectic world. Great night skies as well, plenty of stars in your face moments.

The farm has a honesty shop with eggs, sausages, burgers, cream teas and a few other bits and pieces. Some good walking direct from site, although the shortcut to Widdecombe involves climbing 2 ladder styles, not good if you have a dog. And the permissive path on the other side of the river was very deep in mud and also had some ladder styles.

Access from Widdecombe is along narrow lanes with few passing places, I found the route to Ashburton via Buckland a better drive. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Heysnook 1 review from this member

 We're torn about leaving a review as on the one hand, the site and the owners deserve all the praise we want to give them while on the other, we want to keep this gem of a place to ourselves! But we must give credit where it is due.

My partner has been staying at Cockingford for over 25 years, which must mean something, but this is the first time we have stayed there together, with our 3 kids aged between 7 and 14. We were allocated an ideal spot and the only grumble we have is that we only had 5 days there.

The site is, as mentioned elsewhere, nestled in a valley, with the small river a constant burble in the background. No phone/internet coverage meant we were able to switch off from the outside world - while this may horrify some, it was our idea of heaven! While the site was relatively busy, it was quiet and peaceful as no music is allowed.

Again, perfect. The farm sold a few basic items (the sausages and eggs were amazing) and there was a freezer to keep blocks frozen and we were able to keep a few foody bits frozen for our youngest, a fussy vegetarian.

The owners were lovely and beyond helpful and our youngest two enjoyed getting to know their sons.

The toilet block was always clean with decently hot water and plenty of loo roll and soap.

The kids spent their days playing in the river, rolling down the hill, looking at the animals at the farm while we sat by the fire, drinking copious cups of tea, relaxed in the knowledge they were safe (And contained!).

We ventured out a few times to explore the woods and the moors or pick up provisions in Widecombe but were always happy to come back to camp.

All in all, a lovely, simple, back to nature site and we can but thoroughly recommend it. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Sarahpr 1 review from this member

 We loved our stay here. The location is beautiful and serene. Feels like in the middle of nowhere but yet easy to find. A great base to explore Dartmoor.

The hosts couldn't be friendlier and visits to their farm kept the children entertained and a real experience for those of us who grew up in the city!

The stream is lovely for paddling in and again, kept the kids happy. The showers are hot and clean. A great place to 'reset' from busy lives.

We cannot wait to return (considering moving in!) Thanks for everything @Cockingford Farm Campsite! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Roma07 37 reviews from this member

 Little has changed since previous reviews, except hot showers are now included in camping fee, so no need for coins. The charm is in the rural remoteness, but we could get a phone signal by taking the permissive path west of the road, heading towards Bittleford on the rising ground.

Only one outdoor sink for washing up with cold water tap.

The grass pitches low down near the stream were level and generous in size. Not a lot for children, but the piglets, geese and fowl were worth seeing.

The Rugglestone Inn provided above average lunches in the garden, and portions were huge! The Tea Room at Widecombe was closed at the time apparently because of COVID related staff shortages.

If you can cope with the narrow roads, the site is definitely worth a visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

 A real gem tucked away from the crowds of Devon.

I have been here twice in the last month, the owner made me feel very welcome as a lone visitor and was happy to provide vital local information. Prices were very modest for what is on offer.

The whole site is set in a deep valley next to a small river and segregated over three separate fields for all types of units. Expect no phone coverage here whatsoever, but that in itself seemed to connect it with the moors and nature.

The toilet block is basic but kept immaculate, two showers/toilets on each side with a tiny dishwashing sink in the first filed.

Widdecombe village is an easy 35 minute walk where two lovely pubs can be found, and a shop.

Only possible downside was the slight lack of level ground, although this would only affect tents, therefore were slightly packed together on the flat. However that said it seemed to work. I could also imagine this site is slightly aimed more at couples and single walkers rather than a family, and experience of driving on very tight roads with passing places would be essential.

Would I return? At least another three times planned for this summer! 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hulya 1 review from this member

 My husband and I have been camping at this campsite almost every year for the last 13 years. It is a small, very basic and a beautiful campsite located between a hill and a small stream. It is excellent value for money: £6 per person. There are toilets and showers which are clean and perfectly functioning always. The hot water is operated by a machine for which you will need to pay to have it (last time I used it, it was 20p) so if you like your shower have lots of change with you. There are no electronics or entertainment and so it is very quiet all the time. All you can hear is the wonderful sound of the stream, the cows and the geese. Even the children are tuned with nature. It is wonderful to see how much they enjoy nature without the need of any other entertainment. The nearest town is Widdecombe where you will find the nearest pub. However this pub is a bit out of place and does not feel quite local. We would strongly recommend a second pub which is a little further up from the town: turn right by the church and walk up for ten minutes (or drive--the pub has a big car park), you will find the pub Rugglestone Inn on your left. Enjoy the local food and the friendly atmosphere. My husband an I used to walk to this pub from the campsite in the past which would take us about 30 minutes to get there but in recent years we have been driving there which takes us about 5 minutes. I would strongly recommend cockingford campsite to all my friends. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Corinne tite route 5 reviews from this member

 No surprise with this campsite, the reviews I saw on internet before going there are correct. It's quiet, not expensive, with limited but clean facilities. As said in other reviews, the flat ground is limited.

It's near a river, in the middle of the Dartmoor National Park, perfect place to discover the park. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eyespy999 2 reviews from this member

 If your looking for a basic camp site like the good old days then this is the place to stay. I wanted to try out my tent but wasn't brave enough to wild camp so I was advised to stay at cockingford farm by a friend.

At £4 a night for an adult and £1 for a child it is value for money. You are right on dartmoor national park.

The site consists of three fields which are hilly however you can find flat areas for tents in the first field. Drinking water is well posted with basic washing up facilities in the first field. A toilet block with male and female facilities are available at 10p for hot water and 20p for showers. Change can be found at the farm opposite. Although the toilet block was dated it was sufficient for our needs and many other campers seemed happy enough on the site.

Provisions can be bought on site from the friendly owners and Ashburton is a ten minute drive if you need more items. Camping and caravanning items can be bought in Ashburton too. In summary if you want a cheap nights no frills camping this is the place for you. This is how I remember camping as a child and I will definitely be going back soon.

If you are in a touring van ensure you have chocks and wood to level off. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Busboyglyn 1 review from this member

 A planned visit to my regular camp site (Runnage Farm)ended with a big no no! the reason was that during the month of June the site is closed to campers because of a schools take over ( I wish they had out this in their web page?.

The people who run Runnage Farm campsite directed me to 'Cockingford Farm' and how pleased was I?

The campsite at Cockingford was perfect for those in search of peace and quiet. There are some static caravan on the site but these are restricted to the first of the three fields that make up the campsite.

I pitched my tent (£4 per night)in the second field which on had one other occupant. The grass of all three fields had recently but cut and there was no mess of fresh cut grass to go brown.

The toilet/shower block was straight out of Dad's Army, but very clean and tidy, the price of a shower was 20 pence, and for that you got a good five minuets of piping hot water. And overnight the lights stay on, so there is no getting lost on the way to the loo.

Drinking water was at two locations on the site clearly make as not to make mistakes with the none drinking.

As I was staying four nights I found the facilities very good but basic, but what more do you want or need on a campsite?

My next visit to Dartmoor will be in August this year, and I will be staying at 'Cockingford Farm campsite' 


Previous     21 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Cockingford Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cockingford Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cockingford Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Newton Abbot      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4051 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement