Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Newlands Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Site Reviews

Newlands Caravan Park
Loxley Lane
Wellesbourne
Stratford Upon Avon
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV35 9EN
Tel: 07761747282
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 12
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

Photos (7)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mattybill 1 review from this member

We have been to this site several times over the last few years and up to now have always been very happy with the site and the service provided. However, we visited this site over the Mayday Bank Holiday weekend 2018 and found the service has deteriorated since the old warden Mick left. We were only on site for 3 days and on 2 out of the 3 days we found the toilets had no toilet paper. After the first time we advised the warden and the toilet paper was replaced but then the very next day we experienced the exact same problem. When my wife visited the toilet facility by the games room there was again no toilet paper so she went down to the other end of the site and here at the main facilities block, 2 out of the 3 cubicles also had no toilet paper. When my wife complained to the new warden we were threatened with being thrown off the site. In summary, nice site, reasonable facilities, terrible service.

Management response: We are sorry you feel this way , as always over the bank holiday weekend we were fully booked and sometimes the toilet rolls get used and taken from the block much quicker than normal , having said that there were toilet rolls still in 1 of 3 cubicles so there were some to use which makes the complaint a little unjust as "terrible service" .

We had no other complaints from anyone else onsite over this holiday period and it is the same staff who have been responsible for the toilet block and upkeep of site for over 10 years even under the previous warden.

Regarding being threatened to be thrown offsite, any customer who is aggressive rude or disrespectful to our staff would find themselves being politely asked to leave .

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Suntour 1 review from this member

They only have 5 touring pitches now as they have all seasonal vans there now which is a great pity no more rallies there now.

Its local to the Wellesbourne Market which is a very big market and you can park on the market site all day with a motorhome.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barneytiffy 3 reviews from this member

For us this was a one night stopover. We arrived early evening and there was nobody on duty. A phone call and it was confirmed we could choose our pitch. Hard standing with nearby facilities, which were very good. TV reception was good. No warden in the morning but envelope and form in info hut to leave remittance in letter box of office. Air field next to site did not impact on our stay, possibly only used during daylight. Would stay again.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rkelly 2 reviews from this member

In terms of customer service, this is absolutely the best site we have ever camped at-the warden is fantastic and always on hand should you need anything. Toilets are always clean and well lit, entire site is neatly kept. The site is locked overnight, meaning all campers are safe and secure-and there will be no joyriders speeding through waking everyone up! Location is perfect for visiting Warwick and Stratford-upon arrival, warden gave us a useful map of local vicinity with shops, restaurants, pubs etc on it. An absolute must is a visit to the airfield across the road! The cafe is fabulous for breakfast and they have seating outside so you can watch the light aircraft taking off (we recommend the large breakfast-you won't need to eat until the evening then!). Also, have a look around the small museum they have at the airfield-a really interesting collection of WW2 artefacts and the story of the airfield and local area during the war.

On site, the speed limit is strictly adhered to making it safe for children to play. All dogs were on leads. For me, the only thing I score the site down on is the fact that the showers are on a meter (i like a long hot shower!) so I could only have a quick shower as it's 50p for 5 minutes.

There is a games room which has a kettle and a tv so it's good for campers who don't have a hookup. The one day it rained while we were there, the warden came to us and said we could relocate into the games room rather than sit in the tent-I cannot emphasise enough just how impressed my dad and I were with the customer service here. We will definitely be going back, and would not hesitate to recommend this site to fellow campers.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

Newlands is situated across the road from Wellesbourne airfield. Half of the site is semi-permanent pitches, with a field for touring caravans and tents with hardstanding plots arranged in a circle (but with additional hooks-ups in the centre lawn for additional caravans and tents).

There are toilets blocks in the both parts of the site (the pay-to-use showers being located by the entrance gate). There is a large games room with snooker tables and toys in the touring part of the site, along with water taps and refuse bins. The warden is friendly and helpful, lending us a set of steps when we discovered we had left ours behind!

We enjoyed a pleasant stay there one weekend whilst attending a wedding. The site appears popular, and I can imagine it would be quite full on hot, sunny weekends. There is a flying school on the airfield, so light planes and helicopters are passing overhead for much of the day. However, the noise is not excessive.

Around and about, there are two big supermarkets in Wellesbourne, as well as various eateries. We dined at the Stag Inn, an old pub that does good, reasonably-priced cuisine. Stratford-upon-Avon and Warwick Castle are only a short drive away, and the site provides a good base for exploring south Warwickshire and the Cotswolds. It is also just ten minutes from the M40, so can be used for overnighting on the way to somewhere else.

We paid £20 per night for hook-up too. Newlands is therefore a good little site to use for a weekend break.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bluenosewidow 7 reviews from this member

After trying to book a site near Stratford Upon Avon for the weekend and finding everything fully booked (or not allowing tents) we spent two nights at this site. The warden met us on arrival and told us where everything was and how things worked (especially the showers). The showers cost an extra 50p for 5 minutes. You need to make sure you are undressed before putting the money in the meter as the countdown starts straight away, NOT from when the water is turned on.

We paid £18. 50 per night (tent, 2 adults and EHU)which was ok. The tent field is quite flat and apart from us there was only one other couple in a small tent. The EHU pitches are on the left hand side of the field and non EHU pitches on the right. The games room and disabled toilets are only a short walk away but the showers and dishwashing are near the entrance. The warden explained that the games room would be open all night if the weather was bad (it was a bit windy)and we could stay there if we needed to. I wish other sites did this. The site is well laid out for caravans and there is caravan storage available.

We felt that the facilities were clean but overall could do with a bit of a 'lift'. The toilet and shower block is a converted storage container which was quite dark inside as there are no windows only a sort of perspex roof. There are 5 toilet cubicles which are quite small. I think there are 3 or 4 sinks (which along with the toilets were very clean).

Stratford upon Avon is only about 15 minutes away by car. Wellsbourne market is about 5 minutes. As other posters have mentioned the cafe (The Touchdown Inn) at the airfield serves lovely food and is well worth a visit. You can sit outside and watch the aircraft taking off and landing.

The site is very secure and I would be happy to return as a solo camper and we will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mharris 22 reviews from this member

We have just spent the weekend here with 3 other families. When we arrived we were greeted by Mick who runs the site and guided us to where we were staying. The ground was flat and we had plenty of room. There are two disabled toilets in the main touring field but for a short walk (2 mins) there were additional toilets and showers near the entrance to the site. They were clean and had plenty of hot water. The showers were 50p which gave you 5 mins which was plenty of time for me.

There is a large games room with a pool table, TV, Radio and plenty of books and DVD's. We had two teenagers and an 8 year old who enjoyed using it. The site is opposite an airfield with light aircraft taking off quite often, this did not put us off and in fact it was great watching them.

There is no dog walk but if you walk out the main gates there is a public footpath you can follow. The site is not far away from Stratford and we visited the market on the airfield at Wellesbourne, which was well worth a visit. The airfield also has a cafe which is open to the public with a viewing area of the aircraft that take off from there. There is even a Vulcan parked up. The breakfast was excellent for £4. 00. We had dogs with us and there are table outside to eat.

Overall the site was good and we will be going back. Great base for exploring the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bruce Battams 14 reviews from this member

We booked four nights at this site. Alarm bells started to ring when the warden had no idea who I was though I had spoken to him an hour before on that day and the previous day. Then when he told me to let my grey water go on the grass or in the ditch! Ugh!

There were however two good points about this site

1 It was flat.

2 The drinking water pressure was the best I have come across anywhere.

But “Caravan Club” it aint!

The grass was long 5-6 inches, though the weather had been fine for days and it could have been cut.

Sadly in my view it’s an opportunity missed here! It was evident a lot of money had been spent a couple of years ago on building an ill thought out scheme, with only two disabled toilets on the touring field (which were not cleaned the whole time we were there). It was a great shame. The cassette disposal point was also disappointing.

The showers were an additional 50p and a very small space, the toilets my wife refused to walk to and use. On this occasion we used all our facilities on the motorhome.

There was a large games room and barbecue facility built for customers use.

The airfield, right next door, got pretty busy at the weekend with light aircraft and helicopters constantly in use. The Wellesbourne Saturday market was huge and very interesting

Sad to say we won't be returning.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The seeker 1 review from this member

Site was immaculate. Showers and toilets were clean and warm. Notices very disabled friendly. Site manager was very helpful and explained the rules of the site in a friendly manner. Games room had lots to do to keep us amused, pool, table tennis darts and table football. Very quiet and peaceful. Well maintained. Very easy to find. The site was located near the airfield, but this did not cause any issues. In fact is was nice to see the little planes taking off.

Also had a nice walk into the nearest shopping area along country lanes. Very pretty and only half hour walk.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nickwxm 6 reviews from this member

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting relatives in nearby Leamington Spa. Didn't expect much from site but was pleasantly surprised. Very tidy site of average size, useful facilities such as games room with kettle and fridge in for campers use. Also had a pool table and TV. Toilets on camping field were new and wheel chair friendly. Showers were at other end of site in older portakabin- old but clean. Site manager very friendly, and gave info about a cafe about 600 yards down road overlooking light aircraft air field. Probably one of the best breakfasts I've had in a while. Noise from air craft was minimal- they only have small two seaters and helicopters but don't fly in unsociable hours. Best thing about the site is location- easy to get from M40 for people travelling down to Devon Cornwall and want an overnight stop. We'll be using this site again.

Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3029 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019