Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Bury > Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Woodhill Road
Bury
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BL8 1DA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 119
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boltons 3 reviews from this member

 Arrived on a Friday for a three night stay, on arrival my wife went to check in which took 10mins,

We picked our pitch which was a good size and level, had a look around the site and it is clean and tidy.

There are lovely dog walks and a little cafe.

There is a train line that runs at the back of the site and is quite noisy( there just happened to be a Diesel engine enthusiasts weekend) and then night work on the railway line until 01:00 not the best start to our weekend, Saturday was trains all day until 21:30, but didnít mind that,

It was the noise from the nearby pub The Brown Cow which is located at the entrance of the site, Saturday and Sunday was very noisy and if you want a nice quiet weekend go elsewhere. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jackie 1 review from this member

 We couldn't believe something so lovely can be only a few minutes from the town centre.

It's a nice clean site toilets and showers nice.

The lady in reception /shop was lovely and friendly,

We had a trip on the East Lancs Railway then lunch in the pub next door.

Booked in again for September, I only wish we'd been sooner its definitely one of our favourites 😊, 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 619 reviews from this member

 Typical well kept CC site. All facilities immaculate and Covid adhered to. Really friendly and helpful wardens gave us a quick and easy check in.

We ate at the Brown Cow next door (in beer garden) good food and we'll priced. Very popular even on a week day lunch.

The country park has several good walks along the river and canal. Plenty of open spaces for picnics and children to play.

We found site to be very peaceful and quiet with the exception of the odd steam train passing by.

The site was less than 50% full for the 3 days we were there, despite that the "Site full' sign remained out at the gate all the time. If you are pulling in unbooked suggest ignore sign and ring the buzzer. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: October 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Freda2 1 review from this member

 Lovely site

Very clean

Enjoyed the steam trains passing behind our MH. although we didnít use it there is 2-4-1 on the trains

The weather was poor but it didnít stop us having a couple of walks around the park and visiting the pub

Really enjoyed it 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Hrd195 3 reviews from this member

 Great welcome, very helpful staff. Site facilities are excellent although they prefer you to use your own. Up to date with Covid set up. The park is quiet and well spaced out.

A short walk to Bury. The down side of the trip was that we thought that Burrs country park was bigger, I think we walked it all in half a day! It was also a bit on the expensive side. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pca1958 27 reviews from this member

 Arrived just before 12 and was warmly greeted by the Warden. Looked around the site and as others have mentioned many of the pitches looked 'tired', however it could be seen that many had been refurbished also. These 'tired' pitches during the weekend became prone to puddles, although it has to be said the weather two weeks previous had been dreadful. Found a newly laid pitch and set up.

Facilities were good and clean, and tried a walk round the country park, must be nice in the dry weather. Went to the Brown Cow in the evening, and had a nice meal at a nice price, Good to see a busy pub.

Walked into Bury, about 35m to the Market and the Transport museum, and on the way back stopped in the coffee shop, again very well kept and good service.

Only down side is WiFi. As a Silver site I expected to be be able to join and read emails etc, however couldn't get a signal.

We were right on the edge of the site next to the railway line, and found I could only get a signal by the toilet block and towards the shop. When mentioned to the warden I was told 'it maybe because of high usage'. Now I'm no expert, but I thought that as a Silver site this shouldn't be an issue. 


Date of Visit: October 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crossfire 18 reviews from this member

 Used as a base for me to go into Manchester for a gig as Bury trams go to Manchester direct.

Spacious pitches we had a serviced pitch sp was no need to find water and waste. Ideal dog-friendly pub on site.

Facilities are very good and well maintained.

When we stayed there was a steam train festival on and so every hour a train went past every hour Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Great for the spotters amongst us. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pnefan 9 reviews from this member

 Arrived on one of the hottest days of the year and after travelling through heavy traffic around Manchester were happy to arrive.

This is a club site so is very well organised which wont suit people who like a less ridged set up. Yes the pitch sites are regimented but the amount of space on each pitch is huge. It accounts for the site fees being at the top end (we aren't club members so didn't receive a discount) but the amount of space between units accounts for this.

I'm sure they could fit many more units in if they reduced the square meter per unit. We prefer to pay extra for the additional space.

The site is well maintained by the wardens. The showers, toilets, washing up facilities and laundry rooms are also kept in a clean state. There is a card operated barrier at the entrance which keeps out cars who may want to park to use the adjoining country parks facilities.

The adjoining country park is well worth a visit. It contains industrial heritage walks along side fishing lakes and country walks. It also has a station for the local steam railway which can get you into the local towns.

Bury market being well worth a visit.

There is also a pub at the entrance which serves food. We didn't eat there during our visit as the weather was so nice we ate outside the MH so cant comment on the standard of the catering. It does however have several nice beers which we can testify to!

This site is suitable for both active people who wish to walk and also for people who want to just have an easy ramble. There are also walks suitable for wheelchairs and push chairs. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 233 reviews from this member

 To find site:- Leave M66 at junction 2 onto A58 to Bury. Follow A58 through Bury following signs for Burrs Park. Bear right into Brandlesholme Road and watch out for right fork into Woodhill Road signed for Burrs Park.

Continue right to the end of this road, the final section is over cobbles and through the remains of the old mills and then up a ramp to the site. A double barrier system is in operation. At the first barrier follow the instructions on the intercom and reception will raise the barrier allowing to pull forward to the site entrance proper.

Burrs Country Park CC Site is situated in the Country Park which is on the outskirts of Bury. The site is open all year and accepts non-members. There are 103 pitches all of which are on hardstandings and all accept awnings. 33 of the hardstanding are serviced pitches with fresh water and grey water waste.

Electric points are handy to all pitches and use CEE 17 blue connectors and are rated at 16 amps. The electric bollards also have co-ax TV connectors which is free to use but you have to provide your own cable. We found the TV connection more reliable put straight into the TV rather than via the outfit system.

The toilet block is centrally situated and is of a high standard. There are four service points dotted around the site plus a motorhome service point which now incorporates an open grill grey waste water dump. However the grill is set some way back so larger motorhomes my still need to use the covered drains.

Reception sells a few essentials. Next door is a small information room. There is site wide WiFi which I found pretty reliable. There is no on site childrenís play area although there is a playground not far away plus of course plenty of kick about space in the Country Park. A rather nice touch is the small herb garden at the front of the sites with an invitation for members to help themselves to what they need.

Along one side of the site is the East Lancs Railway with regular steam and other vintage trains depending on time of year and the day of the week. The East Lancs Heritage Railways runs from Bury through Ramsbottom and onto Rawtenstall. In 2016 a new station was opened to serve Burrs Country Park Next to the site. Club members can claim some discounts on train fares.

Also near the site entrance is the Brown Cow pub. Whilst this is a handy hostelry for a drink or even a meal it does also create some day time noise but usually only at the weekend. Likewise events held in the Country Park can create some noise. This site is ideal for a visit to Bury and its famous market or perhaps a trip into Manchester on the tram system direct from Bury.

There are buses available from near the site, about a 10/15 minute walk, into Bury and Ramsbottom. There are two eating establishments within easy walking distance of the site. For shopping major supermarkets are available in Bury. 


Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jncrowe 4 reviews from this member

 This is a really lovely well kept site Very clean showers and toilets. Heated too !

Its just a walk into Bury Its better to walk because the traffic Ď system Ď in Bury is horrific

The scenery around the park is very pleasant

The Country Park is popular with families and dog walkers and there are Steam trains that pass the rear of the site

There is a very good pub at the entrance to the site The food is very good and pet friendly

There is a cafe across the road which is very popular too

The only negative aspect of the whole set up is the cobbled road leading up to the site. It is very wonky and unpleasant to drive along 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2577 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement