Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lancashire > Bury > Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Woodhill Road
Bury
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BL8 1DA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 119
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 101 Reviews
                9/10 from 101 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  101 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2023 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: M & G On Tour 25 reviews from this member

 Second visit to this site. Very well laid out with spacious pitches. It's a one way system around the site.

Very good facilities, small shop on site. Very pleasant staff. There is a dog wash facility. Nice location with a pub next door, The Brown Cow. Very good food. Also a cafe next to the site but didn't use it this visit.

Good location for steam train lovers, which we are, as the East Lancashire Steam railway stops at the site and goes through to Ramsbottom. We did the return trip and got off in Bury on the way back so we could visit the famous Bury Market. Excellent meat and fish market section.

You can walk into Bury from the site, approximately 35/40 mins. There is a Tesco superstore slightly closer than the town centre. Bit difficult to find though.

Would stay here again definitely as a stop enroute to other areas for a few nights. Not a lot to do in the near vicinity of the site however. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulg7 1 review from this member

 Lovely kept site nice big pitches,

The addition of having a steam train on the door step to get to rawtenstall and ramsbottom was fab.

The staff were very helpful and friendly. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: December 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mondeocort 65 reviews from this member

 Arrived minutes to 1pm and were met at the barrier by the lovely warden who welcomed us in. Hassle free, cheery check in at reception and we're pitched and set up in no time.

The site was busy but immaculate and maintained very dutifully by the wardens. This was our 7th time at Burrs but last visit was late 2020 after lockdown. In that time, a dog wash has appeared, very useful being Autumn and next to the country park, sadly we lost our dog in the summer.

This trip was our 1st to Burrs without our furbaby but it enabled us to walk into town, approx 15mins, catch the tram to the Manchester Christmas Markets £4. 10 return and eat out, non of which we couldn't do before.

The pub next to the site was busy but squeezed us in for an early tea. Likewise, the cafe just off site served us a lovely breakfast.

The facilities block has had a new door fitted, and the facilities themselves were lovely and warm and very clean.

The only slight annoyance was the caravanner who pulled off his pitch next to the motorhome service point and then proceeded to pull into the service point to empty his loo and put his mirrors on even though it was obvious we were waiting to use the MH service point.

When we towed, we used to do all that before leaving the pitch! It meant only a 10 minute wait whilst he sorted himself out but hey ho, you can't cure selfishness!

Thanks Burrs and the very delightful wardens for another good weekend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Geoff48 36 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for a week while works being done on my house. It's a only a few miles away and was our first time there.

Its a typical camh club site, well maintained with good clean toilet block facilities.

One way system on site with tarmac roads. Checking in is by intercom on the vehicle near side, there is a secondary barrier outside reception where you take the left lane for reception, the right lane is for those already checked in. You can obtain a long reach fob holder from reception useful if you are o your own returning to site.

The approach roads have a short stretch of cobbles and a narrow bridge arriving earlier at this site gives a problem so best to stick to the published times.

I found the Brown Cow, almost on site, very busy at weekends and was far more comfortable for me during the week, a nice selection of beers and food was reasonably priced.

The HSM, s and AHSM,s were very helpful I needed to add a day on to my booking at a time when the club was changing the booking system, they were very helpful and friendly the test of a site is whether or not you would go again, my answer is a definite yes. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Merlot65 15 reviews from this member

 Really nice site with spacious level hard standing pitches and within a nice setting of the country park.

The steam train runs behind some of the pitches but it doesn't run very often and is quite nice to hear and see.

Specific off lead fenced dog exercising area and a dog wash which was ideal to use to cool our dog down in the heat.

We took our bikes but the cycle network is a bit patchy and difficult to find and not the prettiest.

Took a walk into Bury which seems to be a bit run down and didn't really entice us to walk back into it another day. The country park is nice for a walk round.

The cafe just outside out the site has lovely coffee and cakes and is dog friendly but also has seating outside at the front and at the rear and has an ice cream parlour next to it.

Quiet time from 10pm to 7am.

Overall the site was good but the surrounding area was a bit of a let down. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Vangelina 41 reviews from this member

 Stayed here overnight to visit friends in Bury.

Warm and efficient welcome from wardens.

Spacious pitches on hard standing but lots of grass in between.

Lovely position in Burrs Country Park.

Weíve stayed here before itís itís consistently good. 


Date of Visit: March 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Johnrmorris 2 reviews from this member

 I hardly want to recommend this site, in case too many others book in and there isnít a space for us!

This site really is a hidden gem, walking distance to Bury town centre but surrounded by lovely countryside with great walks.

There is a great pub next to the site called The Brown Cow, who offer a warm welcome to dogs and well behaved owners! Lol. Food is excellent too.

In addition to being only a short pleasant walk from Bury, when you get there, youíll benefit from being able to visit the famous Bury Market (Wed, Fri, Sat).

Next to the site is also a little train station for the East Lancs Railway, travelling back and to to Bury and Ramsbottom.

This site is great, staff friendly and helpful. Donít tell anybody though! Lol. 


Date of Visit: November 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lindy32 1 review from this member

 Stayed here 3 times for 14 nights in 2021 Easter, May and November.

Lovely site and close to family. November we had gale force winds, snow, service points frozen and no power on 27th November due to it being so cold and the electricity overloaded (fixed on the Sunday)

It a lovely site with the ELR running through the site.

Facilities probably in need of an update but more than adequate and always clean. Grandchildren welcomed.

Would we visit again, yes booked in for Easter 2022. 


Date of Visit: October 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Blinkie 65 reviews from this member

 Our first time out in a motorhome having changed our lifestyle from a touring caravan. Very pleased to find a motorhome point as stated in the details.

The pitch we had was hard standing and perfectly level. My wife said that it would be a perfect pitch for bird watching.

The site is very clean and the warden friendly and helpful. I used the facilities provided for disabled people. The room was clean and tidy. It was also nice and warm.

We made use of the pub outside the gate for lunch. Being mid-week it was quiet and not very full. The food ws very tasty and a reasonable price.

We will return. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boltons 4 reviews from this member

 Arrived on a Friday for a three night stay, on arrival my wife went to check in which took 10mins,

We picked our pitch which was a good size and level, had a look around the site and it is clean and tidy.

There are lovely dog walks and a little cafe.

There is a train line that runs at the back of the site and is quite noisy( there just happened to be a Diesel engine enthusiasts weekend) and then night work on the railway line until 01:00 not the best start to our weekend, Saturday was trains all day until 21:30, but didnít mind that,

It was the noise from the nearby pub The Brown Cow which is located at the entrance of the site, Saturday and Sunday was very noisy and if you want a nice quiet weekend go elsewhere. 
via mobile


Previous     101 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46541 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement