Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Bury > Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Woodhill Road
Bury
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BL8 1DA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 119
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 220 reviews from this member

To find site:- Leave M66 at junction 2 onto A58 to Bury. Follow A58 through Bury following signs for Burrs Park. Bear right into Brandlesholme Road and watch out for right fork into Woodhill Road signed for Burrs Park. Continue right to the end of this road, the final section is over cobbles and through the remains of the old mills and then up a ramp to the site. A double barrier system is in operation. At the first barrier follow the instructions on the intercom and reception will raise the barrier allowing to pull forward to the site entrance proper.

Burrs Country Park CC Site is situated in the Country Park which is on the outskirts of Bury. The site is open all year and accepts non-members. There are 103 pitches all of which are on hardstandings and all accept awnings. 33 of the hardstanding are serviced pitches with fresh water and grey water waste.

Electric points are handy to all pitches and use CEE 17 blue connectors and are rated at 16 amps. The electric bollards also have co-ax TV connectors which is free to use but you have to provide your own cable. We found the TV connection more reliable put straight into the TV rather than via the outfit system. The toilet block is centrally situated and is of a high standard. There are four service points dotted around the site plus a motorhome service point which now incorporates an open grill grey waste water dump. However the grill is set some way back so larger motorhomes my still need to use the covered drains.

Reception sells a few essentials. Next door is a small information room. There is site wide WiFi which I found pretty reliable. There is no on site children’s play area although there is a playground not far away plus of course plenty of kick about space in the Country Park. A rather nice touch is the small herb garden at the front of the sites with an invitation for members to help themselves to what they need.

Along one side of the site is the East Lancs Railway with regular steam and other vintage trains depending on time of year and the day of the week. The East Lancs Heritage Railways runs from Bury through Ramsbottom and onto Rawtenstall. In 2016 a new station was opened to serve Burrs Country Park Next to the site. Club members can claim some discounts on train fares.

Also near the site entrance is the Brown Cow pub. Whilst this is a handy hostelry for a drink or even a meal it does also create some day time noise but usually only at the weekend. Likewise events held in the Country Park can create some noise. This site is ideal for a visit to Bury and its famous market or perhaps a trip into Manchester on the tram system direct from Bury.

There are buses available from near the site, about a 10/15 minute walk, into Bury and Ramsbottom. There are two eating establishments within easy walking distance of the site. For shopping major supermarkets are available in Bury.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jncrowe 4 reviews from this member

This is a really lovely well kept site Very clean showers and toilets. Heated too !

Its just a walk into Bury Its better to walk because the traffic ‘ system ‘ in Bury is horrific

The scenery around the park is very pleasant

The Country Park is popular with families and dog walkers and there are Steam trains that pass the rear of the site

There is a very good pub at the entrance to the site The food is very good and pet friendly

There is a cafe across the road which is very popular too

The only negative aspect of the whole set up is the cobbled road leading up to the site. It is very wonky and unpleasant to drive along

Date of Visit: December 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DJMotorhomer 40 reviews from this member

Have stayed here many times in the past, this time was a stopover.

I did notice some poorly maintained pitches with weeds growing, not something you usually see here.

The motorhome service point only allows one direction of entry so filling up can be a problem is you have an English van with offside filling point and the water pressure on site is not the best.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ppower 1 review from this member

Just returned from a long weekend here, the weather was glorious, a very nice well kept site. Friendly wardens picturesque surroundings and the Brown Cow pub at the entrance, We also enjoyed watching the trains of the E. L. R. Will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mondeocort 35 reviews from this member

Love this site, 3rd visit and have booked again for September. Great location, easy access from all directions and lots to see and do.

I was disappointed at at a couple of children that arrived midweek scootering the wrong way around the site and seeing it perfectly acceptable to stand and stare into our unit. One, are they not taught pitch etiquette and two, what a cheek!

I found all 4 wardens approachable, friendly and very helpful. They also work tirelessly and thanklessly to hear some folk talk in keeping the site well maintained, clean and tidy. I do have an issue with the amateur signage re where you allow your dog to wee. Yes, I understand the reasoning but really, if my dog needs a wee, apart from dragging him off site, there isn't a lot I can do about it. Having said that, we are responsible and tried our best to adhere to the request.

We found a chippy up on the Brandleshome estate at the top of a footpath that started from Burrs. It took about 20 minutes to walk up and slightly less on the downhill back but our fish and chip supper which had been double wrapped by the lady who served us was still hot enough to eat and was delicious.

We also used the taxi service that one of the wardens had given us details of, Elton, I think their name was and it was very reasonable with a trip from the site into Bury town centre costing £3. 60 and very prompt service also.

Every time we come to Burrs, we leave ready to visit again.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Keith777 5 reviews from this member

Just got home from a weekend at this site & what a cracking site it is !

This biggest pitches this side of the English Channel.

A great pub serving good food just outside the site, a steam railway running parallel to it, a huge country park for walking/ cycling it's got the lot -love it ! Be back soon -Keith.

Date of Visit: November 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Travla 4 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site in November. The access road into the site is being resurfaced at the moment so there is quite a lot of machinery about and access could be a but restricted Pulling up to the barrier you have to speak to the warden through an intercom, I had great difficulty hearing anything they said, fortunately they raised the barrier for me saving me a bit of a walk. The site itself is well laid out the wardens are really welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. There is a pub just outside the gate that serves food ( didn't sample) and a restaurant just a short walk away. You can walk into Bury in 25 mins where you can get the tram to Manchester £4. 20 single you need change or a card to purchase at the tram stop. Bury has and Art gallery/ Museum Free a Fusiliers museum small charge and The Transport Museum is a short walk from the centre and is Free it is well worth a visit. Bury market is really big and the food hall is fantastic. If visiting when the temperature plummets be aware that there have been power shortages on the site presumably caused by people overloading the system. The Steam railway runs past the site and runs at the weekends in winter.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 49 reviews from this member

A lovely site but the cobbled access road is a bit of a bone shaker and sorts your contents out! We had booked this as a means of visiting Manchester and it was well worthwhile. Apart from the fact that the wardens were new and had no information on Manchester we had a good time. We suggest the following -

Take a cab to Bury tram terminus (£4) then take the tram to St Peters Square (£3 each) then take the hop on hop off bus from the Town Hall (90 minute round trip) (£6 (half price)for pensioners, spend time at Salford Keys then round off your day with afternoon tea in the crypt of the Town Hall.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bigart 11 reviews from this member

We use this site when we have a few days spare throughout the year. Its less than a hours drive in our motorhome. This site is typical caravan club site. Good hardstanding pitches spotless toilets and showers. And helpful wardens. Running behind the site is a steam railway the site now has its own platform There is plenty dog walking around the site. Just outside the site gate the brown cow pub serves own cooked food and is also dog friendly

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackwinguk 9 reviews from this member

We used this site as we were off to see Kaiser Chiefs in Manchester. It was a lovely site, enjoyed watching the trains go by over the weekend too. The only bug in this site is the cobbled drive up to the camp site, your well shaken by time you arrive. Lovely place and would definitely use is again.

Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3147 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019