Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Woodside Country Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Ledbury > Woodside Country Park Reviews

Woodside Country Park
Falcon Lane
Ledbury
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR8 2JN
Tel: 01531 670269
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 44 Reviews
                9/10 from 44 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: AnMa 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site in picturesque rolling scenery. Surrounded by fields and woods with a lake for swimming and fishing. Children playing in inflatable boats and a great atmosphere.

Lovely walks directly from the site. Ledbury close by is very attractive with range of supermarkets and lots of independent businesses.

Took grandchildren to Go Ape at Beeches Hurst Forestry Commission park, excellent facilities for all ages including walking and cycling suitable for families. A 45mins drive from site.

Fairly level field for pitching tents. Very quiet at night. Fire pits available to hire and wood available to buy.

Toilets and showers good though water pressure low when busy. Good Covid 19 procedures in place.

Site staff responded immediately when I reported a blocked toilet.

Would very happily come again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bananarama 13 reviews from this member

 We've stayed here a couple of times now, it's a fabulous quiet spot with fantastic views over the Herefordshire countryside. The whole site is very well maintained as a wildlife conservation area with lovely walks around the lakes, through woods and with footpaths leading offsite if you want to go further.

The owners are friendly and very helpful. Cider Mill field is quiet until the weekends when, depending on the weather, it fills up rapidly. With no restrictions on where or how to camp the tents/caravans do look a bit squashed in, but no one seems to mind.

It would be good to have more emphasis on speed restrictions driving along the track - there's lots of children playing and I saw many cars doing quite a speed along there.

The shower and toilet block is good, gets a bit muddy later in the day, but always very clean in the mornings. The Orchard field is on more of a slope, but still very pleasant and quiet.

Not really enough showers on this side of the site when it gets busy at weekends. Ledbury very close by, lovely town to visit, lots of shops, places to eat, etc. Enjoyed our stay. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Drewett 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely quiet and clean site set in beautiful surroundings. Our only reservation about returning in a campervan is the poorly maintained Shower/loo/washing-up dated amenities.

It was also not very clean. Denise from Salisbury.

The site Manageress/owner was very friendly and helpful. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Juliew1 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed over the last weekend in October in a very spacious and warm pod.

Had a fantastic time the weather was glorious and the Autumn Scenery a wonder to behold.

The were ample facilities nearby a very close toilet and shower block and washing up area and was very quiet and peaceful which was really appreciated definitely getting a way from it all.

There is a nice dog walk with lovely ponds and the lodges looked very impressive and spacious too. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed staying in the Pod and were very sad to say goodbye so much warmer then a tent.

Will be going back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Juliew1 5 reviews from this member

 Easy to get to and plenty in the surrounding area. Nice pool, lodges and pods. Tidy campsite. Ledbury lovely.

Booked site and informed them have a large tent requiring electric hook up but arrived to only 2 available pitches 1 too small leaving the remaining one in middle of field surrounded by lots of tents and a sloping pitch. Should be 6m around tents but wasn't.

Sorry to say the Site was very noisy first night kept awake till 1. 00 am. Dogs off leads which the site rules said not allowed.

I Got told off by caravan owner who on leaving wanted to put his car nearer to his caravan and our hook up and tent were in the way blamed us even though plenty room available as being caravanners ourselves for 9 years we understand and always consider other people.

The showers/toilets very nice and new but could do with vacant or engaged sign as people not sure if engaged or vacant this was off putting when in the shower and a shower curtain would be a good idea. Genuinely Feel orchard field too small for number of tents allowed this month.

The washing up facilities were good and if you wish to stay in a lodge or pod they are very impressive but feel this would have been a better site for us if came out of season as first time lost money and had to leave a site earlier then planned. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sterling Owner 1 review from this member

 We have spent several years visiting this site and have always had a wonderful reception from the owners. We started going there when it was just a field and watched it develop. It is unfortunate that the wind farm arrived soon after they opened, but this is getting very common. You go somewhere and next time you go windmills have popped up.

The entrance is wide and easy to approach.

The pitches are a generous size and accommodate our large caravan, awning and car. Pitches are separated by small bushes and flowers are around the site.

The toilet block is always clean, you do pay for showers, as you do on many sites. If they were free some people abuse this and shower for half an hour.

There is a play area for the children and also a wood where they can explore and build dens, under parental supervision.

There is plenty to do in the area.

Another reviewer gave a very picky report about this site, as he did about other sites he visited. I don't really know what he was after, but obviously we won't meet him when we visit again next month.

As for charging for visitors, we have come across it on some sites, but I think the owners did it as they were getting caravans coming for a weekend and several families with children were arriving for the day taking advantage of the facilities. Also it wasn't a relaxing atmosphere for the other caravanners.

Well done Woodside Ridge. See you again in August. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyns 25 reviews from this member

 Stayed on a sunny July weekend. Stayed in the Orchard field which is great but slopes a little so if you are camping you might want to get there early to pick the better pitches. The staff and owner were really friendly. Fires are allowed in the fire pits that you can hire for 5 a day. Firewood is also available for 5 which will get you though an evening.

The bottom lake is great for fishing and is also very popular for swimming and inflatables. Probably best avoided on busy summer days if you are looking for a quiet fishing spot. We caught lots with my 10 year old son catching good sized Carp, but it was packed on the Saturday.

You can walk to Ledbury and there is a footpath that cuts off a corner, but this has been diverted by the farmer so quicker sticking to the roads.

Grounds are immaculate and this is a great site other than the toilets and showers that are too few in number and not very clean. That won't put us off and we will certainly be back 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Memma 4 reviews from this member

 Absolutely beautiful site! A little slope so needed to use our ramps to level the caravan. A very quiet site with lovely walks and plenty of wildlife to look for.

There's a large pond/small lake where you can fish (extra charge) or swim in. The kids loved jumping in and splashing about. The chalets also look beautiful. Not very near anywhere.

Shower/toilet facilities are small and basic, with 2 toilets and I think 1 shower in the ladies. No playground but a big field to play in. I think the nearest shop is approximately 15 mins drive away.

We wanted to relax and you can definitely do this at this site. 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NicciMac 48 reviews from this member

 I cannot say enough about this place! We like a mixture of vibrant/ hippy/ party type sites and quiet, tranquil ones when we go away - this is definitely the latter. At 21 for 2 adults, EHU and dog it is certainly at the expensive end of what we would pay.

The best attraction here for me has to be the lake on site, in which you can swim. I simply love outdoor swimming so even though it was March I was in there - it must be really amazing in summer.

Toilets were in a portacabin but immaculate and well maintained. Showers are in a barn type building which also houses a huge mill! There is a donkey and some sheep in an adjoining field. Washing up point and drinking water tap are under cover.

We got stuck in the mud but a chap came straight down with his tractor and pulled us out, much appreciated! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KateM49 8 reviews from this member

 Woodside is a lovely site. We couldn't believe how quiet it was for August. When we arrived on the Saturday there were 10-12 other caravans/tents on the lower field, and by Monday only 3 or 4, and as the field is big, there was plenty of space and nobody camped too close to anyone else. The EHU is all at one end of the field, so if you want electric, you're more likely to be closer to other campers. It was peaceful all the time though - no noise after about 10pm, and nothing early morning either.

The lower field does need extra showers (although we didn't have to queue at all, I can imagine it would be quite busy at weekends when the site is fuller). There are other showers near reception on the other side of the lane but I think at least one more for each sex would help on the lower field, especially for families with smaller kids. The owners did tell us that they had tried to build additional showers but have had planning problems.

The lake in the field next to the lower camping field was fantastic. We swam in it every day - it was cold at first, but you soon got used to it. You can fish in it too, and have small boats on it. Good fun. Loads of room for games too, either on that field or on the camping field. There is no kids play area, but that didn't bother our 9 year old.

Ledbury is a couple of miles away. You could walk it, but it would be a bit far and some of the route would be along narrow lanes without footpaths. It's a nice town, with a few pubs, cafes and restaurants. We only ate at the Olive Tree, lovely Italian. Other campers recommended the Prince of Wales, and a couple of locals said the Talbot was good, but we didn't eat at either of them.

Woodside is a good base for visiting lots of different places - the Malverns, loads of National Trust properties, Wye Valley and Forest of Dean aren't too far, or Gloucester, Worcester and Hereford.

We definitely would go back. The owners are lovely - friendly and helpful. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Woodside Country Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Woodside Country Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Woodside Country Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ledbury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6177 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement