Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Thornleigh Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Ilminster > Thornleigh Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Thornleigh Caravan Park
Hanning Road
Horton
Ilminster
Somerset   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 11 Reviews
                9/10 from 11 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  11 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note we have been advised that this site has closed and the site is being used for residential development. It no longer offers camping, motorhome or caravanning pitches. If you know that this situation has changed, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Drfruity 2 reviews from this member

 We discovered this little gem of a site (just off the A303) about 4 yrs ago. We now use it two or three times a year, as a stop off en route to & from our home in Surrey and our destination in Cornwall. Its an excellent site, clean facilities and really welcoming owners. It breaks our journey up nicely and is easy to find, just off the A303 where it becomes the A30. The campsite is basic, with a shower and toilet block. We have also stayed here for a weekend whilst visiting friends who live locally in Somerset.

There is a local pub, which gets quite busy but if you arrive before 9pm, the local Little Chef serves perfectly acceptable food (found next door to the Shell petrol station on the A30/A303 roundabout). There is also a small shop in the village. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arkanoid 1 review from this member

 My wife, young daughter (2 1/2 years) and I stayed here for two nights, mainly to see how our daughter would cope on her first camping trip before trying something longer and further afield.

The owner was friendly and helpful, both before we arrived and during our stay.

The site was well maintained and reasonably flat. There was a fair breeze coming down the site, but we set up tent on the far side where we weren't really blown about much. Lots of hook up points available if required.

Toilet/shower block is fairly basic, but clean. Only one shower each for men and women, but since most of the other guests were in caravans or motor homes this was no problem; didn't have to queue at all. It was a generally quite site, with only little noise from the road, mostly when tractors rolled by (much to our daughters delight!).

Nearby pub (The Five Dials) is very nice; three local(ish) ales on the pumps. We didn't use the nearby shop/post office, but did pop to the supermarket in Ilminster, just ten minutes away.

The only thing I thought would be nice to have was some sort of play area with swings and slide for the little ones, but there was ample open space for them to run around in.

We are likely to return at some point in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 We used this site for a one night stopover.

The owner was very friendly when booking and on arrival.

The site is well spaced out with well kept grass. When we stayed there was a large group of Robin Reliant owners staying, which made for an interesting walk round looking at their vehicles. This did however put strain on the site facilities with only one shower in both the gents and ladies. There is space to add an additional shower and this would improve the site as would giving the facilities a little modernisation.

The pub and shop are short strolls from the site which the owner helpfully gave us directions to on arrival. You do get a bit of a 'hum' of traffic from the A303, but it's not too bad.

Overall a nice site that could do with a couple of small changes that would improve it, but I'd use again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Remus927 25 reviews from this member

 We spent six days at this site. It is very well maintained and excellent value for money. Cost per night for 2 adults and a caravan was 17, this included electric hook up. There was no extra charge for the dog, or the awning or the showers. We were allowed to choose our own pitch. The site is mostly grassed and surrounded on three sides by high hedges. There are a couple of hard standings. The toilet block is small but well maintained. Only two toilets in the Gents (one of which forms part of the large shower area). The Ladies was similar. Grey water is put in the hedge (as per the owner's instructions on arrival). Rubbish and chemical waste points are easily accessible. There is only one fresh water tap on site, it is centrally located and the only downside is that the tap is a smooth one that can't take hose fittings. For dog owners a good walk is to turn right at the entrance and after 50 yards go into Church Lane. After another few yards follow the footpath sign going down two fields, across a small footbridge over the river then diagonally right across another field (mind the cowpats). You will then be at The Bell pub where you can recover from your strenuous half mile walk. The Bell also serves good food. Horton itself has a village shop and the Five Dials pub these are a mere five minutes walk away (turn left out of the site). As we didn't use either I can't comment on them. Would we use this site again? Yes. Would we recommend it to others? Yes. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HarryBear 15 reviews from this member

 We spent two nights here with some friends and originally chose the site because it was an equal distance from both our houses.

We were all very impressed and feel we got very good value for money. The owners are friendly, the facilities are spotless and the site is generally very well maintained.

There is a purpose built toilet block with ladies having two toilets, two sinks (one with a shower curtain for the more modest people) and possibly the most generous shower area I have ever seen - a proper shower enclosure inside a 'room' with ample space to get dried. I'm reliably informed the men's was the same. There is a covered washing up area with unlimited hot water.

As time was short, we only went for a walk round Chard but we'd like to return next summer for a closer look at the area. I would recommend this site to anyone looking for a no-frills site in Somerset.

Some other reviewers have commented on the road noise from the A303 but this didn't keep me awake or seem obtrusive during the day. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kent4711 27 reviews from this member

 A small grass site, clean and tidy with hookups. Well looked after with good sized pitches. Free heated gents-ladies shower and loos.

A post office-shop and pub a short walk away. Supermarket in Ilminster. Well signed footpaths around the area.Used map for two good country walks.

Very well sited for touring or as stopover to Cornwall with easy access from the A303. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adie.platts 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for the UK BBQ Championships 2008. This is a small site with excellent facilities, the toilet block was cleaned to a very high standard. There is a chemical disposal at the top of the site and two gravel drives through the site. This site does have electric hook ups.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, with useful tips on local dining, taxis and general pointers.

Whilst many parts of the site are flat I think it would be wise to take a set of ramps for levelling. I didn't see a playground.

I tend to use a satellite dish for TV signals as it is always perfect, however when I was tuning in my TV did notice that we received a great terrestrial signal and that was without an ariel plugged in.

Unfortunately we found out the pub on the corner closed around new year 2007/08 which meant that we needed to drive to a nearby chain pub which was a real shame.

All in all, a throughly enjoyable, stay, nice and quite location, no road noise experienced (But this visit was during the tanker strike).

I would reccomend this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Twinklepuss 15 reviews from this member

 Very quiet, small site with pleasant owners. The traffic on the A303 can be heard at night but it's not too intrusive. It might be different in high season though. All the facilities were excellent and there was plenty of information on the local area available. The local pub which serves good food is only a short stroll. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cbruton1975 4 reviews from this member

 Excellent site that I would highly recommend. Flat pitches, well lit with good gravel roads to pitches. Only a small site and never overcrowded. Very friendly owners. Clean and tidy toilet and shower blocks. Within easy walking distance of shop, pub and post office, and easy to find.

Grass is kept well cropped which is great for tenters. Easy access to A303 trunk road, and M5 motorway. Great for Haynes Motor Museum, Yeovilton Aircraft Museum, Exeter, Honiton and the whole of the west country.

Also reasonable prices 7.70 per night for tent regardless of size. Around 9 with electric hookup. I'll be going back! 


Previous     11 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Somerset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4022 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement