Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Pound Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Hay On Wye > The Pound Camping Reviews

The Pound Camping
Whitney On Wye
Hay On Wye
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR3 6EH
Tel: 01497 831391
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 14 Reviews
                8/10 from 14 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  14 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Willow93 3 reviews from this member

Hi this place gets better and better brilliant stay fantastic breakfast and wonderful hosts and facilities and my partner is really hard to please so all boxes were ticked. Have been to near by campsites and have been totally ripped off. Watched football in the local pub best holiday ever. Locals very friendly and enjoyable cannot fault this place best ever and so cheap for all you get great value for the money no hidden costs. Highly recommended

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skodie 15 reviews from this member

We arrived early afternoon with the intention of staying for 3 nights, however due to the cost attitude of the owner and lack of access to the facilities we ended up staying only one night.

The facilities are closed between 11am and 4pm according to the owner this is because otherwise day trippers use the facilities, but what about the campers? When we were able to access the toilet block all was fine.

As a family of five we were charged £7 a head (including children under 10), totalling £35 the most we have ever paid and apart from access to the river there was nothing out of the ordinary.

The site is bordered by two roads and there was traffic noise through the night. However the site was not over used and in mid August there was only ourselves, a well behaved scout group and a couple of other tents.

We did not go into the pub but it looked ok.

This site is a good stop of point for canoeists on the River Wye and for that reason we would use it again, however we would not recommend it if you do not intend to make use of the river.

The site has the potential to be a great site and appeal to many different users, unfortunately it appears to cash it on its proximity to the river and does not represent value for money.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bikerbutch 4 reviews from this member

I found no disabled spaces in any of the Hay Festival campsites, and after a brief phone call, although not classed as 'disabled friendly' the lovely friendly lady described her facilities that met our requirements exactly.

We arrived in awful weather, and pitched up, the site is lovely and flat tucked away in a secluded corner surrounded by bushes/trees, yet only 20 yards or so to The Boat Inn pub, where the food is amazing and a good pint too!

The shower block is small but modern and spotlessly clean, lovely hot powerful showers, they do shut from 11-4 though for cleaning.

Cars have to be kept parked on the hard standing car park, they do take pride in their campsite and look after it, although we did kind of bend this rule, having a girl who relied on her car/wheelchair who needed to be close to her tent, and nothing was said.

The field stayed well drained, and only a little muddy, to be expected with the non stop heavy rain for about 4 days.

BBQ/small campfire wasn't an issue either.

Highly Recommend, had a brilliant time, returning next year for the Hay Festival, indeed if we do not return before for an explore of the area. Hope the weather improves! :)

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barbie0800 3 reviews from this member

Arrived by kayak and landed the next to the pub. Simple field with clean new looking wash block. There were 2 other tents who were all quiet.

The pub seemed quiet but the food was incredible with a huge range of things to choose from. I had pork belly and bubble and squeak and my boyfriend had fish and chips, both large portions so we couldn't even manage a pudding. Absolutely amazing food.

We went for a walk and realised quickly that we really were in the middle of nowhere and the only place to buy stuff is if you climb over the stile in the back right corner of the camping field and turn right where you will find a gas station where we picked up supplies.

The only downside was that the road with the gas station on is busy and clearly a through route for larger vehicles, so was slightly noisy at times, although it didn't keep us awake at night.

The owner lady was lovely and told us that we could get cash back from the pub if we spent £5 and said it was fine to pay her after we'd eaten and gotten cash. I got £50 cash back to cover the expenses of the remainder of our trip and so asking for a large amount wasn't an issue.

Nice stay. Amazing grub.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emmaallard 7 reviews from this member

Stayed here on a Friday night in order to use the launching spot (which is for patrons only) for the canoe on the Saturday morning.

Laid back site, just turn up and pitch where you want. The owners come round later to collect fees (£6 per person per night).

Shower block and toilets are new and kept clean.

The pub next door was a bit shabby looking inside, but the food was superb with so much choice on the menu!

Only drawback was that the pub must have a late license, and we were kept awake by drunk campers returning to their tents at 1-2am.

Site is not particularly picturesque although ground is flat and level.

Excellent site to use a canoe stop but not sure I would stay more than one night.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Willow93 3 reviews from this member

Best campsite on the river wye. Super showers and toilets. Breakfast brill. Hosts warm and welcoming. Loads of people camping all stating what a super place

Was not noisy, everyone enjoying themselves. We noticed that one of the campers had cut themselves and the owner was giving first aid and advice, which she state to me how reassuring that was

We really enjoyed our stay and will be coming back with others

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dazormshaw 24 reviews from this member

Me and a group of friends stopped here after a multi day trip down the wye on canoes, the new shower block was fantastic although strange that it closed for 5 hours from 11am for cleaning, the owner was a bit off with us for wanting to use the facilities 15 minutes before they were due to shut as she had decided to start the lengthy cleaning process early (which involved a trip to hereford at 11!) also even though there were people already on the site when we checked in she had to physically turn the showers on. Strange.

We were made to feel unwelcome on the site even though the site was empty apart from a group of other canoeists and a couple over in the corner. We were very quiet, spending most of the night in the pub which did fantastic food after the pub we were in bed pretty much straight away, handy campsite for canoeing but I will be avoiding it in future.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Acwinters 2 reviews from this member

Clean and tidy site right next to a main road, but very little traffic. Staff were friendly and happy to chat. Was there over bank holiday and although it was busy it wasn't over crowded.

Bathrooms were nice and clean, hot power showers were fantastic. Though it seemed a bit odd that they shut the bathrooms for about 3 hours in the afternoon to clean, but we were out and about during the day so no big really.

Didn't get a chance to sample the pub (a bit too busy coz of bank holiday) we'll have to try it next time.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Willow93 3 reviews from this member

Outstanding food. Toilets and showers very clean. Staff ever so helpful. A very busy site at weekends. Best facilities on the River Wye. Power showers nice and hot, ideal after canoeing

Breakfast is a must. The quality of food served at the boat, which has had a change of owners, is up there with that of London restaurants and the mouth watering tasting steak my wife had, was the best that she had ever eaten.

The bars and restaurant were packed with locals and everybody I spoke to had nothing but compliments for the food and facilities on the campsite

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Delphi 36 reviews from this member

Great little site for canoeing on the Wye.

Tents only - we managed to take our camper onto the field, but only because we'd booked and the owner hadn't told us it was tents only. Check first.

The facilities were basic - two tiny rooms by the pub, with a toilet & shower in each, but there was a brand new block next to the field, that just hadn't been opened yet. At the price we paid, we weren't complaining, and the location made it worth while anyway.

Pub is opposite the site, with a lovely little beer garden overlooking a bend in the beautiful river.

In the week, the place is very quiet, but at the weekend, it fills up with large groups who have canoed down river from Brecon or Hay. In fact, there was more than one Stag Party, but everyone was very well behaved, and it was not at all noisy, even after the pub closed. We were even asked to join the group next to us for a drink, which my partner did.

Even if you have no canoe, this is a great spot to stay for visiting Hay-on-Wye, which is a gorgeous little town full of second hand bookshops.

Previous     14 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019