Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Seaview Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Essex > Colchester > Seaview Holiday Park Reviews

Seaview Holiday Park
Seaview Avenue
West Mersea
Colchester
Essex   (Browse area)
CO5 8DA
Tel: 01206 382 534
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 18 Reviews
                7/10 from 18 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  18 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: AviemoreQuin 1 review from this member

 Excellent pitches and very close to the beach. Unfortunately the toilet and shower facilities were not very good. No privacy in the showers and if you wanted to use the wash basin you had the change rooms. Found them to be in need of a good clean with shower curtains sitting in standing water. Shower nozzle missing the shower tray.

Site management unable to take constructive criticism about their facilities.

A complete refurbishment wouldn’t go a miss.

Found West Mersea to be a good weekend break. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julesann 3 reviews from this member

 We absolutely love this site. It is right on the beach and is very well kept. The staff are lovely too.

The clubhouse is run by a great guy who puts a lot of effort into keeping the customers entertained. The shower blocks are a little way away (on the static site) and a little strange in that there are no 'private' changing cubicles so to speak but nonetheless they are very clean. Pitch sizes are good too.

Mersea is a lovely place but we did not explore it on this visit. We are booked to stay at Seaview next month so will hopefully get out and about then. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Manphill 4 reviews from this member

 We arranged to stay on this site on the recommendation of my sister who has been staying here for the past three years, needless to say neither of us will be staying here again.

I knew the site was quite basic, no kids club, pool, play area, but we were happy to book on the basis of location (near the sea)and the clubhouse for evening entertainment and dining.

However, I was quite shocked that the pitch price was £29. 00 per night, with very little facilities. The toilet and shower blocks were clean but very dated and quite a trek from the touring field.

The clubhouse was closed on the Friday night, when I asked if it would be open on the Saturday, I was told 'if you don't like it, pack and and go home'. Out little caravan trips are a precious way of spending time together with my children so after asking them, we did stay.

The club house did open on the Saturday, the entertainment was good, however it smelt terrible, the toilet areas needed a good clean, had no toilet paper, no lock on the disabled toilet door. The children were watching some TV when we first arrived, this was rudely interrupted by a gentleman (guest) who saw fit to turn it to a channel (suitable for adult viewing only) without even asking. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Richers2 15 reviews from this member

 We spent the Easter Bank Holiday weekend at Seaview, a site we know well as we have friends who have a static caravan on the site. The pitches for motorhomes are hardstandings, and are level with electric and water on each pitch.

The clubhouse has recently changed hands and, although it looks the same it is much improved with live entertainment and was packed on Friday and Saturday evenings.

The toilet block, though antiquated, is clean and functional - however the showers can only be described as dreadful. No heating, nowhere private to get changed, nowhere to hang your towel or put your toiletries. I used the cubicle with a seat and rusty old handrail. The water was scalding hot, you couldn't stand under the shower for long, and the drain was blocked - which was useful for washing the feet. I did advise the office, but unfortunately nothing changed during our stay.

This site is right next to the beach, has a good shop and cafe, and is lovely if you don't need to use their woefully inadequate facilities.

Come on Seaview, time to join the 21st century and upgrade the shower block (preferably a new one somewhere near the touring site and not in the middle of the static caravans). 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sparkle1 8 reviews from this member

 This is my second review of this site because I wanted to update my previous review from last year.

Seaview is one of our favourite sites but we have just returned from a weekend away and feel rather disappointed. We were under the impression that the very dated toilet and shower blocks, which have been closed for a number of months were under refurbishment. It is now open and very disappointing.

They are still extremely dated, it appears that all that has been done is the toilet cubicle walls have been painted white with very bright pink doors. They are clean and functional with plenty of sinks with mirrors over, but in fact, not very modern by today's standards (especially for the price they charged!)

Not actually sure if anything has been updated in the shower block. Still very old fashioned and dated! There are 3 showers, with NO private changing area! The shower cubicles contain a shower tray and a curtain with an open changing area opposite with a tiny, open cubicle to leave your clothes while you shower.

The showers are on the diagonal angle, opposite the entrance door, which, if someone opens while you shower, you run the risk of a breeze blowing your shower curtain open for all to see! No privacy at all. I was lucky, there wasn't anyone else in there while I was showering. If we return to Seaview, I will most definitely be showering in my van!

We did notice that the second block of Toilets and Showers are now closed, hopefully these might be refurbished to a better standard and the ones that are now open are just a temporary measure.

We also thought that £37 per night for touring was quite expensive (2 adults and 2 teenagers). You might want to check the price when booking. Especially as the grass was in need of a good cut. It was looking rather shabby, which is a shame because the location is great and the other amenities are good. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BerthaHarper 1 review from this member

 We found the staff to be extremely helpful and the site was very clean.

We did read reports about the showers and toilets being dated, but they actually weren't as bad as we thought, although do understand new ones are being put in next year.

You aren't on top of each other and water is at every point on the hardstanding. Enough space for our porch/awning

LOCATION: Brilliant, right on a beach with beautiful view of the lovely painted beach huts.

Cafe: food was really lovely, ate there twice and both meals were faultless, staff also lovely and friendly

Will be going back next year ! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sparkle1 8 reviews from this member

 Just come back from our second visit to this site. What can I say? It's lovely! It has a selection of hard standing and grass pitches, we asked for a hardstanding pitch, as close to the beach as possible.

We were given a pitch as close to the beach as you can get! Literally a 5 second walk passed the beautiful beach huts and you are on the beach!

Out pitch was also very close to the club house, who, on Saturday night had a singer on, but to be honest, that really isn't our scene so we sat outside our Motorhome having a BBQ and couldn't really hear it! We took our small dog, who loved it!

The site wasn't full, so was quite spacious, but can imagine it may not be so comfortable when full as pitches are fairly close together!

There are two toilet and shower blocks, one of each on each side of the site, however, on the two occasions we have been, one side has been closed. The toilet and shower blocks are very, very clean but very, very old and in desperate need of modernising. Plenty of hot water though! You have to pay £20 cash deposit for the key that fits both showers and toilets.

The small cafe is very nice, we haven't eaten in there, only had coffee's, but the food coming out for other diners looked very nice and it always seems busy! There is a supermarket, a petrol garage and a cashpoint a short drive away (The helpful lady in Reception gave us directions!)

Despite the age of the toilets and showers, this is one of our favourite sites and will definitely be returning as it is only an hours drive for us! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: NorfolkDave 3 reviews from this member

 This campsite has beautiful pitches, some hardstanding and some on grass. Very few have an actual seaview, but to get to the beach takes less than five minutes on foot from even the furthest pitches.

The toilets and showers are the main let down with this site, I had already read the previous reviews, yet wasn't prepared for the distance. It takes about a 10 minute walk. The facilities themselves are poor by todays standards.

The mens shower is like something from a public institution. You change on one side of the room and then cross naked to the other side to shower. The doors cover the middle part of your body only. This is not an arrangement I would like for young children to have to use. The showers are in need of a complete update.

Cleanliness was not particularly good, we arrived in the evening, and there wasn't any evidence of a cleaner for the next 48 hours. There was plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

The toilets were the same cleanliness wise, the cubicles are not big enough to stand in and open the door without squashing yourself up against the pan. There were no plugs in any of the sinks. When you arrive, you are issued with one key for the facilities, for a family of four, given the distance involved this can lead to some logistical issues. This could easily be resolved with combination locks, or a couple of keys.

There is a pleasant bar on site which has a good range of drinks, and does reasonable food which is good value. Unfortunately during our six night stay it was only open for four nights, and only did food on three. The staff were very good. The bar is totally underused, very strange given the size of the static touring site.

The cafe was very pleasant, good value and quality.

The location is good, being very close to the beach and a healthy walk to the village. Be aware though that very few places do food on a Sunday night in W Mersea. The Indian is well worth a visit.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay but I couldn't recommend this site. The lack of information about it on the internet, the state of the facilities, and the fact that it was just about empty when all the other sites on W Mersea are pretty well full speaks volumes. Shame really, because it is such a lovely location. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: LucyMcCallion 1 review from this member

 We arrived at Seaview Holiday Park on Saturday afternoon and were struck at once by the beautiful pastel coloured beach huts along the side of the park, facing onto the beach.

We were given a map to get to our pitch in the touring field. The pitches are hard standing and well spaced. All pitches have electric and some also have water.

We spent the afternoon/evening exploring the island and it was nice to be able come back to the site and have a drink in the Clubhouse before bed. It seemed to have been refurbished quite recently (perhaps why other reviewers reported it was closed?). The clubhouse, like the rest of the site, is dog friendly and the drinks are reasonably priced.

The Seaview Cafe, by the reception, served up a lovely breakfast the morning after.

Our only criticism was that the toilet block is a bit far from the touring field.

Also, ensure you have £20 deposit for the barrier fob as it's a long walk to the cashpoint in the village! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tent_guy 4 reviews from this member

 Seaview is a really nice site in a great beachside location. Pitches are well spaced out and although primarily a static caravan site the whole place seemed well looked after.

There was a bar / clubhouse on site however this only seems to be open at weekends, there is also a small shop / cafe and reception at the entrance to the park.

Access to toilets & showers is with a key and although both toilet blocks are a very long way from touring pitches they were large, almost always empty and spotlessly clean. The beachfront location is great and whilst not having a direct seaview due to the beach huts, a 20 second walk gets you right on the beach with great swimming / crabbing opportunities.

It wasn't cheap at £27 / night for a family of 4 but I guess your paying for the location. Hope to return. 


Previous     18 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seaview Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seaview Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seaview Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Colchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Essex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1769 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December