Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Nun Cote Nook Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Marrick > Nun Cote Nook Farm Campsite > Reviews

Nun Cote Nook Farm Campsite
Crook Bank Lane
Marrick
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 7LG
Tel: 01748 884266  or  07711 337387
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 20
Open: 01/03/2023 to 31/10/2023
           01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lisas8 1 review from this member

 Cracking site located on a working farm- be warned the cockerel is vocal! Gorgeous view down the valley with walking from your tent door.

Clean toilets and showers in a newly built block - 2 toilets and 1 shower each for males and females.

Covered washing up sink and access to a freezer and changing points.

Small cafe on site used by Coast to Coast walkers.

Dog friendly pubs in Reeth, Richmond worth a visit to the castle. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: HighSlayer 14 reviews from this member

 I booked onto this site fairly last minute to take my 5 year old granddaughter away for her first ever camping trip. It was supposed to be 2 years ago but. COVID

I phoned first and spoke with a really friendly chap who booked us in. The next day I got a call from Elaine to confirm the booking and details. What a lovely, friendly lady!

We arrived on the site around 4. 30pm and Elaine showed us where to pitch for the electric hook up. They are having anew facilities block built on the site so in the meantime we needed to use either the toilet/shower in the house or the static van. It was a little inconvenient just having the one, but that's temporary and I'm sure the new block will be great!

First off - wow, what great views from the site, and such a beautiful drive down to it from the A66. No traffic noise! It's a working farm so do expect to hear some mooing, some baa-ing and some cluck clucking. The owners' 2 friendly little dogs often run down to the field to say hello, and they are really friendly and playful. It wasn't intrusive and really gave a great atmosphere. Pricing is per person, children under 6 free, and a charge for the electrical hookup. This makes it ideal for smaller families with fewer adults

The site is potentially large, but at the time of our visit only half of it was being used, with the remainder left to long grass and wild flowers. Waist high, these were fantastic and my granddaughter loved playing in them, as did the other kids on site

Other campers were all friendly, respectful and there was no noise or hassle. My granddaughter made friends before the tent was even up!

It's a basic site, nothing close by. A fairly level field with a few electric hookups, toilet, shower and hopefully potwash. But just glorious views and peace and quiet. Bear in mind it is very much a working farm and during the day there will be some farm traffic in the adjacent fields and occasionally coming over the site. It's minimal and fun to watch rather than intrusive

Leyburn, Catterick and Richmond are all just 20-30 minutes drive away. We went to the Chocolate Factory at Leyburn and then on to the Forbidden Corner (expensive but awesome!)

The only downside to this beautiful place is that it is quite exposed to the wind, and this weekend we had gales right across the region

With friendly owners, amazing views and a great location I would definitely recommend this site. My granddaughter agrees and had the most amazing time 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Yorkshire and proud 1 review from this member

 Perfect getaway for a relaxing break. Hosts very friendly as were other guests. Toilets and showers adequate.

View from the pitch more than made up for this.

Quiet site apart from the cockerel!

We traveled out for lunch in Richmond which was close by.

Would certainly return. 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Minima 2 reviews from this member

 Views were amazing, Elaine could not do enough for you, enjoyed watching the workings of a busy farm.

First time in years we slept in till 10. 45 so quiet, just the odd cockerel.

2 toilets and 1 shower near the farm house kept clean and tidy.

Never had chance to visit tearoom but it looked very homely, and we definitely will next time we visit.

Lots of walks and bike tracks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Suesto 1 review from this member

 Superb site with stunning views.

Clean facilities with everything that you need for a relaxing stay,

Loved watching the farmer on his quad feeding the sheep.

We even had a visit from the cute Jack Russell!

Definitely recommend a stay here. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SamandRose 27 reviews from this member

 Let's deal with the potential drawbacks first. Whilst it's perfectly possible to reach this site with a medium-sized caravan, it certainly isn't the easiest to access.

The last 4 miles in particular are hilly and uneven and there are several stretches narrow enough for you to hope and pray that you don't meet a tractor coming the other way.

Once arrived, the field is covered almost entirely by long grass. If - for instance - the grass is wet and your car is front-wheel drive, be prepared for it to give up and spin its wheels, and possibly also its clutch in despair.

That said, if you get really stuck, the owners are willing to help out with a tractor!

It might be easier if you're in a tent or a small campervan, but in that instance you could struggle with washing facilities. The 2 toilets and showers, both in converted outbuildings are absolutely fine but we struggled to get hot water in the sinks.

Not that we tried particularly hard - we used our own hot water - but I did feel that the site could benefit from a separate outdoor washing up area.

And that's it. Those are all two of the drawbacks. On the upside. Those views. They're just spectacular. You could spend hours just sitting and taking them in, and also enjoying the added occasional sighting of the farmer and his sheepdogs - a glimpse into life on a working Yorkshire farm.

Also, Elaine's hospitality is just wonderful. She has her own tea room, with cakes and scones to take away and hot meals made to order. Her home-made lasagne and Victoria sponge cake are delicious, and her lemon meringue pie is to die for!

In the surrounding area, the village of Reeth is about 3 miles away and has a couple of pubs, cafes and craft shops. The market town of Richmond about 8 miles away has Tesco and Lidl supermarkets, several smaller stores and lots of pubs and restaurants.

The English Hertiage-owned Richmond castle is fascinating and offers more spectacular views. Really, though, the best thing you can do is to find a walk in the spectacular Yorkshire Dales, lose yourself for a while and feel all those stresses that were on your shoulders before you arrived just disappear.

Prices are per person, so you may feel that value for money depends on how many of you there are. But at £19/night, in late August, for 2 adults, electric hook-up and an awning, it felt like a bargain for us. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Static
Reviewer: Foster82 1 review from this member

 Booked for 2 nights. Arrived on the 27th at 8:30pm met Elaine, invited me in for a cup of tea. She showed me round the caravan I was staying in and showed me round the facilities. I had meals cooked there. Was invited into the house to watch the England game. I would like to thank Elaine and her family for the hospitality. If anybody is walking the coast to coast I would recommend having refreshments at elaines. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: J + J 21 reviews from this member

 Just had a long weekend here, the weather was hot the views fantastic but got chilly in the evenings you are at about 1000 ft altitude. Peace and quiet simple camping.

We were offered tea or coffee and cake on arrival and told we were the only people booked in so could camp anywhere in the field of about 12 acres. The grass was long which made it nice and soft but the field did slope, the area is the Dales so what do you expect. There is only one water tap for the whole site which is located just by the field entrance. The whole family very warm and welcoming and would happily chat all day and tell you about the lambs and other farm animals-dogs 2 Jack Russellís, Collies, Cats and cows.

The facilities could be better as mentioned two toilets, one shower and one washing up sink-minus the plug. On our visit there was no hot water for washing up that was the only downer.

There are plenty of walks around and the coast to coast is just at the end of the field. At the end of the road there is an old ruined lead smelting mill. Richmond is about 8 miles away for shops etc, Lidl is the main supermarket. Reeth has pubs which is about 3 miles away. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PioneerVenture 2 reviews from this member

 A small campground on a working farm deep in the Yorkshire Dales. Stunning views, but feels remote and exposed to bad weather. Facilities are basic, but kept in good order. Slightly sloping pitches generally, but we slept OK. The kids enjoyed seeing 'life on the farm': lambs being born, and hay being baled. Lots of space for children to run around in, and a very family-friendly feel overall. The campsite owners are very friendly and helpful. Would happily return: it's CAMPING! 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CW52 26 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site. Mixed reviews.

Plus, Out in the sticks so peace and lovely views. Although can get windy for a tent. Small site on working farm. Very friendly owners. Saw lambs being born during our visit, and children able to see them with the farmer. Elaine has cakes etc for sale at the farmhouse. Reasonably priced.

Negatives, only 2 toilets, 1 shower, 1 washing up sink, housed in converted out buildings. These were not always clean, as owners are busy with farm, and everyone taking dirt in on their feet. Maybe a mop and bucket would help. We carried hot water back to tent, And a very unhygienic towel in each toilet for hand drying. Now surely paper towels are better if no electric hand dryer available. We wouldn't use a towel that the rest of the campsite had used.

Only a trampoline for children to play on, but space to run around.

Would return if washing/ toilet facilities were improved 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Nun Cote Nook Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Nun Cote Nook Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Nun Cote Nook Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Marrick      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan Motorhome and Holiday Home Show 01/02 to 04/02
Held in Feb 2024, caravans, motorhomes, campervans, holiday homes, lodges, tents, boats and accessories all in one destination. Find out more!

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5379 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2023


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
2023 Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £200 each PLUS a 2023 Christmas Day Star Prize worth £919

Open Today's Window



Advertisement