Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Poppyland Touring Park & Puddleduck Holiday Cottage

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Site Reviews

Poppyland Touring Park & Puddleduck Holiday Cottage
The Green
Thorpe Market
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR11 8AJ
Tel: 01263 833 219
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 14
Open: 20 March To 31 October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Geraldinerocks 16 reviews from this member

Lovely tranquil site. Easy to locate - followed the directions sent on my confirmation email.

Billy came out to greet me and reverse parked my van for me. Had lots of recommendations and tips for the area.

Site is immaculate and thereís a room full of washing up/laundry/microwave facilities with books, games, tv and leaflets on the surrounding area. Also some provisions you can leave money for in an honesty box.

Two toilets and one shower per sex - always lovely and clean. Showers work on a 50p meter so make sure you have a supply with you.

The site is situated well to explore the area. Would recommend the coast road and villages between Holkham and Sheringham - stunning. Beach huts at Wells are picture postcard pretty. If you want to go further afield the village has a train station - Gunton - which goes directly to Norwich.

Had a fab stay and would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Les n Joyce 6 reviews from this member

What a gem.

Had a fantastic week with Billy n Pam who really look after everyone, he even fixed my watch!

Great location, good sized pitches, generally good all around.

Showers were fine, dish washing not a problem.

Out of ten? Ten. Well done.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jaydreamers 38 reviews from this member

We have passed by this Park several times over the last few years and promised ourselves that one day we would stay here. Well we finally made it and booked a week here with our friends.

Our first impression of the park was of 'Absolute Amazement'

It was like driving into someone`s back garden. Although the park has 20+ pitches there is plenty of space between each caravan/motorhome with a large grass area in the centre. The whole park is kept immaculate by its owners Billy & Pam.

We were greeted by Billy when we arrived shown to our pitch and given the lowdown on the park. Pitches are generally very level. There is a recycling basket left on each pitch which can be emptied at the park entrance. (Nice idea)

It has women`s shower and two toilets and the same for men all of which are kept spotless.

There is a portacabin next to the shower block which contains a washing machine £3 in 'honesty box', dish washing area, basic provisions and ice cream again with 'honesty box', a free microwave and a TV for hubbies to watch when washing up while wives watch 'the soaps'.

To the other side of toilet block is a 'doggie shower'.

All in all this is probably the nicest small park that we have stayed at in 40 years of caravanning. Thank you Billy and Pam for letting us share your lovely park.

This is a lovely Adults only park which you must try. You will not be disappointed.

There is a bus stop outside the site but bus service is not brilliant. Caravan and Motorhome Club members get 10% discount on car rental from Enterprise at Norwich but phone branch direct 01603 484384 do not try to book through call centre as they will tell you only 10 mile pick up whereas branch 20mls will pick you up anywhere in Cromer. Happy Holiday.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mick-rachel 15 reviews from this member

Directions given to this site must be adhered to - if you want - let Satnav take you part way then switch to the instructions given by the owners when you get close believe me its worth it!.

First impressions count they say - what a beautifully maintained site this is.

On arrival we were shown to our large level pitch with oodles of room for our car and an awning. Took a tour around the site to find out where everything was and boy is there a lot to see. There is a DVD/Book lending library which is a really good touch, use of a washing machine and even emergency provisions for those little items you have forgotten with an honesty box to leave your payment.

Didn't use any of the facilities as we have them all on board but others commented on their cleanliness with extra personal touches added.

The site is kept immaculate at all times and Billy is forever pottering about to keep it so.

Thanks for the directions to the dog friendly beach Pam - Teddy really enjoyed his daily dip in the sea.

All in all a beautiful relaxing stay - it was just so peaceful

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The highbury 21 reviews from this member

Absolutely a stunning site the owners have thought of everything the site was very clean the toilets and showers were very clean you have to make sure you keep 50 pence aside as you need to pay to have a shower. They also provide a washing machine for the use to the campers DVDS/ Books/they also provide a few things like tea bags milk and many other items to purchase on a honest box situation which we thought was a lovely gesture. The only downside that we found was the T. V reception was very poor although they have a t. V point that you can plug into also Wifi you need to pay for this but these days most sites that you stay on provide free wifi we found there wasn't a lot to do there its either Cromer or Munddlesley or Sherrinham but this isn't anything to do with the site so we have scored this high as we can't fault the site in anyway so thank you Pam & Billy for the stay

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a 10/10 stars review, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Poppyland and the facilities on site.

With regard to TV reception, if only you had mentioned to us at the time you were having difficulties, it may have just been a faulty coax cable or socket. If you donít tell us there is a problem when you are here then we canít fix it.

Also, with regard to the WIFI, if we were able to transmit the signal from our house router up to the caravan site we would gladly provide free Wifi, however the signal just does not travel that far. A company called Caravan Connect who provide Wifi Nationwide on numerous caravan sites came and installed Wifi equipment which boosts and transmits the signal. In doing so they took control of the Wifi for the caravan site and it is they who charge for the Wifi not us.

Once again, we thank you for your review and high score.

Pam & Billy.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julesanddave51 1 review from this member

Superb site with every amenity. Pitches large with hard standing. Spotlessly clean shower and loo. Shop with honesty box and great helpful owners. We live locally and wanted to try new van and awning. Billy was brilliant helping us.

Would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Julesmalc 6 reviews from this member

A very nice adult only campsite. In an ideal location to go north or south Norfolk. We received a warm welcome and help being directed to our pitch, which is gravelled and more than wide enough to accept our van and awning. A recycling bin is supplied at each pitch, which is a nice touch. A dog walk is not too far from the site, but dog exercising is not encouraged on site. There is a small shop with honesty box. There is also a washing machine, iron and freezer in there. The toilet and shower block were kept spotlessly clean during our stay. There aren't really any local shops or pubs within walking distance, but this didn't cause any problem to us. One point I really must make is, to approach the site so that you turn right into the driveway, because it is almost impossible to turn left into it with a trailer. All in all, an excellent small site.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lesley Wakefield 4 reviews from this member

'Eutopia', that's how I would describe this site. From pulling up with our van to sadly leaving, we felt very relaxed. Billy and Pam are so friendly without being intrusive and they are very helpful with places to visit (even printing off maps of how to find them, thanks pam). The site is the flattest we have ever stayed on. Surrounded by trees and high hedges with short cut grass, this is also the most peaceful. The toilet block is great with the shower room having a sink and toilet in too, just like being in your own bathroom. There is a nice walk to the next village Southrepps, with a short route going 1/2 an hour and a longer return route 45 minutes. A stopover at the Vernon Arms is a must, friendly staff and locals and the food is great, there is also a village store. Cromer is just a short drive away. We cannot wait to return. Keep up you good work Billy and Pam your doing a marvellous job.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jillnandy 8 reviews from this member

It was our first visit to the site with our two dogs I was a little apprehensive after reading a previous review. I need not have worried we were made most welcome. As previous reviewers have said the toilets and showers are kept very clean the site is well spaced out and very quiet and relaxing. There is a mixture of grass and hard standing pitches. Ours was hard standing and very convenient for all the facilities and water. The cabin which had a washing machine all tourist info and essential supplies was well stocked. We made full use of the ice creams paid with honesty box.

We made use of the bus as the stop was right outside the site, service not as good as coast hopper and you have to pay 50p each way for each dog too. We went to Cromer on the bus and found there was about a 2 hour gap between buses in the afternoon.

We will certainly return as this site is a little gem and everyone was friendly and helpful

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brilyn6 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a two week stay at this gem of a site. Owners Pam & Billy have always been welcoming and helpful ever since our first visit five years ago and we are at a loss to understand the negative comments made by a recent visitor. The pitches are large and level and the whole site is immaculate. The toilet and shower block is spotlessly clean and a separate building houses a washing machine, freezer and microwave for use of visitors. There is also a selection of ice creams and basic supplies, which are paid for by using an 'honesty box'. For those who want to read a daily newspaper at breakfast, Pam's mum Angela, will deliver it to your doorstep. There is also a bus stop just outside the site. Historic Felbrigg Hall is just 4 miles away, as is the coastal resort of Cromer.

'Secluded and peaceful' is how this site is marketed - just how we like it. We shall be back next year.

Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Norfolk   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2301 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019