Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - High Creagan Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Perthshire > Killin > High Creagan Caravan Site Reviews

High Creagan Caravan Site
By Killin
Killin
Perthshire   (Browse area)
FK21 8TX
Tel: 01567 820449
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gpjw 11 reviews from this member

VERY peaceful site with great view from our tourer. Alister the owner was a wee pet, extremely friendly and helpful when needed. Facilities very basic. Shower 20p for 3 minutes was a bit of a pain, however price for pitch was reasonable and for the peace and quiet it was all worth it. Site a good base for travelling around this area.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mikro 20 reviews from this member

Stayed 2 nights. Good base for the area. Great views. Friendly owner. Facilities o k for the price. 10p for enough very hot water to do dishes seems reasonable given the £14 nightly fee. Showers not great but adequate need at least 60p to have an reasonable shower Convenient for walking up Ben Lawers, and Killin is a pleasant village with lots of eateries (we used the Killin Hotel) and the Falls of Dochart to visit

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrbs1g 4 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights. Easy to find, just a few miles out of Killin. Best site for views of the loch. Greeted by friendly owner on arrival and although he suggested a pitch, we preferred one further from the entrance and facilities with a better view! (He didn't seem to mind us being picky!). The facilities are basic but clean and showers are 20p for 3 mins. I am fussy so used the caravan shower! There is wifi - a BT open zone hotspot can be found if you stand outside the laundry room. The Falls of Dochart Inn is excellent for food and a lovely pub. We had lunch one day and went back another for an evening meal. If you are feeling energetic it is worth climbing up the hill behind the site. Ask the owner to point you in roughly the right direction and follow the path. (It is there somewhere!)

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Altom 17 reviews from this member

We try to get to this site once a year at least. The pitches for touring caravans are brilliant overlooking Loch Tay with the hills behind.

Lovely peaceful site

Toilet block always clean and tidy.

Alastair works hard keeping the grass in great condition

Walking area for dogs being the site up the hill is ideal

Killin is a lovely little village with all the facilities that you need

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: TonyH 12 reviews from this member

Stayed here just one night while touring, Good location with superb views over the Loch, the site is on multiple levels with a few statics, the whole site was very tidy well planted and well cared for. The owner was very friendly and helpful.

Very quiet when we were there despite being Scottish school holidays, although the weather may have contributed to that! As previously mentioned the facilities could do with a facelift and surprised to have to pay for showers (20p for 3 mins).

No facilities for kids. Prices were the same as they were in 2007, £8 pp/pn with hookup so by current standards quite reasonable.

There are no signs on the road as you approach the site, just one large sign high up at the entrance so it could be easy to miss. It's on the left about 3 miles out of Killin.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dianna1434 1 review from this member

We come to this site at lease one a year. Rates are good, never go up in high season. Pitches are good, and get plenty of space in between each caravan when you have neighbours. Toilet blocks are clean. Checked regularly. Showers on site are good, if you can't use your van. Washing facilities on site and drying green. Allowed dogs on site, but remember to use a lead! Common sense really! Owner is very friendly and will help you with anything you need. Site is clean, tidy and very nice. Like a sun trap when its good weather

Killin is about 2 miles away, so stock up before you go.

I would highly recommend anyone to go to this site. ITS EXCELLENT

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Megolodon 17 reviews from this member

We stayed 3 nights here and the surroundings were amazing. We did not use the shower as it was small, old and not that clean with a big vent at the top with loads of spider webs. Toilets were ok, clean and loo paper / hand towels supplied.

The pitches were great when we were there as it was quiet but I can imagine if it got busy, the pitches would be really close together but for us, there was loads of room.

Owner spoke to me when we first arrived and seemed friendly, however he did not speak for the duration of our stay after that.

We paid £48 pounds for our 3 night stay and were happy doing so however we then found out that you also had to pay for showers and any hot water to do your dishes which I have never seen at any other site that we have visited. A bit steep for the quality of the facilities.

Having said all that, the site was quiet, well kept, some level gravel pitches, and located in the most picturesque valley. Well worth a visit if you have your own facilities in the van.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wheelsy 29 reviews from this member

I stayed at this site to do some walking in the area and wasn't disappointed. The site is in a beautiful setting, with great views of the Loch and surrounding hills. The site is probably just too far to walk into Killin, which was a much bigger place than I was expecting. There were plenty of really nice pubs, cafes, restaurants and a quite a big Co-Op supermarket.

On the site the area for tents was immaculately kept and sheltered, and set away from the caravans and statics, which I prefer. It was reasonably close to a river so it might be worth taking earplugs if you're a really light sleeper. The facilities were very clean and seemed adequate for the number of people on the site. There was one shower in the gents, and one sink indoors and another sink by the tents for washing pots. There was a little undercover area with a bench and table right next to the tent field so people could cook if it was raining. You needed 10p coins for hot water for the shower (20p for 3 minutes) and for hot water for the dish washing sink inside. I couldn't grumble at paying for the hot water for the shower because it was easily the best and most powerful shower I've been in on a campsite, better even than my one at home! There was also a tumble dryer which again took 10p coins to run. Thankfully, the owner seemed well set up for providing change.

The owner was very friendly and was able to offer me advice about walks in the area. It turned out I could start my walk on the Tarmachan Ridge directly from the campsite, which saved a lot of hassle. I will definitely stay at this site again when I'm in the area, the only thing it is lacking is a pub within staggering distance!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Superb site - high above the Loch with wonderful views.

The site is kept really well - grass well cut and beautiful landscaping.

Facilities very clean and more than adequate. Site owner very helpful and available to answer questions etc.

A couple of miles from Killin village which had some nice pubs and places to eat, also a village store which sold pretty much everything.

Would highly recommend this stie - peaceful and very well kept.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brassir 6 reviews from this member

We didn't actually stay as when we arrived our family were told no kids allowed due to health and safety, worth knowing to avoid disapointment. Otherwise the campsite looked, quiet, clean and friendly

Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Perthshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4757 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019