Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Phippins Farm Caravan Park ( Adults Only ) & Cottage

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

Phippins Farm Caravan Park ( Adults Only ) & Cottage
East Huntspill
Highbridge
Burnham On Sea
Somerset   (Browse area)
TA9 3PT
Tel: 07802 786560  or  07742 485961
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30 +
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 64 Reviews
                9/10 from 64 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  64 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnyowl2905 20 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights in February. We were greeted with a very warm welcome and then allowed to select our own pitch. We chose one at the side of the river. A short walk into the nearest village however we couldnít find the local shop - we asked at the garage to be told that it had closed down as the locals never used it! There was a pub however they werenít serving food in February. We walked back to the campsite and drove the Motorhome a few miles and ate at a very nice pub about 5 mins drive away.

The next day we drove to Weston Super Mare where you could park on the beach for £4. 00 all day.

The weather was unusually mild and we walked along the seafront without coats in February!

The campsite is clean and quiet. I didnít personally use the showers as we have a shower in the Motorhome but hubby said they were fine - plenty of time for a shower with 40p!

All in all I canít fault this site - itís peaceful, clean and not too far from the seaside.

Highbridge caravan site is a few miles away - very useful if you need anything.
via mobile

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jannerjon 5 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a weekend after picking up our motor home from a local dealer. Easy to find, easy access, massive pitch, all gravel pan flat. Wardens fantastic, nothing to much trouble. Site is near a river so lots of wildlife around, nice walk along the bank to a small village with a pub, took bikes with us and as the area in very flat very easy to get around. Definitely will return oh forgot to say adults only.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Craig381sara 9 reviews from this member

Fabulous site. It has fantastic views of the river and countryside. The only noise I heard was my hubby snoring . There is a range of wildlife from a variety of birds including kingfishers to a family of otters and a cheeky badger who sneaked into our awning - amazing.

The showers and toilets are always clean and tidy, thereís even simple instructions on using the showers and really £1 for a good shower is nothing compared to what you will pay at home.

All in all if you want a lovely clean quiet site this is it. All the staff are polite and helpful even when you've forgotten the code for the gate! Lol x

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Acdcnchc 8 reviews from this member

This site was the worse site I have ever stayed on. Too many signs with do's and don'ts. Website says 16 hard standing pitches but it is all hard standing with kerbs which are in need of work as a lot are uneven. The site is not unpleasant but does look like a car park. Needs some grassy field plots.

And the most annoying thing there was no washing up sinks and you are expected to wash your greasy pans in your camper or caravan. Ok (ish) if you have a sink but we have not in our van. Was left with greasy pans to deal with.

In the first hour after arrival there was tannoy announcements every few minutes which rather spoilt the tranquil site. Luckily it stopped after a while.

I just say in its favour that the facilities were clean and the staff very friendly. Shame as the site could be good if more grassy pitches, washing up facilities, less signs and rules and more character.

Oh, and remember to take plenty of 20p coins if you want a shower and keep your dog on a lead even in the dog walking area and no awnings on the grass. We did as only noticed that rule when looking at the site map to try and locate the non existent washing up area. And don't walk over other people's pitches. Plenty of reading materiel dotted around the site!

Could not understand why it was so busy?

We have travelled and used campsites all over Europe over many years and still have a caravan in Spain. This was the worse so far although certainly not horrible or unfriendly but needs less signs and rules and somewhere to wash up and perhaps charge a pound or so more a night and make the showers free. If you under estimate how long your shower will take you will need to go out of your cubicle to top up the pay machine. Be warned.

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Lillsy 2 reviews from this member

We had a 1 night stay here as we had booked our Moho into Highbridge Caravan for a service and this site was perfectly situated only 3 miles away. It is easy to find and was main roads all the way do no scary lanes to negotiate. We were given a warm welcome by the very friendly wardens Brian & Lisa and shown to our pitch. The hard standings are a really generous size with enough room for our Moho and car to sit side by side snd the EHU was close to the plot. The site itself is immaculate, totally flat and very well maintained as well as being dog friendly. It is situated next to a river and we enjoyed taking the river walk (although slightly muddy at this time of year) through a large field onto the Church Road which we followed down until we came to the fabulously cosy dog friendly Crown Inn complete with crackly open fire, huge portions of delicious food and a good choice of ales/cider, You will also find a village store next door which has newspapers and general groceries if you need. This walk took around 25 mins and on return we opted to walk the road way back to the site which took around 15-20mins. If you do venture out after hours, do take a torch as the road is dark but it also means you have a wonderful view of the stars! The toilet and facilities were absolutely spotless, best we have seen and toilet paper and soap were provided. The chemical waste point was also very clean and easy to use. The only road noise we heard was the odd passing vehicle or tractor on the main road outside the site and certainly didn't spoil the ambience. Overall this place is really lovely and we would certainly recommend!

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Levick 1 review from this member

We have just had 3 days at Phippins and what a truly lovely site. Frank and Barbara so welcoming and friendly, the site is beautifully kept, everything is so clean and tidy. Although we did not meet the owner it is obvious he takes enormous care to keep everything tip top.

A lovely walk to the pub, good honest no frills pub grub, and Speckled Hen on draft!

Super walks along the river bank in either direction and a walk to the cider farm is a must.

The site is also very peaceful and no children!

We have loved it thank you all and we will return.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Waggyfromderby 34 reviews from this member

There in nothing endearing about this campsite. So much noise from m5. Neighbour arrived at 0720 making noise on gravel whilst parking. Just what I didn't need after the background m5 all night. Local pub is cheap food and not well kept ale. Ugh. Showers 20p for 2 minutes and the coin box is in the main toilet so either lose a minute or dash out naked and run back quickly

Management response: We are sorry that this customer had a bad experience at our site. I believe that we were used us as an overnight stop on route elsewhere and so the customer was looking for somewhere easily accessible and close to major roads and with his small camper he effortlessly fitted into one of our large flat pitches . Sadly with these advantages come the disadvantage that you might hear the roads that were so convenient for your journey on occasions when the wind carries the sound towards the site. We are on the edge of the Somerset levels with no obstructions for miles other than vegetation and as a result any significant 'noise' will be heard. And this is true of any campsite in our area within 10 miles of wind carried noise as the only other noise is wildlife. We apologize if a neighbour entered the site before 1000hrs. We discourage this as we are aware that our customers are on holiday and like to lie in. But some customers 'must' have their early morning paper and drive off to get it rather than walk or cycle to the nearby village newsagents.

The local pub, The Bason Bridge Inn, (10 mins walk from site along the river side path) does provide reasonably priced food and usually stocks two or three real Ales. After this review I visited the pub with a friend I had a Golden Hen and my friend a Speckled Hen both were excellent and we drank them in the well-kept beer garden behind the pub. We then sauntered down to the Crown and had a pint of Hobgoblin (at 5.7% this is a favourite of mine) before strolling back to the site. I would however recommend that when using a quieter country pub that sells Ale, which these are, that you enquire if the beer has been in frequent use that day or ask to try a sample before purchasing.

Use of the showers is described on our website and there are instructions for use in the toilet
block. Admittedly some pre-planning is required and a minimum pre-load of 40p is recommended for a man with short hair (for 40p you could also get a couple of licks of an ice cream or two slurps of beer or a cappuccino). If people are coming for a prolonged stay at our site I recommend that they time themselves in their shower at home to determine precisely how many multiples of 20p are required to achieve the required minutes on site. Personally when on holiday and using coin operated showers I tend to over indulge and stick in a whole £1. Tim - Site Owner

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Craig381sara 9 reviews from this member

What a great site in an great location, on arrival we were shown our pitch and basically left to our own devices (which was great) as some sites we have been on the wardens go on and on with site rules.

The grounds are immaculate and most pitches are flat with hard standing. Our only gripe is it's a little sparse between pitches and a shame there isn't any privacy hedges or bushes.

The wash rooms are Ok and kept clean and tidy.

There is a public house a short walk along the river bank in the near by village,

Over all a good site and Tim (site owner) should be highly commended

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Billybacardi 3 reviews from this member

Been going to Phippins farm for a total of 10 years now and I can honestly say that if you want peace and quiet and a spotlessly clean site, then you need not look any further. We are going again on Friday and I cannot wait. Tim, and Frank & Barbara, do an excellent job of keeping this site one of the best.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 174 reviews from this member

Had a lovely wide hardstanding pitch right by the river. Site very quiet and toilets/showers fairly modern. Plenty of bird life about-Great spotted and Green Woodpeckers seen, Little Owl heard and Reed Warblers singing along the river bank. Walked to the Bason Bridge pub along the river bank which is a bit of a village local with limited food menu and Old Speckled Hen on draught. The other pub the Crown was shut during my visit. Great site for a stop off from the M5.

Previous     64 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Somerset

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over £399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2533 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth £399!