Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Bull In The Thorn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Buxton > The Bull In The Thorn Reviews

The Bull In The Thorn
Ashbourne Road
Hurdlow
Buxton
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
SK17 9QQ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 27
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 58 Reviews
                6/10 from 58 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Angebabe 1 review from this member

 Bull I Thorn, Hurdlow, Derbyshire.

Just had the most fantastic weekend in a tent at the Bull I Thorn.

The site is mostly flat, lovely green grass pitches spread out nicely and water taps conveniently spaced. WIFI on site and helpful warden (Matt) I think it is, was always on hand if needed.

Brand new toilet block which is very well maintained )4 toilets, 4 showers and 2 wash rooms and a family bathroom available although we did not use the family bathroom and am unsure of location.

The pods look new and well maintained

The Cafe was absolutely fabulous, design and layout excellent and cleanliness impeccable, food faultless and all staff went above and beyond.

The owner was extremely helpful and advised us on some walks in the area which we did and can certainly recommend Wincle, Crome Hill and walk to Monyash.

The only very small negative comment for the whole weekend is that the toilets, although immaculate, were for both men and women, which I havenít come across before, but it certainly didnít effect our stay.

Had a fabulous weekend and will be returning soon.

Thank you to all the staff. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We are delighted to advise that after the pub closing in 2018, this campsite is now reopen for 2020 onwards and once again offers camping and small campervan pitches - there is no longer a pub onsite though. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ackerhardcastle 1 review from this member

 We held a surprise family get together for my sisters birthday. Most of the family arrived early Saturday to put tents up bunting and balloons for her. We where having a meal later in the pub the landlady gave us use of the medieval room giving us accommodation way beyond expectation allowing us to decorate the room for a party event. When party girl arrived escorted by our brother and sister in law on motorcycles the surprise began to unfold. 20 of us had a thoroughly enjoyable time 16 had a meal.

12 of us camped it was a perfect venue with perfect hosts a great time had by all 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pattyled 7 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 nights here and enjoyed the peace and quiet of a field to ourselves with just the braying of donkeys in the Sanctuary next door to keep us company. It's on a main road, but the traffic was far enough away to be no problem.

New owners have recently taken over the pub and were very welcoming and friendly.

They are in the process of making improvements and although the toilets and showers were a bit old, they were kept clean with plenty of lovely hot water. We didn't use the washing up area, so can't comment on that.

The food in the pub (reputed to be haunted) was wonderful and couldn't be faulted. There is a lovely beer garden (too cold to sit in while we were there) with a children's play area.

We will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Microbus1974 24 reviews from this member

 Was greeted by a pleasant chap who booked us in and told us where to go for access to the camping field and where the electric hook-ups were for our 2 night stop over. Lots off room considering it was on the school holidays but we did go in the middle off the week. Plenty off water taps, and the usual toilets (not the best), make sure you get the code for the others on the front off the building.

The lack off lights on the site is more than welcome as light pollution would have spoilt the view off the stars.

There are some local footpaths to venture on as well.

We visited the donkey sanctuary next door you on our unannounced visit we're only to happy to show us around.

All in all a pleasant stay and a lovely meal (huge portion sizes) had on the second night with some good beers on too.

A good stay thank you.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mjrees 40 reviews from this member

 Has to be one of the best locations for touring round Derbyshire with fabulous views of the rolling countryside.

Stayed 3 nights but didn't eat in the pub because we were appalled by the toilet facilities! We were directed to the 'Green' toilet cabin - male toilets had NO door (this was laid against the wall outside so NO privacy), a single toilet pan (which was full to the rim with paper and excrement), no hand towels and cut grass throughout! The Management didn't seem to know, or care, about the toilets - instead they gave us keypad codes for the main toilets (2!) and showers (2!).

These were dirty, one shower tray was blocked with mud but at least the washbasins were clean. How these facilities can cope with an unlimited number of visitors heaven only knows.

Lastly - the camping field was rough-mown with long, wet cut grass which followed you everywhere. I would not recommend this site for young children unless you use your own ablutions!

We will NOT return! Oh! I nearly forgot - there was a 'Rave' in the next field one night with thumping music and screaming until 02. 00hrs! 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Henrietta66 7 reviews from this member

 Great pub - good location - fantastic food - shame about the camping facilities!

The campsite is a mess with rubbish everywhere. Very uneven muddy field - so bad that half the campers that weekend parked in the driveway making it even more difficult as you then had to drive over the muddy field to get past them - particularly the idiot who parked what looked like a large horsebox in the entrance!

The site advertises toilets and showers. No guidance given as to where to find these when booking in so when came across a green tin can with a loo and urinals assumed that was it! Actually that turned out to be the old loo facilities - the new ones being at the front of the pub as we found out a day later - quite a walk from the campsite which was at the back! Visited the proper facilities only to be disappointed as the showers did not work at all! There was a toilet - reasonably clean but you needed a code to get in - why was this not given when we arrived! As we were leaving we had to ask where the elsan point was as we had not seen it. Turned out to be at the back of the new toilets and you had to climb over the wall to get to it! Or if you walked round the other way of the pub you had to step over rubbish including a broken glass door! To top it all when we found the elsan it was right next to the sinks for washing pots - this must be a breach of hygiene regulations!

We will NOT be returning! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Metalhead 31 reviews from this member

 Just spent a night at the Bull I' Th' Thorn campsite on the main A515 between Ashbourne and Buxton. The location is great being set in the Derbyshire Dales with stunning scenery all around. Buxton and Bakewell are about 6 to 8 miles away so plenty of quaint towns to visit if you don't want to take advantage of the scenery. We were told there weren't any electric hook-ups on site. Not sure if this is a recent thing or not as other reviewers have stated EHU's were available. Didn't bother us for the one night in the 'van though as it was a warm summer's night. Price was only £12 for the campervan so couldn't really argue with that in the middle of summer when many sites are £18 upwards!

There was a group of medieval re-enactors camped in the bottom field who were fun to watch. They did a parade of the main campsite too at one point which was hilarious.

The pub itself is steeped in history as it dates back to the 15th century. It has several different rooms, some with low beams, and all with brass memorabilia hanging up, as well as pictures from the pub's past. Fascinating stuff.

We ate in the pub that evening too. Pub grub was good though not a massive portion for the price. The beer range was excellent though with 2 or 3 Robinson's ales on the go and the bar staff were all great. We chatted to several of the people staying on the site too who were all in the pub - a very friendly atmosphere.

We'd definitely stay again sometime as it's in the heart of some fantastic walking locations. There's a great little tea room in nearby Monyash too (The Old Smithy) - recommended! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Babycake 10 reviews from this member

 Ok. It does what it says on the box. Cheap and cheerful pitch with breath taking views of the Derbyshire dales. Grass is a little pot holey but bearable. Loads of space to pitch, not fussed about tent size. Left to your own business. It is a bit in the middle of nowhere but plenty of nice walks and a donkey sanctuary next door.

Pub grub tasty but pricey. Land lord and land lady very accommodating and most of the staff are spot on (you always get one). We had great fun 'borrowing' a wood burner! Infact the waiting on staff were laughing at us running off in high heels. Very good sports.

Had 2 kids in our group and they were able to run off a lot of steam without any grief. They were even allowed in and around the pub no problem.

Now the bad bits. There are only 2 showers! For a huge massive site. Got fed up of waiting at one point so had to wash up at the pot washing area. I think they are more set up for one night stop offs. There is a second toilet block which is functional but in a bit of a weird position and a bit run down

There are plenty of water taps but watch out. The one near us was leaking and attracting the bugs, so remember the smidge.

Overall a very enjoyable weekend, made loads of new friends and drank a lot of booze (always helps) 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jimmies12 2 reviews from this member

 We were taking the scenic route to Oulton Park racing circuit with friends. We stopped on the off chance and had dinner in the pub. We stayed overnight. Don't know where the facilities were as we arrived late. The food was very good and the landlord friendly. Electric was available if we wanted. We were parked on the car park which was hard standing, very useful as the van is prone to get stuck in wet ground. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Bull In The Thorn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Bull In The Thorn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Bull In The Thorn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Buxton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2262 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement