Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > New Forest & Hampshire > Fareham > Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hundred Acres Road
Wickham
Fareham
Hampshire   (Browse area)
PO17 6JR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 154
Open: 16/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 60 Reviews
                9/10 from 60 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <10 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  60 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Crazyguider 25 reviews from this member

 This site is superb! Easily one of the best we have stayed on in 12 years of caravanning.

It is well laid out and mostly level, with an assortment of hardstanding and grass pitches (although after the recent heavy rains, these were not in use to preserve the integrity of the pitches).

We were warmly welcomed, and I was asked to go and pay as there was a problem with my membership - this was sorted quickly, and I received a refund for overpayment.

As it is a CAMC site we were able to drive around and find a suitable pitch, and then report back to receive an entry key fob for the barrier.

You are never far away from water/recycling points, but they are nicely unobtrusive.

There are 2 facilities blocks, although due to lack of campers, one was only partially open at the time. Each block was absolutely spotless. 5 privacy cubicles, 5 showers and 6 toilets meant I never had to wait. The showers are the usual club standard, but without curtains - these were removed during covid and never replaced (guess it saves a fortune in laundry bills!).

The site itself is very peaceful, surrounded as it is by woods, and down a half mile drive, so no road noise (although the pheasants are another story!).

There is an excellent, large play area for children, and a large enclosed area for off-lead dogs.

An access gate to the woods puts you on a path to Wickham - although we found it difficult to find the paths, and it was very boggy.

The village of Wickham is nearby - absolutely lovely place. We ate at Veranda, the Indian restaurant, and visited both pubs. There is also a good co-op and butcher. We were told by locals to avoid the chippy and the Chinese, though.

Over the week we visited the Historic Docks - HMSub Alliance and The Mary Rose; Butser Ancient Village - brilliant; Fishbourne Roman Villa - best morning out for Roman history lovers; The Weald and Downland Living Museum (home of The Repair Shop) and Petworth House, all of which were magnificent days out.

I cannot recommend this site highly enough. The staff are really friendly, the little office/shop sells treats such as delicious cakes, and the site is kept spotless.

Can't wait to return. 


Date of Visit: April 2023 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Asburysja 2 reviews from this member

 We took our grandson here last week. It is a lovely site and the facilities are always scrupulously clean. My husband has recently been diagnosed with osteoarthritis but does not yet have a disability registration, however the warden still allowed him to have access to the disabled washroom to facilitate showering whilst sitting down.

I made a mistake when extending our booking and we didnít realise until the last day of our stay when we had booked our car into a dealership for a repair. When my mistake was discovered the wardens pulled out all of the stops to help us pack up, including helping to take down the awning.

We were then allowed to temporarily move the caravan to a ferry pitch whilst sorting the car. What excellent service, canít wait to go back.

Score 9 for facilities and 10+ for service 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 74 reviews from this member

 Pleasant site and whilst very large did not feel like it.

The dog walk is very large and the facilities were always clean.

Did not walk into the town as we only staying one night. 


Date of Visit: June 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Paulcoan 17 reviews from this member

 Positives

Large site that doesnít feel like it

Very good clean facilities

Some full serviced pitches as well as standard

Area for ferry early leaving area

Really nice staff

Easy to get to

Good for walking dogs

Negatives

C&MC site so not adult only

Pricey

Would we come again YES 


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 107 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site a few years ago when we were returning from France on the ferry and needed somewhere nearby for a quick stop. We liked it then and had always planned to return for a longer stay.

The site itself is very big with a large number of hardstanding and grass pitches. We were on a hardstanding pitch which was large and reasonably level.

We were greeted on arrival by some very friendly wardens who told us to stay in the car, gave us all the information we needed about the site, and sent us to look for a pitch.

After finding a pitch you then return to reception to pay. This is a much better idea than queueing to pay in the caravan before entering the site.

The site has two toilet blocks, the one near us in the middle of the site was always clean and tidy and had all the usual caravan club facilities.

We donít have any children so donít normally pay attention to playgrounds, however we did notice that this site has an unusually large childrenís play area with a football pitch and some play equipment.

There also seems to be a very large dog walk that seemed to be well used.

Behind the top toilet block is a little gate leading into the forest. The wardens will give you a code for the gate and you can then come and go into the forest.

There are a couple of walks to different pubs round about 30 to 45 minutes away. The forest was quite nice, however when we were there there had been a period of heavy rain and the paths were very muddy so donít forget to take your walking boots!

We found loads to do in the area and the information room contains details of lots of attractions nearby if thatís what youíre looking for. We had a really nice day out at the Weald and Downland Living Museum, where they film the BBC show the repair shop, which is about 25 minutes away.

TV reception on site was good, however the mobile phone signal was appalling. There didnít appear to be any signal at all at the top of the site.

We had a pitch at the bottom of the site and I was able to pick up one bar of EE 4G but we were only able to get one bar of 3G which hardly ever worked on the Three network on our tethering phone. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coopertroopers 74 reviews from this member

 Well maintained site with very friendly wardens, despite how busy they clearly were - the site is very well placed for Portsmouth or Southampton so popular as an overnight stay but equally as nice for longer.

We found a hard standing pitch near the dog walk and enjoyed wall to wall sunshine during our mini September heatwave !

The enclosed dog walk is very large for a CAMC site and our 3 labs loved it.

Forest walks and a walk into the charming town of Wickham is through a private gate from the site so no real need for walking on the road.

Very relaxing site and will likely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 12 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: 664DaveS 54 reviews from this member

 We have used this site a few times before normally not in high season. On arrival the friendly lady checked us in and showed us which pitches were available.

As it was busy we were unable to find a hardstanding but found a good flat grass pitch.

The facilities were very clean and never seemed stretched. We tend to take a shower after 10pm and there was rarely anyone in the facility.

The site is big but was quiet after dark. There is a big field for dog exercise and a gate into the forest at the bottom of the site.

TV reception is OK with an aerial, but there is a site aerial for which you need a coax cable to connect to the bollard. This gives loads of channels. Phone signal on Virgin was OK.

There are plenty of walks in the forest. It's a short drive to Portsmouth and nearby coastal, areas, which were pretty busy at the time.

Our main reason for the stay was to see relatives nearby. We have both lived in the area so it would not be our normal choice.

It is a nice site with a play area for kids and plenty to do in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dailewis 4 reviews from this member

 Ideal stop over ready to catch ferry at 8am

Nice site and pub up the rd a short distance, nice pint and food

Allowed out at a early time to catch ferry 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pharo4 1 review from this member

 On arrival the ladies in the office were very helpful and very jolly. We found the tent field which was very peaceful the space for the small tents were a good size and very clean.

The wash and toilet blocks were all very clean and had a good system with wrist bands so there were four people inside at any one time.

The only problem for us and I should have asked when I booked was that the tent field is quiet a walk with no lights to the water and toilet/shower block. I have a heart condition and the walk in the evening and at night was really tricky. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Sylvie 1 review from this member

 This was our first time in using our caravan,

Site was lovely and clean staff really friendly and helpful

Would certainly stay again.

Setting peaceful 


Previous     60 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


41098 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Play our
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win an amazing 12V and 240V 21.5" Full HD Smart WiFi TV with Satellite Decoder worth £399 provided by outdoor superstore Towsure!

Play Here


Advertisement