Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > New Forest & Hampshire > Fareham > Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Hundred Acres Road
Wickham
Fareham
Hampshire   (Browse area)
PO17 6JR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 154
Open: 16/03 To 31/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 49 Reviews
                9/10 from 49 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <10 miles   Restaurant <10 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  49 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Sandra128970dpy 1 review from this member

 Excellent pitch. All pitches are of a good size and with good distance from next campers.

Due to Covid 19 steps had been taken to comply with social distancing to ensure unnecessary contact. Despite this the staff & other site users were friendly whilst taking care. There was still a holiday atmosphere.

The site was full but did not feel crowded despite the reduction in facilities. These were clean and in good order. The on site shop though small is well stocked.

The 100 Acres West Walk is Literally next door to the site. This affords many different walks. There are play areas and great opportunities for families to have fun. Very easy to entertain children at no cost.

Wickham is a lovely village and within easy walking distance. If one wants the coast there are several beaches within easy reach. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Jjohnstone08 1 review from this member

 I visited my parents who were staying on this site (as I live locally) and to be honest was not overly impressed with various things. I had visited approx 6 years ago when they were using this site and it appears to have gone downhill in the meantime. My main gripes were:

Noisy barking dogs

Dogs being allowed to roam freely with the wardens not enforcing keeping them on leads (my mother is afraid of dogs)

Wardens not seeming to address issues - a rather laid back approach seems to be adopted on this site

My dad had to complain to the neighbours re their dog being let loose as the wardens didn't seem to care

Terrible phone connection.

Overall not impressed with the site - my view is that it is too big and impersonal. Needless to say we will not be visiting there again - a shame as it was so much better during the last visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Davo m 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site many times before but with the new wardens in charge it seems to have gone downhill. We are no prudes but as we had our young grandchildren with us there were older teenagers shouting and screaming in the play park until gone 11pm.

We also had a flat battery on our car, I went to ask the wardens if they could possibly help so that we could vacate our pitch but the answer given was ask a neighbour! No help given we managed to to get someone across the way to help but as our car is a 4x4 it didn't seem to work. We called the Recovery and eventually got off site about 1. 45.

This used to be a cracking site but we will not be going again anytime soon 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hobart0406 11 reviews from this member

 This is primarily a caravan and motorhome site, and on arrival it was very full. However, it also seemed very quiet given that nearly every unit was full. Now we were camping, and the one field for this is behind all the caravans in its own location. We stayed on one Friday night, and it was exceptionally quiet in the field. The nearest toilet block was close, and was very clean, showers were hot and powerful, and it was never crowded whenever we went to use the facilities.

The camping field had 4 other tents, and our two small tents! It was spacious - and the only thing that woke us was the birds at about 4. 30am. Very relaxing place.

Because of recent heavy rain, we could not drive to the tent pitch, but given we had smaller tents it was not difficult carrying everything to the site. Plenty of parking for cars, and a friendly welcome from the staff. Very pleased indeed with the site - I've lived in this area for years and didn't know it existed, hidden as it is within woodland. Beautiful place - with a good enough play area for the kids. We will almost certainly return. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 36 reviews from this member

 One night at this site after the day ferry from st malo.

Booked into a ferry pitch which was great for us if a little waterlogged. We didn't stay hitched up as we went into wick ham for dinner.

Never stayed on a CMC site before but very impressed by the toilet/shower facilities-clean and fresh. Slightly odd barrier arrangement for the ferry pitches as not barrier end like the main site.

Staff very helpful in pitching-pitches clearly marked. No noise overnight-we never even heard the motor home next to us arrive nor the double axle across from us leave.

Would use this site again. Can recommend the KingsHead Wickham though can't understand why we were the only people in the restaurant at 8. 15. Lovely meal, nice beer 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Djar1150 2 reviews from this member

 Visited the site over the May bank holiday with our Motorhome, and overall was really pleased with it. We have two children and I thought the kidís bathroom was brilliant, with two little ones the use of this room is a great benefit. The adult showers and toilets were very clean and there were plenty of them. The motorhome service point looked brand new and again is great for smaller and large units. As with many caravan club sites this site is in the middle of nowhere, but we had our car so this wasnít a problem. The site also has a childrenís play area so there are things to do if you get stuck there if you have kids. This site was one of the best CC sites we had been too, however it was totally let down by the rudest warden Iíve ever had the displeasure of dealing with. On arrival she barely lifted her head to check us in, no hello or welcome provided and felt it necessary to Ďremindí me of the site speed limit, before I had even entered the site. We found the other wardens very helpful and welcoming, itís a shame she let the site and the others down. We have never left a review before but felt disappointed in the way she treated us and therefore decided to comment, we have also done this on other review sites. So all in all the site is great, however letdown by Ďcustomerí service. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: MANDYH01 10 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site with friendly and welcoming staff who are happy to help. The toilet blocks are always clean whenever you need it and the information hut has a wide range of things to do including a file of places to eat.

The site was so quiet after 10pm, you could hear a pin drop even though the tranquil, secluded site was full. Wickham isn't too far away with supermarkets within a 10 minute drive away. Dogs are well catered for with a great expanse of field for them to run on.

The best way to get to Portsmouth is take the right out of the site entrance and then turn left at the T junction.

Beautiful views of Hayling Island and Portsmouth along this road. The children's play area offers a football goal, table tennis, golf and play equipment. There is also a treasure trail on site for them to do and they can receive a Tourer Explorer gift. Children are allowed to ride their bikes, as long as they follow the arrows and the the speed limits.  


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: David Klyne 227 reviews from this member

 To Find Site:- From Portsmouth direction on M27 leave motorway at junction 10 and follow A32 in the direction of Alton. At the roundabout past the Wickham village sign continue on A32 and after about a quarter of a mile turn right (church on corner) into Southwick Road. In about a mile turn left into Hundred Acres road. Turn left in about three quarters of a mile at the CC site signs into long drive to site. The drive is narrow in places with passing places so care required. From Southampton direction leave M27 at junction 11, cross motorway and re-join M27 towards Southampton and exit at junction 10 and then as above.

This memberís only site is set in 18 acres of undulating countryside surrounded by mature trees and shrubs. There are 149 pitches including about 7 ferry pitches where outfits can be left hooked up for early departures to the ferry port at Portsmouth. Pitches are roughly split 50/50 between grass and hardstandings. A recent innovation has been to create a tent pitching area by reducing the size of the dog exercise area. There are two toilet blocks, both of a good standard and several service points. There are two motorhome service points situated by the toilet blocks. Unfortunately the still require very heavy covers to be removed to dispose of grey water waste. Electric points, rated at 16 amps, are convenient to all pitches and use CEE17 blue connectors. The bollards also include TV co-ax connectors as reception can be poor in parts. They are free to use but you need to provide your own cable or purchase from reception. The site does have Wi-Fi but I found the signal struggled at most times of the day, this might not be such a problem when the site is less busy although I doubt it would ever be considered fast. Likewise mobile reception can be a bit hit and miss. Reception sells newspapers and other essentials. Children are well catered for as there is a massive play are, albeit on a slope. Likewise for dogs there is a large walking area.

This site is pretty remote and there is no convenient public transport in the immediate vicinity. The site does have details of local taxi firms but some insist on charging and out of area extra fee. There is a nice walking route into Wickham which is just over two miles. Reception can provide instructions. The village of Wickham has a nice selection of shops and a rather nice pub which does food. Rookesbury Park is about midway between Southampton and Portsmouth and is convenient to the M27. Both cities offer many attractions but perhaps Southampton would be considered the better shopping destination. Not too far from the site at Hedge End is a large Sainsburys and M&S. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: HeinztheEriba 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site!

Easy access from the motorway just one hairy right turn at Wickham Church. Good single track through the Forest of Bere leads you to Rooksbury Park (Caravan Club Site). Reception staff nice and friendly, checkin and payment were handled quickly and handwritten directions on how to walk to Wickham Village and the local pub were given for a 10p donation to charity.

Pitches came in all sorts of shapes and sizes, hardstanding were predominately situated along the one-way site road with grass pitches dotted along the perimeter, backing onto the forest or in small open glades. Two immaculate toilet/shower/laundry/washing up blocks were situated conveniently, so where ever you were sited you were never far away from the amenities, plenty of drinking water taps and bin areas made this well thought out site a pleasure to visit.

We took our two dogs who were in doggy heaven with a fenced, good sized field to play frizzbie or ball (poo bin was provided not all dog owners made use of it, shame on you)! Direct access to the forest was gained by a locked gate (code obtained from reception) WARNING: deer are present in the forest so be vigilant as one of our dogs managed to come home with 3 ticks on her.

Also on site is a large children's play area which seemed very popular and a large ferry waiting area.

The walk to Wickham Village took an easy 35 mins through the forest, country lanes and disused railway line (5 mins by car). You will find a delightful array of shops including a Co-op, pub, excellent bakery, tea shops, wine bar and restaurants and an Aladin's cave of a hardware shop. Highly recommended is the local butchers (opens on a Sunday morning but not Monday's) it's so good that they have just won Butcher of the Year for 2015. I can personally recommend the homemade sausages, the mint and lamb burgers and the unusual ostrich and cranberry burgers, they were soooooo good we bought extra to bring home. I believe the site reception sells a small BBQ selection from the same butcher.

Other places of interest are:- Bishops Waltham (15 mins by car) another good sized village with good selection of quality shops, larger branches of Banks and the English Heritage Bishops Waltham Palace (ruins and free). Southwick Brewery. Havant (20 mins by car use the B2177 for an easy drive with excellent views) for all the large retail shops including a massive Tescos and nearby Staunton House (admission fee payable) adjacent park free but £2 to park in the car park all day, take food and drink as nothing available in the park, no toilet either. A must to visit is Fort Nelson (10 mins drive) free admission but donations encouraged, lots to see so give yourself plenty of time, look at the website for daily talks (cost £3) gunfire times and children's activites, toilets and a popular cafe also on site. Another must is Porchester Castle (EH) admission fee payable, visit the Church in the Castle grounds they serve basic sandwiches, a lovely cream tea and hot/cold drinks at very good prices.

All in all we had a fantastic week at Rooksbury and wouldn't hesitate to return and a big thank you to the hardworking staff and the many visitors we met who made us feel very welcome. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mick+Tina 4 reviews from this member

 We go to this site many weekends during the year.

This site is of the usual Caravan Club high standards in every way. Very well laid out with hedges, tree's and forestry along with great walks.

There is a large play area for kids and dedicated over-night ferry pitches. The wardens are very friendly.

The site is close to the small but lovely village of Wickham & major towns of Portsmouth & Southampton.

The usual Friday night Fish & Chip van meals were horrible, grey fish, concrete batter & tasteless chips plus expensive to buy.

Its well worth popping by car to Bishops Waltham and have a walk around the high street. We found a gen of a butchers and omg what lovely meat for the BBQ. 


Previous     49 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 10 miles  View all facilities

Is Rookesbury Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fareham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Hampshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6395 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement