Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Camping Saint Avit Loisirs

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Site Reviews

Camping Saint Avit Loisirs
Saint Avit De Vialard
Le Bugue Vezere
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24260
Tel: +33 05 53 02 64 00
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 199
Open: 23/03 To 14/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 16 Reviews
                8/10 from 16 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  16 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynn_brighton 11 reviews from this member

We've just returned from a great 14 days at Saint Avit between 14-30th August 2015. The weather was fantastic at over 30c and the region is a great location for a holiday. I've stayed at other campsites in the region but I'd summarise Saint Avit as a quality campsite but be prepared for the noise.

General Campsite

Saint Avit is very large with chalets and camping. There were mostly British families there in August with some French and Dutch. We stayed in our tent on a grand comfort pitch with electric and water. The pitches are close together and separated by trees, so you need to get on with your neighbours! Some pitches were better than others and we were on a fairly small pitch, the campsite do give you the option to chose a pitch but when we went it was completely full and there was nothing else available. I was worried from other reviews that the pitches would be too small and our tent wouldn't fit but they are all at least 10x10m albeit they are random shapes and sizes. All pitches were close to amenities which was great (not far to go to the toilet) but there wasn’t much space for cars so this added to the feeling of being quite cramped. There were quite a few wasps and ants but no mossies.

Entertainment

Because of the campsite having so many people and pitches there was a lot going on. The bar was busy, the pool was mega busy and there was just a lot of general noise. The campsite entertainment started exactly at 9pm and finished dead on 11pm and wherever you were on the campsite it sounded like you were next to the speakers. Even playing cards on our pitch we could hear everything that was going on at the bar. This didn't really bother us as we went to bed after 11pm but it might be too loud for those with smaller children.

Each week there was a lantern parade and fireworks which was excellent and everyone joined in.

There was a kids club which we didn't use but seemed very good. Eurocamp are also based here and offer abseiling, zip wire, bouncy castles. We played tennis a few times and the courts were excellent (make sure you book in advance to play)

There is a well stocked shop that sells the essentials at a reasonable price including Gas, baguettes, Croissants, Newspapers. We only bought bread and pastries from the campsite shop but used the Intermarche or Aldi in Le Bugue for food / drink etc

The takeaway was excellent, one of the best we’ve seen and reasonably priced. Approx. 10€ for a pizza and 2. 50€ for a portion of frites. We didn’t use the table service restaurant.

Toliets / Showers

The toilet blocks were well located and were clean. They weren’t as spotless as other campsites I’ve been on but certainly clean and hygienic. There was always toilet paper available. Showers were hot and there were never any queues. The blocks also contained laundry and washing up facilities which were ideal.

Swimming Pool

The swimming pools are excellent, particularly the slides and the area for under 6’s. The only thing letting it down is that the tiles are in bad repair and need some maintenance. The sunbeds are taken by 9. 15 so your chances of getting one are very slim. Some are reserved but the site was trying to eliminate this by confiscating towels that had clearly been left for some time. Some of the slides need rings which could be purchased in the shop for about 7€ but we brought our own with us. The outside pools aren't heated but it was so hot we didn't mind the water being cool.

Region

We found that the campsite wasn’t really in the heart of the region. We did a lot of driving over to Sarlat (50 mins drive away) to use the cycling paths and the rope activities and to visit Sarlat itself. We stayed in 2011 close to Sarlat and that was a better location for exploring the historic villages such as Domme. We visited a couple of Grottes and Caves but the highlight was a canoe down the Dordogne. We hired canoes from Lemeuil and got driven further upstream and then paddled for 20k back to Lemeuil over the course of about 5 hrs. This was a great day but there is more to see further up the Dordogne.

All in all a great holiday with great on site activities but if you want to explore the region I would recommend staying closer to Sarlat.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Curleywurley 3 reviews from this member

A large site with camping and euro camp (tents and statics). Good family atmosphere catering for all ages both in the outstanding pool facilities and evening entertainment. Rural location meant quiet nights after entertainment finished at 11pm.

However, with a motor home pitch access can be difficult. If allocated an 'outside' pitch near the access road not a problem. If you are unfortunate as we were to be allocated a pitch beneath the trees - getting on and off was very difficult. This was due to trees and vehicles belonging to other pitches. Our pitch was also accessed via a slope - very difficult to manoeuvre onto and off. As a result we didn't move the motor home during our stay. We watched a motor home hit a low fence when trying to get onto their pitch during our stay. Fortunately the campsite supermarket was well stocked but our exploring was curtailed.

On a positive note, all facilities were clean with plenty of hot water. Although we saw a bus stop by the site, no sign of a bus so not sure how easy public transport is to access. We would go back but request a specific pitch by number next time.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Winny5573 1 review from this member

We spent a lovely 12 nights camping at this site and were very impressed with the amenities and the friendliness of the staff. On arrival you are offered the option of a campsite 'credit' card which can be used to purchase anything from ice lollies at a kiosk to beer from the various bars. Great idea if a little dangerous as you have to settle up on departure ! We had some very hot sunny weather on our stay (36 degrees one day !) which made the pool and water slide complex extremely popular. It is the great attraction of the site and rightly so as our girls loved it and having made friends with 4 sisters from a neighbouring tent, had the time of their lives ! Having said that people would queue from 8. 30am in order to try and reserve usually more loungers than they needed by placing towels on them. This practice, although discouraged by the staff, still persisted and was one of the few negatives of our stay, along with a lack of shade on our pitch (bad luck more than anything) and perhaps a few more shower blocks wouldn't go amiss. Other than that a great campsite which offers a dizzying array of children's activities ranging from zip wire and quad biking to archery and horse riding (ours dipped in and out due to the heat !) There are lots of interesting places to visit nearby as well such as the cave paintings at Lascaux and the troglodyte caves as well as some great local street markets. All in all highly recommended and would go back but the kids want to try somewhere new next year, in fact ever year so can't argue with that ! 4. 5 out of 5 from me !

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Checkley1973 6 reviews from this member

Visited this site in August 2014. We have stayed in castels sites previously and this one was no disappointment.

Reception - friendly welcome and lots of information on local attractions. Wifi available but very slow as you would expect in such a rural location.

Pool area - best we've seen. Indoor pool, 3 large outdoor pools, splash area for very young plus many slides including ones you go down on a ring. Although these were said unsupervised at peak times they did supervise them.

Pitches - appear a little random amongst the trees but all ok and fully serviced pitches usable for waste and water. If you can I would request a pitch on the outer edge of the touring area facing towards the kids clubs. This gives a more open feel and room to sunbathe outside the tree area.

Shop - good, well stocked and good value for a campsite shop.

Staff - excellent, everyone we encountered was friendly with a smile.

Evening entertainment - not really put cup of tea but the children liked it. The house lager is good and not exprnsive.

Takeaway - great pizzas, salads, waffles and crepes.

Overall probably the best site we've stayed on, although next visit we will book a specific pitch.

One more tip, travelling from the toll road down towards the site I would ignore the first sign on your right, carry on for another 2 or 3km and then turn at the next site sign. Both roads are narrow but the first one is very tight when towing a van. We didn't meet anything coming the other way but it would be tricky if you did.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Stretch83 7 reviews from this member

We came to this site nearly 12 years ago with Euro camp and returned this year with our caravan for ten nights booked direct with the site. The site had changed so much, new pool areas and facilities. I concur with other reviews, that for large outfits access can be a little tight but we got in and pitched up fine. Our pitch was on the edge of the grass empty spaces towards the valley area overlooking the activity areas and was really good, nice mixture of sun and shade. The shower and toilet blocks were excellent; always clean, always availability.

There is a bit of an issue with the 'sunbed' reservations, putting towels down to reserve, they try to police it, but hey, just go with the flow and do as the rest do! The pool area does get busy, especially with the new water slide and lazy rivers for the inflatable tyres - it kept our son busy for hours on any of our visits.

The on site shop stocks most items, prices are fair and the snack areas for lunch quite good. The noise level at night given the site is 'large' was quiet past 11pm and even during the day, very little obtrusive noise.

Le Bugue market is well worth a visit, car parking can be sparce though and the local hotel by the river has excellent food with tables overlooking the river Vezerre, fantastic in the late evening sunshine. Bergerac is well worth a visit; old town area with great shops and restaurants and the chance to go down the river on a barge boat - nice and relaxing. The site is now part of the Castells group and we stayed last year at their Moulon du Roche site, which was perhaps just a little better, not quite a big and the premium pitches were just that - quality. Perhaps St Avit is just a little too large for that quality to shine through, some aspects do suffer, but it is still an excellent site with a lot going on.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: DJMC 17 reviews from this member

We have just spent a week here, and found the site to be excellent.

I booked direct with the site online, and asked for a large pitch as we have a twin axle.

As you arrive the site looks fantastic from the main road, and the welcome we received was very friendly.

They allocated us an 'easy access' pitch, which was plenty big enough for the car & caravan & awning etc, although it was a little difficult to position the van due to the trees, but luckily we had help from nearby neighbours when we had to unhitch and push !

Our pitch had no shade until approx 7pm which was fine with us. Some of the pitches in the centre of the site were totally shaded.

The pool complex was very good, with the usual sunbed issues, but it was acceptable to take your own chairs which lots of people were doing.

The shop was well stocked, and although more expensive than the supermarkets, not excessively over priced.

We didn't really go to the bar very often, but there was entertainment on most evenings, which stopped at 11pm prompt, and although we were fairly close to the bar & restaurant, we didn't have any problems with noise. In fact, our teenage daughters reported that the security guard was very strict if anyone was heard to be making too much noise around the site, he was there to remind them to be quiet for the comfort of others !

The toilet blocks were always clean, and we never had to queue for a shower despite the site being constantly full.

We used the restaurant one night, and it was very nice food. Our girls used the cafeteria on numerous occasions, it was good value for money and there was a good choice of 'snack' meals.

All in all we thought this was a great site, with a nice atmosphere, and we will definitely return if we go to the same area next year.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: MYFAMILY 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a 2 week stay with Eurocamp. We had a fantastic caravan (new for 2011) and a brilliant pitch looking out onto the fields, driving range and activities. We could not have asked for better and if you stay with Keycamp in their top of the range caravans, you will get the same view. Ideal if your kids want to play football/games.

The pool complex is good with two slides for using rubber rings. Take your own rings as they are expensive in the site shop. The only downside to the pools were the lack of loungers. In peak season the pools are packed and even though the site states that it does not allow reserving a lounger, it happens with most people doing it when getting their croissants first thing in the morning and then not turning up till the middle of the afternoon. This is a gripe of mine but may not bother some people. A lot of people took their own foldable loungers.

The bar is large and offers plenty of entertainment for the kids. We ate in the bar cafeteria a couple of times and the food is nice and surprisingly cheap for a site restaurant. The take away is open until about 11pm for crepes etc. We used the a la carte restuaurant which needs to be booked with reception. This was quite expensive but the food and service was great and well worth trying.

I cannot comment on the toilet blocks as we had a static caravan but I did use the washing machine of which there a few scattered about the site. This costs 4. 50 euros. Again, take your own liquid/powder as it is expensive in the shop.

Some reviews have commented on noise late at night. We never experienced this and whenever there was entertainment, it always ended at 11pm on the dot. There were lots of families with kids and lots of gangs of teenagers. At one point, my son wouldn't go in the inside pool because he said there were loads of older kids in there. Unfortunatley, as always, the gangs of teenagers were English, smoking, drinking, F'ing and B'linding. You never saw French, German or Dutch kids acting like this. It wasn't a huge problem, I just get wound up by it but my husband didn't notice a thing when I brought it up.

There is plenty for you to do on site. There are kids clubs, quad bikes for adults and children, driving range, putting green, petanque, table tennis, tennis, bike hire, pools, PGL centre which does archery, abseiling, wall climbing, zip wire and leap of faith and also a soccer station for your football mad kids.

This site is quite remote and you will need a car if you are staying here as the site shop is very expensive and I don't think it stocks enough to feed a family for 2 weeks. The nearest intermarche is in Le Bugue 6km away and there is also a petrol station there. A word of warning, Le Bugue holds a market on Tuesdays and Saturdays and the traffic is horrendous. We maded this mistake and ended up sitting in a 5km traffic queue. Avoid on these days if you can. Tip = when you come out of the campsite, you turn left to go to Le Bugue. Carry on and you come to the hamlet of St. Avit Vialard. The road turns very sharply to the left here (you'll see a church in front of you) but instead of going left, turn right (signposted Paunat). This is a one car road, although we hardly ever saw any other cars. It takes you straight down into Le Bugue. Turn left at the end of the road and you are at a roundabout. Turn right into Le Bugue and you miss out the queue of traffic. It sounds complicated but it isn't. We did it once and used that road from then on as it was a lot easier.

We visited Bergerac which is a 1 hour drive. If you like quaint medieval cobbled streets, then this is for you. It's a beautiful town and there is a boat that goes down the Dordogne river here. A must do in the region is a canoe trip down the Dorgogne river. There are loads of companies to choose from but we paid 45 euros for a 2 and 3 person canoes. We did a 15km trip and stopped for snacks along the way. The kids and us loved it and I would definitely recommend doing this. There are numerous caves in the area, some on the doorstep or further afield. There is one on the road I mentioned above on the way to Le Bugue.

All in all, I would recommend this site although as I said, I would drive there or do fly drive. There were some people who had flown but but not hired a car and they said that they felt restricted to the site because it was too far to walk to the nearest town/shops. It's a long drive down, 7. 5 hours driving time from Caen to the site and that's using all motorways (total of around 60 euros in tolls).

I have no idea what some people have against Eurocamp/Keycamp but we have used them for the past 5 years and never had any problems at all. I would always recommend them to anybody.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Queenbee3 2 reviews from this member

I wanted to leave a review for this fantastic campsite in the dordogne. We visited with our two young children, 2 and 5 in June and found the site quiet and very relaxing. We stayed with eurocamp in a static caravan with a great spot overlooking the activities and playing field. We were next to lots of English and Dutch holiday makers and everyone was very friendly.

The pools are excellent. Two outdoor and 1 indoor. Plus an excellent toddler pool with a pirate ship and slides, perfect for our kids, safe and with lots of seating surrounding it ( I was pregnant and so needed a seat!). The river slide looked great for older children but you must have a large ring, so purchase beforehand.

The shop sells the rings but they are pricey.

The shop was well stocked for what we needed and lovely bread, croissants and pain au raisons. Lovely. Although they sold out quickly each day.

The restaurant was a bit posh for us with our sometimes noisy children although there was a cafe which was a bit less formal.

The playpark was excellent for us and next to the pub/cafe seating ( I needed to sit down a lot!). There was a cool springy climbing frame for older children and all the equipment looked fairly new.

We drove down from Scotland and used the overnight Portsmouth to st Malo sailing, and it was worth the long journey. The Dordogne is beautiful and we went on lots of day trips to Sarlat, Domme and the many grottes (underground caves).

Overall I would recommend this site for all, and eurocamp were great- our mobile home with decking was perfect with a gas bbq and our own shower. Our eldest daughter is at school now so we will have to take our summer holiday in early July so we expect the experience to be a bit busier although up in Scotland the school holidays start earlier than England so hopefully will avoid the crowds. Off to the Loire and Vendee this year but will return to this site when our baby is a bit older to cope with the 7 hour drive from st malo to the dordogne.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chefman 1 review from this member

I have been a bit slack not reviewing this site sooner. I've just read the previous review from last August and I cannot agree with it.

I don't think this site was any worse than most large sites in France. If you want a quiet site my tip is to camp and not go to sites where the Brits flock to mobile homes on offer from the likes of Eurocamp.

The restaurant was excellent, pools good, shop well stocked, staff friendly, the local area was for me some of the most beautiful in France, the towns had great markets and local festivals were fun.

I would go back to this site but I make it a policy not to do that because France has so many brilliant sites; although we are going to the same region this year.

Not like Benidorm at all but perhaps not for those who look for total silence after 10 pm.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 7896terry 2 reviews from this member

Hello all, Just thought I had to write a review of this campsite.

As we were holidaying with friends who had not previously camped and had older children I decided to break my golden rule of staying at a eurocamp / keycamp site. - Big Mistake!

Firstly the positives- the swimming pool complex is excellent and provided both indoor and outdoor fun for hours for my children.

Now the negatives! - We stayed there fore 2 weeks - had to -they take payment up front and would not give a refund! and between 6 adults and 7 children I think we had a hot water shower maybe 3-4 times between us.

PITCHES - This is no rural retreat they pack you in like sardines. My guy ropes were actually touching the next pitch. Which was not a pitch but the owners had squeezed some friends in at the last minute!

NOW the real problem - noise! I have never stayed on a site in France where noise went on past 11pm - let alone the sites own music system! This place is more like Benidorm than rural France noise every night until 2am. Drunk teenagers - always English unfortunately - no parents?? shouting and screaming. I know I sound like a party pooper but I love a glass of red myself but this was a joke. When I complained I was told yes we do have a problem with teenagers! I spoke to other families with young children some had booked through eurocamp and were going to complain also.

I know the other reviews of this site were good - it was one of the reasons I chose this site, if you like package holidays go to this site, if you want to camp avoid!

Previous     16 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -    All Sites in Aquitaine   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2594 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019