Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Castel La Bien Assise

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Guines > Castel La Bien Assise Reviews

Castel La Bien Assise
Cd 231
Guines
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62340
Tel: 0033 03 21 35 20 77
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: 06/04/ To 26/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 105 Reviews
                8/10 from 105 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  105 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The mutts nuts 4 reviews from this member

Excellent site, highly recommend, Frederick and his family go the extra mile so you enjoy your stay, well kept site very clean toilets 5 stars well deserved ! Use this site every year on our annual holidays !

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnypanic 14 reviews from this member

What a surprising little site!

Due to its proximity to Calais and how it lends itself to people using it as either a first or last stop to or from the port or tunnel I was expecting it to be a little on the lower reading of the scale but it is really nice site!

Set in the grounds of a manor house it has loads of space for tourers and tents and also has eurocamp type tents. The facilities are well maintained and there is a nice pool with an opening roof. There is a decent bar serving food, a small shop and an upmarket restaurant on site but I advise that you book your table as soon as you can as it's very difficult to get a table.

I can't really fault the place and was amazed by it after stumbling on it by accident. It's about 15 mins away from the tunnel and definitely worth checking out either on you way in or out of France.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lidds0 34 reviews from this member

We've used this site a good few times over the years but only for an overnight at beginning or end of our hols. It's an ideal location for Eurotunnel.

This stay, we noticed they've a new area for 'superior' pitches. These are large, level and complete with picnic bench and garden garden shed containing, apparently, BBQ and fridge. These pitches naturally attract a premium price tag and weren't available on ACSI charge of €19. 00

The campsite was largely empty when we were there, yet we were offered choice of just 2 pitches, which seemed a bit odd. Nevertheless, we were very happy and the site, as usual, felt safe and well maintained.

One small niggle: there was no soap in the dispensers. Oversight or cost-cutting measure?

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Curlyk 10 reviews from this member

Very expensive site for what you get. We had a pitch behind some log cabins where children were playing and kicking footballs onto the caravans and Motorhomes. Buses just outside the site take you into Calais which was the main reason we stayed at this site. Pool is very small and busy for the size of the site. Lidl & carrefour only 1. 5 miles away. Toilets & showers were decent with hot water. Never used the restaurants and the children's play area was right next to the restaurant & pub.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 166 reviews from this member

Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

We stay here for an overnight most years, pre or post Tunnel crossing, as it is very convenient. However we made a decision a few years ago to only use the site during the ACSI discount season.

This year we stayed on our way home, a week or so before they closed for the winter. The site was quite busy with tourers, but I was surprised to find that in the main facility block, only the heated facility was open, leaving 2 toilets and 3 showers in use, there were constant queues. We had been invited to choose our own pitch and had chosen a pitch near the facilities. However on further investigation, I found the facility next to the pool open, which has plenty of toilets and showers, and was very quiet. In similar circumstances, I would make a point of asking which blocks are open, I had assumed they would all be. Bearing in mind the still quite expensive price I was rather disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: JoannaLesley 38 reviews from this member

We stopped here for 1 night before coming home. We can see why Brits love this, as it is a large, tranquil and green site which very much seems to cater to its (mostly) British clientelle. Overnighters may not make full use of the facilities and could find it expensive. We paid 40 euros.

There were a few British holiday makers who were clearly there for a longer period and for those who want a taste of France without travelling too far and who are accustomed to the Caravan Club type set up this is ideal.

There is a covered pool; an extensive shop; a bar/snack bar in the British pub style; and access to a reasonable restaurant. We ate in the restaurant and found the food of a good standard.

Free WiFi is supposedly available for 35 minutes if you buy a drink in the bar. We tried this, but were unable to make a connection. With so many other campsites now offering good quality free WiFi over larger areas, we feel that this is something which should be addressed.

Washing facilities were excellent, with a heated enclosed area for those chillier days.

The site is within easy reach of the tunnel and ports and also of the Auchan in Coquelles for last minute shopping and fuel. Guines itself doesn't have a great deal. We had hoped to find somewhere to eat, but we assume that most people stay on site as there didn't seem to be anywhere in the village.

We used this site by default as the one we originally looked for seemed to have closed. For one night it was expensive and, although a lovely site, we are not sure we would use it again for a single night stop.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Chinster1957 32 reviews from this member

We last visited this site in 2008. It was then a 3 star site having been downgraded a few years earlier. We felt then that the site was ok but was let down badly by the awful food in the takeaway and bar. I said at the end of my review that I didn’t think it would be long before Monsieur Le Camping would again be painting an extra star on his board outside the site. Well, the cheeky devil has only gone and painted 2 extra stars on his sign. In fact it’s a brand new sign.

This site is now a 5 star site and it is well deserved. The pitches all look to be in good order. Site accommodation looks modern. Some of the toilet blocks are heated. In fact all the facilities now look very good indeed. The food in the takeaway is now improved and well worth the money. The whole place looks like a new site. I can now thoroughly recommend La Bien Assise not only for stopovers but for longer holidays as well.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ryandlo 7 reviews from this member

Calais site only 10/15 mins away from Calais / channel tunnel

Stayed here for one night as used the tunnel crossing on route to Belgium, good communication, got there at 10:30 at night and pulled into a really long pitch, stayed hooked up so we could just leave in the morning and someone pulled in behind us later on so very big pitch.

Very efficient and professional

Toilets were ok not the best but had no hand wash which really annoys me.

Didn't see the pool or other amenities so can't comment.

Stayed August 2015, travelled with family

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dirksdonuts 9 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site many times as a last stop over returning from Europe back to the UK

Sadly this time at 60 euros for a family of 4 where the children are 9 & 13 for 12 hours I feel they have pushed the prices far too high. You can't really fault the site as it is a very transient site with people coming and going during the early hours. The facilities are spotless and you never queue for showers etc.

Price wise it's very expensive.

Great for the location and convenience of both the tunnel and the ferry.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 34 reviews from this member

Large campsite 10km south of Calais, excellent for a stopover before or after the ferry or tunnel. A large number of tourist pitches as well as some statics, both the site’s own and outside holiday firms’. Good toilet facilities, clean and well maintained. Site has café / bar and takeaway (nice pizzas) as well as a shop, where bread and croissants can be ordered. There is a play area with fitness equipment as well. There is also a traditional restaurant attached to the site. We would certainly use again and hope to return for a longer stay in the future.

Previous     105 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5625 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019