Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Recreatiecentrum Delftse Hout

Campsite Search > Europe > Holland / Netherlands > Delft > Recreatiecentrum Delftse Hout Reviews

Recreatiecentrum Delftse Hout
Korftlaan 5
2616 Lj
Delft
Netherlands   (Browse area)

Tel: 0031 015 2130040
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Kaffee 16 reviews from this member

 Good site for the location into Delft. Picked a pitch on booking for good quiet spot on site, though road noise from the highway could be heard when site was quiet or when wind was in the wrong direction.

Washblock facilities adequate but a bit dated, though looks like there are plans to demolish and rebuild a whole new lot them for next summer.

Site could do with a revamp of most areas, such as pool and play area, but nothing was wrong just a bit tired and dated - could do with a bigger pool though as it was crowded on a hot afternoon.

Site comes into its own for location, so easy to get into Delft (walk takes 15min) and use public transport for the Hague, Rotterdam etc. Free to visit kids petting farm next door.

Couldn't extend stay on pitch for late ferry (my mistake in not checking times when booking) as new people we coming all the time, but we could move the van to the camper area out front for €10.

We would use it again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: ChrisSue 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed here at the end of a great trip round Belgium and the NL. We chose a premium spot, which was worth it because it's a big site and not much sense of privacy. We were next to a hedge with some grass to put up our awning.

Easy bike ride into Delft. The Vermeer museum was interesting and the town square and area near the canal were great, too.

We found it hard to follow the directions but we got there in the end! Pleasant staff with good facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Walkervj 1 review from this member

 An excellent campsite with plenty of facilities and near enough to the town for supermarkets etc.

Their website does not indicate tent prices, so to give you an idea, we paid 20 euro for a pitch for our small lightweight tent and 2 adults per night, plus just under 2 euro total per night tourist tax. We were there in high season but apparently if out of season there is a discount for those aged 55+. Don't know what it is though.

The price included showers, and the toilets were supplied with paper and soap. We were cycle camping/touring so did not require electricity and like most Dutch campsites we have arrived at, they will always find cycle campers a spot somewhere. In fact they have a piece of ground set aside for lightweight campers - there are no designated pitches and no car access.

However, this area was next to the little swimming pool and paddling pool so there was constant to-ing and fro-ing of excited children during the day, plus their shrieking. Not a problem for us other than the potential for youngsters to trip over guy lines and pegs, as they ran past so very close to the tent. So as we were there for two nights, and the weather was calm, we unpegged the guy lines as we could have lost our titanium pegs if the lines had been tripped over - the pegs tend to flick out and fly a long way and are difficult to find! Fortunately our style of tent will stand without the guy lines. When cooking we made a barricade of things so the children ran around us rather than dangerously close.

As others have said, it is a clean well maintained site with a well-stocked shop and very friendly helpful staff who speak good English, as do all Dutch in the tourist industry. It is a lovely setting with the adjoining woods and lake too.

Re road noise, it was a bit like white noise as it was so constant so it did not disturb us. Where was everyone going 24/7? We found road noise more of a problem in rural campsites where the first vehicle of the day broke the silence and woke us up.

The restaurant and cafe/bar are closed on Mondays which seemed odd during the high season, and only open from 2pm onwards on other days.

There was a notice up that there will be some rebuilding work from autumn 2019 - they plan to demolish and rebuild the restaurant/snack bar building. 


Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: McCarron 13 reviews from this member

 Site is very easy to access, we have 7. 5m motorhome, final part of route has short stretch of narrow single lane road but posed no real problems.

Site approx. 150 touring pitches spread over a large woodland area on the edge of town of Delft. Site has approx. 80 static caravans/camping huts/chalets on site. Reception is manned during day and early evening and has a well stocked shop with bakery, although bakery is only open in high season. Staff speak good English and are very helpful, payment is made on arrival or can be prepaid online when booking. 32. 80 euro for 2 adults (with 3E discount for over 55’s) with motorhome/caravan per night, not the cheapest of sites but loads of facilities and excellent location for Old Delft town. Credit cards are taken. No extra charge for awnings or pets.

Pitches allocated by owner at check in. Site and surrounding town/parks info leaflet and map is supplied, other leaflets are available in reception.

All grass pitches, mix of fully serviced approx. 45 pitches with individual GB type electric hook-up points (10 amp), water/grey waste drain. Remainder are electric only pitches and some no services pitches. Some pitches have screened hedging between them, some also have grass with plastic mesh for hard standing, large and good spacing from adjacent pitch.

Toilet block, is near site entrance and have individual male & female toilet cubicles, (toilet paper /paper towels included) & separate individual shower cubicles. The showers have push button mixer taps and good supply of hot water and do not need tokens. No heating in toilets, were kept clean during our stay. There are 4 dish washing sinks, 2 hand wash sinks, 2 veg prep sinks, baby change and disabled toilet/shower. There is a laundry room with a couple washing machines and tumble dryer. There are 2 x motorhome service points with water & grey waste empty drain, one just past toilet block on the left other is outside entrance barrier on left. 2 x CWP one is in separate room in toilet block, other is outside at other motorhome service point. Site has WiFi, 250M per day which is included in pitch price and has extensive coverage over site, extra capacity can be bought in addition over internet for 7 Euro for 10 Gig. 3G mobile coverage is good for all UK operators using Dutch partner networks. Large children’s play area to rear of toilet blocks, open air swimming pool is beyond this but looks out of use for some time. There are 2 restaurants on site with A La Carte dining on some nights in one and less formal with entertainment in the other, again closed as its low season. There is a large parkland area adjacent to site with loads of walks and excellent cycle routes. Dog walk area on edge of site in parkland.

We were here in early October & the site was noisy and busy with families in the chalets/cabins, really a site more suited for families not couples but a must for a visit to Delft Old town. Had about 30 other tourers, a mix of Dutch/German and British and were located together in one area of the site.

Walk into Old Delft is approx. 15mins from site and can be cycled to in much less on good cycle routes. There are 3 supermarkets in Delft, directions from reception. Shops/Restaurant’s/ Cafés are plentiful and varied in the town centre. Parkland and woodlands are right outside surrounding the site. Bus stop is approx. 5 mins from site, just before you go under motorway bridge, route 61 into town and to train station in Delft with links to Rotterdam/Hague/Amsterdam etc. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hoedown 42 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights on the motorhome pitches outside of the main campsite as we were told it was full. However on looking around this was only because at least half of the site was roped off closed. We were dismayed to find that it still cost us the same amount of money 21. 50 euros per night for a muddy spot completely overshadowed by trees as a normal pitch would have been. The access to the pitches was very narrow and larger units than ours struggled to get sited. For 2 days we had a caravan, with it's awning out and 3 bikes + car next to us overhanging a lot of our pitch making it difficult to get to the ehu and water tap/drain We then had to walk in to the site to use any facilities. We never saw the restaurant open so can't comment on that. The one plus side was the shuttle bus in to the town and the park next door to go for a walk in. Out of our 7 weeks away this was the worst site and the most expensive we stayed on, so will not be going there again. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JacquiR 6 reviews from this member

 We visited for our holiday in August as a family with two young children. We chose the site as we didn't want to travel too far from the ferry port and it looked to be good for young families.

Location: The site is about 45 minutes drive from the Europoort ferry terminal at Rotterdam. It's right on the edge of Delft and you can walk into town in about 15 minutes or to the station in 20. On a bike it's about 5 minutes away. The campsite is part of the wider Delftse Hout recreation area which includes a forest park with cycling trails, a lake with a beach area for playing and paddling, a city farm and water play area and a couple of cafes.

Facilities: The shop is extremely well stocked for a campsite shop (it's like a small corner shop) with fruit, meat, fresh bread and pastries, milk, beer, wine, biscuits, camping accessories, toiletries etc. The washblocks were well equipped with separate showers, toilets and sinks in cubicles. There were family sized shower rooms where you could shower together with children. There was also the best washroom for small children I have seen, with a baby bath, changing mat, toilet cubicles with low toilets for small children and separate showers for young children to use with help. Although it was August and the site was full we never queued (except once for the baby bath). There are covered washing up sinks and a freezer for freezing ice blocks. There is a large laundry room with sinks for handwashing, a machine to spin your clothes if you've handwashed as well as washing machines, tumble driers and ironing facilities. All of the pitches had electric hook up. There is an on site restaurant and snack bar which was open 5/6 nights a week and on the nights it was closed there was a visiting takeaway van (the pizzas were excellent). We did feel that the service in the restaurant the night we ate there was a bit slow. You could hire good bikes on site for what we thought was a very reasonable rate and they also had child seats.

Value for money: We paid 30 Euros a night for the four of us including EHU and we felt that this was good value considering all of the facilities that were provided and the location.

Customer service: The staff in reception and the shop were very helpful including via email before we went. They were very accommodating as we were arriving early and leaving late because of only travelling a short distance from the ferry terminal.

Child friendliness: This is a great site for children. There is a really good playground and a small swimming pool with separate paddling pool. The swimming pool isn't that warm but not unpleasantly cold. There is also a kids club with some activities but this is fairly low key. My little boy did a bit of drawing one morning and enjoyed the singing and dancing one evening. The activities take place in a separate room near the washblocks.

Overall: We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider going back. The pitches aren't particularly spacious but we thought this was not unreasonable given the city location.

Excursions: We took a tram directly from Delft through Den Haag to the beach at Scheveningen which was good. We also visited Madurodam which we all enjoyed. We would recommend the Stads Koffyhuis in Delft where we stopped for lovely hot chocolate/ beer/ pancakes/ snacks. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Suzi1971 15 reviews from this member

 Really loved this site. Spent three nights here. Excellent location for easy cycle or walk into Delft - lovely place. The country park next door is vast with miles and miles of cycling and walking. Little city farm too which was free. Facilities at campsite very good. Always clean and always open! Restaurant on site but we didn't use it just the bar. Live music one night which was good. Unheated pool. Small shop but sold what we needed. Fresh bread etc daily. Reception didn't seem to stick to arrival and dept times. Pitches quite small but more than adequate. Definitely recommend and I loved Delft too! 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Cruz 4 reviews from this member

 This site is great if you like to enjoy your holiday rather than grumbling about kerb positionings however beware of speeding children on go-karts! :D Site facilities are clean and it has a small shop that sells fresh bread and croissants. There is a pool on site so that the kids can have a bit of fun inbetween being dragged around Delft and Rotterdam. Delft itself is lovely and there is a great market in the square on a saturday. Just remember to watch out for nutters on bikes who'd rather run you down then slow down :D The day we left it hammered it down so we packed up and used the Ikea around the corner for a 1 euro breakfast to dry out before heading to Germany :D 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rothie Rovers 7 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from Europe having stayed in 5 sites over 2 weeks and this was our least favourite. On the plus side, it's well situated for Delft, the reception staff are helpful and there is free wifi. Our motorhome is 6m and we had no problems navigating around the site but be aware some of the alleys are dead ends and some of the turn points would be quite tight. The pitches were quite small. The motorhome service point was poor in that it was difficult to access the waste water drain because it was located too close to a kerb. So, in summary, convenient for Delft but small pitches and tight navigation in places. Overall, the site seemed slightly old-fashioned. It cost us 65E for 2 nights as we paid a small surcharge to book a specific pitch in advance. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: M H Francks 3 reviews from this member

 Visited the site in late April, and it was very crowded, with visitors and Caravan Club and Camping and Caravan Club rallies. Restaurant very good, and site personnel very helpful. Watch out if using sat-nav as it will take you under the motorway and tunnel is very low, maybe no clearance for caravan. (Leave motorway at Ikea and pass close to the front of Ikea, before travelling down service road, parallel to motorway) Pool closed, but it was cold. Easy bike ride into Delft. Shop good with fresh bread in morning. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Recreatiecentrum Delftse Hout child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Recreatiecentrum Delftse Hout have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Recreatiecentrum Delftse Hout?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Recreatiecentrum Delftse Hout dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Delft      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Netherlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2234 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020