Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cottington Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Deal > Cottington Lakes Reviews

Cottington Lakes
Sandwich Road
Sholden
Deal
Kent   (Browse area)
CT14 0AR
Tel: 01304 371898
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 25
Open: 01/03/2021 to 30/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 17 Reviews
                8/10 from 17 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  17 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Davidbuck 3 reviews from this member

 Huge site, very spacious pitch separation, good Covid awareness, plenty of facilities.

Walking, fishing or relaxing; woodland, fields and lakes make a very pleasant setting that feels miles away from nearby village of Sholden and even the coastal town of Deal is walkable (just!) - all good! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Slippe 1 review from this member

 Excellent, well looked after and friendly staff,

The tackle shop is well stocked

Would recommend to anybody who wants to fish or just relax,

The town of deal is in easy walking distance so it has everything you need for a short or long stay.

Will be re-booking soon 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lizzie 1 review from this member

 The campsite is geared towards fishing enthusiasts, which we were not. But this did not detract from our visit.

The location was perfect for our requirements (visiting family in Deal and Finglesham) as well as being a quiet and peaceful spot.

Facilities were fine, didn't use the cafe but the food smelt good in the mornings.

On site staff were unobtrusive but helpful when needed. Grateful to the site that I could visit local family for the first time in 2020 as I live 200 miles away. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Kaleig 1 review from this member

 Great place to camp, helpful staff, facilities just what we needed. Cafe decent value for money.

Great for fishing as well.

Only downside was that it didn’t have proper washing up facilities 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zedhead36 28 reviews from this member

 I fished Cottington Lakes in 2016 and while there looked around the campsite and Cl, so this year I returned with the wobblebox and stayed on the Cl for 6 nights.

The approach is quite easy and the Cl is a beautiful, large meadow close to the specimen lakes. You will need extra hookup cables if you don't want to be on top of your neighbours as the hookups are all from one point in a corner of the field.

All the grounds are beautifully tended and wildlife is abundant. From rabbits and squirrels to buzzards, kingfishers and muntjac deer

The fishing is better then good, and in the specimen lakes there are true monsters, with carp to over 50lb, pike 20lb+, perch 5lb+ and rudd over 2lb. For the pleasure fisherman there are several other lakes of varying difficulties, all beautifully tended.

The services are all by the reception block and are clean and adequate. There is also a cafe, bar (limited opening hours) and tackle shop. The staff are all friendly and knowledgable about the site, lakes and local surroundings

Nearby Sandwich is a lovely extremely old town, worth a few hours just strolling around the narrow streets and sucking up the history all around you. There are also some very fine old pubs and eateries, antiques and knick-nacks.

Deal is a much larger seaside town with good shopping and a very steep pebble beach.

The Coach and Horses (turn right towards sandwich) serves lovely food and the staff are absolutely lovely

The only slight downside for me is that there is a bit of road noise and the local military do occasionally low fly over the site, but this was for me a very minor gripe

Whether you fish or not this is a lovely place to stay, I recommend it 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gingawarrior 82 reviews from this member

 Picked this site whilst on a tour of Kent and were pleasantly surprised and it turned out to be our favourite site, possibly helped by the best of the weather.

The greeting was efficient, if not particularly friendly and we were given a few different options as to where to pitch, we chose the furthest pitch in the quietest area and made the right choice, it was nice and quiet with plenty of space.

Facilities are as previously described, clean, a bit dated and there are only one for each sex.

Deal is a really nice town and we enjoyed Dover Castle and the walk along the White Cliffs from Dover to Deal.

If I was in the area I would stay here again, but feel I've got most out of the area for a few years at least. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a few nights whilst visiting the local area. The greeting on arrival was a little strange in the café, but we were then allowed to choose our spot and report back later.

The facilities were shared with the fisherman and always seemed clean. The on site café was also handy for a bacon roll in the morning. The site was very nice and peaceful.

The local area has a few historic things to see and do, and if you like castles, you're in luck! Nice walk back along the coast from Dover to Deal.

We initially arrived thinking we'd stay a night or two, but stayed three, so I think that showed we liked the place. If in the area again, I'd head here. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RoyVaux 45 reviews from this member

 We received a friendly welcome and check-in for the Caravan Club CL. We were given a site rules sheet and told we must not go near the fishing lakes without buying a permit. Fair enough we supposed, but the rules were a bit overdone. We were lucky enough to get one of the 4 CL EHUs (these cannot be booked if staying only 1 night) but they are all on one post in the corner of a large field. Fortunately we had an extension cable to allow us to pitch away from the other site users. We paid £16 and feel this was ok as it included use of a shower and toilet - there is only one though for each sex covering both the CL and adjoining commercial site. Dog walking had to be contained within the large (for a CL) site and the approach driveway. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Motobiman 7 reviews from this member

 CL site used - Basic facilities and only one loo and shower in both male and female toilets for both the CL and adjacent large public site.

Handy for Sandwich and Deal both lovely towns.

Not fishing so can't comment on that.

EHU in corner of CL field means a bit squashed up if 5 on site at once so positioning of unit important if you want your privacy.

Very close is the Fowlmead park with long Tarmac cycle track and several off road sections, very good with bikes for hire if you don't take your own.

SWMBO loved the lack of traffic there.

Good bike ride from Deal to Sandwich too. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Petal2008 2 reviews from this member

 If you enjoy fishing then this is an ideal site. Fishing is very good here and there is a tackle shop on site. The site is quiet and secure with a token operated barrier. There is a small bar and café on site. There is a separate male and female shower and toilets, they are basic but clean. The showers are not on a timer and are included in the pitch price. They are hot and have good water pressure. The pitches are reasonably priced and are spacious. The site never seems to be overcrowded. A cycle park is next to the site and dogs can be walked there but have to be kept on a lead. The town of Deal is a short drive away. We love this site and have stayed here in a tent and a caravan. 


Previous     17 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cottington Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cottington Lakes?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cottington Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Deal      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3037 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement