Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Foxholes Castle Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Bishops Castle > Foxholes Castle Camping Reviews

Foxholes Castle Camping
Foxholes
Montgomery Road
Bishops Castle
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY9 5HA
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 121 Reviews
                9/10 from 121 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  121 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stuee 19 reviews from this member

 We loved the informal atmosphere of the site and the welcome.

The views were 360° and breathtaking. However some fields are therefore highly exposed to the 4 winds.

Not to worry as there are several more sheltered, smaller fields nearer the farmhouse.

The eco ethos was refreshing as their loos are normally flushed but with a clever eco rainwater and heating system. ( Top marks for this!) Recycling bins and clever repurposing was evident.

Their common room was a great idea for inclement weather and socializing and had plenty of information.

Also the optional burger van a great idea for breakfast, although we didn't partake on this occasion as we had own food to use up.

The downhill walk into the delightful little town of bishop's castle is very worthwhile as it's pubs and shops are charming.

The return walk is a bit of a slog.

If ever we return to this area we will revisit and definitely highly recommend. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Coffeegirl_forever 14 reviews from this member

 I felt like I was having a proper holiday at Foxholes in the chaos of covid times. CoOp had supply chain issues and a refrigerator problem so bare shelves but people still kept their spirits up.

Pitched in a different place to usual it was fine as the views are great from most spots.

I was gutted that the Greedy Fox was shut on our 2nd weekend as I really wanted to try the amazing looking waffles - there's always next time!

A shower being 50p for 4 minutes was well worth it as it was lovely and warm. It also helps with the environmentally friendly aspects of the site.

I think the rabbits have been taking advantage of quiet times as I counted over 20 each time I walked up the field. Cheeky sparrows were coming in to my tent to find crumbs. There were baby blackbirds being fed, several kites and other wildlife around us. It's just a shame some dog owners allowed their beasts to foul and urinate on the grass as they were letting them loose.

It's a great location if you're happy to walk through a field in to town or want a long walk in the hills. Bishop's castle and the surrounding area are fantastic to explore.

I have been coming to this site for years and am surprised everytime I meet someone who has never been before. I hope to continue to go for years. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Myfanwy Couple 47 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. You pitch where you like to in a choice of fields to make the most of the great views.

Facilities are good and good value. You will need ramps to get level.

Limited number of EHU. You will need to email book.

Footpath takes you into centre bit of uphill slog back.

Will recommend 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Catface1 12 reviews from this member

 Beautiful countryside campsite. Great views, lots, and I mean lots of rabbits in all the fields. Good clean toilets and showers these are coin operated 50p and you get plenty of time.

There is a room a fridge and freezer, books and games. The washing up facilities are very good but note there is no washing machine here.

The walk to Bishops castle is across fields so entirely safe although a bit steep for the stagger back from the pub!

The town is also hilly, there is a nice little cafe in town, Kirsty's which is opposite the Co op where they do a great fry up.

We have stayed here before and will definitely stay here again when in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Mrs lowe 3 reviews from this member

 Close proximity to the lovely town of Bishops castle

Most pitches are sloping no electric available for our 1 night stay but where able to book last min through the online booking system for an overnight stay.

Toilets and showers where clean extra charge of 50p per shower

Great location on the Shropshire way 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Nat Walton 69 1 review from this member

 My second visit to this site. Close enough to home to get a sneaky couple of nights away. Set in the beautiful Shropshire countryside,

This site is clean and well managed, with large showers, and spotless toilets.

I went mid week and there were only a few tents on site but I recommend that you book in advance as it does get busy during weekends.

The field is large enough to give you plenty of space, a fire pits are available to hire.

Shropshire is a beautiful part of the country, and has lots of places to explore from market towns to some great hills and walks. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Cn150 16 reviews from this member

 Regular May visit to the lovely Foxholes - it's as nice as ever.

Lots of recycling, choose any pitch, campfires allowed,

It's surrounded by the rolling Shropshire (and Welsh) Hills. Lovely walk downhill walk to Bishops castle to visit the Three Tuns pub and brewery.

Nice clean toilet and shower facilities. Showers are 50p for 4 minutes and you need a 50p coin to activate them. The on-site Greedy Fox trailer sells lovely breakfasts from 8-11 - vegetarian and vegan options are available too.

The site fees are reasonable too. All together a lovely site and we will hopefully be visiting again soon. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Acala 2 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed 5 nights in this very eco friendly, very well maintained campsite.

Owners were always busy gardening and pottering around. Toilet facilities were very clean.

We visited church stretton which was okay, we enjoyed Ludlow very much, pretty place with some lovely traditional shops.

On the way to Ludlow was a farm shop which was very nice, we purchased some beautiful steaks and some chutneys and mustards.

Would definitely recommend this site and the outstanding views in the area. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: LEO02 34 reviews from this member

 Large site, which has a mix of seasonal and touring pitches.

At £9 per person, per night it is reasonable vfm.

There are 4 different camping areas, all surrounding the toilet/shower block.

Toilets and showers are clean and tidy and there is also what the site calls a "common room", which contains kids games and a bookswap facility.

Recycling provision is the best I've ever seen.

Off ground campfires are fine, and fire pits and logs are available.

Much of the site is sloping, so arrive early for the best pitches.

The top tent field has no set pitch markings, and you pitch wherever you fancy.

The small town of Bishops castle is a 15 min downhill walk away, and is a quirky, quite charming place.

Lots of pubs, and places to eat in town.

Lots if independent, interesting small shops too.

I would return here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Annasuz 4 reviews from this member

 Spacious site in a beautiful area.

50 pence for a 4 minute shower which ran cold for the first 2 minutes was a nuisance.

Great to be able to have a camp fire at this time of year.

Nice walk to Bishops castle, bit of an incline though. 
via mobile


Previous     121 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Foxholes Castle Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Foxholes Castle Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Foxholes Castle Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bishops Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2412 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder