Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Foxholes Castle Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Central England > Shropshire > Bishops Castle > Foxholes Castle Camping > Reviews

Foxholes Castle Camping
Foxholes
Montgomery Road
Bishops Castle
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY9 5HA
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/04/2024 to 30/09/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 134 Reviews
                9/10 from 134 Reviews

Photos (29)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  134 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: September 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wafers 1 review from this member

 Foxholes campsite was perfect for our visit to bishops castle Michaelmas fare.

We have stayed there several times before and the facilities are more than adequate also the rates are reasonable. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Coffeegirl_forever 16 reviews from this member

 Excellent weekend despite the cancellation of the ale trail.

The site wasn't crowded so it was quite peaceful waking up to the stunning views of the Shropshire countryside.

A lovely weekend as ever. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Cus10 1 review from this member

 Great site. Very friendly owners. We stayed on a wet and windy weekend, . But still had a great time.

Games room kept the kids entertained for a while.

Short walk to town approx 10 mins.

Bishops castle is a lovely village. Good pubs, a coop and a garage, amongst other shops. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2023  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Westhe 1 review from this member

 Great camp site all the facilities required plus more

Fantastic views over the Shropshire countryside

The owners very helpful and welcoming

Bishops castle well worth a visit 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Fpcorb 1 review from this member

 Great campsite, amazing views and just a short walk to the lovely town of Bishops castle.

Lots of space to choose your own pitch.

Clean well maintained facilities but maybe could do with more showers as only 3 for women and the same in the mens

Have been several times as such a great location 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Neilj5 8 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site, It had wonderful views. Although it was busy it was very peaceful. The toilets and showers were great. More washing up facilities would be nice as they were always busy.

The walk into the village was lovely with beautiful views. We continued the walk beyond the village, the footpath went on forever.

Went back to the village for a drink as all the shops were closed apart from the co op which comes in very handy if you need anything.

Pubs were all nice, we liked The castle as it had a lovely beer garden, although it was the most expensive.

Tried all the pubs in the village, as I said The castle was our favorite.

Fancied an Indian but it had terrible reviews so settled for a Chinese from the Dragons Lair, very nice.

Walk back up to the campsite wasn’t as bad as previous reviews stated (IMO).

All in all a lovely Bank Holiday break Thank you. 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Coffeegirl_forever 16 reviews from this member

 As always it was a great weekend despite the ale trail not being on.

The bunnies have definitely been breeding since last year as I was counting 40 plus each time I crossed the fields (no I wasn't drunk and seeing double!)

It's a great place for the scenery and also the walk in to town. Every time we come there are different shops opening and closing so there's always something to talk about. There are a few places to eat but booking in the pubs is essential at the weekends.

On site I noticed the notices have been updated explaining about the facilities which is great as it should be advertised more. The recycling area has changed, not sure why but it is more visible now. I was again gutted that the Greedy Fox was not open as they used to have fantastic food. Due to the extremely hot and dry weather the fire pits were not being hired out but we didn't need one or miss it.

Needless to say, we're coming back again! 


Date of Visit: July 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Jane21 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with lovely views.

Facilities good, toilets and showers clean. Shirt walk into bishops castle.

I would definitely come back.

Pubs in bishops castle are good and you would recommend the three tuns and the castle for lovely meals. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Fielde 1 review from this member

 Beautiful peaceful idyllic lake side camping. Pitch where you want. No sense of overcrowding. Fantastic to see goslings, ducklings and more.

Local pub Red Lion (5 min drive) was great. We set up a fire pit by the lake edge and chilled.

Excellent clean facilities, and constant hot water, good showers and covered washing up area but one more loo in main block would help.

Old fishing lodge has oven and hob and extra shower and 2 loos.

Very impressive glamping options.

I'd definitely stay again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2022 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: MrV1905 4 reviews from this member

 Easy to find site just outside the town.

Friendly welcome and was directed to fields where I could pitch up. I chose the Tent Field which is large and has spectacular views.

Some slopes, but was easy to find a flat section. The only downside is the toilet/shower facilities are some distance away, but not a major issue. Basic toilets and showers, but clean and well maintained.

The Shropshire Way runs through the site and is a 10 minute stroll into town (15 minutes on the way back as it's all up hill!).

Overall, a very good site and at £10/night, you can't go worng. 


Previous     134 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Foxholes Castle Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Foxholes Castle Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Foxholes Castle Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bishops Castle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46342 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement