Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Broad Meadow House

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > St Austell > Broad Meadow House Reviews

Broad Meadow House
Quay Road
Charlestown
St Austell
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL25 3NX
Tel: 01726 76636
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Just 12 GUESTS max on site! See details below
Open: Easter To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Drawnj14 1 review from this member

 Superb location, stunning views, spacious pitches, lovely facilities and the kind of hosts that should run every campsite in the known Universe! Charlestown is a wonderful place, if you've watched the recent BBC adaptation of Poldark, then you will have seen the harbour used in a number of scenes. St Austell is within a few minutes car journey and has all the shopping facilities you will need. Indulge in at least one breakfast delivered to your tent door (do it early in your stay and I guarantee that you will not be able to resist another!). A visit here has to be on your bucket list of things to do before you die! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Msoutho 2 reviews from this member

 What an amazing campsite. The best we have ever been too! We spent 3 nights here straight after our wedding and pitched our bell tent in the Orchard field, this had been set aside for us by the owner to give us a little privacy. Ill start with the owner. Lovely, friendly, chatty and chilled out, would do anything for you xx The views across the bay are amazing and as this is a campsite that only allows a few tents you have loads of space and don't feel squished in like you do on some sites. My husband had called ahead of our arrival and asked if some flowers and champagne could be arranged. So I was met with a beautiful bouquet and a bottle of Mot in a ice bucket and 2 champagne flutes! The breakfasts were gorgeous, what a treat having coffee, croissants, cooked breakfast baps, orange juice, fruit etc delivered to your tent at a time that suits you! The facilities are immaculate, funky and nothing is to much trouble. They even insisted on doing a load of our washing that we desperately needed as she didn't want us visiting the launderette on our honeymoon :-) we have visited a fair few campsites but this is by far the best ever:-) we will be back Thank You so much for a memorable few days xx 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Victor Kyham 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from an eight day camp at Broad Meadow House. From booking our pitch right through to leaving the site has been a wonderful experience.

Owners Debs & Neil are an incredibly friendly and wonderful hosts. Debs corresponded with me prior to our booking and sent by text really helpful directions on the day of our arrival.

A beautiful, quiet and immaculate site. Sea views, big skies and a warm atmosphere.

Facilities are spotless & modern. Shower and wash-hand basin - Plenty of pegs to hang your stuff up on. Toilet - Really clean with a cracking antique cistern. Washing up - Clean Belfast sink, loads of really hot water.

There is a fridge and a freezer for campers to use.

Forgotten your tent pegs?? Don't worry, there are spares here for you to use. Need to charge your mobile - Electric for you to plug into. Maps are available. Washing line available. Barbecue will be lent to you if you with to use one. Fantastic.

The breakfasts that you can purchase and are brought to your tent are lovely. A real treat.

There is an abundance of wildlife around this site - owls, buzzards, woodpeckers, peregrine falcons etc.

I'd heartily recommend this site to anybody wanting a break in a quiet well run site who likes spending their time in a wonderful location.

If miles upon miles of tents, noisy campsite club are your thing then maybe give it a swerve. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Peggytent 2 reviews from this member

 Good points: A much hyped campsite in a beautiful quiet location, great as a touring base and it's unusual in that it's small (12 guests max) and offers pre pitched tents and breakfast. No local shops for simple supplies like bread milk and water. The camping field itself is described as being on a 'slight incline' which is a worrying bit of litotes as the gradient is certainly not 'slight'. Only one toilet and one shower room between 12 people meant queueing in the morning and this facility is located in the owners back garden right next to their house and a fair distance from the tents. There's also no hot water for washing pots and pans and no facilities for drying on a not uncommon wet day. It's comparatively quite expensive for what it offers and we were disappointed. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slowroad 51 reviews from this member

 A lovely and unusual site and very friendly and helpful owner. I did 'DIY' camping but I'd be tempted to do camping B&B next time as the breakfasts smelled lovely!

Very nice toilet/shower, very homely and spotless. Nice little washing-up area.

Great views and very convenient for the Eden Project and Lost Gardens of Heligan.

Charlestown is a nice place to wind down, a choice of eateries if you want to eat out (I had delicious fish & chips), and plenty of people-watching from the harbour.

I'd definitely go back again, and stay for longer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rhustrand 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a long weekend at Broad Meadow House, Debbie was a fantastic host and so friendly, happy and welcoming. The tent and breakfast was excellent, the beds were so cosy.

The view from the camping field is wonderful, right across the bay. Charlestown was a lovely little town, not to touristy ! and plenty of good value places to eat.

Breakfast is delivered by Debbie to your tent and certainly sets you up for the day.

Facilities were clean and plenty of hot water and free.

Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LauraJD 2 reviews from this member

 We rang Broad Meadow as it was first in our pile of St Austell campsites and as soon as we spoke to Deb we knew that we had made a great choice! She was exceptionally helpful and friendly and gave us loads of advice about the area. We had planned to move on but soon realised that you can visit all of Cornwall from here.

We had the choice of a flat or sloping pitch and had plenty of space between each tent. Deb made fantastic breakfast baskets for around 6 per person which are brought to your tent when you don't want to make your own!

The campsite has a lovely view of the sea overlooking Charlestown harbour. Charlestown is a working harbour and had three tall ships in the port when we were there, not sure if they are a permanent feature but were stunning. There are a few pubs we tried with good food and local beer.

At the campsite the facilities were spotless, modern and obviously well maintained, the showers were wonderfully hot and were free. We extended our stay as we didn't want to leave and would recommend this site to anyone wanting a relaxing retreat in Cornwall. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loobyloo1969 11 reviews from this member

 We managed to get a last minute booking and I must say it was so worth it! WOW, we have never stayed at a site like it! If you prefer rowdy, on site bars/entertainment then this is NOT the place for you! Only 12 (yes 12 people on site at any one time!)
This is an ideal campsite for first time campers, because you have the choice of either pitching your own tent (which we did) or using one of the pre-erected tents. Each of these had a ready made up bed, hospitality tray, chairs and a small table, small camping stove with kettle, together with other essential bits you might need.
We set up camp to enjoy a spectacular view over the bay / sea. The owners were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The facilities were fantastic - one loo and a separate shower room with a sink, lots of free hot water, hair dryer, power points for your shavers. And what can I say about the delicious 'breakfast baskets'. You have the choice of 3 menus. 1.Cooked breakfast in a bap, coffee/tea/fresh juice. 2.Pain Au Chocolat/croissant/yoghurt/fresh fruit/fruit juice/tea and coffee. 3.Fresh homemade smoothie/cereal bar/fruit juice/tea and coffee.
Well worth the 6 per person, you can choose what time you would like it brought up to you too! I hope this site stays 'exclusive'!

We are definitely going back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mikeyd 9 reviews from this member

 Such a fantastic site, we considered not sharing it with anyone. We felt it was our duty to however as we are proper campers!

Location. Set a few miles from St. Austell the location was absolutely stunning. The field is high up and we had an amazing view of the bay and the small harbour town of Charlestown from the entrance to our tent. Perfect to sit and enjoy with a cold beer or G and T!

The site is a five minute stroll from the little town that is home to safe beaches, a great variety of bars and restaraunts and the shipwreck museum.

Facilities. As this is a small site which will only ever have 12 people on it, there is only one loo and one seperate shower. This was fine for us as amazingly, we were the only people on the site that weekend. These were spotlessly clean, roomy and well designed. They are without a doubt the best facilities we have ever found on a camp site, genuinely like being at home. The shower had lots of free hot water and space to wash and change.

Pot wash outside under cover with light, electric points and a small fridge. No hot water so you just take a boiled kettle with you.

Free Wi-fi connection available here too.

The site. The field is sloping (hence the fab views) with flat section at top of field for pitching tent and a 'stage' at the bottom.

Once you have unloaded and set up, the cars are kept out of the field on a gravel carpark outside owners house.

We shared the field with George the goose and other feathered friends (housed in their own enclosure) who kept our daughter entertained with their honking. Very well trained cockerel, doesn't crow before eight o clock!

BIG BONUS FEATURE! The lovely owners Deb and Neil do a fabulous breakfast delivered directly to your tent even in the pouring rain! You can order the day before from a menu and they bring it about 8 the next morning. Food delicious and a pot of fresh coffee too, absolutely blissful and reasonably priced.

Deb and Neil (and Smuggler the dog) completely lovely people with great communication by e mail prior to our visit and genuine hospitality and warmth on our arrival.

They were very relaxed about our stay and even told us we could go whenever we wanted to on our final day. It was without a doubt the best camping trip we have ever had. Great people in a wonderful location and fabulous weather to top it all.

Would we go again? Definitely. If we could, we would enquire about a seasonal pitch! Highly recommended! 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Broad Meadow House child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Broad Meadow House?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Broad Meadow House dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Austell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7180 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement