Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Snowdon Inn

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > The Snowdon Inn Reviews

The Snowdon Inn
Cwm Y Glo
Llanberis
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4EE
Tel: 07738 859585
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/01/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 5 Reviews
                8/10 from 5 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Macuser 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here twice now. The owner, Ted, is a splendid chap who couldn't be friendlier. He allowed us to return in the PM after our marathon to get a shower and even made a cuppa for us before we set off on the journey home.

There are basic bunkhouses available as well as the camping (handy if you arrive V late in the dark and rain with a tent you'd rather not fight with)

Its a couple of miles walk to Llanberis, 99% off road so a lovely hours stroll.

Had difficulty finding the place first time- but as its only a hundred metres or so from the 'main' road from England it shouldn't have been - shame it couldn't have one of those brown roadsigns with a tent and Van like you see all over the place where I live. (see local Council Ted?)

Facilities are very clean and loads of hot water. Only problem is there's just one shower/toilet block. This was no problem at all for me but I can understand why ladies are not so keen on sharing. (I mean the building/space - obviously the WCs and showers all have their own lockable doors).

I'd have no hesitation returning here or recommending to others. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Maddy14 4 reviews from this member

 This is a great site. As you pull in you wonder if it's a site at all. However once you are in the pitches are well spaced and separated by wild grass/flowers The owner was so friendly. We arrived on a very hot day and he pointed out the 'swimming pool'. A beautiful freshwater river running through the fields. We had to walk through a field with horses and foals in it to reach this. It was beautiful. Had a lovely refreshing swim. The views of snowdonia were amazing from there.

The electric hookup has a 3 pin plug, odd but the owner lent us an adapter willingly.

He didn't throw us off site at a particularly time either which meant we could walk snowdon early and return late afternoon without Any problem.

Fire pits and log seats were there for you to use free of charge. Lovely

The showers (only 2) were immaculate and looked newly built

I will certainly return. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shartley 9 reviews from this member

 Pulled into the site following a day of rain and the site was quite water logged. Managed to find a relatively dry patch and pitched the tents. Some very good views from the site of Snowdon and the lake nearby.

Good Points;

Fires allowed on site - although have to be with wood from the pub.

Pub - Could be walked and has 9 real ales on hand pump along with a wide variety of lagers, food slightly on expensive side but with a quality menu.

Walkway - Through the site there is a decking walkway which keeps the ground well maintained

Trolleys - Cars are left in the car park, but there are trolleys available to transport things to your tents.

Toilets/Showers - Clean and always warm water

Bad Points

Midges - One night spend constantly batting these away

Toilets/Showers - Not enough of them at all, regular 4 or 5 person queues

We did visit on bank holiday weekend so this may change at quieter times. 8pppn over the bank holiday was quite expensive. Overall not a bad site at all and soon dried out with some good weather. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs. Bonce 273 reviews from this member

 We chose this site for Easter 2008 as it's cheap, has ehu and facilities. When we arrived we could see the camping field but no caravan site. This is at the side of the muddy / icy (delete as appropriate) lane leading to the pub, through a narrow entrance and down a slope. We made it, just, with our single axle van but I think it wouldn't be possible for a twin axle.
Water is either from a tap at the back of the pub, rather far to go, or a water butt. After the initial shock, we rather enjoyed ourselves!
It's very easy to find, just off the main road north of Llanberis (just past the Caernarfon turn, on the right), the pub is good but odd to say the least! Good for touring. We paid 12.50 per night, far too much but all the Snowdonia sites appear expensive. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leeamaher 1 review from this member

 The toilet and showers are cramped and in need of updating (2 toilets, 2 showers for the whole site). There was also an infestation of mizzies although we may have just been unlucky with the time of year that we went.

The pub is a good mile away from the campsite unlike its description on the website, you wouldn't want to walk along the road at night as there aren't any footpaths.

The site itself is in a beautiful location and a ten minute drive from the Llanberis pass (start of Snowdon walks).  



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Snowdon Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Snowdon Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Snowdon Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2094 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement