Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Newnes Touring Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Site Reviews

Newnes Touring Caravan Park
Two Old Newnes Farm Cottages
Ellesmere
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY12 9HH
Tel: 01691 624464
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 38
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daforfar 8 reviews from this member

We spent Easter there, we normally go August carnival weekend, when the weather is good unfortunately due to Easter being early the ground wars very boggy. I cannot thank Robin enough for towing us on and off.

Despite the bad weather we had a good time. Lovely site and facilities and great. Owner. We will be back.

Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angiesluck 3 reviews from this member

Spent a lovely 3 nights here in our tent and would go back so long as we could be guaranteed a flat pitch. Tents seem to be placed on the second field which has more of a slope but the 6 pitches available on that field (as most are seasonal caravans) some are more sloping than others. Numbers 30, 31, 32 I would not like to pitch my tent as they are not as level and tents need level pitches but 33, 34 and 35 are the better ones.

The top field is much flatter but that seems to be kept for caravans, motor homes and trailer tents which to me seems daft when they can adjust their legs on their units but tents can't. When we booked the owner told us to choose which ever pitch we wanted but when we arrived we were told by warden we were to go on the bottom field which is furthest away from toilet block as that is on 1st field.

The toilet block is second to none, absolutely lovely and clean only one sink though and two toilets in the ladies that is. The large sink for pot washing is great too, they even supply washing up liquid and sponges, but we prefer to use our own sponges but its a nice touch. There are two showers with a toilet and basin inside and again lovely and clean. They have a selection of dvd's to use whilst there and some books and dominoes. It is a lovely site clean tidy and well kept and near to town centre which you can walk to through the sheep's field. Friendly staff and quiet. Like I said we would go back so long as we can be given a flat pitch number and not 30, 31 or 32 if we had to go on the bottom field.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 25 reviews from this member

First time at this site, chose it due to being an adults only site. Easy to find whether coming from Ellesmere side or Whittington as well sign posted on road.

We were greeted by Robin, very welcoming, told us to pitch our van where we wanted. There are 2 fields but 2nd field is for seasonal tourers I think.

We pitched in 1st field (20 pitches) which was all grass, the weather was bad the day we arrived so pitch was a bit muddy where previous caravanners had had their awning, (no grass left on that bit). As previously advised the site has two showers which include a toilet & wash sink & hand towels(did not use the hand towels) it was also heated. Also hand wash is supplied, the two showers are in a wooden hut where you can also find information leaflets, books & magazines. There is another wooden hut behind this that has two ladies & two gents toilets & a washing up sink. All are kept clean & a mob & bucket is outside the showers to mob up after you.

We found the site nice & quiet, a few vans had a dog or two but all were good. I did notice one morning a dog foul on the grass but the owner picked up after it. Hubby said he could hear some road noise but it cant have been that bad as he didn't moan about it! Showers were lovely & hot. We did get a bit of wind one day so the trees around the edge of the field helped to shelter the van, although some pitches are in the open. All vans are around the edge of the field & I would say the pitches are a bit on the tight side compared to other sites we have visited, not as spacious as the caravan club pitches.

Peter is the site warden, very friendly, he came round later in the day to collect the money, cash, no cards taken which we wernt aware of prior to going so good job we had some on us, although I'm sure it would have been fine to pay later if you have to go to cash point.

We walked into Ellesmere from the site, through the 2nd field, just follow track out into road then into town, about 20 minutes. We walked along the mere & through woods, then onto Welshampton. We also had a meal in the Sun Inn at Welshampton another day, we had pie of the day, Chicken & Mushroom, the large one, it was lovely but too big for me, but hubby ate all his.

We visited Erddig Country House & Chirk Castle, both NT. We went to Shrewsbury one day as it was raining all day, used the park & ride once there 1. 60 return PP, or 1. 60 for 2 OAP's. We went to Llangollen another day, 7 to park all day, then walked up to Castell Dinas Bran, only 1 mile from Llangollen but up hill all the way, but the views were fantastic.

All in all really enjoyed our stay at The Newnes, & the places we visited. I would recommend losing 2 pitches in the touring field to make the other pitches a little wider so your not on top of your neighbour, & put the price up to cover the cost of the lost pitches. We paid 16 per night inc electric & you have a water tap on each pitch too.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smow 2 reviews from this member

Enjoyable stay here at Newnes. Pitches could have been tight but luckily site was not full whilst we were there. EHU and individual water tap to each pitch. Grass is kept short and site nice and tidy. Even flowers planted out in places which gives a nice touch. On top of a hill so gets windy at times but views and sunsets are great? Facilities were excellent, 2 men's and 2 women's loos in one wooden cabin and 2 shower rooms with basin and toilet in another log cabin. Free hot water and heated too. Only thing I could suggest is get rid of the communal hand towels!

Site wardens very friendly and helpful. Entrance to site a little steep which we had difficulty with, but if you keep in a low gear and take a good run at it you should be fine! Gave everyone who watched us a little light entertainment!

Ellesmere is a lovely little town and the meres are beautiful. You can walk into Ellesmere from the site, about 20 mins. Canal system is close by too and makes pleasant walking also.

We had a lovely time here and will probably return (with a 4x4) haha.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jean62 9 reviews from this member

Visited this site in June could not ask for better weather the views were stunning, our son bought his van too so we were next to each other the site is spotless showers and toilets were spotless, and the owners were very friendly showed us were to go and places to visit whilst in the area will definitely go back as soon as we can.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tracy1965 3 reviews from this member

Outstanding in every way, we pitched in the second field stunning views all round, very we'll maintained site, shower and toilets are the best we have come across, Robin the owner very nice helpful friendly man, special thanks to Vick for the plants he gave me to take home, they look great in my garden.

Wonderful 6 days wish we could have stayed longer, we are looking forward to our next visit very soon.

Don't miss out on a perfect site

Will post some photos when work out how to do it.

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Daisydaisy 21 reviews from this member

Nice site on top of hill. Horses in field right next to caravan pitches, lovely to watch them.

Small site very easy to access from the main road.

What wasn't so great was the fact there was only two showers and one went wrong whilst we were there so that cut it down to one. Bearing in mind it was an electrical fault, it made us very wary of using the other one so used our shower in the van.

Definitely needs at least one more shower.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: KARAMAC 10 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 5 day break at this lovely site tucked away behind a farm and some barn conversions approx 1 mile from ellesmere town centre. The site was lovely with 2 complete wet rooms in a pretty log cabin and a very nice modern toilet block with ladies and gents and a huge washing up sink. It was peaceful and the views from the first and second fields were fab, the layout was good too all in a horseshoe shape around the edge and a lovely big space in the centre so you weren't overcrowded. The gardener was happily planting and working on areas surrounding which looked really nice too. After a terrible storm the owners came up to check everyone was ok and chatted for a while it was really nice we will definitely go back again. Great base to walk or visit the mere lots of places to eat and drink and a market at the weekend.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mary Alex 3 reviews from this member

We spent 5 nights on this lovely site with views to die for. Robin the owner was very welcoming and actually sited our camper as we are relative newbies to reversing.

Showers and toilets are kept lovely and clean and we never had to wait more than a few minutes to have a shower.

We used our OAP bus passes to have a day out in Shrewsbury which was lovely.

We did not use any of the local pubs or restaurants as we like to cook our own food but the Red Lion looks very nice with reasonable prices.

We will definitely return to this lovely quiet site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Juhadley 1 review from this member

First visit to this site very nice flat ground grassed no hard standing. Toilets and showers very clean. They have hand gel and their own towels. Also hot towel rail and washing up area. Adult only site. Owner very friendly will be visiting again well done. Lots of books and leaflets regarding area. Farmer had cut grass through the field so it was a short walk into town. People friendly and some were all season caravaners made us welcome.

Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over 885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth 119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3457 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019