Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Ewegales Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Dent > Ewegales Farm Reviews

Ewegales Farm
Dent Dale
Dent
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA10 5RH
Tel: 01539 625440
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 24
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 12 Reviews
                8/10 from 12 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  12 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Ybother 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful area, plenty of space, flat ground and next to a gentle (when I were there) river.

Very dark sky's and the only noise was nature, fantastic! However, the field was full of sheep, their young lambs and excrement.

No idea where the facilities were, I was told of nothing and could see nothing. The only water was in the river.

It was 7 person per night. For a family, I pay less than this would be for a pitch at a Caravan Club certified site with electric hook-up and here are zero facilities here.

The lack of facilities are not an issue but the price for a pitch is ridiculously high. 


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Frankie Owens 6 reviews from this member

 Great location, next to the river and directly on the Dales Way. The site offers level pitches and the owner is very friendly.

We were the only people staying, so we had exclusive use of the facilities. However, if there had been others, it could have been frustrating as toilet, shower and only sink are all in one room. The extra 20p for showers seemed excessive, as overnight charge is already 7 pppn (we have no car, but were charged a flat rate).

Our biggest concern was the 'drinking water' as there are clear signs advising you must boil before use. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Newcastlegirl 1 review from this member

 Thought I would leave a review as it's some time since the last one. As previous reviewers have commented the location is idyllic, alongside a stream and on the Dales Way. The toilet facilities are, however, extremely basic, so be warned. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hayleighs 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely field site at the far end of Dent Valley in Cowgil alongside the river. Very basic all grass no hardstandings or hookup suitable for tents and small caravans or campers due to access down the hill but the scenery is worth it.

Charged 5. 00 per person per night obviously no hookup but just turn up and the farmer arrives on his tractor to greet you. Many people we spoke to on the site have been going back for 20 years.

We only planned one night as we wanted to be nearer Dent and the pubs but it was so nice we stayed for four days and went for bike rides instead. You can get a train from Dent station about 4 miles away and there is a bus service to Hawes and Sedberg twice a day.

Will definitely be going back field so big no need to book.

Very basic facilities old outhouse with loo and shower but does have chemical waste facility. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pabc 6 reviews from this member

 Very friendly owner, currently 5 per adult, 2. 50 for kids. Flat pitches besides a beck which means midges.

The water is brown but safe to drink as it comes off of the hills.

The Sportsman Pub is 1 mile east of the site serving beer and food from 7pm.

There is a sign saying no children after 9 but ours were there until well after that. Although I suspect if they had played up and been rowdy the landlord would have asked us to finish off. Last food orders at 8:30 and the steak pie was probably the best option on the menu.

Toilets are basic and 100m from the field.

There is no phone signal but a temperamental BTFON wifi signal nearby. I never did get above 1 bar despite walking around the edge of the field so don't know the source of it.

In summary, a beautiful location, reasonable cost with limited facilities and the local pub isn't open in the day. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PaulnGill 2 reviews from this member

 The owner here was very very friendly. We asked if there was anyone selling milk in the area. He said no, but then just gave us some. Only one other tent when we were there. The loo/shower has recently had a coat of paint. Just like everyone else is saying its spaceous and peaceful. Long meadow grass by a river = midges so gaurd against that and all will be well.

Keep in mind no shops if you are backpacking so you will need to bring food, or walk to the pub (0.9 miles). The pub opens at 7 pm

We walked the Dales way - Brilliant and very recommended. This campsite is on the path so its impossible to miss 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rry119 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for 2 weeks and I will be going again on the 15th. It is so peaceful. John the owner is a great chap, very helpful and friendly.
Yes facilities are basic, 1 toilet and shower, but we are campers so we make do. The surrounding countryside is superb, a river runs by the side of the field.
Lots of nice walks, a pub if you drink is within walking distance, they do meals. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Weeton1 4 reviews from this member

 I used this site whilst walking the Dales Way (it is right beside the route). The site is great for an overnight stay by a walker but, as a previous reviewer noted, I wouldn't necessarily take a family there unless expectations of facilities were appropriately reduced! Washing facilities are very basic and you do need more than a single 20p piece to get enough time in the shower. It is a lovely location though and my night there was very enjoyable (I was the only camper on site). Unlike most sites there isn't a reduced rate for hikers so the 4 per night appears a bit steep compared to other sites of a similar facility level. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Manzyboy 2 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic break. Took the 4 year old who had no problems with the on-tap brown spring water and every single insect species alive and dead in the single toilet/single shower outbuilding. Due to the basic nature of the facilities you don't get the noisy party types. No mobile signals and no elecky so this is the place to be to escape city life. The owner Johnny Akrigg, was always helpful and smiling. The town is 3 miles away along a country lane or there's the option of a proper walk through the majestic countryside approx 2 hours with pitstops. Pretty decent pub about 10 minutes walk towards Cowgill. Carlisle to Settle Railway stops at Dent Station which is good if you want to see the surrounding region with kids when its raining. Despite the weather we will definitely return for the experience. Real camping! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zzeul 6 reviews from this member

 This site is in a truly beautiful setting. A mostly flat meadow by a beautiful river over a tiny bridge. It is remote from modern life with no shops of any kind nearby just one pub about a mile away which serves meals. The village of Dent is 3 miles away. This is fantastic walking, cycling country.

Facilities are at the farm 100 yds up a lane. Just one toilet room in which I couldn't get the light to work. In that room is one WC, one cracked and dirty basin with just cold water, and one shower with a concrete floor and stone walls that needed 2x20p for enough water.

There is no dishwashing sink , just a cold tap outside the toilet room.

But this is for 4 p.P.P.N. Will I be going again? definitely. But I wouldn't take family there. 


Previous     12 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Ewegales Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Ewegales Farm?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Ewegales Farm dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dent      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4895 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement