Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Ewegales Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Ewegales Farm
Dent Dale
Dent
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA10 5RH
Tel: 01539 625440
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 24
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 10 Reviews
                8/10 from 10 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <10 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Newcastlegirl 1 review from this member

Thought I would leave a review as it's some time since the last one. As previous reviewers have commented the location is idyllic, alongside a stream and on the Dales Way. The toilet facilities are, however, extremely basic, so be warned.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hayleighs 6 reviews from this member

Lovely field site at the far end of Dent Valley in Cowgil alongside the river. Very basic all grass no hardstandings or hookup suitable for tents and small caravans or campers due to access down the hill but the scenery is worth it.

Charged £5. 00 per person per night obviously no hookup but just turn up and the farmer arrives on his tractor to greet you. Many people we spoke to on the site have been going back for 20 years.

We only planned one night as we wanted to be nearer Dent and the pubs but it was so nice we stayed for four days and went for bike rides instead. You can get a train from Dent station about 4 miles away and there is a bus service to Hawes and Sedberg twice a day.

Will definitely be going back field so big no need to book.

Very basic facilities old outhouse with loo and shower but does have chemical waste facility.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pabc 6 reviews from this member

Very friendly owner, currently £5 per adult, £2. 50 for kids. Flat pitches besides a beck which means midges.

The water is brown but safe to drink as it comes off of the hills.

The Sportsman Pub is 1 mile east of the site serving beer and food from 7pm.

There is a sign saying no children after 9 but ours were there until well after that. Although I suspect if they had played up and been rowdy the landlord would have asked us to finish off. Last food orders at 8:30 and the steak pie was probably the best option on the menu.

Toilets are basic and 100m from the field.

There is no phone signal but a temperamental BTFON wifi signal nearby. I never did get above 1 bar despite walking around the edge of the field so don't know the source of it.

In summary, a beautiful location, reasonable cost with limited facilities and the local pub isn't open in the day.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PaulnGill 2 reviews from this member

The owner here was very very friendly. We asked if there was anyone selling milk in the area. He said no, but then just gave us some. Only one other tent when we were there. The loo/shower has recently had a coat of paint. Just like everyone else is saying its spaceous and peaceful. Long meadow grass by a river = midges so gaurd against that and all will be well.

Keep in mind no shops if you are backpacking so you will need to bring food, or walk to the pub (0.9 miles). The pub opens at 7 pm

We walked the Dales way - Brilliant and very recommended. This campsite is on the path so its impossible to miss

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rry119 2 reviews from this member

I stayed here for 2 weeks and I will be going again on the 15th. It is so peaceful. John the owner is a great chap, very helpful and friendly.
Yes facilities are basic, 1 toilet and shower, but we are campers so we make do. The surrounding countryside is superb, a river runs by the side of the field.
Lots of nice walks, a pub if you drink is within walking distance, they do meals.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Weeton1 4 reviews from this member

I used this site whilst walking the Dales Way (it is right beside the route). The site is great for an overnight stay by a walker but, as a previous reviewer noted, I wouldn't necessarily take a family there unless expectations of facilities were appropriately reduced! Washing facilities are very basic and you do need more than a single 20p piece to get enough time in the shower. It is a lovely location though and my night there was very enjoyable (I was the only camper on site). Unlike most sites there isn't a reduced rate for hikers so the £4 per night appears a bit steep compared to other sites of a similar facility level.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Manzyboy 1 review from this member

What a fantastic break. Took the 4 year old who had no problems with the on-tap brown spring water and every single insect species alive and dead in the single toilet/single shower outbuilding. Due to the basic nature of the facilities you don't get the noisy party types. No mobile signals and no elecky so this is the place to be to escape city life. The owner Johnny Akrigg, was always helpful and smiling. The town is 3 miles away along a country lane or there's the option of a proper walk through the majestic countryside approx 2 hours with pitstops. Pretty decent pub about 10 minutes walk towards Cowgill. Carlisle to Settle Railway stops at Dent Station which is good if you want to see the surrounding region with kids when its raining. Despite the weather we will definitely return for the experience. Real camping!

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Zzeul 6 reviews from this member

This site is in a truly beautiful setting. A mostly flat meadow by a beautiful river over a tiny bridge. It is remote from modern life with no shops of any kind nearby just one pub about a mile away which serves meals. The village of Dent is 3 miles away. This is fantastic walking, cycling country.

Facilities are at the farm 100 yds up a lane. Just one toilet room in which I couldn't get the light to work. In that room is one WC, one cracked and dirty basin with just cold water, and one shower with a concrete floor and stone walls that needed 2x20p for enough water.

There is no dishwashing sink , just a cold tap outside the toilet room.

But this is for £4 p.P.P.N. Will I be going again? definitely. But I wouldn't take family there.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amber101 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a three day trip to Ewegales Farm and we had a really fabulous time. The campsite is well off the main tourist route and wasn't busy during our stay despite it being a bank holiday weekend. We had plenty of space and pitched our tent next to a lovely stream. We found the views from the campsite to be delightful, with the Dentdale fells around us and working farmland in the valley.
The village of Dent is just three miles away, and the campsite is about a mile from Dent station which is on the Settle to Carlisle railway line. We found plenty of walks from the campsite for our family, and our children spent lots of time playing along the rocky stream at the campsite.
There is so much space at the site that the kids could play without disturbing anyone else. When we were there the farmer was bailing hay in the fields around us and that was also fun to watch. One of the lasting memories of our visit will certainly be getting to know the campsite owner, who is a semi-retired farmer. He was extremely friendly and welcoming, and was happy to chat about the local area and his work around the farm. 
His charges were £4 per adult and £2 for children. For campers preferring high spec facilities this would not be for you as there was only a water tap, and one shower and one toilet (both of which are in the same room). However this was not a problem for us. We had a great time and will be sure to return.   

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Griffn 4 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip as a family and it had everything, including the highest midge count ever.  A church on the other side of the river, hens roaming over the opposite field and a very friendly farmer.
 
Our children (6 and 18 months) loved the almost dry river and old tractors parked in the field. 
 
Facilities very basic - shower (which we didn't fancy using) in the same room as the single toilet about 100 yards up the hill on the end of the farm house.  It could do with at least another toilet.
 
We came back in the summer holidays and enjoyed a second stay, though the site was a little more crowded then - more pressure on the limited facilities!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2674 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019