Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Du Bois De Chievre

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Bonneval > Camping Du Bois De Chievre > Reviews

Camping Du Bois De Chievre
Route De Vouvray
Bonneval
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
28800
Tel: 0033 02 37 47 54 01


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 130
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 15 Reviews
                9/10 from 15 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  15 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Treborminty 1 review from this member

 We used this site as stopover. Nice site we paid €17 a night in August. Next to a nice town. Not much for kids to do. The pitches could do with a clear up because of leafs. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 214 reviews from this member

 Reviewers - mature couple with campervan and bikes.

This site has appeared in the ACSI discount scheme this year, so we decided to try it for an overnighter. The site was easy to find, at the top of a hill on the way out of the town. There is a barrier at reception, the friendly warden invited us to choose our own pitch.

The site is an attractive wooded area, on a bit of a slope, with a large touring area and some mobile homes towards the back of the site. The pitches were not well cared for, the grass was long on most pitches, and wet ground had been damaged by wheels. However, many were very large, and as it was quiet we had lots of choice.

The sanitary block is in the middle of the site, well described by others, however it was not all open, and though it was mostly clean enough, the presence of heaps of dead leaves indicated that it hadn't been prepared for the season. The lighting was on a timer, and went out unexpectedly after a short time, leaving you in the dark.

There was no evidence of a bar or restaurant being open.

There is a path leading down from the site to the river, this was becoming overgrown, and we found it wasn't possible to follow the river into town, the path just led steeply up back to the site.

We cycled down the road into town, only 5 minutes or so by bike, but a bit longer pushing back up the hill. Town is very attractive with waterways, worth a visit.

We weren't struck on this site, maybe it would be better in season when it was busier, but then the facilities might be a bit stretched. It just felt very unloved. However, it was ok for a stopover. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chris anthony 2 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent wooded site near interesting small town. Large pitches well shaded. Near river. Adjacent to good free town swimming pool. Nice walks near river into town. Good rural walks and bike rides.

There are new owners who were very friendly. Excellent pizzas in the small snack bar. They have regular falconry displays. The owner is a falconer and was feeding his baby owl when we were there. WiFi is in snack bar area. Wash blocks clean and good. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kelper 93 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a week.

Large pitches varying between open, partly shaded or completely shaded.

Was quite empty whilst we were there, only about 25% occupancy.

Delightful site with modern facilities (the main ablution building is a maze of showers, basins, toilets, washing up areas. Exploring finds new ones at each visit!). Some pitches are quite a distance from it.

The Restaurant offers fairly standard/simple fare based on grilled meats with Frites. But servings are generous and prices reasonable. The bar likewise.

There is an outdoor area for eating/drinking as well as a large indoor space with wooden tables and chairs.

WIFI is free, but may only be used within the confines of the bar/restaurant area. A daily password is issued, and 'madame' is insistent that no attempt is made to use wifi from your pitch, even if you have 'long range' equipment. She monitors it!

The site is a ten/fifteen minute walk from the delightful small town, which is ringed by a canal, fed by the local river. Well worth boating round as there are several 'displays' set up, which can only be seen from a boat. We launched directly from the campsite (access path from site to river is 200 metres through the wood owned by the site. (walks along the river are lovely). You can paddle to the town. Then, a bit of portage, to get over the lock/weir gets you onto the towns canal for the circum-navigation.

We visited Chateaudun, which had a huge medieval fair on at the time (jousting, gruesome 'field hospital' enactments (very funny), lots of stalls and market. The whole town alive with festivities. A great day out; Paris was an hour plus (depending on time of day and traffic); Versailles; Chartes with its fantastic cathedral (best stained glass windows in the world!) and its fabulous, free, son et lumiere (walk about) show. Not to be missed. Chartes is about a thirty minute drive.

All in all this was an excellent week.  


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nitnat 10 reviews from this member

 Stopped here overnight on way from Calais to Dorsogne. Lovely site, access fine especially with large twin axle like ours. Baguettes and croissants etc that can be ordered delicious.

There's a play area for the children, a bar and restaurant and the facilities ie toilets etc are all fine too.

Would use again, but a little far from he main tolls, so potentially added to our journey by using this site 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Kate w 70 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this lovely site for one night on our way further south. It's a nice quiet site, away from the main roads, with a lane along one edge. Pitches are a good size, mostly flat with electricity. Rates were reasonable. Wifi is available at the restaurant for those eating a meal only. We were quite near to the restaurant and daughter could get wifi on her tablet from our pitch.

Small but functional municipal indoor swimming pool is right next door to the site and free for campers to use, you could either lock up your clothes or take them poolside. There are plans on the walls for a new pool which when it's done will be lovely. The site does have a small playground for younger children.

Restaurant was reasonably priced and food very nice. Bread is available to order in the morning.

There is a nice little walk along the river directly downhill behind the site. The town centre is a little walk away, we didn't have time for a wander round but on taking a wrong turn trying to find the site, it did look really nice.

Toilets are in a couple of different blocks, showers in the main, small but maze like block. Take your own toilet roll.

A nice little site whether for a one night stop off or for a few days. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mags S 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely friendly site, warm greeting from the bouncy happy Madame. No English, but we managed very well with her words and ours. Very wooded site, large pitches, but if you want satellite TV forget it, too many trees in the line of sight. Lots of sunshine came through, so a pleasure to sit on the pitches. The toilet block, always clean, is a maze. You find new parts of it each time you visit. Bonneval market on Mondays well worth a visit. Oh and once we saw a red squirrel. There is a municipal pool next door for campers use if requested a ticket is issued. A walk along the river is lovely, but hazardous for lone children. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Annadg 8 reviews from this member

 An excellent experience. Quick response to my email then a very warm welcome on arrival from Madame. No English spoken but we managed fine!

Out of season so we could choose where to pitch. I think all pitches have hook up.

We close unwisely as we went in the trees which was delightful except we needed to use our satellite (for Internet so we can work) and it wouldn't lock on. If you want satellite you need to turn left past reception!

We had lovely entrecôte at the restaurant on site, and were able to order bread and scrummy pain au raisins for breakfast

Loos etc were clean. Need to take own loo paper as we find seems normal in France.

Nearby river has steep drop so children would need keeping an eye on.

Bonneval looked interesting and we will certainly return for a longer visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Loulih 4 reviews from this member

 Stumbled across this site by accident whilst looking for a stopover travelling south. Really friendly welcome. The owners speak little english but speak french slowly to help you and we had no trouble making ourselves understood with our 'holiday french'. The site has a great play area for kids, use of the municipal pool just outside the site (which my 8 year old son and other half raved about - they loved the starter diving boards!)Electric hook up, hedges to give privacy and really good sized plots. We had our campervan and a huge awning and there was still lots of space! The river is lovely and right next to the site; there are picnic tables along the bank. The town is pretty and worth a wander. We didn't do the river trip as only stayed a couple of nights but worth a look as its so picturesque. Close to use as a base for visiting Chartres or Chateaudun to the south.

As previously mentioned the toilet/shower block is HUGE.

Site was really quiet while we were there even though peak season and we would definitely stop here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sigri 14 reviews from this member

 Stumbled upon this site after refusing to stop at our previously chosen site. Wonderful greeting on arrival, we explored site on foot to select a pitch. Lots of choice, shaded or sunny. You pay on the afternoon before departure, so no problem with open bookings. Main sanitation block as previously mentioned was like a tardis, I was still finding new parts of it up until our 5th and last day. Was always clean with hot water. There are also smaller toilet blocks on the perimeters. Lovely woodland walks along the le loire river. The snack bar was inexpensive and created a lovely evening out and was completely unintrusive if you weren't there. Bread could also be preordered for the following morning.

Locally, a visit to the village of Bonneval is a must, your are able to hire electric boats and tour the town from the water. For the more enegetic you can hire canoes/kayaks or like us just enjoy the tranquil setting with a picnic in the locality of the canoe/kayak club. Chateudun is well worth a visit, we visited the caves which then lead to a discount on the electric boats in Bonneval.

We also just enjoyed the peaceful tranquillity of the site itself. They do have a website camping-bonneval-28. Mon site-orange. Fr. Site fees were very reasonable 15. 85 euros for two adults including electric, also included complimentary swims at the adjacent pool (again this was unintrusive). Fantastic stopover being only 4 hours from Calais, I am already planning for next year incorporating this site on out and inward journeys. 


Previous     15 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Camping Du Bois De Chievre child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Camping Du Bois De Chievre dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bonneval      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


50873 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement