Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Lyndon Top Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Rutland > Oakham > Lyndon Top Caravan Park Reviews

Lyndon Top Caravan Park
Lyndon Road
Rutland Water
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 8RN
Tel: 015394 31222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jannybabes 2 reviews from this member

Had heard about this site from friends and were not disappointed.

Yes it is a very basic site, but it does not claim or sell itself as anything else. The views over Rutland Water are great.

We had no trouble finding the CDP and there were numerous water taps around the various areas. It's a case of book in, find a spot and pitch up. Access to Rutland Water is easy and signposted from the site.

We had good weather and went mid-week. Apparently the bank holiday had been crazy. Also wet weather may be tricky in a motorhome being all grass pitches.

I particularly liked being able to book in from 9. 00am and the lady in reception was really nice and helpful.

Highly recommended if you are into roughing it.

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Vturner 4 reviews from this member

Amazing campsite and amazing views. This site has wonderful people managing it, and its so vast you feel you are camping on your own even though you are not.

The facilities are improving but still are basic. However for the price, you definitely cannot grumble.

Stunning stunning stunning.

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Amy OHara 1 review from this member

We have been camping at Lindon Top campsite for over 5 years. The campsite is fantastic with plenty of room.

The site is very well maintained and the staff are really helpful.

The site drops straight onto the cycle path for Rutland water so you can enjoy the sites around Rutland.

It is a stone's throw from Oakham which is a lovely market town and just a bit further along is Stamford. Also great location for the Rutland Parkrun every saturday morning from Manton church.

We as a family 4 of us, parents, brothers family and friends have made some fantastic memories here.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whimp 3 reviews from this member

This is a big site, with plenty of room, given this was a bank holiday.

I cannot recall how many fields there were exactly but I can remember seeing at least 5.

Given the size of the campsite and its mix of motor homes caravans and tents, there was no feeling of being crowded, despite there being plenty of visitors.

Kids looked as though they were enjoying themselves with plenty of open ground to play around in, without them falling over tent guy lines or annoying other campers.

It isn't bad location wise either, being pretty centralised to many places.

Site facilities could do with improving, but given we were not expecting anything sparkling, that was OK. We don't go in for glamping although compared to the past you could say we have an easier time.

Customer Service was friendly and amenable to all. As a for instance, when I went to the toilet block, a woman complained there was a big spider in the female toilets. Jeez your camping madam, says I, the staff said nothing but were straight on the case without a word. I just smiled but thought at the time how good the staff were in coping swiftly and with good humour.

Overall a site recommended for those who don't expect caravan club or manicured sites, but at this price it is great.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiwi1Adventures 13 reviews from this member

I ended up here by default after doing a round trip from Kent to Scarborough with a stopover on the way up and way back. Stuck for somewhere to book I ended up here. Generally I would never consider a site like this but wow was I in for a surprise.

After the tarmac, traffic and carpark feel of a Caravan and Motorhome site this site was luxury, well luxury that is if camping in a farmers field with a hosepipe for freshwater is your thing.

The site is gigantic and as it has pretty much no facilities tends to lend itself to people who do have facilities. If you don't mind roughing it you will not be disappointed even in a tent.

There are quite a few tricks of the trade that make staying here an adventure. I cannot say now much fun it was to be back to basics although if my stay were longer I'd probably miss some of the creature comforts of home.

Despite the lack of facilities I rated this site as a 10 as it clearly states there are no facilities and this actually adds to the appeal of your stay.

The journey into and out of the site is a doddle something I often comment on as some sites are basically an insurance claim waiting to happen and dreading the journey home does not make for a relaxed start to your stay.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scotsblood 4 reviews from this member

Great views of Rutland Water, loads of space to “Go anywhere you want” as we were told when booking in, and freedom to park up any way you want Gives a really laid back feel. It looks strange to see tents, caravans and motorhomes just parked up anyhow but it also gives groups a chance to make their space unique, we had three or four groups in the same field. Nobody within 50m of us, water only 50m away, and a nice level patch suited us perfectly.

Correct there are few facilities, but the essentials are all there, water to loads of places, bins at the entrance and two chemical disposal points plus toilets for the “tenters”, this isn’t a high spec site, it is however open all year, has plenty of level areas, is close mown and right on the Rutland cycle path so is fantastic for an active stay.

Pub and shop in Edith Weston, golf course closer by for a drink or breakfast and bbqs allowed if they are off the ground gives a choice of catering options.

Highly recommend this one but be sure you understand it’s 112 acres of great parkland not loads of marked pitches and smart facilities!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Njbeecroft 9 reviews from this member

Absolutely fabulous site, perfect location, quiet and lovely service. If you want services, playgrounds, entertainment, etc, then this is not the site for you. If you want back to nature, peace and quiet, flexible rules, open views, pitch up where you want, then book now. We will be back.

I’ve only marked site facilities down, because apart from water and elsan service points, there aren’t any, however the sites other positives more than make up for this. There is a pub within 5 minutes cycling and a local takeaway will deliver if you need it.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hayley8 1 review from this member

Amazing spot! Only live 5 miles down the road and have discovered a hidden gem, beautiful surroundings and you could think you were somewhere abroad, super easy to book and very friendly, we were very very happy with our pitch and had an amazing weekend. Thank you!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davidandrews 9 reviews from this member

You can't go wrong here folks, no ehu, showers, hot water etc but if you have your own facilities you don't need the extras. £7 a night, large pitches, plenty of space, excellent walks or cycling, Rutland water has a host of things to do. Recommended, why pay ridiculous club site fees when these places exist? 10/10!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Red Rabbit 1 review from this member

I came to Lyndon Top with a group of friends who additionally were camping with tents. It had been chosen and booked as a budget option (£7 per unit per night).

The campsite was easy to find, had ample space for pitching and the staff friendly and helpful; they even allowed us to borrow a table and set of chairs from another field.

The running water was clean and drinkable and there were taps located at intervals that didn't mean you had to walk a very long distance to fill up.

However, beware that there is no hot water or electricity on site. We knew this beforehand but were surprised to find that the toilet trailer had no lighting nor hot running water with which to wash. It was by no means a deal breaker as we were only there for two nights and made use of facilities at nearby pubs. Unfortunately the toilets were additionally not very clean and there was not even any space to put a toothbrush next to the sink (not that any of us wanted to).

The local area is very good though, and I would particularly recommend the Wetherspoons in Oakham if you find yourself in need of a cheap, tasty breakfast.

In all, I'd still rate the site fairly highly but the toilets and lack of hot water to was with did let it down. If you're planning on a length stay, bring a solar shower or caravan!

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Lyndon Top Caravan Park?   There is a shop within 5 miles    View all facilities

Is Lyndon Top Caravan Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Oakham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3846 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020