Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Lyndon Top Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Rutland > Oakham > Lyndon Top Caravan Park Reviews

Lyndon Top Caravan Park
Lyndon Road
Rutland Water
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 8RN
Tel: 015394 31222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 47 Reviews
                9/10 from 47 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (9)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rondev 1 review from this member

 A very relaxing break with very helpful and friendly staff.

We shall definitely return.

We were recommended this site by the person I purchased my caravan from who had also thoroughly enjoyed their time at this site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Tonypi 1 review from this member

 Great place to stay they make you feel welcome and good price plenty of space. A little gem for us only an hours travel.

Great views

Our second time here since it’s opened up. 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Rds2002 4 reviews from this member

 Recently stayed at Lyndon Top for 4 nights in our touring caravan. Social distancing measures are in place but with 12 acres to choose from it is not a problem.

The only rules are, you must pitch a minimum of 6m apart and you are not allowed to pitch side on to the water.

There are toilet facilities on site but they are not currently open due to Covid 19. If you are self sufficient with a caravan or motorhome I would recommend this site. The staff are friendly and look after you.

At present no tents are allowed on site. The site is located on the shores of Rutland water where amazing sunsets can be seen and the views are spectacular.

Entry and exit is controlled by security keypads. Visitors are allowed but must park in the visitors car park however, if your visitors are disabled contact reception and arrangements will be made for them. Do not give your security code to anyone else to use as if you do you could find yourself locked in/out of the site.

The site office was only open part time during our stay but there were phone numbers with instructions on the door if you need to contact the site staff.

We would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Estape 1 review from this member

 What a gem of a campsite, spectacular views across Rutland water. So many pitches to choose from, from stunning pitches looking down over the water to areas that offer seclusion & out of the way plots.

Met on arrival by warden, was given a brief run down of site rules, he suggested we drive around & pitch where we want as long as we left 6m between units, & faced the water, beautifully maintained site & very relaxed. Great for families, groups & couples as there is so much space.

The best place to pitch is on field 9, this field isnt accessed through main site but is further down the lane, this field has the best views.

Lyndon Nature reserve visitors centre at the bottom of the road, 5 mins walk away, where we were lucky enough to see 4 Ospreys sitting on posts around the nest platform. Amazing to see. The Rutland Water cycle path also runs around the bottom of the site, there is plenty to see & do.

No facilities or tents allowed due to covid 19, & as there arent any facilities at the site currently, I have only given 1/10, but with our campervan fully equipped it wasn't a problem. Will definitely return again. 10/10 Thankyou 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 9 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: HappyVanUK 2 reviews from this member

 What a place to stay! We pulled up on Friday for the weekend on our maiden caravan outing. We were due to go home Sunday but stayed until the next Saturday.

There is no EHU here and the toilet block was closed, but we are fully off grid so it was fine. You can pitch where you want, as long as you are 6m away from anyone. It is so relaxed and quiet.

With Rutland Water right next to you, walking and cycling are easily done. The local town of Stamford has a wonderful market on Saturday, which we would highly recommend.

We loved it here and will be back for sure! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Helenw 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet site with amazing views over Rutland Waters. Love we were allowed to pick where we parked the caravan.

No faults at all.

Only improvement, if any, would be a few more elson points. However this is a minor thing.

Look forward to returning soon. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 19 reviews from this member

 Wasn’t quite sure what to expect but what a lovely site! Stayed on a Friday night and it was quite full but never felt crowded.

Fabulous views and well landscaped for a sense of privacy; one field further back from Rutland Water was much quieter if you prefer solitude.

There is also one field with direct views over the water but it’s quite steep so you’d need bigger blocks than we had. Lovely mown walks though a meadow down to a private access to the waterside cycle track; cycle tracks also take you to two neighbouring villages, with pubs well signposted. (We’ve been shielding so not quite ready for pubs but know the area well and there are plenty of lovely places to eat and drink locally).

Very friendly welcome from owners’ son. Loo blocks are currently ‘tent campers only’ but that wasn’t an issue for us.

Planning a repeat visit! 


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Cwils1 1 review from this member

 It may be basic but it’s beautiful, very tidy, well maintained grass

Plenty of places to get the water from

Beautiful walks

Easy to find

10 minute drive to Oakham 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Funky 18 reviews from this member

 Very basic site very close to Rutland Water. Water. Waste disposal and that's it. We loved it.

The site is made up of three or four big fields. Turn up, get your gate code in advance pick a spot and that's it.

Stacks to do around the lake and further afield. Melton Mowbrey Tuesday market is massive. Don't get ripped off by The Olde Pie Shoppe.

Oakham is a lovely little town with a weekly market on a Wednesday. Head for the cheese stall. The variety is vast and we'll priced too.

That's it. We will be going back next week. Probably 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Jannybabes 2 reviews from this member

 Had heard about this site from friends and were not disappointed.

Yes it is a very basic site, but it does not claim or sell itself as anything else. The views over Rutland Water are great.

We had no trouble finding the CDP and there were numerous water taps around the various areas. It's a case of book in, find a spot and pitch up. Access to Rutland Water is easy and signposted from the site.

We had good weather and went mid-week. Apparently the bank holiday had been crazy. Also wet weather may be tricky in a motorhome being all grass pitches.

I particularly liked being able to book in from 9. 00am and the lady in reception was really nice and helpful.

Highly recommended if you are into roughing it. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lyndon Top Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lyndon Top Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Lyndon Top Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Oakham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1849 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December