Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Lyndon Top Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > Central > Rutland > Site Reviews

Lyndon Top Caravan Park
Lyndon Road
Rutland Water
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 8RN
Tel: 015394 31222
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 35 Reviews
                9/10 from 35 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up Area   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  35 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whimp 3 reviews from this member

This is a big site, with plenty of room, given this was a bank holiday.

I cannot recall how many fields there were exactly but I can remember seeing at least 5.

Given the size of the campsite and its mix of motor homes caravans and tents, there was no feeling of being crowded, despite there being plenty of visitors.

Kids looked as though they were enjoying themselves with plenty of open ground to play around in, without them falling over tent guy lines or annoying other campers.

It isn't bad location wise either, being pretty centralised to many places.

Site facilities could do with improving, but given we were not expecting anything sparkling, that was OK. We don't go in for glamping although compared to the past you could say we have an easier time.

Customer Service was friendly and amenable to all. As a for instance, when I went to the toilet block, a woman complained there was a big spider in the female toilets. Jeez your camping madam, says I, the staff said nothing but were straight on the case without a word. I just smiled but thought at the time how good the staff were in coping swiftly and with good humour.

Overall a site recommended for those who don't expect caravan club or manicured sites, but at this price it is great.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kiwi1Adventures 12 reviews from this member

I ended up here by default after doing a round trip from Kent to Scarborough with a stopover on the way up and way back. Stuck for somewhere to book I ended up here. Generally I would never consider a site like this but wow was I in for a surprise. After the tarmac, traffic and carpark feel of a Caravan and Motorhome site this site was luxury, well luxury that is if camping in a farmers field with a hosepipe for freshwater is your thing. The site is gigantic and as it has pretty much no facilities tends to lend itself to people who do have facilities. If you don't mind roughing it you will not be disappointed even in a tent. There are quite a few tricks of the trade that make staying here an adventure. I cannot say now much fun it was to be back to basics although if my stay were longer I'd probably miss some of the creature comforts of home. Despite the lack of facilities I rated this site as a 10 as it clearly states there are no facilities and this actually adds to the appeal of your stay. The journey into and out of the site is a doddle something I often comment on as some sites are basically an insurance claim waiting to happen and dreading the journey home does not make for a relaxed start to your stay.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scotsblood 3 reviews from this member

Great views of Rutland Water, loads of space to “Go anywhere you want” as we were told when booking in, and freedom to park up any way you want Gives a really laid back feel. It looks strange to see tents, caravans and motorhomes just parked up anyhow but it also gives groups a chance to make their space unique, we had three or four groups in the same field. Nobody within 50m of us, water only 50m away, and a nice level patch suited us perfectly.

Correct there are few facilities, but the essentials are all there, water to loads of places, bins at the entrance and two chemical disposal points plus toilets for the “tenters”, this isn’t a high spec site, it is however open all year, has plenty of level areas, is close mown and right on the Rutland cycle path so is fantastic for an active stay. Pub and shop in Edith Weston, golf course closer by for a drink or breakfast and bbqs allowed if they are off the ground gives a choice of catering options.

Highly recommend this one but be sure you understand it’s 112 acres of great parkland not loads of marked pitches and smart facilities!

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Njbeecroft 9 reviews from this member

Absolutely fabulous site, perfect location, quiet and lovely service. If you want services, playgrounds, entertainment, etc, then this is not the site for you. If you want back to nature, peace and quiet, flexible rules, open views, pitch up where you want, then book now. We will be back.

I’ve only marked site facilities down, because apart from water and elsan service points, there aren’t any, however the sites other positives more than make up for this. There is a pub within 5 minutes cycling and a local takeaway will deliver if you need it.

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hayley8 1 review from this member

Amazing spot! Only live 5 miles down the road and have discovered a hidden gem, beautiful surroundings and you could think you were somewhere abroad, super easy to book and very friendly, we were very very happy with our pitch and had an amazing weekend. Thank you!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davidandrews 9 reviews from this member

You can't go wrong here folks, no ehu, showers, hot water etc but if you have your own facilities you don't need the extras. £7 a night, large pitches, plenty of space, excellent walks or cycling, Rutland water has a host of things to do. Recommended, why pay ridiculous club site fees when these places exist? 10/10!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Red Rabbit 1 review from this member

I came to Lyndon Top with a group of friends who additionally were camping with tents. It had been chosen and booked as a budget option (£7 per unit per night).

The campsite was easy to find, had ample space for pitching and the staff friendly and helpful; they even allowed us to borrow a table and set of chairs from another field.

The running water was clean and drinkable and there were taps located at intervals that didn't mean you had to walk a very long distance to fill up.

However, beware that there is no hot water or electricity on site. We knew this beforehand but were surprised to find that the toilet trailer had no lighting nor hot running water with which to wash. It was by no means a deal breaker as we were only there for two nights and made use of facilities at nearby pubs. Unfortunately the toilets were additionally not very clean and there was not even any space to put a toothbrush next to the sink (not that any of us wanted to).

The local area is very good though, and I would particularly recommend the Wetherspoons in Oakham if you find yourself in need of a cheap, tasty breakfast.

In all, I'd still rate the site fairly highly but the toilets and lack of hot water to was with did let it down. If you're planning on a length stay, bring a solar shower or caravan!

Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: NikiW 3 reviews from this member

We have been here many times. Superb location for peace and quiet and beautiful views.

Easy access to cycle route around Rutland Water.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Pitches flat in places, levelling blocks required in others.

£7 a night - value for money.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Wysewoman 1 review from this member

This is the fourth time in five months that I have returned here. The fields are massive and so very well kept. You just drive on in and park wherever you wish. There's so much choice as to where to park up. NO EHU and a very basic but clean toilet block with no hot water (not an issue at all for me but maybe would be for some?) Plenty of drinking water points.

The main reasons I return is for the relaxed atmosphere, amazing views (if you manage to get the right pitch) and above all, the warm, friendly and genuinely helpful wardens. Nothing seems to be a problem for them. Its like going back to see an old friend - they always remember my face (or maybe it's my butterfly stickered van?lol ).

A very short walk down to the bottom of the hill takes you to the Wildlife Trusts Osprey centre and bird hides and of course the Rutland water trail that runs all the way round this Water and is used by pedestrians and cyclists alike.

All this for a totally bargain price - I don't think I've ever camped on another site for less. If you like relaxed and 'free' camping with bare minimum of rules then this ones for you!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 2drifters 1 review from this member

This site is absolutely perfect for a motorhome. The only facilities are fresh water & elsan waste but what more do you need. At £7 a night it offers exceptional value for money. The views of Rutland Water are spectacular & only improved when an osprey flies over. There is access to the cycle/walking path which is where the Osprey Centre is located. Some chicks were hatching when we were there in May. It was lovely to watch on the webcam. Oakham is worth a visit. It has a carpark for buses that can be used by motorhomes. Maybe worth double checking in case things have changed. The nursery on the main road is a great place to buy plants & has a café too. Edith Weston is not far away if you need extra supplies. It has a pub which does food but it was closed for a major refurb by the look of it at the time of this stay.

The Warden Arthur & his wife are always so helpful. They keep the site looking sharp.

This is our second visit this year, plus we came here twice last year as well. We just wish that we lived a little closer so that we could visit more often and that we had discovered it sooner.

Previous     35 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Rutland   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 17 to 20 Jan 2019, Event City
Huge choice of the latest model caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes on display from over 200 exhibitors ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


663 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019




0.0928