Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Camping Le Haras

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Languedoc Roussillon > Palau Del Vidre > Camping Le Haras Reviews

Camping Le Haras
Domaine Saint Galdric
Palau Del Vidre
Languedoc Roussillon   (Browse area)
66690
Tel: 0033 (0) 468221450
Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 9 Reviews
                9/10 from 9 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Liz + Peter 15 reviews from this member

Camping at Le Haras is like staying in a beautiful arboretum - there were so many different trees on the site & a pretty little rose garden & lake.

We received a warm welcome & were taken on a walk round the site to choose our pitch. We were delighted to find large pitches, 3 or 4 to an area bounded by small trees & flowering hedges, and were able to have a full service pitch which was near the sanitaires. Even these were pretty, and kept very clean at all times. There were also washing machines & driers in the same buildings.

There was a terrific amount of work in progress when we visited, but in no way did it affect our holiday. A new reception & bar/restaurant was almost ready for the season, & will be very smart when completed (as I am sure it is by now).

Wifi was free, although we had to find a signal, the laundry providing an excellent source.

There was even a car-wash for guests to use.

Access to the site was very easy & there is plenty of parking space just inside the gates.

The village has a shop, restaurant & post office, & is within walking distance.

There are supermarkets in the neighbouring towns, plenty to see, the coast only a few minutes drive away & generally more than enough to enjoy - including visits to nearby Spain.

The weather was glorious sunny & warm, though a trifle windy at times.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vixens 10 reviews from this member

First trip in to France with the caravan and loved this site. Reception was quick friendly and gave great advice about local area. Taken to our pitch which was a fully serviced pitch and tucked away near the back of the site which was great for us. Plenty of room for the van car awning and outside sitting as long as you positioned the van sensibly. This however could be tricky if you don't have a mover. Some pitches in the middle did look a little small but think these are used mainly for tents. Toilet block clean tidy and plenty of them even when the site was full no queues. Pool area had plenty of sunbeds some in shade. The pool rules are enforced by the owners all the time. Site very child friendly. Great location for beaches and a visit to Spain. You can book a fridge which I would do next time as the van one did struggle in the 35 degree heat.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Berr0012 1 review from this member

Writing a review for this site is so difficult as it tells more people about this little gem of a campsite. The owners will give a warm welcome and the staff are friendly. Pitches are a good size but larger vans may struggle without a motor mover or a helping hand/hands. The toilets are clean and showers warm.

The pool is large and great for swimming, no slides but there is a children's paddling pool. The site Restaurant has a good menu and is not expensive. Visiting bands and events are organised about 3 times a week, making for good entertainment. (Great horse dressage display this year). Free Wifi although slow at times, but at least you can get it sitting in your van/tent.

The local village is so beautiful and a trip to the beach involves a short 5 minute drive. 15 minute drives to Colliore, Port Vendres and more beaches.

If you like smaller non commercial sites, child friendly, clean, within easy reach of beaches, villages, mountains, motorways then book early. Be warned. If you go, you may return!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrscmb 52 reviews from this member

We really liked this campsite. The owners are very friendly and efficient, on arrival we were given handouts of useful information and the option to change our pitch from the allocated one. The pitches are more or less level, a bit dusty and vary in size and shape. It looked as though all the pitches had some shade to a degree as the whole site is quite wooded.

The sanitaires were modern and very clean – in fact it seemed to me the cleaners lived in them, they were cleaning so often! The two unisex blocks between them contain 11 showers, 7 toilets, 1 urinal, 6 private washbasins, 2 non private w/b, a baby bath, 2 washing machines, 1 tumble dryer and 4 washing up sinks. Despite the fact the campsite was full whilst we were there, I only had to queue for a toilet, but not for a shower. There is no soap in the toilets but plenty of toilet paper – no plugs in the washing up sinks – take your own universal plug.

There is a restaurant – food quite good – also provides take away pizzas & chips, a swimming pool 20m x 10m plus a smaller pool for young children with poolside bar, a small children’s playground, trampoline, volleyball net, area for playing boules and a charcoal bbq area. There is a lovely parkland area with a small lake containing fish – no fishing though. One facility not normally seen on a camping site is a car washing facility, so it was a pleasant surprise to find a dedicated car washing area complete with equipment. When we visited wifi was free and Le Haras was the only site we stayed at where we could actually use wifi in our caravan without having to walk to reception for a connection.

You could order bread at reception but we used the village boulangerie or nearby supermarkets – also in the village is an excellent fruit & veg shop (also sells eggs & boxes of wine), a charcuterie, a boucherie, tabac, spar shop, pizza takeaway and more. There is a very pleasant large lake (Plan d’eau) a small distance from the campsite which you can walk round.

A very pleasant site in a great location and very keenly priced. What’s not to like?

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pickles 5 3 reviews from this member

We loved this site, had the best holiday ever but this had a lot to do with the fact that our children 5, 8 and 10 all found friends to play with.

On arrival we were given a bottle of the local wine and lots of information about the best beaches, days out local markets etc.

The local village was only 5 minutes walk and was very interesting. It is famous for its glass and you can view the artists in their workshops.

The local Spar was fantastic. There is also a wonderful greengrocers and of course the bakery.

We found this area to be very cheap for food, lots of local fresh fruit and veg.

The site was full when we arrived, a good mix of nationalities.

There is a lovely laid back feel to this site, it helped that the other campers were friendly and the weather stayed very hot. We had a lovely secluded pitch near the lake and the playing field which was close enough to see the children play. Two pools lovely and warm, plenty of sunbeds, playground with wooden climbing frames and swings, large playing field with volleyball net by the lake and boules by the bar.

It was also good to have a separate space for the car.

There were 2 live concerts a week, low key and fun, finishing by 11.

The owner did some lovely crafts with the children and in the second week once the camp had emptied out the pool was open for a moonlight swim which is one of the lasting memories of this highly recommended family site.

PS I should mention that the work on the nearby railway track at night was the most horrendous noise ever, but we do laugh about it now and it didn't spoil our holiday

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MatildaandTaz 6 reviews from this member

A great family campsite. We stayed for the last 2 weeks in August and there was a mini heat wave so the the beautiful trees provided much needed shade.

Our pitch was a good size and had a low hedge all round and a willow tree overhead. The ground was dusty and hard so take extra pegs. We hired a fridge which was a must and a reasonable price. EHU and taps nearby.

There was a good mix of nationalities, NL, F, UK, DL. The owners were so helpful and recommended best beaches for kids / parking / snorkels etc.

The pool was great and the kids loved cycling round the site and it was safe and small enough for them to do this. We used the games field and table tennis all the tinme.

We only used the bar twice and the restaurant once but it was all good. Toilets and showers were uni-sex and clean. Washing machine and tumble drier on site.

Argeles was a busy seaside town but had super-market etc. We used the bread man on the campsite and the local spar in Palau del Vidre for basics. Local sangria and wine is cheap and lovely.

There are some amazing beaches along the coast road to Spain. We went to the Dali museum in Figures which was amazing and has a day trip to Andorra and a terrifying (for me) drive back through the mountain passes.

We will definitely go again but will not attempt to drive there in one go but have a stop over as it took 15 hours to get there.

We went from Calais, Chartres, Orleans Clermont Ferrand (millau viaduct) Perpignan route. Via michelen was a good route planner and had toll prices etc. A great site and area.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LYDIAK 2 reviews from this member

We were there at the beginning of the Season when it was very quiet but found it to be a lovely relaxing site. Well defined pitches with plenty of Water points. Only one Toilet block open but no problems with queuing. People very friendly with helpful suggestions for places to visit on the Coast and inland. Lots to see on the Coast and a visit into Spain is easy. Large Carrefore Supermarket 4 klm away. Village very quiet but nice place to have a walk round. Pool was not open when we were there so cannot comment on it.

We used Camping Cheques which were 7 nights for 6 cheques and we got a bottle of Wine when we checked out so all in all very good value. We would certainly use this site again if we were in the area again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ldpdmp 4 reviews from this member

Super site not too far from lovely beaches and 'well away from the beaches'. Basically a quiet seaside site well worth a visit. Entertainment fairly quiet and reserved for southern France beach areas and only twice per week in season. Pool was good - not noisy - no slides. Has an open parkland feel to the site. Easy walk to the village although not a lot going on in it. Has a good shop and supermarkets are readily available in nearby Argeles and even Perpignan if you can be bothered to drive up there. Loo block are fine but perhaps somewhat limited in reality. You may have to queue at times - but at least it lets you chat with the neighbours. Quite a few Brits around - it is a Caravan Club site. Lake nearby kilometre or so - easy to walk to - and walkroundable! Enjoyed the place - so I am going back this year. Can't say better than that.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lelly68 5 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site! We stayed here for a week in August, and would have loved to have stayed longer.

Although there was entertainment in the form of live music a couple of times whilst we were there, it wasn't too overpowering - maybe because we were quite a way from it.

You could order your croissants and baguettes from reception for the following day, although there was no actual shop on site.

The pool was lovely - no slide, but quite a large 'paddling' pool (came up to about thigh height on an adult) as well as the 'big' pool.

There were 3 sets of toilet blocks altogether, all of which were regularly cleaned and only had to queue for the shower once.

Only ate in the restaurant once, but the food was good and the staff were friendly. There was also a bar, and a children's play area.

Nearby there was Perpignan, andit was only a short drive toSpain(although traffic was very bad in and out of Spain)

There were numerous beaches, including some more rocky ones which were fantastic for snorkelling.

Would definitely go back - brilliant!


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Palau Del Vidre      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Languedoc Roussillon

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4427 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019