Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Soleil Plage

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Site Reviews

Soleil Plage
Caudon Par Montfort
Vitrac Sarlat
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
24200
Tel: 00 33 05 53 28 33 33
    Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: April - September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <1 mile   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: 2 B Trusted 2 reviews from this member

Stayed on site in June during heatwave. It is a lovely site but the area is not suitable for motorhomers wishing to use bikes. The roads are dangerous and the local drivers are very fast, dangerous and unwelcoming.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Atko 10 reviews from this member

Thought we would head back to our favourite site in France for a week, last time being in 2012.

It is still a lovely site / location, but we felt that things had changed and not for the better. Entertainment / music went on til about 12. 30 in morning twice a week which we felt was far too late. Toilets not cleaned as often as used to be.

Without sounding snobby!their were two fights at night from middle aged British campers, but they were still aloud to be in site and not a good example for my children.

Another British couple (getting embarrassing now) had a row with each over and were eventually thrown off site for unplugging their electricity on a regular basis. I know this is not the fault of the site, but didn't help our experience.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Starsearcher 7 reviews from this member

I agree 100% with all the great comments for this site and cannot fault it EXCEPT. When it rains the whole place turns into a mud rink. We had three days of intermittent rain, mostly at night, but the whole site was a nightmare. Most were packing up and leaving early. Just a point because it can often rain in the Dordogne

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Sheds 4 reviews from this member

Great site. Our 3rd time to the Dordogne over the last 6 or 7 years and I think this is probably our favourite site so far. Wonderful situation and fantastic views. For us it was the perfect balance of a bit of buzz and peace and relaxation. We camped at the 'Village de la Plage' section and the pitches were a very good size and level. Well separated affording you the privacy to relax on your pitch.

The facilities were good, although our daughter (12) was not a fan of the birds nesting in the toilet blocks! The shop was perfectly good and the bar area was pleasant - the views certainly made for a great location to have a glass of wine and a beer at the end of a day of swimming/canoeing/sightseeing! Close to a games room which the kids (12 and 10) enjoyed too. Had a takeaway and ate at the restaurant and both very good. The icecreams were particularly delicious! Prices pretty typical.

Pools were great and the indoor pool was a bonus. Usual annoying habits of people putting towels on loungers and then only showing up for the odd half hour, but I guess there's not a lot they can do about that. There were organised activities in the pool and although we didn't join in it was good entertainment!

Perfect location for seeing all the fantastic sights of the Dordogne - not too much of a drive to anything really. Also great that there is a canoe base on site.

Unfortunately we were only there for 4 days on our way to Spain, but enjoyed it so much that we hope to go back in 2016 for 2 weeks - and we've never gone back to the same site in 10 years of camping in France so that says a lot.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Checkley1973 6 reviews from this member

Thought I'd write a short review on this site as although there are lots of good reviews they are getting dated now.

The good news is the site is still great, overview below :

Access

Generally easy although the road in a tight and twisty. Fine if you take it easy.

Pools

1 unheated outdoor pool, 1 outdoor heated pool and one indoor heated pool. Heated pools were a nice temperature. Some small water slides suitable for all but better suited to younger children.

Pitches

We stayed in the riverside area of the site on a fully serviced pitch. Pitch was fine but very dusty due to the very warm weather this year, the grass was long gone. That said everything was easy to access and it was a decent size. We parked our car in the car park to make more room. Not sure why but lots of tents booked onto these fully serviced pitches, seems a waste to me and helped to kill off the grass. Pitches overlooking the river sell out before they go on sale, 2016 they are all booked by returning guests for the entire season. Also we noted the lack of insects / flies etc. We expected more being by the river however there were virtually none.

River

Fantastic. Easy access, crystal clear water. We spent more time in the river than the pool as our two girls loved it so much. Current is good but not dangerous and we found a rope swing slightly up river from the site too. Great fun.

Restaurant

Didn't use it but heard from a few regulars it wasn't as good this year, chef left apparently.

Wifi

Works on majority of site including pitches and had a decent speed for a campsite. Cost 15 euro a week and can be used on different devices but not at the same time.

Entertainment

Usual affair, not our cup of tea really so we kept away.

Wash facilities

Washing machine 5 euro, dryer 3 euro. Includes detergent for wash. Showed were good, the block near riverside is newer and a good standard. One point to note is they are all mixed sex, no specific female or kids facility.

Who are we ?

A family of 4. Our 2 girls are aged 9 and 6. We are seasoned tourers having visited France every summer for 6 years now.

Would we go back?

Yes we will be there in 2017. Ardeche in 2016.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cah62 2 reviews from this member

Great site for families or couples. Wonderful pools. Great for dog walking. Pitches nicely shaded and spacious. Good atmosphere in the bar area at night. Facilities very clean and tidy. Within easy reach of Domme and Sarlat. Staff very helpful. River next to site and plenty of sporting facilities available including canoeing, fishing and swimming is very popular in the river. The only downside for me is for carman nets it is a tight squeeze approaching sight via Vitrac Village.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nitnat 10 reviews from this member

We spent two weeks here on pitch 147 which was over by the riverside pitches (for us this area is much more preferable, as away from the noise of the entertainment etc which ENT on until about midnight)

We enjoyed the site, the river, and the pool area was great for children of all ages ours ranged from 5 to 15 and all were suitably satisfied by it.

The facilities on site were great and well kept.

We ate at the on site restaurant one night and the meals were fine and good value for money.

We didn't explore the surrounding area very much so cannot really comment much on that.

The access to the site was ok, some tight roads with overhanging rock faces and parked cars etc which with a large twin axle was a little scary at times, but having said that we managed and we've only being towing since October.

We would return again in he future.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TickleMePink 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from an 11 night stay on a fully serviced pitch at Soleil Plage and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday.

We had a large pitch on the river side of the site which accommodated our large twin axle caravan, a full size awning, 4x4 car, inflated kayak, various tables, chairs, loungers etc. With plenty of room to spare. There was 16A electric, water tap and drainage hole on the pitch so no complaints about the pitch whatsoever. Yes, the ground was dusty with not much grass as others have said but nothing worth grumbling about. We had a tree at the front of our pitch which provided a lovely shady place to eat and escape the sun. It was pitch number 155 and I would recommend it if only for the size.

The site is easy to find by following the site’s own directions on their website and we received a nice welcome at reception on arrival and were offered drinks of water on what was a very hot day.

My daughter enjoyed the swimming pool complex but finding a sun lounger was sometimes tricky unless you were there early. Unfortunately the usual lounger hogging was commonplace with people putting towels on a whole row of beds in the morning but not turning up until late in the afternoon to use them or even not turning up at all. Swimming shorts are allowed in the pools.

We preferred the river for cooling off and the water was lovely. There are several little beaches along the front of the site and we tended to use the quieter pebble ones rather than the sand one. We took our own inflatable kayak and OH would drive the car and the kayak to the finishing point at either Vitrac or Cenac then cycle back to the site. We would then sail down the river and come back in the car. Alternatively we would drive out to a point up the river, sail down to Soleil Plage then OH would cycle back for the car later. The best time to do it is early in the morning before the canoe trips start and the river resembles canoe soup! We saw kingfishers, herons and some smallish beaver type mammals when we had the river to ourselves early in the morning.

The shower facilities were fine and we preferred to use the older shower block. Although the cubicles were smaller and a little old fashioned we found the water pressure to be better. The washing up area is housed in the same block and there was always plenty of hot water.

We used the take-away a couple of times for pizza, burgers and paninis and we sometimes bought a large box of chips to go with our own food at the caravan. The food was reasonable but expensive, as were the drinks in the bar where a pint of Hoegaarden and a glass of wine was almost 12 Euros. The site restaurant was probably the most disappointing part of our holiday although several people had recommended it. We chose the set menu for 14. 50 Euros each which was a choice of soup, salad or cold meat followed by steak and chips, chicken fillet in mushroom sauce or nicoise salad then a dessert or coffee. We chose the chicken in mushroom sauce and were stunned when it arrived and was four tiny slices of grilled chicken breast, one floret of broccoli and a handful of chips. Two of us ordered the chicken and both portions put together wouldn’t have made half a chicken breast. The “mushroom sauce” was a watery chicken soup with a few sliced tinned mushrooms floating in it. The steak looked slightly better but we were told it was tough. Twice during the meal we asked the waiter for the wine list and he finally arrived to take our wine order just as we were ready to order desserts. Trop tard!

Much nicer was the restaurant in Montford where four of us had the plat du jour, desserts, drinks and a bottle of wine for almost half the cost of the meal at Soleil Plage. We also ate at the Pech de Malet restaurant which is about 2kms from the site but can be reached by a shortcut through the corn fields next to the site. They did a lovely set menu and the views of the valley were breath-taking. It was also nice to find that we were the only British people amongst the French when we arrived which is usually a good sign.

We didn’t do much sight-seeing but one visit I would thoroughly recommend is the gardens at Marqueyssac which is only a 10-15 minute drive away. On Thursday evenings in July and August the gardens are lit by candles and they have live music and performers dotted around. Arrive before sunset and take a picnic for the best experience. Watching the sun go down and the valley changing colours through yellow to orange to purple was magical.

In summary, we had a wonderful holiday and wouldn’t hesitate in going back. However, there were sites in the area that looked as if they were better suited to our needs with less razzmatazz and fewer facilities. After the disappointing experience we didn’t use the restaurant or the bar again and we only bought bread from the shop a couple of times. We weren’t interested in the club style entertainment in the evenings and our daughter wasn’t interested in the kids clubs either. We could have got away with a simple site with a small swimming pool for a fraction of the cost but for an introduction to the Dordogne I would certainly recommend Soleil Plage.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mickwithdoodle 23 reviews from this member

Stayed for 3 nights 27/30-06-13. Excellent large site divided into two sections, we were on the section alongside the Dordogne river, but the pitches were very sandy/muddy with little grass. Serviced pitches with 16amp, water & waste water. Friendly staff on reception, who spoke good English & completed the formalities efficiently. Good restaurant, bar, snack bar etc & superb swimming pool. Good dog walk along the river bank.

Excellent site only problem was that it was full of Brits, it was like being in the U. K.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireMike21 40 reviews from this member

I have to say this was my least favourite site during my 2 week tour of the dordogne. Dont get me wrong its lovely but just not my cup of tea. The pool was lovely with great views. The main reason I didn't like it was we had come from sites with all open pitches, I like the feel of this type of pitch where you can see everything going on. Our pitch though large was down cul de sacs with high hedges making it feel very closed in, the grass was non existant. Had a meal one night, the most expensive set meal on menu, thought it was very average. It felt much more mass scale eg happy hour, 12 spirt shot cocktails etc. It was the most expensive stay we had plus wifi was chargeable where it had been free on other sites. Nothing at all wrong with site, just not for me.

Had electric bikes and cycled to Montfort, had a lovely lunch at the little place there. Nothing much else you can cycle to.

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 30 miles   -    All Sites in Aquitaine   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019