Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cotswold Carp Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Bourton On The Water > Cotswold Carp Farm Reviews

Cotswold Carp Farm
Rissington Road
Bourton On The Water
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 2FH
Tel: 01451 821795
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Bob61 28 reviews from this member

I was a little disappointed with this campsite. It didn't start off well when the postcode would not be accepted by my in-car satnav which wouldn't allow me to input the final 'H' and instead insisted on GL54 2F'D' which I later discovered was an address in Lower Slaughter. Luckily I knew the area so as soon as I realised my satnav was bypassing Bourton I was able to divert.

On arrival I was shown to my pitch which all seem to be on a strip of grass alongside one of the lakes. Half the pitches are in the open but half are under trees which is not advisable in a tent due to the debris that is likely to fall down. Fortunately the pitch I was finally given was mostly between trees. Tents requiring EHU are fitted in between caravans and motorhomes which isn't ideal.

What made it worse though, was that the grass had recently been cut and all the heavy cuttings remained on the surface. It wasn't long before my tent was full of grass cuttings and my tent carpet was filthy. It is not convenient having to take shoes off every time one enters the tent. It didn't help that the weather was showery so the grass cuttings were wet and stuck heavily to soles of shoes. On arrival home I noticed even my car carpet was full of grass cuttings! When I mentioned this to the owner she stated they didn't pick up the grass because it encouraged grass snakes. I assume she meant in the grass pile.

The part of the lake which my tent was next to was quite overgrown on the bank so there was no clear view and the water looked quite stagnant. Consequently gnats and mosquitoes were abundant.

The toilet block was small and basic but was kept very clean. There were separate cubicles containing a toilet and a sink for men and for women but the showers were unisex.

The only good things about this campsite from my point of view were the location in relation to the town (10 minute walk) and the peace and quiet (until the dawn chorus!), being well away from the roads. Although there is lots of interest in the town with a motor museum, model railway display, a model village and a bird sanctuary to name but four, I would hesitate in visiting the campsite again.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: JPeters 1 review from this member

What an amazing place. This is a little hidden gem sitting just behind the village of Bourton on the Water. It is so peaceful and Tracey made us feel very welcome and relaxed.

No stuffy rules as Tracey was so laid back about where we positioned our caravan and car. The village was only 10 minute walk so no need to drive.

There was an added bonus of two donkeys Jake and Jasper on the site and they were so friendly. The site didn't have a washing up station, which would have been handy, but it do not spoil our stay.

I would definitely recommend this site and hope to visit it again in the future.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Pheasantredred 1 review from this member

The lady who greeted us was lovey, the site is to die for, wildlife, peace tranquility, shower room/toilets basic but absolutely fine and a short walk to Bourton on the water.

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE follow the postcode, NOT coordinates as speaking from experience they do not work well (lots of reversing)

What I can tell you is that in one months touring this was the best and most memorable site we visited.

I could live there to be honest and coming from the Lake District that's a pretty good recommendation.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bev H 5 reviews from this member

Perfect site, only a 10 minute walk into Bourton. Clean toilets and shower. Tidy sight and so peaceful apart from the birds and all pitches over looking the carp ponds.

Dog friendly and adult only. Tracey is friendly and helpful.

Some great walks from the site in an area of beautiful countryside and quaint villages.

Date of Visit: April 2019 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aunty P 1 review from this member

Beautiful peaceful location, great hosts no pressures just checking and left to enjoy the lakes and surroundings. Definitely be visiting again in the near future.
via mobile

Date of Visit: February 2019 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Jeffnjane 1 review from this member

Perfect site, spotless facilities, quiet, lakes, wildlife, close to village and a very warm welcome. Now it has a 2berth loft Apartment to rent. Beautifully fitted out, warm and cosy with a lovely balcony to enjoy the sun and lakes views. Just perfect for a winter break when itís to cold to camp, and ideal if friends who are not campers and want to enjoy this gem of a site.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boltons 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here both on the way down to Devon and back, for 6 days in total. What a gloriously peaceful site, with pitches based around the lake.

Great walks around the carp lakes making friends with Jasper and Jake the donkeys. Lovely gentle stroll into beautiful Bourton.

Facilities basic but clean although we used the shower in the van. Found easily using the previous directions. A hidden gem.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carol Jean 21 reviews from this member

I loved this little site. The man who gave us directions on the phone was very good and if you follow them you wont have a problem. You turn off A429 on to Station Road then drive to the end where there are traffic lights and the Post Office facing you. Turn left here on to Rissington Road. You will see Birdland then a car park on Right. Then you will see a cricket field on your left. Take the 3rd left after here (passing Bridle Close and Sadlers Edge) which is Rye Close. Then take 3rd right which is Lambert Field which is a small culdesac of rather nice houses so don't be put off!

The pitches are next to the lakes.

I liked the toilets as they were roomy with their own large washbasin in. Bourton is beautiful and just a short walk away.

We walked up Cemetery Lane then when out on the road turned left. But if you cross over the road there is a good Indian restaurant next to the little Tesco and petrol station and car park. Lots of eating places and pubs in Bourton. Kingsbridge was cheaper beer than the Manse. We did a 5 mile walk to Clapton on the Hill which was pleasant. No eating places there though.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonjesk 7 reviews from this member

What a great site, we loved it. Very peaceful in a beautiful location right next to the lakes. We booked for 5 nights but stayed for 9 as our car had a problem and was stuck at the main dealer. Tracey was very helpful including taking messages for us as we gave the site number as contact.

Facilities are basic but very clean, location is great for bourton on the water with all its attractions and amenities. Site itself has no facilities for children.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dibull 1 review from this member

Just got back from a perfect week at Cotswold Carp Farm. Recieved a warm welcome from Terry who showed us where to pitch our caravan. All pitches face the lake which is idyllic with lots of wildlife to keep us entertained.

There were lots of safe dog walking where our border collie Meg hardly went on the lead( apart from on site) and enjoyed meadows and leafy bridle paths and footpaths, even the lanes were mostly traffic free.

Bourton On The Water is about a fifteen minute scenic walk and is very pretty, we had lovely weather and you could let the dog paddle in the water that ran through the village. The kingsbridge pub on the main stretch was dog friendly and although we never ate in there ourselves heard some good reports about the food.

Definitely going back next year, lovely site, thankyou Tracey, see you next year

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4282 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019