Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Marsden > Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House) Reviews

Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House)
Manchester Road
Standedge
Marsden
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HD7 6NL
Tel: 01484 844419
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10 hardstand for caravan plus camping
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Other
Nights stayed: 0 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 Please note that the pub next door to this site has been sold, and is no longer a public house - it's been converted into a luxury cottage rental. 


Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jimthewalker 4 reviews from this member

 Reasonable but I've had better.

Good views, noisy road, tired toilets. It is exposed, so if your tent is vulnerable to wind, it might be a problem.

We turned up backpacking without booking and got a couple of slightly sloping pitches with hard rock and longish grass - perfectly reasonable, but I have had better. The toilet block is tired and only adequate - you do need to pay for a shower. The food in the attached pub is above average.

2-mile walk from Marsden on the back road - the A62 is *busy* 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matt-lucie 15 reviews from this member

 Spent two nights here on a beautiful hot May weekend. This is a site behind a pub but donít like that put you off. Itís very wild up there on a main through fair cut through the wild saddleworth moors. There is nothing else around this area but ideal for walks.

The views from this site are very special. Just wild moorlands and hills and spectacular really. The site is mainly motorhomes and caravans some look permanently pitched there but not sure.

What we did love was the sheer peace and quiet this site offered. No noisy campers at all. Even in the day time we never heard anyone apart from passing children who were visiting the pub and came to play on the park which is fair enough.

We are in the pub one night and it was ok food. Not fantastic but it was decent enough.

The facilities are basic but perfectly adequate. A few pops and showers (all unisex), a chemical disposal unit. Washing up sink and electric hookup. Cost for tent with electric and two people £16 a night which is fine for the basic facilities offered. A fair price.

All in all we loved the views and peace. I wouldn't like to try this site in poor weather as I can imagine it is very windy and stormy as itís very exposed but we had delightful weather which made the weekend perfect.

Will return. 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrissieT 16 reviews from this member

 Jolly good value at only £5 for a backpacking tent, single occupant.

Following a wet spring the site was soft but well drained, so no problems there. Take plenty of pegs, it's high up so is very exposed. Pitches not marked, fairly level. Grass. Hard standing for caravans, with pitches available with grass for awning or pup tents.

The facilities are part of the main pub building, entered by an outside door. There is a code and the lock wasn't working properly. I had to get help in the morning! 50p for plenty of hot water in the shower. There is even a bath! A tumble dryer too.

Children's play area in a fenced of area visible from patio seating.

The pub has an interesting pub/Turkish menu. Real fire too.

Marsden is a couple of miles away. £6 by taxi. Shops and walks.

The Carriage house is on the Pennine Way, so pretty much in the middle of nowhere, but with lots of attractions just a short drive away.

Simple site but happy to return. 


Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CaravanFran 1 review from this member

 Beautiful, wild moorland location close to the village of Marsden. Lovely walks nearby. Clean, unisex facilities, accessed using code which we were officially given when checking out. Although a bank holiday, we tried to go to the pub an hour before the advertised closing time and were told 'we're closed' even though there was a group of people at the bar. No alternative facilities within walking distance. Very muddy pitch but it had rained a lot. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Feathers1 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 8 nights and got one free. The owners were exceedingly helpful, Bev in particular. The site is attached to a pub on the A62 Huddersfield/ Manchester road high up about 2. 5miles West of Marsden. There is noise from the road during rush hours but once in the van we could barely hear it and there was very little sound at night. The views from the site are amazing, the expanse of Marsden Moor and the industrial heritage of rail and canal to be explored nearby. There are so many water taps that you could, during the week, use a hose and connect your Aquaroll, with a splitter you could be connected all the time. There are plenty of electrical hook ups, no need to use masses of cable. The grey waste emptying was easy as it was at ground level and the toilet cassette emptying was in the toilet block and was easy to use. The toilet block has 3 individual rooms, one with a bath, one with a large shower and one with adaptations for disabled people. The block was always warm and 50p for the shower seems to give plenty of time. The floor wasn't always clean, no fault of the owner, just folk tramping in with grass etc, think there needs to be a sign asking people to leave shoes outside the doors to the individual rooms. The children's play area looked a little in need of a touch of paint but as we had no children with us we didn't get a very close look. The food in the Carriage House is very good. It is open every day for evening meals, except Tuesday when it's closed. There are lunches available at weekends as well. There is a Karaoke on a Saturday night and there is some noise from it, maybe you want to join in? There are so many walks around that you would be spoiled for choice and the village of Marsden is a delight with super little cafes and shops not forgetting the Standedge tunnel and visitor centre. We'll be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Faye1827 1 review from this member

 Stayed here last night, two adults two children in a tent. Found facilities really good and pitch reasonably cheap. We went for an over night stay just at to check out our new tent really as we live quite local. Any excuse for a night away lol

Site small but for what you pay/where it is definitely big enough to suit hikers, one night stays. Not much else about. Met some lively campers. Lovely village of Marsden just a short walk away. Roaming sheep and lovely views on the way down would suggest taxi bwck if with small children.

Didn't stay in the restaurant for tea but did try go for breakfast. Nine thirty and was told they could not make any breakfasts as the cook eas going to the suppliers. Clearly bad timing on our part.

Toys for kids in pub/restaurant however kids are told they can't play with them as they are too loud and the cleaner was cleaning the toilets? Don't know why that had anything to do with the toys. Kids ages of 3/4 expected to be a little hyper however were kept under control and I wouldn't say they were too loud at All. Was told by landlady if they didn't be quiet the toys would go away (after school tea time ish) there was four children playing yet we were the only ones warned?

Playarea outside all rusty and could do with a bit of sproose up. Can remember coming here myself as a child and loved it. Brilliant views. Lots of fields, quiet location on an evening.

Would go again but like I said. Over night put stop. 


Date of Visit: January 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Caroline1311 6 reviews from this member

 Thoroughly enjoyed our 1 night stay here, only 45 minutes from our home but never been to this area before. Decided to make the most of the mild January weekend and get away!

Hardstanding pitches, just choose where you want and hook up, water tap right next to our pitch which was good. Toilets, showers, washing up etc is in a building near the play area and was clean and warm. Not sure about having the CDP in here though, may get a bit smelly in the summer! You need 50p for the showers.

Total cost for the night for 2 adults in motorhome was £15.

There is a bit of road noise but nothing to put us off and lovely views to the moors from our motorhome. We walked in to Marsden down the main road and turned off to go via the Standedge Tunnel and Visitor Centre (would like to come back to ride into the canal when it opens in March), there is a cafe by the canal too. We walked along the canal towpath into Marsden where there is a small selection of shops, cafes, charity shops etc. Can recommend Peel One for a drink and would be lovely in the summer as they have a balcony overlooking the river. There is a lovely shop next door to the Marsden Moose Cafe which sells lovely cheeses, breads, olives and much more and is run by a lovely lady who gave us a free slice of cake to take back to our motorhome! The walk is about 2. 5 miles and going back the wind was against us and it was starting to rain (no footpath, just grass verges on both sides for a short while from the Carriage House FYI). It took us about 45 minutes on the way back.

We reserved a table in the restaurant and had a lovely meal (Turkish starters and main). Would thoroughly recommend! Finished off the evening with a drink in the bar and listened to the Karaoke and sat by the roaring fire :-) Was a very family friendly pub with an area with toys etc. Play area outside for the nice weather.

Lovely, friendly staff - we will definitely return here in the Spring/Summer. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Peter Boitoult 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this great site next a a good pub. On site facilities were excellent with lots of hot shower water for 50p. Stunning location with bus stops outside the pub for the regular First 184 service, Huddersfield to Manchester. The pub food was very good and the Turkish speciality menu was a bonus as was the well kept real ales. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: PGA1966 17 reviews from this member

 The campsite is right by the A62 which can be a busy road, however the traffic did not really bother us.

Campsite was in a very pleasant rural area.

Most pitches are hardstanding with electric hook up.

Small grass area for tents.

The toilet block was unisex had 3 separate bathrooms, 1 with walk in shower toilet and basin good for people with disability.

1 with bath with over head shower toilet and basin.

1 with shower cubicle toilet and basin.

Pot wash area within the toilet block.

The pub was a very pleasant offering bar meals or restaurant. The food was very good value, try the 8oz rump with fried egg.

The owners were very helpful and made everyone very welcome.

There is a children's play area.

The nearest village Marsden is about 1 1/2 away.

There was a bus stop right out side the campsite with regular buses. Buses run both directions.

The town of Huddersfield about 15 min drive away.

Would definitely use the site again and recommend it to others.

We really enjoyed our stay. Chatted to other campsite guest all appeared to have same opinion. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Marsden      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5235 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement