Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Moorhay Farm Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Moorhay Farm Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Moorhay Farm Caravan And Camping Park
Wigley
Old Brampton
Chesterfield
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
S42 7JJ
Tel: 07478 281523  or  07811285467
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 5 + Tents
Open: 1st March - 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 10 Reviews
                9/10 from 10 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Darkhe10482wn 1 review from this member

Amazing place to stay on a farm field surrounded by horses. Beautiful location with lots of walks and places to visit. Will be back!

Nearby is Chatsworth, Bakewell and Matlock so plenty of places to visit. The site itself is a large field with 2 hardstanding pitches there is a board at the entrance telling you which pitch to set up on.

There's a small shop that sells essentials and the toilet block is kept clean and tidy there are 3 toilets and one shower but I never had to queue or wait for the use.

The grass is cut regularly but not picked up so it does tread into the van. It is a clay field and does get muddy when there's a lot of rain, but all in all it's a great little site at a reasonable price which I will definitely be booking again
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Kennyo 10 reviews from this member

Billy basics. But well worth the money. Not a lot on site especially for kids, some great walks around the area though.

Entry lane not a lot of signage to let you know where it is. Quite narrow with very sparse passing points with a caravan and quite a lot of potholes at nearly 0. 5 miles long.

During our stay on pitch 12 rained last 2 nights and area did turn very marshy. Pitch 1 became a swamp.

Toilet block was a good size, but only 1 shower in each sex. 2 pubs close by but check their hours only open at certain times on certain days.

Overall good value for money.
via mobile

Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MarkBam 3 reviews from this member

Great size plots, small site, toilet block is small, with 1 shower in the gents. The cleaning of the toilets was not great but, if they had a mop the people could clear up after themselves?

By mid morning the toilets/ shower were very dirty. Turn up very quite site, fabulous views, brilliant pub at the end of the road the Fox and Goose, good service, great food and good beer!

No one ever welcomed us on site, a new experience for me, didn’t have to check in? I paid and booked for 4 nights and then 2 families turned up with 4+ kids, 4 dogs, of which 1plus more we’re allowed to roam free this dog being a Staffie, then all the kids were driving up and down the gravel drive skidding on their bikes well into 10 o clock at night.

At 11pm the adults are then going around the site with a torch calling for the dog, I am not against dogs as I have 2 and they were always on a lead whilst on site.

Due to this experience we made the decision to leave a day earlier. I think the site could improve the toilet facilities as they were like sweat boxes during the August bank holiday.

Would I go back very unsure as the toilet block is a concern and also some of the people who were allowed to flout the site rules as there was never anyone from the site to be seen at all. But for your own sanity do read other reviews.
via mobile

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Kirstsw 32 reviews from this member

Just had one night at Moorhay Farm and thought it was excellent. We were blessed with spring sunshine. The field is well kept with two hardstanding pitches. The toilet block was clean with 1 shower each for men and ladies (although didn't use).

It is very peaceful with only the noise of nature. The pub is a 10 minute walk down the quiet lane and there is a lovely walk from the site to Linacre Resevoirs. We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMC1958 40 reviews from this member

Have just spent the most peaceful 3 nights at this lovely site. This was our first but not last visit.

The tranquil setting was to die for. The facilities were really good for a CL site and great value. The access road does require careful driving but is not an issue.

The neighbouring horses were a pleasure, Only criticism would be the Elsa disposal facility needs an upgrade. We will he back.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dads 1 review from this member

Clean toilets and showers, two nice pubs within walking distance, lots of places to walk like Linacre Reservoirs, very quiet and no light pollution great view of perseid meteor shower and could see the milky way because of the clear night and low light pollution (we wish we brought our telescope).

Friendly horses in the next field and full of other wildlife. Leaflets of local attractions and friendly staff. Lots of people enjoying themselves in the day then quiet at night. Advice: bring insect repellent.

We heard about more showers being built and a games room being built for 2018.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BroomingMarvellous 1 review from this member

I'm not usually one to leave reviews, but I just had to do so for this campsite! Absolutely superb holiday in the Peak District at a very competitive rate. The farm in situated in a picturesque location, very quiet in an evening- a good distance from any roads (fantastic if you're trying to get the kids to sleep!).

The site is fully furnished with showers, bathrooms, electric hook ups etc - my wife was pleasantly surprised at the cleanliness compared to other sites we've stayed in!

We met the farm owners on our stay, seemingly a lovely family run setup, very friendly and happy to help suggest locations of a nearby pub for an evening meal (The Old Poets Corner in Ashover just topped off our stay).

Only negative, I wish we'd have stayed longer!

Would highly recommend for other touring caravanners.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Nicki Ant 1 review from this member

We have just had a wonderful weekend at Moorhay Farm. We had a friendly welcome at this working farm / livery. The field is surrounded by fields of horses so beautiful views. It has basic facilities which is good enough for us but with the great bonus of being able to have a raised campfire - always a bonus!

The site is a good 10 min walk down a track but there is a pub - The Fox and Geese just 5 minutes further - which serves really good food - and allows dogs in the bar area. There is also another pub - The Royal Oak further down the road on the left (5 mins). We did a great walk from 'AA 50 Walks in the Peak District' - which happens to pass past the top of the farm track lane around Linacres's wood and reservoirs - about 6 miles in total. Buses into Chesterfield go every hour by Wigley school at the crossroads (15 min walk from camp). Can also catch bus to Bakewell there.

The sun shone for us, but even if it hadn't had, it was a really great camp sight for us who enjoy a bit of dog walking and a couple of pubs close by if not chilling by the campfire!

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anzie41 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a lovely weekend stay at Moorhay Farm.

The campsite is a new start up for the farm, so currently facilities are basic. There is a toilet block with warm water and a shower, although the toilets are missing bins and need a bit of a spruce up. There is a second toilet block being built so next year more facilities will be available.

The site is medium sized, plenty of room for tents and vans. They have hook ups available if you want electric. The field is next to a horse field, perfect if you want to add some value to the scenery.

Camp fires were allowed, although no fire wood or pits were provided - so make sure you go prepared.

The pub (fox and goose) is located at the end of the lane, 0. 6miles away approx 15min walk, excellent food and a proper country pub - although a little pricey - the food was amazing and the portions are big enough for two!

At a steal of £7 per tent per night Moorhay farm is a perfect place to get away, it still needs a little work but I am sure next season it will be fully up and running.

One improvement to make - bins, please provide bins for the campers.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Doritos 1 review from this member

If you are looking for piece and quiet this is the place for you.

The farm is a bit messy and the access to the field a bit bumpy, it was raining when we arrived so it was a bit muddy as well, we thought we are going to leave next day.

The horses at the front field, the trees, birds and beautiful sunset in the morning made us stay for another three days!

Clean toilets with toilet paper, , taps and shower with hot water( free of charge).

Dogs welcome, campfire allowed!

We will definitely come back!

Thank you.


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Chesterfield      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5656 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019