Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Panorama Du Pyla

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Aquitaine > Pyla Sur Mer > Camping Panorama Du Pyla Reviews

Camping Panorama Du Pyla
Grande Dune Du Pyla
Route De Biscarrosse
Pyla Sur Mer
Aquitaine   (Browse area)
33115
Tel: 0033 05 56 22 10 44
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 350
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 8 Reviews
                8/10 from 8 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Steve911 7 reviews from this member

 Very nice pictures site. We stayed for 7 nights and had a sea view. Every night we sat out with a glass of wine watching the sun set. Site is located in one of the most beautiful coast lines of France. The local sand Dunes are worth a visit and the town of Arcachon is worth going to on market days. A bus out site the site for 1 euro each way will take you to both locations. Site facilities are good. Pool complex is great for the kids, and the site has 2 restaurants. One over looking the bay all do expensive. Shop on site is good for small top ups if a full shop is needed then the larger supermarket is a small drive away.

Negatives of the site. Location means a lot of traffic. You can queue for hours to get from Bordeaux to the Dunes, This is all day long every day due to lots people wanting to come to this part of France. The beach from the site is down a sand Dune or steps. Which means a work out to get back up. Lots people found this difficult and if you are unfit or elderly then be warned this could be a big problem.

If you like Cycling then this site is great. Cycle tracks to all local areas are provided and all off road.

I would recommend this site for the views. But sadly would not return due to the Traffic and walk up sand dunes from coast line to campsite. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rexxie 30 reviews from this member

 A Yelloh! chain campsite. Located along the road to the Dune de Pilat, at the end of the dune in a pine forested area. Pitches of various sizes dependent on the layout of the trees, some more sloping than others -pitches unallocated and campers left to own devices to secure pitch dependent on size of unit and driver skill! Some pitches with sea views.

Lovely clean site. Good shower/ toilet facilities with paper dispenser outside toilet blocks. Good laundry facilities.

Bar, cafe, restaurant, creperie and shop. Fresh bread and croissants available daily as long as you're not a late riser! Restaurant pricey but with gorgeous views over the sea. Path down to beach at the edge of the dune - bit of a steep climb back up!

Good swimming pool.

Bus stop just outside of site entrance - easy trip in to Arcachon - well worth a visit. Dune easy cycle away and Pyla sur Mer also worth a visit.

Would recommend. Good price with ACSI card. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sallylotsofkids 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with 4 kids aged 8 to 15 while touring round France. It was by far the biggest site we stayed at but didn't feel like it was particularly big as it has a kind of rambling layout amongst the pine trees. When we were there the site was only about quarter full, but I imagine in August it would feel much more crowded.

We weren't given a choice of where to pitch, but the management had generally separated out those with younger children (sited up from the sea in the woods) and the somewhat livelier groups (mostly overlooking the sea). This worked really well for everyone - the area overlooking the sea had a sort of festival feel, with guitars and music playing and people up chatting late into the night, while those who wanted to get the kids to bed could do so in peace. I guess this sort of arrangement may only work out of season though.

Everything about the Dune, the beach and the sea view has been said before - it really is as stunning as it looks from their website. The Cote D'Argent beaches can be too rough for children, but the campsite beach is sheltered by sandbanks - no good for surf but fine to swim in. Arcachon is also worth a visit, and they do great boat trips around the Basin and down to the Dune.

The toilets didn't have soap, and only provided sheets of toilet paper from a dispenser outside the cubicles, but they were clean enough when we were there.

Our only complaint would have been the camp shop - it was not only extremely expensive (much more so than other campsite shops we visited) but sold out of most of its fresh fruit and veg the day we arrived and never really restocked. There are supermarkets not too far away though so we wouldn't let that stop us returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nellynoodle 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic campsite, well run, great location and a view of the ocean that is spectacular.

We stayed during the first two weeks of August and the campsite was full most of the time, however the way the campsite is arranged it didn't feel jam packed. The pitches are defined by the pine trees and small bushes, which makes the site feel 'cosy' even though it is very big.

Many sea view pitches have amazing views, we had a wonderful pitch, very near the restaurant and no distance from one of the washing blocks.

Facts about the campsite based on our group which comprised, 5 adults (one in her 60's) and a child of 11.

+ points:

Views
Staff (very helpful and friendly)
Spotless wc and showers
Beach access (although very steep)
10min drive to an Intermarche
Good shop on site (all the basics, although a bit pricey)
Pleasant pool area (but very crowded)
Not far from surfing beaches
Pleasant drive to other towns (Arcachon was lovely)
You can hire fridges (which many campers did)

- points:

Not many really
Steep access to the beach and hard climb (for Grandma!)
Not within walking distance of other bars and restaurants.
The only rubbish bins are located at reception (a car ride from our pitch).
Breath taking site, with loads of great facilities and was worth the money.

We wanted a sunset view from our tent and we got it. We booked 5 months before going and asked for a sea view, if you just turn up it is pot luck what you get.  


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pwwukpw 3 reviews from this member

 This is a bot of an odd review as we did not stay.

We were told on the phone that there was no need to book and they had plenty of space.

On arrival we were offered one of three pitches. All three were very cramped, no view, no space. Penned in on all sides by other units.

The site was overrun. Massive.

IF you have young children who want 1000 friends to play with & a butlins atmosphere this may be ok.

For a couple looking to stay by the sea, this was a nightmare. We cut off our compulsivity wrist bands and left. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jan Rixon 2 reviews from this member

 We looked at 2 more sites along the same road but neither had the spectacular views that we had here. Right next door to the dune which made easy climbing of it, down the cliff to the beach, hang gliders taking off of the dune and gliding up and down in front of you and overlooking Arcachon oyster beds. Good size pool, restaurant with fantastic views (though a bit expensive)and a shop. Camping is in the trees on sand and as it was late season we just drove around until we found a pitch we liked. Just beautiful! I would imagine that in peak season it would feel a bit cramped as we had a spot that was 2 pitches so were able to leave the car next to the tent. We were right by the sea so the tents in front were much lower so uninterrupted views. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lanza25 8 reviews from this member

 Our second visit to this site and we would return again and again and again. The setting is amongst the biggest sand dunes you have ever seen - a steep climb down to the beach and back up but certainly worth it. The sea is crystal clear, the beach is beautiful, the camp site is big set in wooded grounds on very sloping land - you need chocks! Some pitches have fantastic sea views for no extra cost - you choose your pitch - you are not told where you have to stay, it is very relaxed. There is an on site bar and restaurant, pools, shop, sports, etc. There is excellent cycling, a bus stop right outside the site - catch a bus to Arcascon (1 euro!). The sanitaires are in several blocks. Not the best we have seen - the site is very busy so they get a lot of hammer. Could be cleaned more frequently but don't let that put you off. This site is a MUST, you will not be disappointed if you like the beach, sunsets (amazing) and parapenters galore! Nearest supermarket 15 min drive away. Site shop sufficient for basics but shop before arriving. You won't want to leave. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ina 25 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here about 4 or 5 times now. The site is part of the Yelloh! Village chain. Although it is situated by the beach, you are actually above it, and you can either take the steps down to the beach, or go out at the side of the site. It's a good climb back up!

The site is next to the biggest dune in Europe, the Dune du Pyla, and you can get on to the dune straight from the site.

Paragliders use the area and you can sit and watch them above you from your pitch, a wonderful sight!

It is a big site, but well away from the road, so no road noise. It has a swimming pool, restaurant in season and shop, all these are when you first enter the site and away from the pitches.

Most pitches are under tree cover, with some pitches right at the front with superb views over the sea to Cap Ferret, and fantastic sunsets.

There are no shops in the immediate surroundings, the nearest supermarket is in La Teste de Buch, which would mean a car journey, although there are cycle paths there and we normally cycle there.

In the other direction the cycle path runs all the way to Biscarrosse Plage, which is very nice. There is also the Lake at Cazaux, which is lovely too.

Further afield is Bordeaux, which is near enough for a day visit. 



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Panorama Du Pyla child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Camping Panorama Du Pyla have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Panorama Du Pyla?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Panorama Du Pyla dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pyla Sur Mer      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Aquitaine

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6495 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement