Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Olivet

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Orleans > Camping Olivet Reviews

Camping Olivet
Rue Du Pont Bouchet
Olivet
Orleans
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
45160
Tel: +33 02 38 63 53 94
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 02/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 26 Reviews
                9/10 from 26 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  26 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Ironned 34 reviews from this member

 Stop off and a breather on the way to the Dordogne - stayed two nights as we wanted to see Orleans.

Friendly and efficient staff, the site was full (perhaps as the nearby municipal has closed) and they had to field quite a lot of enquiries from people who hadn't booked and wanted a pitch but remained very hospitable and cheerful, especially as the same people seem to run the office, shop and bar!

A pizza van visited both night we were there and on the night we tried it lots of people, like us were enjoying pizza with a drink or two from the bar, seated on a lovely terrace. They sell bread, eggs, cheese and milk in the shop alongside souvenirs and the usual wine and cider, and serve delicious looking charcuterie and breakfasts.

We had a nice pitch with a view of the fields beyond; some tent/camper pitches are right next to the Loiret and you can also hire canoes from the same area. It's a small site so there's just one sanitary block, and unfortunately it was very busy, which meant it didn't feel that Covid-safe. Very clean though and wouldn't put me off in better times.

Lovely big play areas backing onto fields.

You can walk to the tram for Orleans, although the road up from the site is steep and was too much for my disabled OH; the staff called a taxi for us, which was convenient if pricey !

Looks like there is some nice walking available but I couldn't do a circular route this time due to the road to Orleans being closed; had a nice wander on some farmland which would be fine for walking a dog if you have one with you.

A very nice site and a great stop off; a few things to do in the area and not that far from the eastern Loire chateaux. 


Date of Visit: August 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Racht4 1 review from this member

 We booked the campsite as a stopover whilst travelling down to the south so we didnít spend much time there.

The site is spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly. The toilet/shower block is mixed which didnít bother us but again it was very clean with hot showers.

The childrenís play area went down well with my children (aged 12, 10 & 2) with the trampoline being a bit hit. The pitch wasnít the biggest but it was fine for the short stay.

There is a lovely river that travels through the campsite that people appeared to kayak down. A pizza van comes into the site every night which we would recommend!

The bar sells your usual wine, beer, juice etc and they also offer a charcuterie board which looked delicious however I think thatís as far as they went in terms of food.

The shop was very little but sold your essentials. Perfect little stop off 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rosema 1 review from this member

 We stayed for one night while travelling south, without making a booking.

The lady on reception was very efficient and helpful.

Facilities were always clean and tidy.

We would visit this site again maybe for longer to explore the area more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Willjmay56 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely appointed site with outstanding facilities. The toilets and showers are mixed which didnít bother us but worthy of note.

Thereís a shop on site which has the usually bread and pastries every morning. Thereís also a bar / cafe on site and a pizza van every night.

Site is used mainly as a Ďtransití campsite for many travelling south which is a shame because the area deserves a longer stay.

We didnít book ahead, but both nights the site was full.

The hosts are friendly, very helpful and speak excellent English.

We cycled into Orleans along dedicated cycle paths and then along the Loire.

I would stay again if I was in the area and I would book ahead. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Di+Glyn_W 19 reviews from this member

 Very difficult to add to previous comments. The site is 277 miles from Calais, taking us a bit under seven hours to drive, including a lunch stop.

We used it as a stop en route to the Med coast. Our route was down to Rouen, then A13 and N154 past Chartres and Dreux, before dropping onto the A10 and A71. It's pretty straightforward, with a bit of time lost on the N roads but much more pleasant than autoroute.

Easy access to the site off the A71, but make sure you turn left into D15 from D2271, else your sat nav will take you through the houses. The D15 skirts the town, then to the D14.

Good job we booked, site was full on our arrival at 5. 45pm.

Exceptionally friendly staff; top notch.

Nice (very little) bar on site. The pizza van was already cooking up when we arrived; 8 euros per pizza was quite acceptable.

Free WiFi kept our teenage daughter happy, while we sat in the sun on our pitch; surrounded by high hedges you can either have a bit of privacy or not, whichever you prefer.

Standard 3 pin electric hook up available, with water and electric on a facilities post on the neighbouring pitch.

Loo block is 'mixed' but very clean and warm. Be warned though; no seats on the loos and you need to take your own toilet paper!

We used this site as an overnight stop and would certainly return, maybe for a longer stay next time. Thoroughly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: MrWez 16 reviews from this member

 This site is branding itself as Camping DíOlivet now, itís still the same site.

Weíd tried to book onto this site earlier in the week but there were no vacancies but had success for later dates, on arrival we found that Iíd booked for the following week, fortunately the friendly and helpful staff were able to reorganise things to accommodate us. The staff speak English (amongst other languages).

The pitches are on grass but are of a good size, most are partially shaded or in full shade. Electric distribution point may be on a different pitch to you so you may need an extra lead, if you are on a pitch with a distribution point it also has water. There are other water points around the site, there is also a motorhome service point.

There is a small kids play area in front of the sanitary block and an outdoor games area behind. Reception also has a bar and thereís a terrace where you can enjoy your drink. Bread and viennoiserie can be ordered from reception where you can also buy tram tickets.

Another nice touch are the pots of herbs which seem to be available to campers to use for cooking although if you donít want to cook, the pizza van visited a couple of times whilst we were there, the pizzas were very tasty too. The sanitary block is unisex and was very clean, there are also washing up and clothes washing facilities. We also used the free WiFi.

The campsite is a 10-15 minute walk from the tram stop, from there it takes just over 20 minutes to get into Orlťans. We got off in the centre of the city and it was a short walk to the main square which is dominated by a statue of Jean DíArc.

From this square it is also a short walk to the magnificent cathedral which is well worth a visit. As expected there are plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants where you can obtain refreshment and nourishment.

Olivet itself has a small market in the main square on Friday afternoon, Olivet was easily reached by cycle in about 10 minutes. There are also the usual shops in the town however, if you want more provisions there is a Leclerc supermarket between the A71 autoroute and the site. Also nearby is the Parc Floral de la Source although we didnít take the opportunity to visit.

We liked the site and were pleased with the siteís facilities and impressed by the attitude of the staff, our only disappointment was that we didnít spot any beavers which are reputed to inhabit the river that passes through the site (an offshoot of the River Loiret).

The site was very popular and rightly so, we would recommend booking. If we were in the area again weíd definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 36 reviews from this member

 Used as an overnight stop. Excellent municipal site on the outskirts of Orleans.

Wooded site either side of a small river. Toilet block looks to be recently built and is kept clean, best we have Seen on a Municipal site.

Very popular site, particularly for one night stops, as it is not far from the A71. Pizza Van visits daily.

Free Wifi accessible on most pitches.

Site was full and would recommend booking, which can be done on the web. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 176 reviews from this member

 We decided to stay here again as we wanted to cycle into Orleans.

There had been lots of heavy rain all over France, but most of the pitches were ok. The friendly receptionist allocated us a pitch for 2 nights, though there was a sign on the gate saying they were full, this is a very popular site.

The cycle into Orleans took us 35 mins, it's a lovely city to visit, and the cycle route is mostly off road.

There was a group of young people turned up on bikes and camped in the field behind the sanitary block. They tended to dominate the sanitaires for a while, and cooked themselves a meal on the front area, however they didn't make too much noise late on, and left in the morning.

I'm not a huge fan of unisex facilities, so tend to avoid sites with them, though everything here is kept very clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GWTE 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for one night on a stop over going home. When I arrived I discovered that I had booked for the previous night and the site had a notice to say it was full.

Expected to have to go and find a new site but they managed to fit me in and I didn't lose my deposit.

The site is very good. Facilities are very clean and the staff are very friendly. I enjoyed the site so much that I intend to stay for more than one night next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geoleen 42 reviews from this member

 Used this site for 2 nights on the way down to the Dordogne. What a little gem, beautiful setting on the river. We had a full service pitch, the pitch was a little uneven but we've had worse. The reception staff were lovely, very helpful and spoke good English. The facilities were spotless, and as usual unisex. We cycled into Orleans on the cycle path, we got got a map from reception and she drew the route for us, it took about 30 minutes. It it is well worth a visit if only to see the magnificent cathedral and the statue of Joan of Arc. As usual you can order bread, croissants etc from reception for the next day and there is a small shop with limited selection. Can't comment on kids facilities as we didn't have any with us but there didn't look to be much for kids to do. We never went into Olivet, so can't comment on it, but we would definitely stay here again for a bit longer to explore a bit more. Would definitely recommend. 


Previous     26 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Olivet child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Olivet?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Olivet dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Orleans      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2633 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement