Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Olivet

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Loire Valley > Orleans > Camping Olivet Reviews

Camping Olivet
Rue Du Pont Bouchet
Olivet
Orleans
Loire Valley   (Browse area)
45160
Tel: +33 02 38 63 53 94
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 02/04 To 30/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 24 Reviews
                9/10 from 24 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   No Bar   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  24 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rosema34717wia 1 review from this member

 We stayed for one night while travelling south, without making a booking.

The lady on reception was very efficient and helpful.

Facilities were always clean and tidy.

We would visit this site again maybe for longer to explore the area more. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Willjmay56 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely appointed site with outstanding facilities. The toilets and showers are mixed which didn’t bother us but worthy of note.

There’s a shop on site which has the usually bread and pastries every morning. There’s also a bar / cafe on site and a pizza van every night.

Site is used mainly as a ‘transit’ campsite for many travelling south which is a shame because the area deserves a longer stay.

We didn’t book ahead, but both nights the site was full.

The hosts are friendly, very helpful and speak excellent English.

We cycled into Orleans along dedicated cycle paths and then along the Loire.

I would stay again if I was in the area and I would book ahead. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Di+Glyn_W 17 reviews from this member

 Very difficult to add to previous comments. The site is 277 miles from Calais, taking us a bit under seven hours to drive, including a lunch stop.

We used it as a stop en route to the Med coast. Our route was down to Rouen, then A13 and N154 past Chartres and Dreux, before dropping onto the A10 and A71. It's pretty straightforward, with a bit of time lost on the N roads but much more pleasant than autoroute.

Easy access to the site off the A71, but make sure you turn left into D15 from D2271, else your sat nav will take you through the houses. The D15 skirts the town, then to the D14.

Good job we booked, site was full on our arrival at 5. 45pm.

Exceptionally friendly staff; top notch.

Nice (very little) bar on site. The pizza van was already cooking up when we arrived; 8 euros per pizza was quite acceptable.

Free WiFi kept our teenage daughter happy, while we sat in the sun on our pitch; surrounded by high hedges you can either have a bit of privacy or not, whichever you prefer.

Standard 3 pin electric hook up available, with water and electric on a facilities post on the neighbouring pitch.

Loo block is 'mixed' but very clean and warm. Be warned though; no seats on the loos and you need to take your own toilet paper!

We used this site as an overnight stop and would certainly return, maybe for a longer stay next time. Thoroughly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MrWez 15 reviews from this member

 This site is branding itself as Camping D’Olivet now, it’s still the same site.

We’d tried to book onto this site earlier in the week but there were no vacancies but had success for later dates, on arrival we found that I’d booked for the following week, fortunately the friendly and helpful staff were able to reorganise things to accommodate us. The staff speak English (amongst other languages).

The pitches are on grass but are of a good size, most are partially shaded or in full shade. Electric distribution point may be on a different pitch to you so you may need an extra lead, if you are on a pitch with a distribution point it also has water. There are other water points around the site, there is also a motorhome service point.

There is a small kids play area in front of the sanitary block and an outdoor games area behind. Reception also has a bar and there’s a terrace where you can enjoy your drink. Bread and viennoiserie can be ordered from reception where you can also buy tram tickets.

Another nice touch are the pots of herbs which seem to be available to campers to use for cooking although if you don’t want to cook, the pizza van visited a couple of times whilst we were there, the pizzas were very tasty too. The sanitary block is unisex and was very clean, there are also washing up and clothes washing facilities. We also used the free WiFi.

The campsite is a 10-15 minute walk from the tram stop, from there it takes just over 20 minutes to get into Orléans. We got off in the centre of the city and it was a short walk to the main square which is dominated by a statue of Jean D’Arc.

From this square it is also a short walk to the magnificent cathedral which is well worth a visit. As expected there are plenty of bars, cafes and restaurants where you can obtain refreshment and nourishment.

Olivet itself has a small market in the main square on Friday afternoon, Olivet was easily reached by cycle in about 10 minutes. There are also the usual shops in the town however, if you want more provisions there is a Leclerc supermarket between the A71 autoroute and the site. Also nearby is the Parc Floral de la Source although we didn’t take the opportunity to visit.

We liked the site and were pleased with the site’s facilities and impressed by the attitude of the staff, our only disappointment was that we didn’t spot any beavers which are reputed to inhabit the river that passes through the site (an offshoot of the River Loiret).

The site was very popular and rightly so, we would recommend booking. If we were in the area again we’d definitely use this site again. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Chilestone 36 reviews from this member

 Used as an overnight stop. Excellent municipal site on the outskirts of Orleans.

Wooded site either side of a small river. Toilet block looks to be recently built and is kept clean, best we have Seen on a Municipal site.

Very popular site, particularly for one night stops, as it is not far from the A71. Pizza Van visits daily.

Free Wifi accessible on most pitches.

Site was full and would recommend booking, which can be done on the web. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Franbee 169 reviews from this member

 We decided to stay here again as we wanted to cycle into Orleans.

There had been lots of heavy rain all over France, but most of the pitches were ok. The friendly receptionist allocated us a pitch for 2 nights, though there was a sign on the gate saying they were full, this is a very popular site.

The cycle into Orleans took us 35 mins, it's a lovely city to visit, and the cycle route is mostly off road.

There was a group of young people turned up on bikes and camped in the field behind the sanitary block. They tended to dominate the sanitaires for a while, and cooked themselves a meal on the front area, however they didn't make too much noise late on, and left in the morning.

I'm not a huge fan of unisex facilities, so tend to avoid sites with them, though everything here is kept very clean. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: GWTE 1 review from this member

 Stayed at this site for one night on a stop over going home. When I arrived I discovered that I had booked for the previous night and the site had a notice to say it was full.

Expected to have to go and find a new site but they managed to fit me in and I didn't lose my deposit.

The site is very good. Facilities are very clean and the staff are very friendly. I enjoyed the site so much that I intend to stay for more than one night next year. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geoleen 38 reviews from this member

 Used this site for 2 nights on the way down to the Dordogne. What a little gem, beautiful setting on the river. We had a full service pitch, the pitch was a little uneven but we've had worse. The reception staff were lovely, very helpful and spoke good English. The facilities were spotless, and as usual unisex. We cycled into Orleans on the cycle path, we got got a map from reception and she drew the route for us, it took about 30 minutes. It it is well worth a visit if only to see the magnificent cathedral and the statue of Joan of Arc. As usual you can order bread, croissants etc from reception for the next day and there is a small shop with limited selection. Can't comment on kids facilities as we didn't have any with us but there didn't look to be much for kids to do. We never went into Olivet, so can't comment on it, but we would definitely stay here again for a bit longer to explore a bit more. Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: SGThomas 112 reviews from this member

 The facilities are immaculate and the whole site beautifully maintained.

The pitches vary in size but there are none terribly small.

If you have time and are not using Olivet for a quick overnight, the town is a normal untouristy place. You can walk there (35 minutes for 2 doddery wrinklies) in 15 minutes or get the no 13 bus from the top of the entrance road.

The cycling is a dream, miles of flat, well tarmaced, dedicated routes. You can get into the centre of Orleans in 20-30 minutes. Ask in reception for 'l'AgglO a velo'

There is a LeClerc hypermarket about 2 km in one direction and an Auchan, a similar distance in the opposite way. The Auchan is easier to get to.

The site-wide, free wifi is a good fast service, and there is 16 amp electricity

The site is small and very popular, so as you approach school holidays, French or English, you will need to book. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Coliver57 8 reviews from this member

 Just spent 2 nights here, heading home, sadly, from south of France. Really lovely site, fabulous staff, excellent modern loos etc. Cycled in to Orleans, 20 mins on cycle tracks. Joined the Loire cycle way and have enjoyed a stress free cycling day. Honestly, this is a great site for either an overnight or for visiting the Loire region for a holiday. Very pleasantly surprised as I had thought municipal sites would be more basic. Btw, free wifi too! 


Previous     24 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Olivet child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Olivet?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Camping Olivet dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Orleans      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Loire Valley

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3616 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement